Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hawkeye Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hawkeye Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

The Hawkeye 5 Gallon Kit is an impressive starter aquarium suitable for your home, office, or classroom. Featuring a semi-hexagonal design with full fluorescent hood, power filter, light and cartridge. Constructed of acrylic, this fish aquarium is leak proof and sturdy, making it ideal for children. The compact fluorescent light provides excellent aquarium lighting and full coverage for the top of the tank. This aquarium will enhance any room.
Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(420 Reviews) 347
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
237
4 stars
121
3 stars
26
2 stars
10
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation90%376 out of 419reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
237
4 stars
121
3 stars
26
2 stars
10
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

AMAZINGG!!

09/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price only being $26 i was a bit worried about how it would come out. but boy this is a great deal!! :) the date says itll ship in 9 days but i actualy got mine in 4. its a lot bigger then it looks in pictures, and the hexagon shape is lovely. :) i have 2 platys and a golden barb fish and they love it. the fliter is great, keeps my water clean. it comes with 1 catrdige, wwhich will last you around a month dependin on how many fishes you have. the fliter is a bit strong thouugh and itll knock ur fishes to the other side. which is why you need to " baffle it. " this simply means block the water flow some how. at first i used a sponge and after a while a lot of algae started to built up on it. so i cut up a bottle in half and i used rubber bands to hold it over the fliter and it works fine now. the light is amazing, the LED bulb really lights up the tank and brings out the beauty of your decorations :D i would deffinately recommend this tankkk!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Georgia but not far enough from Atlanta
Puzzled
Posted 07/17/2013
What LED bulb? This tank advertises a fluorescent bulb? I would prefer LED.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Love this tank!

11/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got one of these for each of my bettas. They LOVE it. I keep live, low light plants in all of them and the light bulb does a great job keeping them looking good. The filter is easy to baffle and you can replace it if you ever want a change. It's not integrated, which is nice. A 25 watt heater fits nicely along the short side and keeps all my bettas toasty and healthy. Weekly water changes and vacuuming are a cinch with the pop up lid. It's an awesome tank for the money. Highly recommend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+153points
Review 3 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Perfection!!!

10/21/2010
By ,
Morris, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like other reviewers, I was skeptical of the quality of this fish tank at the $25-$30 price, but have been absolutely thrilled and amazed by what a great product it really is. My 2 1/2 yr old son won a goldfish at the local fall carnival, and after a month in a vase, having to change the water everyday, and constantly fighting off our 3 cats, I had no choice but to concede that we needed a real fish tank for "Goldy".
I love that this tank is one seamless piece and that it includes not only the hood and light, but also a great filter. There is also 2 extra pop out panels in the back of the hood to add a heater or other accessory as you see fit. I really love that the hood is hinged so if you need to access the tank, you don't have to pull the hood off, it just flips up giving you full access, even with the filter system on the back of the tank!!
Also, the little flip door on the front of the hood is perfect for feeding time, ecspecially for the little ones who always want to help. Even the cats love to just lay in front of the tank and watch the fish...they are no longer trying to go fishing. It's great not having to keep a constant eye on them, and knowing that the fish are safe.
We all love this fish tank so much that we are getting another one to replace my daughter's $50 3gal. tank.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Review 4 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Betta Loves it

07/16/2013
By ,
Phila, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my Betta, he was living in a one gallon cube. He loves all the extra space, I put two otto algae eaters in with him, they get along fine. I like the tank but the hood is 4 1/2 inches high, I put the tank on a book shelf, I had to remove one of the shelves for this tank to fit. It looks well made, the filter runs quiet and seems to do a good job. It comes with a compact flouresent bulb, it lights the tank up nicely. If you're new to fish tanks, don't forget to cycle your tank before you put the fish in, if you want a fast cycle put a bottle of Safestart in it first. Clean the gravel really well also before putting it into the tank, really everything should be rinsed off without soap, before going into the tank.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 5 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

nice starter

03/19/2011
By ,
houston, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great aquarium for up to 5 small fishes. if you house more than 6, i recommend buying the marineland bio wheel penguin 100 filter. it fit nicely in the back, and provide the much needed biological filtration which the tetra filter that come packaged can not do.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 6 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Bang for the buck

