Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

LitterMaid Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Whether you are out on a vacation or busy with work, the Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580) is an efficient tool for your cat’s litter needs. It ensures that your home remains fresh and clean, with no foul odor detectable from the cat’s waste. The automatic litter box empties the waste into a sealed, disposable receptacle to ensure odors are contained. The Littermaid litter box comes with a detachable rake mechanism designed for efficient use and easy cleaning, and extra-high side walls prevent the litter from spilling out onto the floor. The Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580) is very handy for day-to-day use and helps save you time cleaning the litter box. This Littermaid litter box is also safe for your cat. All parts and accessories are made of lightweight materials intended to create an innocuous atmosphere for your cat.
Average Customer Rating:
3.759 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(207 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
50
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation77%159 out of 206reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 212 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
50
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

DO NOT BUY

09/15/2010
By ,
Lebanon,PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was purchased to replace the traditional hooded litter box. I was interested in the "no scoop" aspect of the littermaid. Wrong...The waste gets stuck in the rake of the littermaid which results in cleaning of the rake regularly.The rake also takes several minutes to "clean" the box once your cat does his/her business which results in odor. Also, the rake was pushing the waste out of the box and onto the floor depending on where your cat does his/her business in the box. Overall it was more work than the traditional litterbox.I also didnt like the fact the box was open.There is a cover for the littermaid however it's expensive as well.I gave it a week and returned to my old litterbox.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

unimpressed

04/04/2014
By ,
ontario
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This litterbox does not perform as described,rake does not reach bottom of litter to pick it up,throw away containers fit poorly and dont stay in place, last 2 times I attempted to purchase recommended litter was not available at either local store, neither were the scent pads!Very disappointed with this fairly expensive equipment, its as much work as a regular box plus hydro to run it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Save your money

02/08/2014
By ,
E. Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible. Constantly stuck and had to be manually started several times a day, rake does not reach the bottom, loud. The final straw was the rake stuck in the top most position. I went online and found instructions on how to reset it.
After taking it apart to find the internal reset button and putting it all back together it still did not work. Finally found that a plastic strip that appeared to be some type of computer ribbon was broken loose.
Complete waste of money. It doesn't even deserve the one star that I had to give.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Very Disappointed

04/09/2011
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product in November of 2010. It has already torn up. The automatic rake will not move. It started by getting stuck but now it will not rake at all. I am very disappointed with this product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Disapointed

01/12/2011
By ,
Cape Coral, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this for Christmas from my husband. It's what I wanted for Christmas. It already broke It's only January 12th. It's been about 3 weeks that I have had it. I called their 1-800 number and haven't yet received a call back from them. I will try to call again to see if I can contact someone. I will let you know what happens next. Lets see how well they handle problems. This will help us to see if they are a reputable compay.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Very dissapointed

05/03/2011
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the third Littermaid that I have purchased. The first two lasted for about 10 years each, give or take. So when the last one died, I naturally ordered another one. Set it up on April 15, 2011. The motor died on April 20, 2011. It had dumped its load in the container and on its way back, it froze high up on the curve. Tried EVERYTHING that I read about to try. Finally packed it up and returned it to Walmart. Couldn't even close up the box the way it had stopped. I guess an associate will have to unscrew it and tear apart the end in order to close the box to ship. Very dissapointed because I had read that the LM580 was like the old models and better than the "new and improved".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Piece of junk, do not buy!

06/13/2011
By ,
Crandall, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The design of the product was so poor it did not work with or without cat litter in it! Another person who reviewed the product said it very well, where is zero for Value and Expectations? I returned the product as soon as I had the opportunity. I bought an OmegaPaw Roll N Clean and absolutely love it! Do not waste your money on an electric auto cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
Omega Paw Self Cleaning Litter Box Combo
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
06/21/2011
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not a very good product. Will keep it because it is better than scooping by hand but does
not automatically rake when the cat gets out, the sensors do not work even after cleaning them as the instructions say. I have to manually start the rake and then sometimes it gets stuck because I didn't notice that a cat had been in there twice. i would not recommend it for a two cat household and not much for a one cat household.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

DO NOT BUY EVER

04/21/2012
By ,
Aurora, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS B/C I'M PREGNANT THE REVIEWS WERE AWESOME
DAY ONE IT DOESN'T EVEN WORK
THE RACK GOT STUCK A MILLION TIMES!!!!
IT'S NOT QUIET
PIECE OF JUNKK
I'M SO UPSET I WATED MONEY AND TIME ON THIS
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
06/22/2011
By ,
shorewood, mn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this litter box did not work for my cat at all. it is small & cramped and looks weird,
she was afraid of it from the get go. she eventually refused to use it and began
urinating on the dog's bed. i have switched her back over to the old box and
i'am trying help her be comfortable once again with going in the litter box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Horrible

