Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Update your bedroom with the Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bedding Set, featuring classic scrolls in beautiful aqua blue and chocolate brown hues. The matching 4-piece sheet set is embellished with printed borders to finesse the look. The complete set includes a comforter, shams, sheets and bed skirt for an easy bedroom makeover. The set is machine washable for easy care.
Average Customer Rating:
4.516 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%82 out of 91reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

so pretty!

03/14/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Cute but not the greatest quality.

08/05/2011
By ,
Texas City, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like how the set looks but was a bit disappointed with the quality. Sheets are kind of scratchy. The comforter is not the softest either (except the underside - I wish the entire set was covered in this soft fabric). The edges of the comforter seem to not lay flat. There's a piece of the hem that didn't get sewed correctly and the stuffing is coming out. I am still pleased with the purchase though because I only paid $50 and it had everything I needed. I wouldn't expect a $50 comforter set to be that great quality-wise, but with it being BH&G, I expected a little more. Love the look of it anyway. It did the trick for my super low budget room makeover.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Guest Shall Enjoy

12/22/2010
By ,
Suwanee, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this comforter set for my guest room. It looks much better than I anticipated. Sometimes items online look better than they really are, as well as quality. The sheet set is standard count and I will more than likely switch it out for 300 plus once my mother arrives, but for all other guest it's great. The Comforter is bright, inviting and plush. Overall satisfied with the contemporary design and quality of product for what I paid! Free Shipping helped also. ;~)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 4 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

beautiful bedding set

02/18/2011
By ,
ct
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw this online and purchased it in store (could have saved 20bucks by buying it online). The colors compliment each other well and they give very specific laundering instructions on the bag. The only thing I could complain about would be the loose strings that weren't cut off but even that's minimual. Comfortable and pleasing to the eye!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Beautiful, but follow laundering instructions.

12/24/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the queen set as an early Christmas gift this year, and I painted my room to match, it all came out pretty well. I washed everything except the comforter before making the bed. A week later, the first time I washed the comforter (for a house guest), the dryer was set to medium instead of low (like the tag says) and the comforter was damaged. The brown backing sort of melted and the front had some resulting discoloration. Needless to say I was disappointed, but it's no one's fault but my own. I think the dryer was also too small for such a big, plush comforter. It's beautiful and certainly a good value, but definitely follow the instructions on the label. "Tumble dry low" MEANS tumble dry on the Low setting. And if it's too big for the dryer, I suggest you just hang it dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Review 6 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

BEAUTIFUL!!!

05/19/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I knew I liked the colors but was so suprised at how beautiful this looked on the bed and how it really did transform my entire guest bedroom. B/C I was looking for a room that rarely gets used I didn't mind going w/ a cheaper set but I have to say that just walking by the room - I like it better than the one in our master bedroom! I'm not sure how well the blue "silk" part of the fabric will hold up after multiple washes but I don't plan on washing it a lot anyway since it's rarely used. The brown backing on the comforter is really soft too. I bought a small, chocolate brown, ruffled, rectangle throw pillow from WM that looks great with the set. There are drapes in WM that have the blue "silk" from the top to about 3/4 down and brown "silk" at the very bottom which match well to the set although they are not part of this collection. I would absolutely recommend this set, especially considering it's low price (I bought the queen set for $54 online w/ free shipping site-to-store. WOW!!!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 7 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

pleasantly surprised

03/13/2011
By ,
rochester, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To be honest, I didn't love how this set looked in the picture. The reason I bought it is because I knew my fiancée wouldn't want something too flowery or girlie, I didn't want anything too masculine looking, and also our bedroom doesn't get much natural light and tends to be dark and gloomy so I wanted a light color to brighten it up. We're on a budget, so I was limited to choosing from the cheapest options. I chose this because of the light color and the decorative swirls weren't nauseatingly feminine.
Also I had been given a bed in a bag as a gift when I went away to college in 2002, and it was really horrible, stiff, scratchy, uncomfortable. So I didn't know what to expect
Now that I have it, however, my opinion has changed. I love this bedding set! The picture makes it appear matte, but it's shiny and has a really nice appearance. As someone else mentioned, the underside of the comforter is very soft and comfy.
The sheets are nice. They aren't luxurious, high thread count, Egyptian cotton sheets by any means. But they are not the stiff, scratchy sheets I received in my previous bed in a bag. The are decent, mid-range sheets, and I find them comfortable.
Of course if you're looking for luxury, you could probably spend a lot more and get a lot more. But for this price, I was surprised at the quality of everything received. Honestly, it's the nicest comforter I've ever owned, and I've fallen in love with it.
Another reviewer said the scrolling looked black while the lining on the edges was brown. Mine did not appear that way. Mine appears brown in both areas and matches itself just fine.
The color in the picture here looks baby blue... Mine has a greenish tint to it, almost like a sea green.
*Note to cat owners* your cats claws WILL snag the comforter! I expected it going into it and don't blame the comforter for it. But if you want to keep it in pristine condition, either buy something different, or keep the cats out of the bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+63points
Review 8 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Gorgeous!

