Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oster Animal Care Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

Oster Animal Care Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

The Oster Animal Care De-shedding Tool makes it easy to remove tangles and mats from a dog's fur. With stainless steel teeth that can be worked through tangles, the Shedzilla professional tool (1 ct) promotes good skin health for dogs by penetrating deep in the undercoat and removing shedding fur and mats. The smooth edges on the Oster Animal Care De-shedding Tool will provide a comfortable brushing experience for dogs. This de-shedding tool for dogs greatly reduces shedding and is suitable for use on almost all fur types.
Average Customer Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation88%43 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

Amazing

02/01/2012
By ,
Fort Bragg, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very worried about buying this product bc most deshedding tools hurt ur dog and can cause unwanted pain but The Shedzilla is amazing i was very pleased with all the dead fur it took off my Husky mix, at first it pulled off some top coat but brushing over and over got deep into her coat she looks and feels so much softer, her coat is shiny not dull. She was timmed at first but then just laid down and let me brush her she loved it !!! I would totally buy this product again its amazing and doesnt hurt your pet, great for any furbaby:D Will deffiently spread the word about this tool Thanks for making my dog happy and me !!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

AMAZING

04/20/2011
By ,
St Petersburg, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this de-shedding tool online & it came in a few days ago. It was awful. It seemed to rip my dog's hair out. I was so frustrated I went to Wal-Mart & bought this oster shed-zilla & was SHOCKED at how much hair came off my dog. I attached a photo of my grooming halfway through ... It filled an entire Wal-Mart grocery bag. As you can see my dog just laid there as I took mass amounts of hair off of his body. I didn't want to shave him but I knew it was WAY too hot to keep all that hair on him... Problem solved!!! Just look at the picture & see for yourself...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct
07/09/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product. I signed up for walmart.com stuff just to write a review of this product. I was debating between getting this $9 thing and the $20 ...furminator? I think? and after looking closely and realizing that I didn't want to have something rough scratching my kitties skin, I bought this one. Very pleased. I got enough hair to cover a giant rat out within 5 minutes.....from my non-shedding cat. You don't want to know how much I got out of my shedding cat who I bought this for!! :-P
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

AWESOME!!!

12/21/2010
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for my daughters WHITE long haired Chihuahua that sheds profusely and it worked like a charm. She loved it and so do we=) I highly recommend Shedzilla!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

Good, but doesn't compare to the Furminator

01/08/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read the reviews and was excited to use the Shedzilla on our Labrador. The first time I used it, I was very impressed with the amount of hair I was able to remove. I used it every couple of days and it never irritated my dog, however I still had significant shedding issues. Every time the kids played with her, they would be covered (head to toe) with hair from the dog. It was ridiculous. I thought this was going to be as good as it got in reducing the hair and we would always need to have lint rollers nearby....... until I picked up the Furminator. The Shedzilla doesn't even compare to the amazing job that the Furminator does. So much more hair was removed and yes, we will still need our lint rollers, but I don't need to worry about the kids getting covered in hair because they hugged the dog before they leave for school. It doesn't irritate or bother the dog. I'm a penny pincher, but was going insane trying to resolve this shedding issue. I'm so glad I made the investment. The Shedzilla did help, so it's not bad -- it's just not nearly as good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

OMG! This is AWESOME!

11/27/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 6mo old long hair St. Bernard. We get her groomed every month, but we like to brush her and wipe her down once a week in between groomings. Her skin has been irritated lately with her winter shed and I was looking into a Furminator. I just didn't want to spend $60 on a dog brush. So my husband and I went to Walmart this morning and saw the Shedzilla. It is only $20 and I have to say, it is the best $20 I have spent in a long time. When we came home we gave Hammy a 20 minute brushing with the Shedzilla. It is absolutely amazing; we took a grocery bag full of fur off of her! She usually got impatient when we brushed her with her old smoothing / fur removing brush, but she loved this one. She stayed right where we needed her and let us do whatever we pleased. At one point, she even fell asleep :). It's only been about 30 minutes since we brushed her and she is so much more relaxed. She's not even scratching at herself like she had been. WE LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

great product

09/15/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dog is a Husky mix with a very thick black fur and a lot of undercoat.The heat down here in the deep south is killing her. So when I went to Walmart to get something for her joints I saw this De-Shedding tool and since I'm real skeptic about stuff like this it took me a while to make up me mind if or if not.I bought it and I am so glad that I did and my dog is happy too. Never in the eight years that I have my old gal was it this easy to get rid of her undercoat and all the dead hairs without hurting her.She actually enjoyed being brushed.
You can not believe how much hair I got out. I am impressed. If you have a dog with a lot of hair and undercoat you need to get this tool ...it is awsome...and it is one of those tools what really does what it promise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

Great for pups too

12/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 6 month old husky pup. She just blew her coat and this helped tremendously. Was not painful for her and no more hair around the house for us. Great buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

surprised

06/11/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i thought i'd give it a try even though i own the furminator as it's been irritating by dog. what made me buy this is the curved blades and professional groomers have been using this type of rake for a long time. i love it! the furminator is going into the drawer. i have golden retriever mix and he's shedding like crazy. this thing picks up so much more hair and it doesn't bother him. it's solid construction and seems durable. it doesn't feel cheap. the only con is there is no blade cover so be careful not to drop it or bump it into something that would cause the blades to bend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

Best shedding tool I've ever used

09/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used a friend's Furminator on our dog several times and was very impressed with the amount of undercoat it extracted. However, I felt that it was pulling out too much of the good fur with the bad, and my dog did *not* like it.
Shedzilla gets out tons of dead fur, but does not seem to yank out the live fur with it. And, once I've gone over an area several times, Shedzilla pulls through smoothly and cleanly. With the Furminator, it seemed like no matter how many times I went over an area, it got more fur out, to the point that my dog almost had bald spots. Shedzilla gets out the dead hair, leaves behind the good hair, and does a nice job of combing/grooming as well.
I'm so glad I spent $20 on a Shedzilla tool instead of $60+ on a Furminator!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

Love it!