09/29/2012
By ,
Millville NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cannot believe this got the reviews it did! Was easy 2 put together and the price would have been great if it actually performed it's job. I set it up and my cat was so anxious she couldn't wait I had 2 push her away till I was finished getting the litter even. Well I finished & she used it. I turned it on and it did its thing,all looked till it pushed it in the litter holder.Not only did it chop it off on the side and make a mess but it didn't even come off the rake! I had to wipe it all out.I was so turned off I boxed it up instantly. I had purchased the 350 Litter Robot which was sorta the same. Messy chopping litter off. Litter getting caught in areas,yuk! I say just use a basic box because at the end of the day it's all really no cleaner! I'll scoop myself and save my $$ Goodluck if you try it maybe it will work 4 you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
08/28/2011
By ,
Boone, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a litermaid classic years ago and was NOT satisfied with the performance. It failed after just a few weeks. Assuming that the product had improved I bought a new one a few weeks ago. It will not run without batteries and it goes through new batteries in a matter of a few days. It has been another complete failure. Needless to say I will be returning this product and will never buy another one. I am sorry I just took the loss on the last one and did not return it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

did not work

12/09/2012
By ,
va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can not give a true rating because the unit would not power up, not even with batteries. I am returning the item and have reordered another one. Only hope the next one does work, will let you know when I get it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

TERRIBLE LIFE SPAN

04/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased three of these so far and they have lasted for approx 2 months each. The motor keeps locking up and will never start working. I am not buying anymore of these. When they go out that often, there is a problem. It is too expensive to keep buying new ones and trying to get a refund. I would not buy another one of these.
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

no power to scoop

05/07/2013
By ,
Sterling, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have two other litter maids - this one doesn't even scoop out the waste and it is a horrible yellow tan color unlike the other two which is more aligned with a neutral gray beige. May end up returning this - not happy to date.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Doesn't deserve the one star.

08/21/2013
By ,
Elizabethton, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Followed the setup directions precisely, mechanical operations wouldn't function. Returned merchandise for 100% refund. Will never buy or try again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

LITTERMAID SELF-CLEANING

11/30/2013
By ,
KNOXVILLE, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I DISLIKE A LOT! I HAD ONE OF THE OLD ONES AND IT WORKED GREAT. THIS ONE DOES NOT GO DEEP ENOUGH TO GET THE POO AND URINE OUT. MY CATS LIKE WATCHING IT AND WILL JUMP IN IT AND IT KEEPS GOING SO I HAVE TO GRAP THE CAT OUT BEFORE IT GETS SMASHED. LED WONT STAY IN PLACE SO POO GETS DUMPED ON TOP OF LID SO THERE IS A MESS TO CLEAN UP. .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Didn't Work

03/24/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performed a dry run on the litter box before filling I, and it didn't work. The motor that pulled the rake got hung up in it's tracks about mid-way down to the waste bin and then returned to home. It performed this operation six times and then shut down. The manual was of little assistance in troubleshooting the issue, so I returned it to the store and got a full refund. Glad I got my money back but overall, it was a waste of time. Would recommend one of the more expensive models, such as the Nature's Miracle Hooded Multiple Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box. It has been installed for about a week now and works like a champ!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

save your money

06/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would be awesome when my husband came home with it..But after having it for about 3 months, I'm ready to throw it out the window. The lids fall off the containers, so when it cleans itself, it dumps onto the lid, which means, you gotta get your hands dirty and clean it yourself..so now I don't use the lids. It says to use only premium litter, which I do..and it still doesn't work right..it will pick up the clumps, but not the clumps from the urine. And the rake compresses it down when it goes over it, so it becomes like cement. And sometimes the clumps gets impaled on the rake, so it goes on a joyride, and ends up back in the litterbox. It says they sell their own litter, but I have never seen it in the store, I would love to try it with theirs. And when its time to buy the receptacles, know they do not come with the carbon pacs, those you also have to buy separate. I have to clean this thing everyday!! I will say this though, my cats reaction to the first time he seen it, and heard it...was priceless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

would not recommend

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I regret purchasing this product. It doesn't work like it says it does. I still have to sift the litterbox, which defeats the purpose of this expensive product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next