Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hawkeye Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hawkeye Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

The Hawkeye 5 Gallon Kit is an impressive starter aquarium suitable for your home, office, or classroom. Featuring a semi-hexagonal design with full fluorescent hood, power filter, light and cartridge. Constructed of acrylic, this fish aquarium is leak proof and sturdy, making it ideal for children. The compact fluorescent light provides excellent aquarium lighting and full coverage for the top of the tank. This aquarium will enhance any room.
Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(420 Reviews) 347
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
237
4 stars
121
3 stars
26
2 stars
10
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation90%376 out of 419reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
237
4 stars
121
3 stars
26
2 stars
10
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

5 gal bliss

08/28/2013
By ,
fayetteville, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great aquarium for the money. The filter pump is very quiet and the lighting is great. I was disappointed in the shipping of the item (had a couple of pieces break but easily fixed). The item shipped very fast. Flip top lid makes the tank safer and securer. Thank you.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 22 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Great for a bedroom/dorm room

02/25/2013
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After shopping around for the best price on a fish tank, I stumbled upon this one. It was exactly the size I was looking for and it was a really good price too. I wasn't looking to spend a lot of money on a fish tank. This tank fits perfectly on my desk at school! I love and my fish love it!
The only thing I didn't care for was the filter it came with. It was a bit small and the water was always cloudy because of it. Other than that I would recommend the tank to anyone looking for something on the smaller side:)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 23 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Perfect price and size

03/30/2011
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a perfect addition to my other tanks. I have a 1, 1.5, 6, 10, 14, 15, and a 110 gallon tanks. This 5 gallon is perfect size for my baby fish until they can go into other tanks. The only thing negative I have is the filter is a different one then advertised on the site and is too powerful for my baby fry so I switched that with a less powerful filter system. As an expect in freshwater fish, I would recommend this to anybody who is starting out. It is the perfect size for a beginner or for a child.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 24 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Good deal for a beginner tank!

12/30/2013
By ,
Kalamazoo, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is satisfactory but the seal at the top is lacking so you can't fill it to the top. Also did not care for the tiny filtration but I simply bought a regular one. However I had to pick it up myself at Fed Ex as they sent a message saying they could not deliver due to weather putting them behind in their deliveries. I might as well have had it sent to the store!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Nice starter tank...

12/15/2012
By ,
Maspeth, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves his new fish tank...! It was just the right size for him and the price was great compared to others you find in the pet shops...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 26 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Great for Fish pet Beginner

12/06/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Purchased over the Thanksgiving holiday. I feel in love with the bundle deal which came with a pack of gravel, one live plant bulb. I also love the fact that It came with the pump and the light. I love that it is also not to big or small.
My only can about this product is that it got scratched by the gravel easily.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

value for money

09/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this may not be the best 5gal tank around. the filter is a simple mechanical filter. the feeding opening is a little cranky. but for the price, this is a very good tank. built is sturdy, walls are clear and lighting system is also good. so it is a good tank for a starter provided water change is done regularly as the filter does not do much.
i have attached a low quality snap taken with my cellphone. i have a betta, 4 cardinals, 2 cory pandas and some live plants in it. its been 3 weeks now and all of them are in good shape. waiting for the break in cycle to complete so that it becomes a healthy tank.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 28 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

A Great Cheap Fish Tank Set

08/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this off the Walmart website last October and it was quickly delivered to my store(I selected ship to store). I didn't wash it out properly when setting it up so I got lots of bubbles on the surface that didn't go away and a betta which died within 24 hours :-( Still I learned from my lesson and cleaned the tank and the gravel and decorations thoroughly and re-set up the fish tank. I left it for a day and for no bubbles that wouldn't go away so added 2 platies and 2 mollies from the fish store. 1 died a couple of days later, but the other 3 were happy enough in the 5 gallon until I set up a 20 gallon at home a couple of months ago. Now the 5 gallon work aquarium only has a betta.
This fish tank has a nice and small footprint which fits nicely on the end of a desk. It's really quiet. I only hear the water when the water level gets a bit low. If you are going to want to keep a fish like a platy in a 5 gallon, you'll need to get another filter because otherwise the water will get really dirty really fast. I still do water changes 2 times a week to keep the tank healthy and use the blue lang handled surface cleaner from walmart on the plastic sides to keep it clean. It hasn't scratched up the plastic yet. You'll probably also want to buy a heater for it if you are keeping tropical fish in the 5 gallon like platies or bettas. The hood and light is also good enough to keep alive plants.
I certainly don't regret buying this tank, it's been a nice addition to my office at work and only killed off 2 fish so far :-) for what you get in this set, you can get started a slowly add things like the heater or an upgraded filter.
You can check out a video of my betta here: http://s201.photobucket.com/albums/aa55/anabolina/?action=view&current=VID_20110810_091731.mp4
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 29 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Perfect starter tank

