Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

Bissell Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

Help keep a home, office or dorm room carpet and hard floor clean with this Bissell 82G71 Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum. It is constructed of sturdy and durable materials and features a powerful 12-amp motor and seven-position surface height settings to suit your personal cleaning needs. This bagless vacuum cleaner is easy to maneuver and offers powerful suction through its cyclonic cleaning technology. When combined with the unique DirtLifter brush system, the mechanism gives you superior cleaning with cleaner filters. Most of the dirt collected stays in the easy-empty dirt container rather than accumulating in the filter. This way, the filter remains cleaner for longer periods of time, increasing the overall performance considerably. Additional features of this Bissell Momentum bagless upright vacuum include dual-edge cleaning, a handy extension wand, a headlight and a carry handle for ease of transporting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.379 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(219 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
143
4 stars
46
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation90%133 out of 148reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 98 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
143
4 stars
46
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

Great suction

12/16/2012
By ,
zeeland,mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one of these vacuums that I have purchased in the last 2 years. I love how it cleans. My boys have the downstairs to themselves and kept "borrowing" this one from the upstairs. So I finally bought this new one for me for the upstairs, and my boys have the 2 year old one downstairs! We have a spinger spaniel that sheds ALOT and it sucks all the fur up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71
08/10/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one is a good time....I have certain requirements for my vacuum cleaners as I vacuum pretty much everyday (we have 2 large hairy dogs). Now for some specs: it has a 12amp motor, decent cord (others seem to be longer), bagless and multiple vacuuming heights for your desired cleaning surface. It seems to be lighter than most other vacuums I have owned and appears to self-propel on the forward push which is really nice. I also love the fact that the wand just pulls out (no twisting or turning to lock it into the base). This is important to me as I always vacuum the room and then use the wand to work the perimeter against the walls. The wand has a slight arch which helps as its easier to hold than just a straight wand. The hose is not as long as others, but it's not a huge deal since every other aspect is really great. I have owned a Eureka, Hoover, Simplicity and just love the Bissells. I also opted for the bundle and now own my very first stick vacuum (why did I wait so long?!?!) Overall great purchase and decent price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

Excellent vacuum for a great price!

10/08/2014
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum a month ago and so far, I love it! I used my old vacuum 3-4 days prior to getting this one. I vacuum often, having a young child and 2 cats. I knew the old vacuum wasn't working well but I was shocked to see how much dirt and fur came up the first time I used this Bissell upright. You would have thought I never vacuumed with how much junk filled the good sized canister! It was also nice to find a vacuum with so many level adjustments, hose extensions and tools. For the price, this is a great buy! And I already purchased extra belts and filters at a different site, which cost under ten dollars in total. With routine maintenance and upkeep, I'm confident this vacuum will serve its purpose for a long time! The only downside I have found is that it does seem kind of heavy. Elderly people and disabled people would probably not be so happy with this model. Also, my home is one level. I don't think I'd want to lug this up and down flights of stairs...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

Dirt be gone!!

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vacuum cleaner!!!! The only problem I have with it is that it is so heavy that I cannot manage it for very long, so I have ordered another compact lightweight Bissel vacuum. I am a senior with multiple disabilities and the weight and difficulty maneuvering this model is just too much, but a much younger person would not have a problem with it. This is definately not a vacuum for physically challenged people. Saying that, I was absolutely amazed at what dust and debris it did pick up on the first go around of my floors. It accumulated so much I was thinking that I have been living in this dirt for so long, and the crevis tool and used to clean my hallway and bedroom closet doors and they have never looked so good since the I day I moved in. It did come with a few parts to assemble which I did alone, and took me about an hour because the parts were all floating around in the box, not nicely contained in one package, esp the screws and instruction booklet I had to spend time trying to find those. However, all in all a wonderful vacuum for picking up dirt on various types of services.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

Maintanence is key

04/25/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As with everything you buy you have to maintain it and treat it well. Very good vacuum. As for people saying the belt broke after the first use that is probably because you had the carpet adjustment too close to the ground. common sense says to adjust the vacuum to the appropriate height before you turn it on or of course your belt will be strained and break. As for it breaking after a year for some people. More than likely this happened due to improper or poor maintainence like cleaning your hoses, filters, brushes and dust out of the motors every once in awhile. I have owned 3 Bissells and never had a problem with any of them, Had to move a few times and couldn't take them with us. I keep buying Bissell there must be a reason ^_^ . Bissell really does get up anything, Stuck on dried up rice, (due to toddlers) mushy foods (however clean the hoses and such when you are done) pet and human hair with ease, bare floors are not a problem I did away with my brooms. It dusts curtains nicely with the proper attachments as well as ceiling fans, ceilings, walls, cracks and crevices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

excellent vacuum at a reasonable price

08/28/2010
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My engineer hubby did the research on vacuums when our old one died a timely death (it was 10 years old and my 8-yr old daughter obliterated the cords while doing her chores). The attachments/hand tools are smartly well-designed, and the make-up of the components are promising for durability. It is lighter and quieter than our old vacuum; my kids are much less whiny about using it. The suction is impressive. I love it. Our local stores didn't carry it in-stock, so we had it shipped-to-store. I'm glad we went through the hoops to get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

I never thought i could fall in love again.....