11/08/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know many people have complained about site to store shipping, we ordered this tank as a replacement for a very tired 2.5 gallon mini bow aquarium. There were no scratched cracks or anything in this tank the filter does seem a bit odd compared to many filter systems out there but as a cheaper based tank the filter matches the ideals and in the near future im sure i will be looking for a new setup for that. Other wise the tank is great we wanted something different and everyone is right the shape of this tank is awesome and it really gives any room a good look with a different tank style.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Great product/ Great price

09/18/2010
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tank looks great set up. For the price this tank is an awesome deal. My betta is really enjoying it. The only problem I had was the current created by the filter was too strong but I was able to rig the filter to slow it down.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 8 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

LOVE This Little Tank!

12/21/2013
By ,
Central Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hit up Walmart.com over cyber week and found this little gem on special for $21! Read most of the reviews -- the majority are extremely positive -- and kept my fingers crossed it would arrive undamaged from shipping [as a lot of reviews centered around that particular problem]. I was SO relieved to get it home, check it all out and discover it was in PERFECT condition and it continues to be. The system comes with a compact fluorescent light, hinged cover, water filter/pump -- everything you need to start including trial size water conditioner and Tetra-min flake food. VERY impressive! I added rocks, a little heater, some live plants, fish and VOILA! -- instant under water living for my betta and his pals! Oh, on other reviews they were talking about how powerful the flow is for bettas and other fish, but mine came with a little plastic piece that clips over the jets to divert water flow downward.
I had a 20 gallon long aquarium years ago and while I enjoyed having fish, I didn't enjoy how much room the aquarium took up. The Hawkeye 5 gallon is a PERFECT addition to any room -- mine's sitting on top of an old sewing stand. The lighting is perfect, the light itself is protected by a plastic cover so no water can reach the bulb, it's just a perfect size for an older person like me to enjoy, and with it only being 5 gallons, it should be very easy to maintain.
Thank you Hawkeye for this sweet little tank, and thank you Walmart for having it on special for Cyberweek. I absolutely LOVE everything about it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
los angeles, ca
decorations
Posted 01/04/2014
where did you get your tardis!?? it's so cute, i need one!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Perfect Upgrade Tank

07/14/2012
By ,
mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first got our Betta fish, he was in a 3 gal tank, which was great at the time, but I wanted to go a little bigger, and I saw the "Hawkeye 5 Gal Tank" and couldn't wait to get it. It arrived quickly, and after I set it up, I could not wait to see our lil guy swimming around in it. He loves it, and it is the perfect size, I love the light, and works great for an Amazon Sword plant. There is room for decorations, hiding caves, and plants, I also used a Air stone, to create a nice bubbly effect, I used the filter for a while, my fishy don't like it, but it works fine for this tank.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Great!!!!

05/18/2012
By ,
Cleveland Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tank!!! i had a little crack but i kept it. but over all great tank you should get it
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Great tank

05/04/2012
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tank for my male Betta and he seems to be enjoying it. Everything has been working well. :-)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 12 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

TERRIFIC!!!!

08/07/2010
By ,
N.E. Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a tad skeptical with the price being only $25.00, but I LOVE this tank!!! It looks bigger than 5 gallons, the light & filter it comes with are great & my betta loves it as much as I do!!!
The filter IS a tad strong for a betta, but once you baffle it, it's all good! :)
Honestly, I don't think you can go wrong with this tank kit!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+268points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mesa az
use for Beta Spawning?
Posted 07/05/2011
Would this be a good tank for spawning beta's and how do you baffle the filter? thanks
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Love this tank!