05/29/2011
By ,
Monticello, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a perfect starter tank. We bought it for our 2 year old's room & he loves it. It definitely looks bigger than 5 gallons. The light is a little bright, but he goes to sleep with it on (rather than his night light) watching his fish so its not too bad. I did have to turn down the filter so the fish weren't getting pushed across the tank from the water coming down into the tank. We decided on guppies & neon tetras and added a few decorations, gravel, heater, and an air pump. Overall this is the best I found from searching in local pet stores and online. The only thing I don't like is the small "feeding door". It should be a little bit wider because it is difficult to get the flakes in without spilling them. Its just a bit awkward the way it opens. But its easy enough to lift the whole lid to let my son feed the fish so I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+128points
Review 30 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Wonderful product

08/29/2010
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned many small fish tanks over the last 20 years. Never have I come across a product as well made and attractive as this. From it's eco-friendly bulb, to its fully enclosed lighting compartment for ease of maintenance and safety, along with a convenient total hood hing, this thing is incredible. The included Aqua Tech filter is whisper quiet and totally efficient. For well under $30 you can't go wrong. Get it, before somebody decides it would easily sell for $15 more! I'm not exaggerating when I say it's a mini show piece in your home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 31 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

beautiful aquarium with a lovely shape

09/06/2011
By ,
california
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the aquarium is lovely. the shape shows the decorations and fish to best advantage in the small space in which i placed it. the filtration system works perfectly and, after following the instructions from the young gentleman at Petco, the water was pristine when i finally purchased my 3 black skirt tetras and placed them in their new home.
there is only one problem that i see with this aquarium. the bright white light is just brutal in such a small space to small fish. my tetras hid in the decorations for the first day until i solved the issue by doubling a piece of light blue fabric (thread count 120 or so) cutting it to the size of the light guard, securing it inside and replacing the guard, with fabric standing between the light and the fish. this diffused and dimmed the harsh white light and did not diminish the joy of viewing the fish. and my fish are much more content. the came out and played this evening!
i cannot recommend this solution because i don't want to be responsible for anything screwing up for anyone, but it seems to be working for me. the ambiance of the aquarium is much more serene.
anyway, this aquarium is very nice, well worth the price, an excellent choice to beautify a small space. decorate nicely, treat the water properly before you add fish and you will have a beautiful corner of peace in a chaotic world.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 32 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Nice set up for the price.

05/05/2012
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty nice set up for the price. Bought it for my daughter to be her first pet experience. Put a Beta, a live plant, and a few Neon Tetra's in it (beware that mix. Blueberry -what my daughter named the Beta- made short work of one of them and made the life and death talk most fish tanks bring about happen a little early). Everything is flourishing and healthy. My only complaint is that it does scratch easy it seems. Ours has 3 good size scratches on the front, but I have no idea what caused them and my daughter says she doesn't know. I haven't seen her in there with her chainsaw or lightsaber so I'm guessing it must scratch from something minimal. All in all it's a good tank at a hard to beat price. It comes with the stuff to set it up initially but you should grab some extra filters, fish food and water conditioner. Don't forget a heater, rocks, and a background to finish the set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 33 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Love it!

10/26/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tank is perfect for a betta fish! Mine loves it, and so do I.
I had to baffle the filter for him by rubberbanding aquarium sponge into the waterfall filter outtake, and the current is just right now. The tank is big enough to be cycled, big enough for a good heater, and big enough for lots of live plants!
And most importantly, big enough for your fish to swim freely.
The price was great! $27 when I bought it. I couldn't find a cheaper aquarium kit anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+27points
Review 34 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

So cool!

08/21/2010
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this aquarium! Because of the shape, I think it looks bigger than a 5 gallon tank. The tank is so light, I was able to lift it while half full of water, 10 lbs of gravel and all... and I'm a 51 year old female! It's very quiet. In fact, I freaked out a couple of times when I thought it had quit working because I couldn't hear it. It's very sleek looking. I only wish the food door was bigger, and there was a way to keep the water from dripping down the back when you open the lid. Of course, if your water level is low enough, it's not a problem but I like the tank to be full. Even though, it's great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 35 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Very happy with purchase

11/08/2010
By ,
Coal Creek Canyon, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Betta went from a Gold Fish Bowl to a 1
gal. Tank to this spacious 5 gal. Tank. It was
worth the trial and error in getting Azul a place
where he could have a warm heater put in. Its
really a beautifully shaped Tank and brightens
up our living room. Would totally recommend
for first time Betta owners...as I was talked
into this, by a 10 yr. old, because he looked
at us at the pet store!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Review 36 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

EXCELLENT VALUE

04/11/2011
By ,
Tampa Bay, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tank is an excellent value. Just saw one at the pet store for $59! For the reviewer who said it was difficult to get the filter on because he didn't know he needed pliars...it pops right off if you use a sharp knife. Common sense is all you need to put the thing together and it works beautifully. What a deal! My fish loves it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 37 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Overall a good tank.