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
till i got my bissell Momentum bagless vacuum !!! I love it is so powerful and easy to use and it makes cleaning so effortless!!! thank you for making shopping online so easy to do
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

Excellent

08/09/2010
By ,
Parker, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have owned an Oreck for over 15 years. I have kept it serviced and well cared for. Our cord finally gave out so I had to borrow my sisters newer Oreck because we had people coming over that evening. The next day I started doing research and found the Bissell was very highly rated, not only by customers but by Consumer Reports, at a great price. I purchased the Bissell. It pulled up so much dirt, hair and whatever else, that we had to empty the bin "4" times. That was the following day after using the newer Oreck. It made us sick to think we had been living with all this filth in our carpets due to the Oreck not doing it's job. Never again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

good value for the money, great suction

06/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First I should start out by saying that I am truly impressed by how much fur, dust and dirt this vacuum picks up every time I use it, and I vacuum at least twice a week.
This vacuum was very easy to assemble and I was able to put it together quickly out of the box. My one complaint with assembly is that the screws to affix the attachment deck to the vacuum are deepset, so it was hard to see whether the screws were in tight enough and also hard to get at the right angles to make sure the screws were in tightly.
The canister is easy to empty and doesn't make a mess when disconnecting from the unit. I also like that the canister is lightweight and can be changed with one hand.
The vacuum is heavy, so it's handy that they put an opening around the middle of the unit to more evenly distribute the weight when carrying it between rooms, up and down stairs, etc.
The base of the vacuum has rubber around the edges so you don't have to worry about knicking baseboard, dents, etc.
The attachments are very handy, especially the small turbo brush which is perfect for furniture and small carpets. I do wish that it came with a wide, flat attachment for underneath furniture though.
All in all, I highly recommend this powerful vacuum.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Not so good after a year...
Posted 06/28/2012
I bought this vacuum a little over a year ago (as you can see, things started out great) Recently, it started by making a lot of noise, smoking and emitted a bad chemical odor. I tried it this morning and it doesn't turn on at all. I'll take it to a repair shop to see if the damage is covered under warranty. If it is, they can fix it and I'll then sell it. I'll be buying another vacuum by another brand in the meantime. Not a good vacuum.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

A great Vacuum

01/24/2011
By ,
North Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received the vacuum, put it together, and started cleaning the carpet. I could not believe the dirt and lint it picked up after only about 100 sq. ft. Our previous vacuum (that had died a week previous) was a very highly rated 8 lb vac that seemed to do the job. It now takes a lot less time to vacuum the entire house than our old cleaner. The Bissell is far superior cleaner at a much lower price.
My only concern is the transparent plastic brush cover possibly getting broken after some hard bumps in the future. The cover was cracked in transit (possibly damaged in transit), but Bissell sent me to a warranty center and the cover was replaced promptly with no problem and no charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

LOVE IT!!

03/17/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this vacuum after doing much research. I had a Bissell previously and it has held up for a very long time. Just recently it died so I had to get a new one. I was looking at the Shark one that costs $180, and of course contemplated dropping $400 on a Dyson, but my Bissell worked so well, I decided to stick with Bissell. This model is kind of an upgraded model of the one that I had before. You can't beat the price! I took it out of the box and assembled it with not too much fuss. I couldn't believe the suction power. My old Bissell obviously hadn't been working properly for some time because you should have seen the dirt it picked up. It was disgusting. I love the turbo brush attachement. It works great on the stairs and sofa. The only complaint I have is I wish when you were using it, the floor brush would stop spinning. It made it difficult because I didn't want to stretch the hose too much in fear that the vaccuum would move and get to close to something and suck it up. Other than that it worked fabulous.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

very top heavy

11/30/2013
By ,
Warren, Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this vacuum using gift cards we received from our wedding. I paid over $100. I can't remember the exact price (I purchased it over 3 years ago). The vacuum was great in the beginning. After a few years, it now collects dirt on the base. It is also very top heavy and tends to fall over very easily. The filters need to be shaken and cleaned after almost every use. There will be a big cloud of dust while using the vacuum, which irritates my husband's allergies pretty severely to the point where he can't even be in the same room when I'm vacuuming.
With that being said, I will say that we moved into a new house 2 years ago and each time we still vacuum our bedroom, it picks up loads of dirt from the carpet. It amazes me every time! The suction power is good.
With how top heavy it is, that is a deal breaker for me. I wish I would have purchased a different vacuum that was more light weight.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

ok but flawed

10/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I owned my previous Bissell vacuum for about 6 years. I loves it, but the cord got worn and sparked, so I decided to buy another Bissell to replace it. I've only had this one for about 2 years or so. It worked great at first, but now the pedal that releases the handle back has broken. I have to carry or push the vacuum in the "reclined" position from room to room. Also, we have had to increase the setting up to high (like for plush or shag carpet) even for our not-so-plush carpet. If we put it to medium the brushes stop turning and we get the burnt rubber smell. Overall, not happy with this model.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

