Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

LitterMaid Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Whether you are out on a vacation or busy with work, the Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580) is an efficient tool for your cat's litter needs. It ensures that your home remains fresh and clean, with no foul odor detectable from the cat's waste. The automatic litter box empties the waste into a sealed, disposable receptacle to ensure odors are contained. This box comes with a detachable rake mechanism designed for efficient use and easy cleaning, and extra-high sidewalls that prevent the litter from spilling out onto the floor. The Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580) is very handy for day-to-day use and helps save you time cleaning the litter box.
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 193
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
53
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation78%168 out of 216reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 212 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
53
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Piece of junk, do not buy!

06/13/2011
By ,
Crandall, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The design of the product was so poor it did not work with or without cat litter in it! Another person who reviewed the product said it very well, where is zero for Value and Expectations? I returned the product as soon as I had the opportunity. I bought an OmegaPaw Roll N Clean and absolutely love it! Do not waste your money on an electric auto cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
Omega Paw Self Cleaning Litter Box Combo
 
 
 
 
 
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Very poor quality

05/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product is very poorly made. Bought my first one, liked it at first until the 8th day. It stopped working. Called there support line. They determined it wAs defective, so I took it back to Walmart and exchanged it. The second one only lasted 5 days. Something just stops moving. I don't recomend that you buy this littermaid product. It's a waste of your $90.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Disapointed

01/12/2011
By ,
Cape Coral, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this for Christmas from my husband. It's what I wanted for Christmas. It already broke It's only January 12th. It's been about 3 weeks that I have had it. I called their 1-800 number and haven't yet received a call back from them. I will try to call again to see if I can contact someone. I will let you know what happens next. Lets see how well they handle problems. This will help us to see if they are a reputable compay.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

did not work

12/09/2012
By ,
va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can not give a true rating because the unit would not power up, not even with batteries. I am returning the item and have reordered another one. Only hope the next one does work, will let you know when I get it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Do not waste your time or money

05/30/2013
By ,
Lexington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I conducted plenty of research on self-cleaning litter boxes before making this purchase. The product was a bit difficult to set up. Once I got it started, the rake did a test run, and that was the one and only time the rake ever worked. The light kept blinking, so I went through all of the trouble-shooting steps, called customer service, and reset the product (according to their instructions) several times. The customer service representative quickly suggested that I exchange it. I will not bother--just want a refund. I seriously think that this item is a piece of trash.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
06/21/2011
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not a very good product. Will keep it because it is better than scooping by hand but does
not automatically rake when the cat gets out, the sensors do not work even after cleaning them as the instructions say. I have to manually start the rake and then sometimes it gets stuck because I didn't notice that a cat had been in there twice. i would not recommend it for a two cat household and not much for a one cat household.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Might as well lay down news papers

07/08/2012
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a really cool idea and I can see that others have had a positive experience but not for me. The rake scooped the litter once and got jammed at the end of the litter tray and would not return to its home position. After following the instructions in the manual, the rake was still stuck. I tried to contact the company for over a week for information on how to reset the rake and I could not get in touch with anybody. I returned it to my local Wal-Mart store for a refund. Perhaps you will have better luck than I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
06/22/2011
By ,
shorewood, mn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this litter box did not work for my cat at all. it is small & cramped and looks weird,
she was afraid of it from the get go. she eventually refused to use it and began
urinating on the dog's bed. i have switched her back over to the old box and
i'am trying help her be comfortable once again with going in the litter box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

no power to scoop

05/07/2013
By ,
Sterling, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have two other litter maids - this one doesn't even scoop out the waste and it is a horrible yellow tan color unlike the other two which is more aligned with a neutral gray beige. May end up returning this - not happy to date.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

DO NOT BUY EVER

04/21/2012
By ,
Aurora, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS B/C I'M PREGNANT THE REVIEWS WERE AWESOME
DAY ONE IT DOESN'T EVEN WORK
THE RACK GOT STUCK A MILLION TIMES!!!!
IT'S NOT QUIET
PIECE OF JUNKK
I'M SO UPSET I WATED MONEY AND TIME ON THIS
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

unimpressed

04/04/2014
By ,
ontario
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This litterbox does not perform as described,rake does not reach bottom of litter to pick it up,throw away containers fit poorly and dont stay in place, last 2 times I attempted to purchase recommended litter was not available at either local store, neither were the scent pads!Very disappointed with this fairly expensive equipment, its as much work as a regular box plus hydro to run it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

