Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

LitterMaid Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Whether you are out on a vacation or busy with work, the Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580) is an efficient tool for your cats litter needs. It ensures that your home remains fresh and clean, with no foul odor detectable from the cats waste. The automatic litter box empties the waste into a sealed, disposable receptacle to ensure odors are contained. The Littermaid litter box comes with a detachable rake mechanism designed for efficient use and easy cleaning, and extra-high side walls prevent the litter from spilling out onto the floor. The Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580) is very handy for day-to-day use and helps save you time cleaning the litter box. This Littermaid litter box is also safe for your cat. All parts and accessories are made of lightweight materials intended to create an innocuous atmosphere for your cat.
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(186 Reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
46
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation79%146 out of 185reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 196 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
46
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Disapointed

01/12/2011
By ,
Cape Coral, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this for Christmas from my husband. It's what I wanted for Christmas. It already broke It's only January 12th. It's been about 3 weeks that I have had it. I called their 1-800 number and haven't yet received a call back from them. I will try to call again to see if I can contact someone. I will let you know what happens next. Lets see how well they handle problems. This will help us to see if they are a reputable compay.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

no power to scoop

05/07/2013
By ,
Sterling, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have two other litter maids - this one doesn't even scoop out the waste and it is a horrible yellow tan color unlike the other two which is more aligned with a neutral gray beige. May end up returning this - not happy to date.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
02/13/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible!!!! It didn't work how it was supposed to at all. The motor barely worked. After sending an e-mail messege from the Littermaid website I didn't get any response from the company to fix it. I tried calling and couldn't get through to talk to a person. I ended up throwing it away after 4 days of hand scooping the box and just accepted the loss.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Return
Posted 04/30/2013
You should have taken it back to walmart.. or sent it back and got a replacement instead of just throwing away $90!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Horrible

09/29/2012
By ,
Millville NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cannot believe this got the reviews it did! Was easy 2 put together and the price would have been great if it actually performed it's job. I set it up and my cat was so anxious she couldn't wait I had 2 push her away till I was finished getting the litter even. Well I finished & she used it. I turned it on and it did its thing,all looked till it pushed it in the litter holder.Not only did it chop it off on the side and make a mess but it didn't even come off the rake! I had to wipe it all out.I was so turned off I boxed it up instantly. I had purchased the 350 Litter Robot which was sorta the same. Messy chopping litter off. Litter getting caught in areas,yuk! I say just use a basic box because at the end of the day it's all really no cleaner! I'll scoop myself and save my $$ Goodluck if you try it maybe it will work 4 you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
06/21/2011
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not a very good product. Will keep it because it is better than scooping by hand but does
not automatically rake when the cat gets out, the sensors do not work even after cleaning them as the instructions say. I have to manually start the rake and then sometimes it gets stuck because I didn't notice that a cat had been in there twice. i would not recommend it for a two cat household and not much for a one cat household.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

DO NOT BUY EVER

04/21/2012
By ,
Aurora, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS B/C I'M PREGNANT THE REVIEWS WERE AWESOME
DAY ONE IT DOESN'T EVEN WORK
THE RACK GOT STUCK A MILLION TIMES!!!!
IT'S NOT QUIET
PIECE OF JUNKK
I'M SO UPSET I WATED MONEY AND TIME ON THIS
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
06/22/2011
By ,
shorewood, mn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this litter box did not work for my cat at all. it is small & cramped and looks weird,
she was afraid of it from the get go. she eventually refused to use it and began
urinating on the dog's bed. i have switched her back over to the old box and
i'am trying help her be comfortable once again with going in the litter box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

did not work

12/09/2012
By ,
va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can not give a true rating because the unit would not power up, not even with batteries. I am returning the item and have reordered another one. Only hope the next one does work, will let you know when I get it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

DO NOT BUY

09/15/2010
By ,
Lebanon,PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was purchased to replace the traditional hooded litter box. I was interested in the "no scoop" aspect of the littermaid. Wrong...The waste gets stuck in the rake of the littermaid which results in cleaning of the rake regularly.The rake also takes several minutes to "clean" the box once your cat does his/her business which results in odor. Also, the rake was pushing the waste out of the box and onto the floor depending on where your cat does his/her business in the box. Overall it was more work than the traditional litterbox.I also didnt like the fact the box was open.There is a cover for the littermaid however it's expensive as well.I gave it a week and returned to my old litterbox.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Broken within a week!

