Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

LitterMaid Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Whether you are out on a vacation or busy with work, the Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580) is an efficient tool for your cats litter needs. It ensures that your home remains fresh and clean, with no foul odor detectable from the cats waste. The automatic litter box empties the waste into a sealed, disposable receptacle to ensure odors are contained. The Littermaid litter box comes with a detachable rake mechanism designed for efficient use and easy cleaning, and extra-high side walls prevent the litter from spilling out onto the floor. The Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580) is very handy for day-to-day use and helps save you time cleaning the litter box. This Littermaid litter box is also safe for your cat. All parts and accessories are made of lightweight materials intended to create an innocuous atmosphere for your cat.
Average Customer Rating:
3.784 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(199 Reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
49
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation78%155 out of 198reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 204 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
49
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Garbage

07/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned litter maid boxes before and were pleased with them . I had this newer cheaply made one for 2 weeks and it has stopped working . I will return it and look for something else. Not worth the shipping cost.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Horrible

09/29/2012
By ,
Millville NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cannot believe this got the reviews it did! Was easy 2 put together and the price would have been great if it actually performed it's job. I set it up and my cat was so anxious she couldn't wait I had 2 push her away till I was finished getting the litter even. Well I finished & she used it. I turned it on and it did its thing,all looked till it pushed it in the litter holder.Not only did it chop it off on the side and make a mess but it didn't even come off the rake! I had to wipe it all out.I was so turned off I boxed it up instantly. I had purchased the 350 Litter Robot which was sorta the same. Messy chopping litter off. Litter getting caught in areas,yuk! I say just use a basic box because at the end of the day it's all really no cleaner! I'll scoop myself and save my $$ Goodluck if you try it maybe it will work 4 you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

TERRIBLE LIFE SPAN

04/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased three of these so far and they have lasted for approx 2 months each. The motor keeps locking up and will never start working. I am not buying anymore of these. When they go out that often, there is a problem. It is too expensive to keep buying new ones and trying to get a refund. I would not buy another one of these.
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Do not waste your time or money

05/30/2013
By ,
Lexington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I conducted plenty of research on self-cleaning litter boxes before making this purchase. The product was a bit difficult to set up. Once I got it started, the rake did a test run, and that was the one and only time the rake ever worked. The light kept blinking, so I went through all of the trouble-shooting steps, called customer service, and reset the product (according to their instructions) several times. The customer service representative quickly suggested that I exchange it. I will not bother--just want a refund. I seriously think that this item is a piece of trash.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Didn't Work

03/24/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performed a dry run on the litter box before filling I, and it didn't work. The motor that pulled the rake got hung up in it's tracks about mid-way down to the waste bin and then returned to home. It performed this operation six times and then shut down. The manual was of little assistance in troubleshooting the issue, so I returned it to the store and got a full refund. Glad I got my money back but overall, it was a waste of time. Would recommend one of the more expensive models, such as the Nature's Miracle Hooded Multiple Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box. It has been installed for about a week now and works like a champ!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

did not work

12/09/2012
By ,
va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can not give a true rating because the unit would not power up, not even with batteries. I am returning the item and have reordered another one. Only hope the next one does work, will let you know when I get it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

LITTERMAID SELF-CLEANING

11/30/2013
By ,
KNOXVILLE, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I DISLIKE A LOT! I HAD ONE OF THE OLD ONES AND IT WORKED GREAT. THIS ONE DOES NOT GO DEEP ENOUGH TO GET THE POO AND URINE OUT. MY CATS LIKE WATCHING IT AND WILL JUMP IN IT AND IT KEEPS GOING SO I HAVE TO GRAP THE CAT OUT BEFORE IT GETS SMASHED. LED WONT STAY IN PLACE SO POO GETS DUMPED ON TOP OF LID SO THERE IS A MESS TO CLEAN UP. .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Poor Electronics

09/06/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The current Litter Maid is a pretty device. They've made the motor quieter and all was fine. For about five days. Then it just quit. Died.
This is frustrating. Thats the same reason that the previous Litter Maid died. The electronics just gave out. Not the motor, not anything mechanical, just the electronic, but that one lasted five years. I took the old one apart and the logic board is the cheapest unprotected thing I've ever seen.
If the electronics is an issue that means that ANY Litter Maid could just up and die, at any time. I don't find this to be acceptable. The only thing that would bring me back to Litter Maid is maybe a seven year warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Disapointed

01/12/2011
By ,
Cape Coral, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this for Christmas from my husband. It's what I wanted for Christmas. It already broke It's only January 12th. It's been about 3 weeks that I have had it. I called their 1-800 number and haven't yet received a call back from them. I will try to call again to see if I can contact someone. I will let you know what happens next. Lets see how well they handle problems. This will help us to see if they are a reputable compay.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Piece of junk, do not buy!