LITTERMAID SELF-CLEANING

11/30/2013
By ,
KNOXVILLE, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I DISLIKE A LOT! I HAD ONE OF THE OLD ONES AND IT WORKED GREAT. THIS ONE DOES NOT GO DEEP ENOUGH TO GET THE POO AND URINE OUT. MY CATS LIKE WATCHING IT AND WILL JUMP IN IT AND IT KEEPS GOING SO I HAVE TO GRAP THE CAT OUT BEFORE IT GETS SMASHED. LED WONT STAY IN PLACE SO POO GETS DUMPED ON TOP OF LID SO THERE IS A MESS TO CLEAN UP. .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Terrible, don't buy it

09/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In one word: TERRIBLE. Made of cheap plastic, motor is very loud, but worst of all -- poorly designed. The rake pushes the waste into the bin, but if the urine ball is larger than 1.5 inches then the lid to the waste bin flips open and the waste is exposed (and smelly, worse than a regular litter box since it is not covered with litter) until you close the lid or change out the bin. Somehow the stool got smeared all over the rake a couple of times so you have to clean the tines on the cheap plastic rake. I have this for less than one week, I found the waste bin flipped open 4 times. I have one 7 lb cat with normal waste output. I wanted this to work as advertised but I will have to return it :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
02/13/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible!!!! It didn't work how it was supposed to at all. The motor barely worked. After sending an e-mail messege from the Littermaid website I didn't get any response from the company to fix it. I tried calling and couldn't get through to talk to a person. I ended up throwing it away after 4 days of hand scooping the box and just accepted the loss.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Return
Posted 04/30/2013
You should have taken it back to walmart.. or sent it back and got a replacement instead of just throwing away $90!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Garbage

07/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned litter maid boxes before and were pleased with them . I had this newer cheaply made one for 2 weeks and it has stopped working . I will return it and look for something else. Not worth the shipping cost.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Very dissapointed

05/03/2011
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the third Littermaid that I have purchased. The first two lasted for about 10 years each, give or take. So when the last one died, I naturally ordered another one. Set it up on April 15, 2011. The motor died on April 20, 2011. It had dumped its load in the container and on its way back, it froze high up on the curve. Tried EVERYTHING that I read about to try. Finally packed it up and returned it to Walmart. Couldn't even close up the box the way it had stopped. I guess an associate will have to unscrew it and tear apart the end in order to close the box to ship. Very dissapointed because I had read that the LM580 was like the old models and better than the "new and improved".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Very Disappointed

04/09/2011
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product in November of 2010. It has already torn up. The automatic rake will not move. It started by getting stuck but now it will not rake at all. I am very disappointed with this product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Broken within a week!

07/17/2013
By ,
Wesley Chapel , FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I expected more durability from this product after paying $98 dollars for it. It broke within a week and is useless. it is made from very poor quality plastic. I am returning it tomorrow for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

TERRIBLE LIFE SPAN

04/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased three of these so far and they have lasted for approx 2 months each. The motor keeps locking up and will never start working. I am not buying anymore of these. When they go out that often, there is a problem. It is too expensive to keep buying new ones and trying to get a refund. I would not buy another one of these.
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

save your money

06/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would be awesome when my husband came home with it..But after having it for about 3 months, I'm ready to throw it out the window. The lids fall off the containers, so when it cleans itself, it dumps onto the lid, which means, you gotta get your hands dirty and clean it yourself..so now I don't use the lids. It says to use only premium litter, which I do..and it still doesn't work right..it will pick up the clumps, but not the clumps from the urine. And the rake compresses it down when it goes over it, so it becomes like cement. And sometimes the clumps gets impaled on the rake, so it goes on a joyride, and ends up back in the litterbox. It says they sell their own litter, but I have never seen it in the store, I would love to try it with theirs. And when its time to buy the receptacles, know they do not come with the carbon pacs, those you also have to buy separate. I have to clean this thing everyday!! I will say this though, my cats reaction to the first time he seen it, and heard it...was priceless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next