Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bowflex Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Bowflex Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

The Bowflex Blaze Home Gym with Power Rod Technology is a serious piece of fitness equipment. If you're searching for a way to look and feel better, the Bowflex Home Gym will give you fast results, with just 20 minutes a day, three times a week. The Blaze offers over 60 gym-quality exercises that work all your muscle groups, and with 210 pounds of Power Rod resistance (upgradable to 310 or 410 pounds) this device offers plenty of room for strength-training growth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%26 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

too much machine

04/03/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had a Bowflex extreme before buying this machine. I could assemble it and take it apart in about 10 minutes. This is so large and took me about 6 hours to assemble. There are only 2 seat positions and a lot of extra stuff that takes a long time to set up. It has a lat tower and leg exerciser that requires a lot of moving things around to use.
It also takes up a lot of space. I had to leave my old one when I moved and want it back.
I would love to return this one but I got rid of all the packing and would not know how to ship it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pulley adjustments
Posted 02/28/2014
One thing I noticed about this model is that you can not change the width of the pulley/cables on the chest exercises like you can on some other models. I think the ability to widen it would be very helpful for Pec Flys? For example the Extreme models allows for 3 or 4 setting for the mid cables. Just curious if any thoughts about this. Thx
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Great product for a devoted user

10/07/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this Bowflex Blaze from Wal-Mart because I was looking for this gym and Wal-Mart had it for a fair price. I am an exercise enthusiast and was looking for this specific gym for some time. It took about two hours to assemble and study the manual (took a little longer to explain all to my wife). Overall I am very happy with smooth and quiet workings of Bowflex. The resistive forth it provides during exercises is quite comfortable and easily adjustable. The most important part is that you do not exert yourself with heavy weights as is in weighted gyms and do not strain yourself assembling it. This equipment weighs way less then the one with real weights because of the plastic rods, not real weights. This can be an issue if you plan to place your gym in a location other than your basement. After all, 210 lbs resistance with real weights means your gym will weigh that plus a platform totaling to possibly 350 pounds plus. With Bowflex however, its weight is not an issue! Highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Excellent Product

04/30/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After injuring my neck and shoulder, my physical therapist recommended a Bowflex over free weights, stating that the Bowflex would give just as good of a workout, and would be easier on the joints. I received the Bowflex Blaze and it was well-packed (great job Bowflex) and the assembly instructions were easy to follow, and it took me about 2 hours to assemble. This machine is solidly built, and the quality is excellent. The manual and placards are helpful in guiding you through exercises and informative. As a long time weight lifter, the Bowflex does take some getting used to....working without a barbell, using your arms independently (as with dumbbells) does take some getting used to, but it also helps the stabilizer muscles better than a barbell and prevents one side from compensating for the other. Range of motion is excellent and this surprised me as I didn't expect that, and the pulleys are so smooth, it's unreal. It's true that this machine is easier on your joints and Bowflex pounds are lighter than actual free weight pounds, so I did order the 310 pound upgrade which was easy to install. This machine will work out every part of your body, and I also like to supplement my workouts with some dumbbell work too. I highly recommend this product for the person like me, who likes to stay in shape. This machine will build muscle and provide you with an intense workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Great all around home gym!!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having seen the bow flex name for years upon years I was always curious as to what a system like this was like. So after much research I decided to purchase one and put it together all by myself!
I have to say that as a 48-year-old female who used to consider herself a gym rat I was pleasantly surprised at the ease in which it went together and at how it actually does 90% of the things that I was able to do when at the gym!! If you're considering an overall whole home gym system, I would wholeheartedly recommend this, five stars all the way!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Well built machine

11/15/2010
By ,
Albany, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with this Bowflex product. The quality of the construction is outstanding. I would recommend this unit to anyone who is serious about toning up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym
08/30/2011
By ,
jacksonville Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had then Bowflex Blaze for over a year now, and I am totaly happy with it. I waited until I had used it for some time befor making a review.
It was easy to assemble and it took me about two hours to compleat the job. No problem with doing it by my self, and the instructions were easy to follow.
The only thing I would improve would be to include the upgrade to 410lbs with the purchase, as some of the exercises need far greater resistance than 210lbs.
The equipment is heavy duty,and all of the parts are well made, and the set up between exercises takes little time. I would recomend that you purchase the book titled, The Bowflex Body Plan, as it explaines each exercise and how to do the exercise properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Atlast an Affordable BOWFLEX

03/12/2011
By ,
Midland, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit is exceptional, granted it did take the better part of a afternoon to put it together, but I blame a lot of that on distractions from my children. So far I love this thing, the price was perfect, I chose the BLAZE over the base unit Wal-Mart has because of the expandability, the extra exercises (which most of probably still could have been done on the other unit) And most importantly the lat bars... The BLAZE is the perfect unit. The only real drawback... NO BOWFLEX TRAINING DVD for either model that Wal-Mart Carries... But there are tons of homemade videos on Youtube, and all of the workouts are in the manual and your base ones are on the unit itself...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Very nice

03/09/2011
By ,
Schererville, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband had one of the original Bowflexes and spent way more for it. This one has some nice upgrades and for less than half the price he paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Combined with free weights

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use free weights for benches and curls. The lat pulldown and leg press features are the main reasons I purchased this machine. From the leg press position, calf "raises" (presses) are a bonus. I don't use the bench press feature because it's too difficult to get that second handle; someone has to be there to hand me that second one. But it does what I need, permitting me all-around body development when I combine it with my free weights exercises.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Good Solid Machine

