Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Fitness Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Schwinn Fitness Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

The Schwinn 431 Elliptical features the most comfortable and compact design for your home. With 19 different workout programs, this elliptical trainer will help make reaching your fitness goals a reality. Your comfort comes first on the Schwinn elliptical trainer with a built-in three-speed adjustable fan, iPod/MP3 player holder, water bottle holder and towel hook. It features a large high intensity blue backlit LCD, making it easy to track your progress and results. Plus, the Schwinn BioGlide elliptical path provides comfortable movement of the foot throughout the elliptical motion.
Average Customer Rating:
4.225 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation85%34 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Disappointed!! I received an used one apparently.

07/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed!! I received an used one apparently.
This is NOT acceptable!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Review 2 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

defective part, cannot even assemble

01/22/2013
By ,
Sunnyvale, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
picked up the big box from local Walmart store on Saturday. spent two evenings to assemble, at the very last step, ran into problem with left side pedal arm. The screw shaft won't fit due to misaligned pedal arm. the right side has no such problem. very disappointed and frustrated. I haven't even used one single second and now I'm facing a pile of junk metal wondering how and where to get it back to store.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 3 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Great Machine

08/17/2010
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched many machines before deciding on the Schwinn 431. Then price shopped and Walmart had best deal.
Schwinn and Nautilus are same manufacturer. You cannot find the 431 to Demo but if you go to Sports Authority, you can try the Nautilis which is almost identical except color and decals.
The big advantage of the 431 was that it has the heaviest flywheel of all the Schwinn/Nautilus units (25 lbs). The flywheel weight is the key.
I put the unit together all by myself...no problems. Instructions were clear.
The unit is very smooth and whisper quiet. I work out at hotels and gyms and this is as good as any of the expensive name brands and 1/2 to 1/3 the cost.
As far as height, I am 6'0" and I put in my basement with an 88" drop ceiling. I have three to four inches of clearance if this is important to anyone.
The heart monitor is accurate as I compared to my expensive chest band monitor with difference of less than 2 bpm.
Has lots of programs. Only drawback is it needs to be plugged in and I guess the more expensive machines have a self powering feature but I can live with that. Just need an extension cord to put wherever you want it in the room.
Good Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+83points
Review 4 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine
02/17/2012
By ,
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched many ellipticals on-line and in local area stores. This elliptical fit all my prerequisites for what I was looking for. The price was about $100.00 dollars less than the cheapest elliptical I tried at my local sports store. My husband is pretty handy, and it took him about 2 hours to put the elliptical together but he said the directions were pretty clear and assembly was straight forward. This elliptical fits the bill if space is an issue, we wanted one that we could literally park in front of the TV so the whole family would take advantage. The entire base from end to end measures about 4'10". This elliptical is so quiet. Not once do you have to raise the TV's volume to compete with the machine. I am getting a great work out and I get to watch TV too. I just love this machine. I think its the best bang for my buck, my whole family uses it for exercise, especially nice during the cold winter months.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Schwinn 431

03/23/2011
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought our Schwinn 431 ~6 months ago. It's been used by two people for a total of about 2 hours/day and 4 days/week since we purchased it. The fit is great for both I and my wife, who happens to be much smaller. In rigorous use it hasn't need so much as a bolt tightened. It's well designed, stable, smooth, and quiet (apart from a bit of squeaking the first couple minutes each workout). The difficulty ranges from too easy to too hard so you can always find the right level. The interface is simple yet has all the options and programs you could want. I've never been so happy with a home fitness machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 6 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Lifesaver

06/26/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product for the price. The machine is solid and easy to use. Quiet. I am a male, 6'1", 220 lbs and am very comfortable on this elliptical...it easily supports my height/weight. For me, having the convenience of an elliptical at home is life-changing. With the convenience of access, I hop on this elliptical for just 5-10 min segments about 5-7 times a day...that way I don't dread using it and I can keep my metabolism purring like an engine all day. Already down 20 lbs in a few months without feeling like I ever really exercise. Awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Awesome Elliptical

05/27/2011
By ,
Macon, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered using Site-to-Store shipping. It arrived within 10 days. It is very heavy...it weighed like 250 lbs. so make sure you have help to get it home. Me and my husband put it together in about 2 hours. No problems with assembly at all. Directions were a snap to follow and everything needed to assemble was included. The maching is very sturdy and works great. I use it everyday and boy does it give you a workout. Even my kids have started using it and they love it. I love that it has the heart rate monitor on the handles and lots of different skill level programs. This elliptical is definitely one of the best for the price I have found. So happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

High quality elliptical at very reasonable price!

10/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this elliptical about one month ago and I am absolutely convinced that this was one of the best purchases I have ever made. It took me about 3 hours to assemble it without help. Since then, myself, my wife and my teenage son have been using it everyday and we really love it! The machine is so smooth and quiet, it's no problem for others in the room to watch TV at the same time. The 431 is more compact than the others and fits perfectly in our small room. I strongly believe that it was money well spent and I would definitely recommend this model for in-home use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Great workout

09/21/2010
By ,
LOS ANGELES, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS ELLIPTICAL WORKS GREAT IT GIVES YOU A GREAT WORKOUT. IT IS VERY SMOOTH AND QUIET. VERY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER NO TOOLS NEEDED EVERYTHING YOU NEED IS INCLUDED. ITS WORTH THE PRICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Review 10 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Great Elliptical