07/17/2013
By ,
Wesley Chapel , FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I expected more durability from this product after paying $98 dollars for it. It broke within a week and is useless. it is made from very poor quality plastic. I am returning it tomorrow for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Poor Electronics

09/06/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The current Litter Maid is a pretty device. They've made the motor quieter and all was fine. For about five days. Then it just quit. Died.
This is frustrating. Thats the same reason that the previous Litter Maid died. The electronics just gave out. Not the motor, not anything mechanical, just the electronic, but that one lasted five years. I took the old one apart and the logic board is the cheapest unprotected thing I've ever seen.
If the electronics is an issue that means that ANY Litter Maid could just up and die, at any time. I don't find this to be acceptable. The only thing that would bring me back to Litter Maid is maybe a seven year warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Very poor quality

05/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product is very poorly made. Bought my first one, liked it at first until the 8th day. It stopped working. Called there support line. They determined it wAs defective, so I took it back to Walmart and exchanged it. The second one only lasted 5 days. Something just stops moving. I don't recomend that you buy this littermaid product. It's a waste of your $90.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Very Disappointed

04/09/2011
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product in November of 2010. It has already torn up. The automatic rake will not move. It started by getting stuck but now it will not rake at all. I am very disappointed with this product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Might as well lay down news papers

07/08/2012
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a really cool idea and I can see that others have had a positive experience but not for me. The rake scooped the litter once and got jammed at the end of the litter tray and would not return to its home position. After following the instructions in the manual, the rake was still stuck. I tried to contact the company for over a week for information on how to reset the rake and I could not get in touch with anybody. I returned it to my local Wal-Mart store for a refund. Perhaps you will have better luck than I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Very dissapointed

05/03/2011
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the third Littermaid that I have purchased. The first two lasted for about 10 years each, give or take. So when the last one died, I naturally ordered another one. Set it up on April 15, 2011. The motor died on April 20, 2011. It had dumped its load in the container and on its way back, it froze high up on the curve. Tried EVERYTHING that I read about to try. Finally packed it up and returned it to Walmart. Couldn't even close up the box the way it had stopped. I guess an associate will have to unscrew it and tear apart the end in order to close the box to ship. Very dissapointed because I had read that the LM580 was like the old models and better than the "new and improved".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Garbage

07/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned litter maid boxes before and were pleased with them . I had this newer cheaply made one for 2 weeks and it has stopped working . I will return it and look for something else. Not worth the shipping cost.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

TERRIBLE LIFE SPAN

04/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased three of these so far and they have lasted for approx 2 months each. The motor keeps locking up and will never start working. I am not buying anymore of these. When they go out that often, there is a problem. It is too expensive to keep buying new ones and trying to get a refund. I would not buy another one of these.
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Bet it works good

07/03/2011
By ,
Twin Cities, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wouldn't quite know yet, the gear(s?) is stripped or something. Have to mail back portions in order to receive a new one. I'm hopeful; I had one 15 years ago and loved it..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)

Waste of Money

12/09/2013
By ,
Manassas, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money on this cheaply made garbage. It worked ok when I first got it, though it was very noisy. I only had it about two months and it stopped working. I tried everything to revive it, starting with the manual and called customer service to no avail. Luckily I hadn't thrown away my old litter box. DO NOT BUY!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Littermaid Classic Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box (LM580)
08/28/2011
By ,
Boone, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a litermaid classic years ago and was NOT satisfied with the performance. It failed after just a few weeks. Assuming that the product had improved I bought a new one a few weeks ago. It will not run without batteries and it goes through new batteries in a matter of a few days. It has been another complete failure. Needless to say I will be returning this product and will never buy another one. I am sorry I just took the loss on the last one and did not return it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next