03/18/2011
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love working out on it. It was pretty simple to put together, me and my wife did it in 2 1/2 hours. Working out is easy and fun. Not complicated at all. The exercise book that comes with it is very informative and list all exercises along with how to do them. I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Great Machine

12/15/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this about a month ago. Had it shipped to store and then picked up. Assembly took 3-4 hours, but was not hard, helps to have two people though.
Switching between positions is fast and easy, always always unhook the power rods prior to changing exercises.
Overall very happy with the purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Great machine

05/07/2011
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solidly built. Not bad to put together with two people. I read the directions and set the pieces together while my hubby tightened the bolts. By the time he was done I'd have the next two pieces ready to be bolted together. Took us about an hour. Very good directions and large parts.
The machine works so smoothly. It's a great workout. We love it! Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Bowflex Blaze

03/22/2014
By ,
Edmond, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is great once you get it put together. For me this took about two and a half hours by myself. Works wonderfully.
The only issue I had with this purchase was the delivery. When I received it the box was in shambles but the pieces were all there and unscathed. It was not delivered on time. I was called to set up a delivery time to my home. It was not delivered that day but the next because they said it wouldn't fit on their truck. (A courtesy call would've been nice for date change.) I know that this is not Walmart's fault but the delivery company. It was just an inconvenience due to time frames and my work schedule since they only deliver Mon-Fri during business hours.
All in all I am happy with my Bowflex Blaze. I am looking forward to seeing what kind of results I can get with it.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Exceptional

03/14/2011
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blaze Home Gym surpassed my expectations. The delivery is fast and easy to pick up at the store. I was skeptical about the site to store option, but from now on. That is the way I will order.
The 210 pounds is great to start with, but I can see it being no time that an upgrade will be needed. The setup was fairly easy, but it did take a few hours with two people.
Other than that, it is a great piece of equipment and does exactly what it says it will do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Great Product

10/25/2012
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to drive to the gym and wait for machines, but now I have this amazing product and just love it. I bodybuild and add the 410 pound attachment. I used to bench press 400 pounds in the gym but can hardly bench 250 on my Blaze. The machine really beats you up and you feel sore 1 hour later but feel great the next day. I will get more done in 2 months with my Blaze then what I would have achieved in 12 months at the gym.
Highly recommend this beautiful machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Love it

03/12/2011
By ,
Oak Lawn, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is solid. Does what it says. Not enough weight resistance for my husband though so we need to order additional rods ($100). Small footprint. Looks nice. My husband was impressed with the quality when he was putting it together...no cheapie parts. I absolutely LOVE it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Well built,does what i need

03/23/2014
By ,
fort worth,tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
first off,the box is very heavy about 214 pounds. assembly is fairly easy,unboxing is the hardest part. once put together it is very sturdy and the resistance feels very smooth. i feel the machine is more for toning up rather than bulking up. the only con for me,if you would call it that, is that you have to disconnect the cables from the lat, benchpress to hook up the leg attachment cables..but i guess any machine you will have to adjust for different exercises. overall a good machine to get or keep tone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

great buy

04/07/2014
By ,
ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
took about 20 minutes to unpack/unwrap all the parts. took around 1h 30- 1h 45 to put together. used it every day so far and its what i was looking for in a workout. nice sturdy machine that gives u a lot of options so u dont get burned out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

good for the price

11/18/2013
By ,
RocHELLe, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble; arrived promptly; bench is a bit wobbly; pullyeys could use a stabilizer as they drop and clink on the machine as you use it. Has many workout options and break down for ease of relocating it. Excellent value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bowflex Blaze Home Gym

Excellent exercise machine, not for heavy lifting.

03/03/2014
By ,
Braselton, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Has a lot of exercises, machines says over 60+, but it seems like you would be able to do far more than 60.
I bought this in hopes of building muscle and gaining weight, but some of the exercises don't give me enough weight or resistance.
You can upgrade the weight resistance up to 410lbs, which I have not done yet. It comes with only 210, which for squatting is enough to make you sweat, but not enough to build muscle, at least for me( i am 175lbs, 5 feet 9 inches).
I have been using it for more than 2 months and there is a lot of sign of wear on the hinges where the pulleys attach to the frame. I can see significant amounts of paint and some metal coming off from the friction of the movement.
The leg extension and leg curls is what has given me a challenge, or maybe I am just weak, since I used to run a lot.
I have it set up in a room, about 10 by 12 and fits very good, I have other exercise equipment in there also. You will be able to find the dimensions on the advertisement anyways. The bowflex comes in pieces, you will have to assemble it. It took me about 4 and a half hours. After you first assemble it use it a few times and then go back and retighten the bolts to make it safer. Once you have installed it, unless you have about 5 foot door, you will have to take some of it apart to get it out of a room or the house.
For me( 170 lbs and 5 feet 9 inches) the only place where I need more resistance is in the squats, but I use additional weights on the bar and make it more challenging.
This machine has almost all the exercises you need to get into a better shape, to have more movility, and better flexibility.
Even though I am a cheap person, and would like to spend the least that I can, I consider it a good investment.
If you are strict about your health and are consistent with your work out routines then I think you will find it a good investment as well.
Also, I found people saying that this machine is no good and that it is better just to buy weigh sets, which you could find really cheap used. I understand their point of view, because most of those are bodybuilders who lift heavy, which you are unlikely to find in this machine since it is only rated for 410lbs.
Comes with exercise manual, how to do exercises, techiniques, postures, etc., installation manual, and some assembling tools.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next