05/26/2012
By ,
L.I., N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a huge fresh water fish tank and decided to do away with it a few years ago. I missed not having fish as I find them very calming. This tank is perfect. It comes with everything you need, a filter, a hood, lighting and the shape makes this tank look bigger than it is.
It is a perfect start up tank for older children or if you just want a small hobby to fiddle with.
The picture included was taken just after I filled the tank, the bubbles eventually subsided.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 14 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting
04/23/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this fish tank as a starter tank for my 8 year old son. We are very pleased with our purchase. We wanted something small that was easy to take care of. Even though it's only a 5 gallon tank, it does feel larger which is great. After reading some other reviews I decided to purchase a different filter for it, that I also purchased at Walmart for around $15. So I can't comment on the filter that comes with it, as I never used it. I would definitely recommend this tank to anyone that is looking for a smaller tank that is pleasing to the eye.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Nice aquarium for a good price

02/27/2012
By ,
Jax, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice complete aquarium. It looks good. I had no trouble assembling it even though I used a filter from an aquarium I already had. The filter that came with it was pretty nice but the one I was already using was much nicer so I kept it instead. The tiny opening given for feeding is too small and hard to use so I just open the whole lid to feed the fish. Overall the tank is a pretty good value and looks good in my diningroom.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Hawkeye Customer Service???

11/10/2011
By ,
Gatlinburg TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hope that when you receive the product that it is perfect and without issues. Mine was received with a crack in it and as I was told "Walmart repackages it with items inside the aquarium and we have had issues with that" <- Hawkeye statement. Anyways, it took them a day or two to respond to my voicemail message about the problem and they were quick to agree that they would ship me a new aquarium (without hood, filter, etc of course). I was glad that they didn't put up a fight or anything. The only problem with that is that it then took a minimum of 2-3 weeks to receive it.
So now I have what appears to be a complete product and go to put it together, fill it with water, gravel, and ornaments. Now I find out the light doesn't work. Switch is inoperable. Went and bought a new bulb. Dead. Now I have to call them again! Arg! Without surprise I have to leave a message again...This time though I thought I would hasten the process by sending an email as well with problem, things tried to remedy situation, my phone number and address to mail me a replacement. Email was immediately returned to me by gmail with this message for the failed delivery...
Technical details of permanent failure:
Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the recipient domain...The error that the other server returned was: Mailbox quota exceeded (state 14).
My suggestion is if you get a defective unit, return it to Walmart and order another. For the money you can't beat it, if you get everything working as advertised. Without the light it still runs and works great! The only other tidbit you might want to be aware of...
It has a strong filter and creates quite a "current". The best and easiest way to baffle this...
http://www.petfish.net/kb/entry/347/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 17 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Cant be beat for $25

12/24/2012
By ,
Claymont, De 19703
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far i love this tank.It looks bigger than 5 gallons and it came with a really nice filter.I know every body swears its too strong for a betta but i just filled the tank til the water was covering the jets on the pump and i cant see a stream of water at all.And my Female Crown tail Betta (Betsy)doesnt mind it at all.I do need to get some more plants and a few other decorations like a backgroud to help make it look nicer and Betsy's life more enjoyable.I did add a Tetra Heater 5-15 which keeps the water at a 76-78c which is just great for my betta.Only problem ive seen is the filter refills.I cant seem to find them anywhere.If i do find them i will post back.If not im gonna have to go with a Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter or something similar
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

great value

08/24/2013
By ,
allentown, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There were some bad reviews for this product but ive had it for months and nothing has broke an my betta loves his new home!! Filter is not super strong but keeps the tank clear.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

I put my two baby water turtles there...

09/03/2013
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My one inch baby turtles are really happy there, and I put a UVB/UVA for reptile since it already had its lamp outlet and that was really helpful,.... I filled it halfway with water 2.5 gal. its perfect for may turtles for at least 2 more years when they grow bigger. and the Filter that comes with this product its really helpful, the water would just turn black dirty right away if it wasn't for it, once a week I clean the filter with the backyard hose and replace clean water and thats it. I hope my review helps people that love turtles.... not just fish.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Hawkeye 5 gal Aquarium Kit with Fluorescent Lighting

Perfect little tank

04/25/2013
By ,
Riverside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted something around this size for my betta. All the pet stores wanted over twice as much for aquariums of similar or even smaller size, though! This is such a fantastic deal. The light is great and it's a perfect amount of space for my fish. The filter is a nice little one with a cartridge that's easy to find in stores for replacement time, but I chose to just go with a small airstone instead. After adding some decorations and a little heater, it's the perfect home for my betta! I'm really happy with my purchase!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 348 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next