Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

LitterMaid Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Whether you are out on a vacation or busy with work, the Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580) is an efficient tool for your cat’s litter needs. It ensures that your home remains fresh and clean, with no foul odor detectable from the cat’s waste. The automatic litter box empties the waste into a sealed, disposable receptacle to ensure odors are contained. The Littermaid litter box comes with a detachable rake mechanism designed for efficient use and easy cleaning, and extra-high side walls prevent the litter from spilling out onto the floor. The Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580) is very handy for day-to-day use and helps save you time cleaning the litter box. This Littermaid litter box is also safe for your cat. All parts and accessories are made of lightweight materials intended to create an innocuous atmosphere for your cat.
Average Customer Rating:
3.791 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(215 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
53
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation78%167 out of 214reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 212 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
53
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

DO NOT BUY

09/15/2010
By ,
Lebanon,PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was purchased to replace the traditional hooded litter box. I was interested in the "no scoop" aspect of the littermaid. Wrong...The waste gets stuck in the rake of the littermaid which results in cleaning of the rake regularly.The rake also takes several minutes to "clean" the box once your cat does his/her business which results in odor. Also, the rake was pushing the waste out of the box and onto the floor depending on where your cat does his/her business in the box. Overall it was more work than the traditional litterbox.I also didnt like the fact the box was open.There is a cover for the littermaid however it's expensive as well.I gave it a week and returned to my old litterbox.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Disapointed

01/12/2011
By ,
Cape Coral, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this for Christmas from my husband. It's what I wanted for Christmas. It already broke It's only January 12th. It's been about 3 weeks that I have had it. I called their 1-800 number and haven't yet received a call back from them. I will try to call again to see if I can contact someone. I will let you know what happens next. Lets see how well they handle problems. This will help us to see if they are a reputable compay.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Very dissapointed

05/03/2011
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the third Littermaid that I have purchased. The first two lasted for about 10 years each, give or take. So when the last one died, I naturally ordered another one. Set it up on April 15, 2011. The motor died on April 20, 2011. It had dumped its load in the container and on its way back, it froze high up on the curve. Tried EVERYTHING that I read about to try. Finally packed it up and returned it to Walmart. Couldn't even close up the box the way it had stopped. I guess an associate will have to unscrew it and tear apart the end in order to close the box to ship. Very dissapointed because I had read that the LM580 was like the old models and better than the "new and improved".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Piece of junk, do not buy!

06/13/2011
By ,
Crandall, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The design of the product was so poor it did not work with or without cat litter in it! Another person who reviewed the product said it very well, where is zero for Value and Expectations? I returned the product as soon as I had the opportunity. I bought an OmegaPaw Roll N Clean and absolutely love it! Do not waste your money on an electric auto cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
Omega Paw Self Cleaning Litter Box Combo
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
06/21/2011
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not a very good product. Will keep it because it is better than scooping by hand but does
not automatically rake when the cat gets out, the sensors do not work even after cleaning them as the instructions say. I have to manually start the rake and then sometimes it gets stuck because I didn't notice that a cat had been in there twice. i would not recommend it for a two cat household and not much for a one cat household.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Very poor quality

05/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product is very poorly made. Bought my first one, liked it at first until the 8th day. It stopped working. Called there support line. They determined it wAs defective, so I took it back to Walmart and exchanged it. The second one only lasted 5 days. Something just stops moving. I don't recomend that you buy this littermaid product. It's a waste of your $90.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Save your money

11/24/2012
By ,
Lubbock, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This "automatic" litter box is nearly as much work as a more traditional cat litter box. It saved almost no time and took nearly as much effort each day. On some days it was way more trouble than a traditional box.
When you add to this the fact that it stopped working completely in less than 90 days, it all adds up to little more than a colossal waste of time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

did not work

12/09/2012
By ,
va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can not give a true rating because the unit would not power up, not even with batteries. I am returning the item and have reordered another one. Only hope the next one does work, will let you know when I get it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
02/13/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible!!!! It didn't work how it was supposed to at all. The motor barely worked. After sending an e-mail messege from the Littermaid website I didn't get any response from the company to fix it. I tried calling and couldn't get through to talk to a person. I ended up throwing it away after 4 days of hand scooping the box and just accepted the loss.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Return
Posted 04/30/2013
You should have taken it back to walmart.. or sent it back and got a replacement instead of just throwing away $90!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

no power to scoop

05/07/2013
By ,
Sterling, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have two other litter maids - this one doesn't even scoop out the waste and it is a horrible yellow tan color unlike the other two which is more aligned with a neutral gray beige. May end up returning this - not happy to date.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Do not waste your time or money

05/30/2013
By ,
Lexington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I conducted plenty of research on self-cleaning litter boxes before making this purchase. The product was a bit difficult to set up. Once I got it started, the rake did a test run, and that was the one and only time the rake ever worked. The light kept blinking, so I went through all of the trouble-shooting steps, called customer service, and reset the product (according to their instructions) several times. The customer service representative quickly suggested that I exchange it. I will not bother--just want a refund. I seriously think that this item is a piece of trash.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Broken within a week!