04/02/2013
By ,
NYC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had the tank for a week and have already had to buy a new filter. That being said, I like all the other features. The filter was a little too strong for our fish, so we tried to baffle it (by putting a sponge in front). The filter was sputtering and stopping, so we decided to buy a new one. The tank however, is a good size for my small apartment and has a fun shape to look at fish from lots of angles. I like the hood with the built in light, which lights up the inside very well. The hood also comes with punch out areas for the filter cord on either left or right side, and a little opening in front to feed fish. Tank does not come with a heater, so depending on the type of fish you want (Bettas or other tropical fish, for example) you may have to buy a heater. Tank came with a small packet of fish food and water cleaner. The price seems fair for what you get, but you may have to buy more items to complete your aquarium!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 38 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

WOW! Happily surprised, great value

04/23/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 tanks for new Betta's, they make my 4th / 5th tanks, all 5-10 gal. for Betta's and their algae/debris eating friends.
Initially what caught my eye was the design, hex front is great for viewing and just beautiful, while the straight back gives a run for the betta to get his exercise (they need to swim horizontally not just vertically, and most hex tanks are taller/thinner). The footprint of this tank is fairly small so it works well on my nightstand and desk.
What I was most concerned about was the price - how could $24.97 give me a solid tank? But, I trusted the reviews and am glad I did. The first thing I did was take it out at the Ship to Store desk and make sure it was not a 're-pack' (see some other reviews re: scratches/breakage). No problems, went home and did the initial set up in 10 minutes.
Surprisingly well put together! Strong hinges for the hood and feeder door simply fit together (not a lot of parts to break) - it feels solid, heavy in your hands not like a flimsy piece of plastic you will need to be careful with. The overall hood design I am ok with. Yes it is a one piece, but the fit is perfect and it easily sits up on it's hinges, allowing you full access to the tank.
One note: the hood is slightly higher than most, factor this in if you are putting it on / under a shelf. I would add 7-8 inches to the top dimension of the tank just in case.
The light I cannot testify to, I have a planted tank so immediately switched to a fluorescent plant light. A note on the barrier protecting the light from the water, there are 2 tabs each at top/bottom. Directions are useless, but this is pretty self explanatory. One tank was smooth, easy fit on the tabs, effortless to remove/add. The other? A 3 minute battle, but my hands were a little waterlogged by then!
The acrylic is maybe a little thinner than other tanks, a little too much movement on the bottom for me, BUT it could be that I have maxed out the weight on my setup. I have a base 2' of heavy substrate with a corner terrace in each tank, plus a few additional rocks. It should be ok as I don't plan on moving it. Guess I am used to glass .... :) For the average setup, this tank will be fine. It has enough substance to be good for kids, too.
I am currently using the filter it came with as I don't have any other internal filters laying around, and I was just curious as to how well it would work. I like the baffle / flow diffuser, I adjusted the water height to a little above the optimal which removed the last trace of noise (there was barely a whisper anyway, I just have SuperMom hearing!), and slowed the surface enough for the Betta's, they are both mellow guys used to bowl water. The filter replacement will use Tetra smalls, which I have on another tank, to which I always add a very small media bag of clay to keep the bacteria going. One thing about Tetra filters, they are economical to keep up, and WalMart always has them in stock - another reason why I chose to try the filter. I will have either a cat, otto, or a snail with each Betta and that is all, so I am not worried about overloading. To be honest, the 'Betta thing' is ADDICTIVE, so I am no longer using the serious Fluval or Marineland BioWheel filters - I have one or two fish in a tank and those filters are overkill / much more expensive to maintain.
Overall, I am extremely happy with this tank. It delivered much more than I was expecting, and I can say that I will probably buy more if I get more Betta's. There was attention to detail that impressed me, especially at this price point.
Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
UPDATE TO PURCHASE AFTER OWNED ALMOST A MONTH
Posted 05/09/2012
The tank is still going strong, I have found that with the addition of plant lights my algae grew a bit, but there are no algae eaters yet, so this should go away as it is minimal and I have been leaving the lights on a bit.
No issues with adding my own media bags with extra clay, water readings are perfect across the board.
3 new things I like about this tank:
1)Deep enough to add extra gravel / terracing and still leaves plenty of room for the fish
2)The light is protected from the water so there is not a risk of shorting out the plant lights, as I found with the other 5 gal I purchased at WM.com
3) Again, attention to detail: The back includes a cut out and indentation for cords. I haven't added my heater yet, not necessary until winter, but there are several areas to do so based on cutouts and indents across the hood.
1 new thing to watch:
I haven't tried to move these tanks yet to their permanent homes. Once they are done cycling and I clear the spaces for them, I will be removing into a clean bucket 75% of the water to move as the tank seems a little weak to move full. This is going to be the case with any acrylic I think though. Even glass tanks don't like to be moved, I unfortunately did not finish my desk set up in time and couldn't wait to set up in their proper areas - my bad :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 39 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

WOW!!!

08/19/2011
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just luv this little tank --I've had very big ones all my life and now I can not tend those 50 gal and up. This little tank is perfect and very easy to tend A must have for anyone and wow!!! it comes with so many goodies, more than whats added in the contents I'm 110% satisfied and very good quality and very fast shipping got it in 2 days--yea!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 40 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Great aquarium for a betta fish.

02/04/2012
By ,
Huntingtown, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this on a desk with a betta fish and some snails. It's a great aquarium. The filter came with a baffle, and the light is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
21-40 of 348 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next