Bissell is the Best

12/29/2010
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am delighted with this product. It delivers exceptional suction and with 3 dogs about the house, it has made light of a lot of previously heavy work. The carpet looks fantastic, the dogs hairs are no more and the attachments are so easy to use. I managed to put it together in under 5 mins too which is a miracle for me. The extra long power cord is wonderful - I can vacuum 3/4 of the house without having to go unplug. I rave about it to all my ladies who think I've turned into Mrs. S-ford. :)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

very satisfied,works well, easy to empty, a keeper

03/25/2013
By ,
Robbinsville, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was not available in local stores, so I purchased it online for home delivery. It arrived in 2 days.
Easy to assemble. Lighter and quieter (less irritating motor noise) than my previous Dirt Devil.
Very effective in sucking up dirt and cat hair. The first 3 uses produced a shocking amount of stuff in the dirt container, tapering off in quantity now. I recommend emptying the container, rinsing it out and wipe it dry after each use. It only takes a few minutes. Rinse out the foam pre motor filter if it looks dusty, wrap it in wadded paper towels and squeeze to blot out the water, finish drying by placing in front of your hot air vent if you have hot air heat. I plan on keeping it long term and I will buy a few spare belts and filters. A spare foam filter will allow you to put in the clean dry spare and let the freshly cleaned one dry.
www.bissell.com has parts prices as good as any other source and shipping is free on orders over $30.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

Bissell Parts Lacking - Buyer Beware

04/26/2011
By ,
Highlands Ranch, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This vacuum comes with a TurboBrush for stairs, pet hair, etc. and the TurboBrush is driven by a small belt.
When the belt breaks, you cannot buy a replacement from Bissell or any vacuum supplier store as Bissell does not carry or supply the belt.
You will have to buy a total new replacement TurboBrush for $30.00 which is 1/3rd the cost of the vacuum. Absolutely absurd for Bissell to not sell a replacement belt.
Hoover has TurboBrushes for their vacuums and they do sell the replacement belts for about $5-6 but Hoover belts will not fit the Bissell.
BUYER BEWARE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

Great Buy

08/07/2010
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was most interested in this product for picking up hair. It really exceeds my expectations...my carpet looked new after one use! The mini-vacuum attachment works great for cleaning the stairs although it is a bit cumbersome. Works wonderful on bare floors too. Overall fantastic value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

I didn't even want to give it one star

03/14/2013
By ,
nevada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The worst vaccum I have ever owned. Let me start by saying that I ordered it online to be sent to the store. It took 3 weeks. After I got it, I put it together and away I went. It cleaned pretty good the first 2 or 3 times. Then one day I turned it on and it was extremely loud. I adjusted for the carpet and cleaned the filters regularly, however it began to kick out dust everywhere. And like others said it was always dirty, I had to wipe it down as soon as I was done vaccuming. Then about 2 months of that, and it burned up. Yep, wouldn't do anything when you turned it on, just smelt really really bad. I called Bissel and they walked me through many steps to make sure I wasn't lying and decided to send me a replacement. THis only took about 2 weeks. I was happy to get a new vaccum. However, this one has done the same thing. It did the whole getting louder and stuff, but one day just up and quit. And has not started since. This is all in less then a year of first deciding to purchase this machine. Never again. Please pay attention to the negative reviews, otherwise, you may end up in my situation... vaccum less. I previously had a dyson and loved it. I guess you get what you pay for.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

The best vacuum

10/28/2010
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum works circles around my old vacuum. After reading review after review I finally decided on this product. I was looking for a product that did not have a huge filter up top. My last vacuum had one and I would have to constantly unscrew the filter (all that dirt and dust was all over my hand & arm).
This vacuum is perfect! The suction is top notch! If you are looking for a vacuum, this is IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell Momentum Bagless Upright Vacuum, 82G71

Fantastic for dog hair

08/29/2014
By ,
Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching for a vacuum that would pick up dog hair I chose the Bissell Momentum, I'm so happy I did!! It pretty much moves on its own and does a great job. I love the brush attachment for the furniture as it does work well also. I doubt I could have gotten a better vacuum at this price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next