06/13/2011
By ,
Crandall, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The design of the product was so poor it did not work with or without cat litter in it! Another person who reviewed the product said it very well, where is zero for Value and Expectations? I returned the product as soon as I had the opportunity. I bought an OmegaPaw Roll N Clean and absolutely love it! Do not waste your money on an electric auto cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
Omega Paw Self Cleaning Litter Box Combo
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
08/28/2011
By ,
Boone, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a litermaid classic years ago and was NOT satisfied with the performance. It failed after just a few weeks. Assuming that the product had improved I bought a new one a few weeks ago. It will not run without batteries and it goes through new batteries in a matter of a few days. It has been another complete failure. Needless to say I will be returning this product and will never buy another one. I am sorry I just took the loss on the last one and did not return it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

no power to scoop

05/07/2013
By ,
Sterling, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have two other litter maids - this one doesn't even scoop out the waste and it is a horrible yellow tan color unlike the other two which is more aligned with a neutral gray beige. May end up returning this - not happy to date.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

DO NOT BUY

09/15/2010
By ,
Lebanon,PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was purchased to replace the traditional hooded litter box. I was interested in the "no scoop" aspect of the littermaid. Wrong...The waste gets stuck in the rake of the littermaid which results in cleaning of the rake regularly.The rake also takes several minutes to "clean" the box once your cat does his/her business which results in odor. Also, the rake was pushing the waste out of the box and onto the floor depending on where your cat does his/her business in the box. Overall it was more work than the traditional litterbox.I also didnt like the fact the box was open.There is a cover for the littermaid however it's expensive as well.I gave it a week and returned to my old litterbox.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Very poor quality

05/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product is very poorly made. Bought my first one, liked it at first until the 8th day. It stopped working. Called there support line. They determined it wAs defective, so I took it back to Walmart and exchanged it. The second one only lasted 5 days. Something just stops moving. I don't recomend that you buy this littermaid product. It's a waste of your $90.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Save your money

11/24/2012
By ,
Lubbock, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This "automatic" litter box is nearly as much work as a more traditional cat litter box. It saved almost no time and took nearly as much effort each day. On some days it was way more trouble than a traditional box.
When you add to this the fact that it stopped working completely in less than 90 days, it all adds up to little more than a colossal waste of time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Don't waste your money

04/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews, but cannot believe people are THAT satisfied with this product. I am a full time nurse and single mom, so I was looking to take something off my "to do" list and thought it would be easier to just change receptacles every few weeks. I have had to tend to this box EVERY day, which is more work than the old scoop box! First of all, the batteries only last 2 days, so I had to move it to another area of basement with a plug. Secondly, EVERY day since I have bought it, I have found it with the light blinking (which means it is "stuck") and I've had to scoop anyway because it can't handle the weight of my cat's littler. Would NOT do this again! And finally, I've had it only 6 days, and the first receptacle is already full. I'm seeing $$!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rockton, IL
dump into a trash can
Posted 04/23/2014
I put my Littermaid up on a plywood table. Cut a rectangle hole where the bin is, cut the bottom of the flimsy plastic bin and now it rakes into the trash can situated perfectly underneath. I take the bag out once a week, sometimes forget a week, but two weeks are okay and I have two cats.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

DO NOT BUY EVER

04/21/2012
By ,
Aurora, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS B/C I'M PREGNANT THE REVIEWS WERE AWESOME
DAY ONE IT DOESN'T EVEN WORK
THE RACK GOT STUCK A MILLION TIMES!!!!
IT'S NOT QUIET
PIECE OF JUNKK
I'M SO UPSET I WATED MONEY AND TIME ON THIS
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
06/21/2011
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not a very good product. Will keep it because it is better than scooping by hand but does
not automatically rake when the cat gets out, the sensors do not work even after cleaning them as the instructions say. I have to manually start the rake and then sometimes it gets stuck because I didn't notice that a cat had been in there twice. i would not recommend it for a two cat household and not much for a one cat household.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Might as well lay down news papers

07/08/2012
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a really cool idea and I can see that others have had a positive experience but not for me. The rake scooped the litter once and got jammed at the end of the litter tray and would not return to its home position. After following the instructions in the manual, the rake was still stuck. I tried to contact the company for over a week for information on how to reset the rake and I could not get in touch with anybody. I returned it to my local Wal-Mart store for a refund. Perhaps you will have better luck than I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
02/13/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible!!!! It didn't work how it was supposed to at all. The motor barely worked. After sending an e-mail messege from the Littermaid website I didn't get any response from the company to fix it. I tried calling and couldn't get through to talk to a person. I ended up throwing it away after 4 days of hand scooping the box and just accepted the loss.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Return
Posted 04/30/2013
You should have taken it back to walmart.. or sent it back and got a replacement instead of just throwing away $90!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next