07/17/2013
By ,
Wesley Chapel , FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I expected more durability from this product after paying $98 dollars for it. It broke within a week and is useless. it is made from very poor quality plastic. I am returning it tomorrow for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Doesn't deserve the one star.

08/21/2013
By ,
Elizabethton, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Followed the setup directions precisely, mechanical operations wouldn't function. Returned merchandise for 100% refund. Will never buy or try again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Electric Eye stopped working after 5 days

10/01/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had great success with the basic model littermaid boxes- the higher the price, the worse the function. I've had 4 so far. But this one stopped working automatically within 5 days. I've returned it and am not sure I will try again. The electic eye usually fails about 18 mos.-24 mos into use, but a multi-time timer can make it go even longer. Even if this one had lasted longer, the new design does not allow for the machine to left on, the timer idea would not work. I now have to say, not worth the investment. Though I used to recommend it to everyone at one time...
:(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Didn't Work

03/24/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performed a dry run on the litter box before filling I, and it didn't work. The motor that pulled the rake got hung up in it's tracks about mid-way down to the waste bin and then returned to home. It performed this operation six times and then shut down. The manual was of little assistance in troubleshooting the issue, so I returned it to the store and got a full refund. Glad I got my money back but overall, it was a waste of time. Would recommend one of the more expensive models, such as the Nature's Miracle Hooded Multiple Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box. It has been installed for about a week now and works like a champ!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Don't waste your money

04/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews, but cannot believe people are THAT satisfied with this product. I am a full time nurse and single mom, so I was looking to take something off my "to do" list and thought it would be easier to just change receptacles every few weeks. I have had to tend to this box EVERY day, which is more work than the old scoop box! First of all, the batteries only last 2 days, so I had to move it to another area of basement with a plug. Secondly, EVERY day since I have bought it, I have found it with the light blinking (which means it is "stuck") and I've had to scoop anyway because it can't handle the weight of my cat's littler. Would NOT do this again! And finally, I've had it only 6 days, and the first receptacle is already full. I'm seeing $$!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rockton, IL
dump into a trash can
Posted 04/23/2014
I put my Littermaid up on a plywood table. Cut a rectangle hole where the bin is, cut the bottom of the flimsy plastic bin and now it rakes into the trash can situated perfectly underneath. I take the bag out once a week, sometimes forget a week, but two weeks are okay and I have two cats.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

save your money

06/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would be awesome when my husband came home with it..But after having it for about 3 months, I'm ready to throw it out the window. The lids fall off the containers, so when it cleans itself, it dumps onto the lid, which means, you gotta get your hands dirty and clean it yourself..so now I don't use the lids. It says to use only premium litter, which I do..and it still doesn't work right..it will pick up the clumps, but not the clumps from the urine. And the rake compresses it down when it goes over it, so it becomes like cement. And sometimes the clumps gets impaled on the rake, so it goes on a joyride, and ends up back in the litterbox. It says they sell their own litter, but I have never seen it in the store, I would love to try it with theirs. And when its time to buy the receptacles, know they do not come with the carbon pacs, those you also have to buy separate. I have to clean this thing everyday!! I will say this though, my cats reaction to the first time he seen it, and heard it...was priceless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Terrible, don't buy it

09/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In one word: TERRIBLE. Made of cheap plastic, motor is very loud, but worst of all -- poorly designed. The rake pushes the waste into the bin, but if the urine ball is larger than 1.5 inches then the lid to the waste bin flips open and the waste is exposed (and smelly, worse than a regular litter box since it is not covered with litter) until you close the lid or change out the bin. Somehow the stool got smeared all over the rake a couple of times so you have to clean the tines on the cheap plastic rake. I have this for less than one week, I found the waste bin flipped open 4 times. I have one 7 lb cat with normal waste output. I wanted this to work as advertised but I will have to return it :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

littermaid

09/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Since I've gotten it i can't seem to get it to work! So as for if it works or not i don't know. I haven't had a chance to call customer service or even return it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Poor Electronics

09/06/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The current Litter Maid is a pretty device. They've made the motor quieter and all was fine. For about five days. Then it just quit. Died.
This is frustrating. Thats the same reason that the previous Litter Maid died. The electronics just gave out. Not the motor, not anything mechanical, just the electronic, but that one lasted five years. I took the old one apart and the logic board is the cheapest unprotected thing I've ever seen.
If the electronics is an issue that means that ANY Litter Maid could just up and die, at any time. I don't find this to be acceptable. The only thing that would bring me back to Litter Maid is maybe a seven year warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 192 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next