09/29/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, Calif.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first bedding purchase from Walmart. I was somewhat skeptical, but I loved the scroll pattern and the colors matched my color scheme perfectly. I am pleased with the purchase!! It shipped on time. The quality is good. The bedding is geogeous in my space. You won't be dissappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 9 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Happy to have it

10/24/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time, we got the product at a store and had to return it because the comforter had a sewing problem. We got it for the second time at a store again, and we are very pleased that we have this bedding set. It looks modern and elegant and we like the color combination.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 10 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

This is best for a rarely used guest room

08/16/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this set for my master bedroom in my house. We have a small dog who sleeps on the bed and this set hasn't held up as well as I would like. And some of that snagging was dog related of course. But after washing it seems like the filling gets bunched up around the edges of the comforter.
The sheets are rough and I don't use them. I have nicer sheets that I use instead. Not a big deal to me tho.
I loved this when I bought it, but the love has waned.
It is a warm comforter for those wondering who live in colder climates. I live in Massachusetts and felt this to be good for winter. I did add a blanket between the comforter and my top sheet but we keep our heat at 65.
I would not buy this again having had the experience of the snagging and the bunching of the filling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Pretty but not practical.

05/03/2011
By ,
Georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I first saw the design online and like it. When I went to the store I fell in love with the colors and textures. The first day that it was on my bed the comforter started snagging and piling. After a week the comforter looked old and tattered. I bought this in December and by April there was so many snags, pilings, and fuzz that we had to replace it. I am NOT happy with product. This has turned me off of this brand forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Perfect, just as pictured!

06/06/2011
By ,
San Luis Obispo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this set hoping it was going to be the right color as most pictures display colors differently. Well this one actually was the color pictured. A true blue aqua color that was perfect for my bedroom color scheme. It is a great set, as always with Walmart, at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Can't believe it's from WalMart

12/26/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, I bought this bed set because I did really like the design, I don't usually trust WalMart with things that I need to be... of quality? But, wow, I'm so glad I went ahead and just listened to all of the excellent reviews - they are accurate! (Except I can't vote on quality over a long period of time. Right out of the bag I did not notice any cosmetic issues, though)
First of all, the comforter is really soft! Sheets... eh, not so much but I only like satin sheets anyway, and surprisingly, this comforter didn't even fly off of my bed from them. The comforter in the right light, has a shine to it where the creme color is, and it looks very nice! I added a picture, my bed is a queen sized pillow top and this comforter I purchased is a queen size, it even over-flows off my bed a long amount and I was worried about that cause I've had comforters end up short.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

looks pretty, a little itchy

01/23/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This comforter is a good thickness, it's nice and soft under but the top is a little itchy/rough for me and cat claws snag it easily. The sheets are not soft and the design looks almost black compared to the brown in the comforter.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 15 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Deceiving bundle of fabric

09/30/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I saw this comforter set, I knew there wasn't going to be any other comforter set that I would want but this one. So, I purchased it online (it was cheaper online) having seen it in-store already. When I finally got it, I change my bedding and laid down on my bed. The sheets and pillow cases are made out of THE most rough fabric ever. I felt 150 count thread sheets and the sheets I have made those 150 count ones seems like silk. They are terrible. I thought if I washed them, they would come out softer but they didn't. Then, when I tried to paint my room to come close to matching the greenish blue on my comforter, the paint I chose only brought out the blue in the comforter so now my walls look minty green and my comforter just looks blue. It really upset me. Plus, the comforter is just too heavy to use right now since it isn't exactly cold outside (I live in south Texas). If I could, I would definitely skip buying bedding at Wal-Mart period. I thought because it was Better Homes and Gardens it would have some great quality, but it just doesn't. So save your money, ignore the pretty design of this bedding set, and do NOT buy this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 16 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

You can't go wrong with BH&G

06/16/2011
By ,
West Pittston, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Online when I saw this set, I wasn't so sure about it. So I went to the store, and looked at it, and really liked it. I didn't buy it in the store, cause someone opened it, and got something all over it. So I went home and ordered it online, and it was $14 cheaper! Yay!
Its on my bed, and I love it. The comforter is nice and soft on the brown side, and the sheets are nice that go with the set. I am very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

i loved that it suited both male and female

07/25/2011
By ,
Newport news va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was awesome to receive a new bedset as i have not purchased one in ages. i love the colors and changed my drapes to chocolate to accentuate the bedspread. My son who is 14 also loved it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Exceptional quality for the price.

07/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third Better Homes and Gardens bedding set that I have purchased. It is very high quality for the price. I actually got this set on clearance and was very impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag

Beyond expectations

01/09/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This comforter set looks even better in person. The comforter is very warm and thick-like for cold winter nights. The color is nice and rich and a great value for your bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Better Homes and Gardens Damask Scroll 8-Piece Bed in a Bag
08/05/2011
By ,
Webb City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better price online than in store. Thin, uncomfortable sheets. Think, soft comforter. May easily snag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next