08/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really impressed with the Schwinn 431. It is well made, and it was not difficult to assemble. I had a slight problem with one of the parts, and Nautilus Customer Service was friendly and helpful, and sent the part right out.This elliptical should satisfy both the person getting his first elliptical, or the seasoned elliptical user. The on-board programs should satisfy any fitness level. I bought this product because of the good ratings that other Schwin Ellipticals have gotten, and the 431 is another in a long line of quality ellipticals.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Review 11 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Had to return it

03/02/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this elliptical 10 days ago and it was delivered today. I was so excited it was finally here, I immediately began assembling the machine. I began having trouble on Step 2. The bolts that came with the hardware did not fit properly into the threading on the machine. Furthermore, the tools that came with the hardware were inadequate. The allen wrench wasn’t even the right size. I called Schwinn and they were helpful. They offered to send new hardware which was on backorder. They did not know when they would get new stock. I decided that I needed to assemble the machine as best I could because I didn’t want to spend weeks with random elliptical machine parts strewn about my bedroom.
Second issue came along when I realized that I was missing the pins that were needed to attach the foot pedals to the main assembly. While I sat on hold with Schwinn for a second time, I continued in my attempt to put the machine together only to find out that the foot pedal had no threading; making it impossible to attach the foot plate with the given bolts. Schwinn again offered to send all the needed parts; however, everything I needed was out of stock. It would be a minimum of two weeks before they expected new stock. By this point, I had spent a solid three hours trying to put this machine together. I researched my purchase for weeks after my last elliptical broke. I was now going to have to wait longer with a half put together machine. I decided I would instead return it because it appeared I had purchased a dud. WalMart was great about the whole process and took it back with no issue. Because I am still impressed by the number of positive reviews about the Schwinn 431, I have ordered a second in hopes that my issues are an isolated incident. Until that machine arrives (probably in another 10 days), I remain unimpressed with the quality I have seen from Schwinn. Hopefully I will have the opportunity to change my review in a few weeks after the next machine arrives.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+18points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Vermont
???? Wish I knew how it works!!
Posted 09/26/2012
I ordered this on August 10, 2012 and here it is September 26th and I haven't been able to use it once!! It arrived in the normal 7-10 days and I promptly picked it up and assembled it and got an error on the display. Called tech support and they diagnosed the display was defective and would need to be replaced. They explained they had none in stock and were expecting some by mid September which was 3 weeks away! I felt that was ridiculous but what could I do but wait. On September 19th I again inquired about the part and was told they were still not in and would be the end of the month. So here it is the 26th and still no part and a useless piece of equipment in the middle of my room. I can't believe they can sell a brand new product through a company such as Walmart and not have replacement parts, this is one unhappy camper. The machine looks good and from the reviews I read felt it was a good purchase. The other thing is that when I ordered this in Aug the price was $647 and since has dropped to $582. So there will be people who order this 6 weeks after I have that will pay less and likely get to use before I ever use mine.
0points
Customer Avatar
glendale,az
wondering if new unit worked out for you?
Posted 08/07/2012
after reading your review, i was curious to find out if second schwinn elliptical machine had any issues?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine
02/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The packing , shipping, & instructions were pretty good on how to assemble... However on step 2 the allenwrench to use to put elliptical together did not fit none of the tools included worked during this stage we needed a smaller allenwrench which thankfully my husband had... Other then that it seemed to go as pretty well. Very pleased with finished result!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Schwinn 431 Eliptical Machine

03/10/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was purchased for a three person office, so that employees would have an opportunity to get some cardio in throughout the day. So far, it has worked just as expected. It was put together in a couple of hours by one person and all of the parts were there. When purchasing the product, we were concerned about its ability to accomodate an average adult male. It is more than sufficient for that job. I would definitely recommend this for home/office use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 14 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Great Purchase

12/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfortable to use, easy setup, relatively lightweight, easy to move around, and has great workout programs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 15 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Great product - great value!

11/05/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this elliptical for about a week now and love it! Having always gone to a professional gym to workout in the past, I was hesitant to buy a piece of exercise equipment because I was worried it would feel too "cheap." I did a lot of research before deciding to buy this Schwinn 431. I must say this elliptical has exceeded my expectations. As a woman who is 115 lb and 5'3" and having a husband who is 230 lb and 6'1", this machine works really well for both our sizes. The machine feels solid and provides a great workout with all the "extras" in programs, heart rate monitoring, etc. I read that the fan didn't work for some, but it has been a lifesaver for my husband and me. I would recommend this machine to anyone looking for a great value and excellent workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Pretty Decent

01/19/2012
By ,
NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My bf is a mechanical tech and assembled himself in one evening. Everything works great except for the fan. I am heavier and it is stable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 17 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine
11/07/2010
By ,
Newington, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the elliptical so does my whole family. I was looking for the machine with low impact on my joints. I used to run almost every day, but since days become colder, and my ankles hurting, I was told to try elliptical. Best choice ever. I don't have time for gym and I love to exercise every day. After one week of use I see results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Nice and quiet

03/23/2011
By ,
Eagle River WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleased with my purchase. This is amazingly quiet. I am a little disappointed in the fan as it only has one speed and it's not very fast at all. You will need additional allen wrenches when putting it together. Gives a good workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 19 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Schwinn 431 Elliptical

03/14/2011
By ,
Novi, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is well designed and meets my expectations. Instructions for assembly are clear to follow for the average handyman.
Noted that the provided hexagonal Alan key had to be supplemented by my own set of Alan keys.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for Schwinn 431 Elliptical Machine

Best at-home elliptical and great price!

11/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This elliptical is awesome! It was really easy to set up (I set it up by myself in one night) and it works great! I definitely recommend this to anyone looking to buy an elliptical for their home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next