08/31/2010
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend of mine got this tool (he has 2 Shepard mixes), and I used it on one of my dogs, and determined I had to have it! It works wonders on my Golden Ret. mix, but doesn't work so much on my Rottie mix of course. If you have a dog with thick and or long hair, GET THIS! It's safe on your pet's skin - you can run it along your arm, and feel no scratching at all! My dog loves getting brushed now! My local walmart has a very limited pet section, so I had to find it in another town, but well worth the extra drive!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

Works great!

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item for my daughter's dog, she sheds and I am cleaning the floors all the time, this helps keep less dog hair and works great on the dog. Less shedding, cleaner house - happy homeowner!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

Probably the best cat brush I've ever used...

07/27/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This brush is just what my cat needed. We are redoing the floors so there's been more dust than usual. This has caused my girl to have some matted fur. I was about to drag her into the tub and shampoo her, but I picked this brush up today, and it is A-MAZING! It seems to razor PILES of tangled fur away. You might have seen this demo on TV and it is really true. You will have a pile of unwanted fur half the size of your cat that won't get all over your furniture! So far, her coat is much cleaner and less bulky and matted. Missy isn't the biggest fan of being brushed, but with every stroke comes loose the snarls and mess. I would suggest you be very gentle and go with the mood of your cat. Let the brush do the work and don't pull if it sticks. I am going to work on this over the next several days. She honestly looks like a different cat. I am so excited about this brush. I imagine this brush very uncomfortable if it gets dull, so I'm going to definitely buy a spare and keep it covered and sealed. This brush is seriously worth its weight in gold. What a pleasant surprise!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

WORTH THE $$

08/19/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I was at WalMart today I decided to look for a cat brush. I considered buying one of the cheaper $3 brushes that were displayed then I ran across the Shedzilla for $8.37. First I saw the "as seen on TV" claim followed by "reduces shedding by 90%"...and to be honest, I wasn't sold. So..I immediately did a search for reviews of the item on my cell phone while standing right in the aisle. I found that almost everyone gave it 5 stars so I though I would try it out. As soon as I got home, I ripped the package open and tried it on one of my cats (the one who sheds the most). I was immediately impressed. It pulled so much fur off of my cat, not only did he look skinnier, I think I created another one. What I like about it is that it pulls the fur from underneath. I just wish that he would sit still long enough for me to keep doing it so I have to give him a break. It doesn't seem to be hurting him at all, he just gets annoyed pretty easily. I think the cat brush would work fine on a smaller dog otherwise you will be paying $19.98 for the dog brush which looked just a little wider than the cat one. Excellent buy if you have pets that shed a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

Best shedding tool and at a great price!

06/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought the Shedzilla for cats. It's the same a the one for dogs just smaller and the dog one is too wide for my small dog. I have a pembroke corgi that I have been de-shedding his undercoast for the last week with a slicker and a furminator. My dog does't like to be brushed anyway and his undercoat was just not coming out. Last night I bought the Shedzilla and after 5 mintues of running this through his coat, I got so much more done than with the other tools I have! My dog didn't even struggle! I wish this had come out sooner. Its design is really great with the curved ends. So much more gently on his skin too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

LOVE AT FIRST SWIPE!

01/10/2012
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Lab Loves it!! My cat Loves it!! I just couldn't bring myself to pay $53 for the Furminator. I saw this at Walmart and recognized the brand and thought it should be good. All I can say is WOW on the amount of hair it removed. It didn't hurt or seem to make our lab uncomfortable, he actually rolled over and was ready for me to do the other side as he laid there. So I thought I'll try it on our moody cat. Love at first swipe! She actually sat there and started purring. It's definetly a keeper!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

Excellent product!

09/19/2010
By ,
chippewa falls, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3 dogs who have an extreme undercoat. We tried the rakes, combs and all other brushes, nothing worked. I bought the Shedzilla and I was amazed at how much hair came off!! It has no poky tines and does not seem to bother my dogs. I would recommend this product to anyone who has shedding problems in their home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

amazing, amazing, amazing

06/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we have been looking for something that can keep up with our cat.. we have a maine coon, which is the largest of cat breeds, and he has a ton of long hair.. (we purchased the shedzilla for cats).. I am a stylist and trust the oster brand so I thought we would give it a try.. WOW.. this product is fabulous!!!.. it didn't seem to hurt our cat at all.. he actually relaxed and let me brush him.. the amount of hair that we got out in one sitting was more than any other product has gotten out in a years time.. we threw out all other brushing products and will forever only use this one.. if you have pets.. this is a must have.. this product can handle any amount of fur : )
we also have a few family memebers with allergies.. this has seemed to really help with that as well..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct

It works AND my cat loves it!

07/06/2011
By ,
NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this today at Walmart for $8.37 & my cat loves it! I've never seen this tool at other Walmart stores in town so I thought I'd try it. I've tried other brushes but my cat is very picky and doesn't like anything else I've used on him. He sat on my lap for about 45 minutes while I combed him with this and I got enough hair off of him to make 2 hamsters!!! I like that it doesn't have the sharp edges like some tools do. Try it and see for yourself! I'm so glad I took a chance and bought this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster Animal Care: Shedzilla Professional De-Shedding Tool, 1 Ct
06/20/2011
By ,
fresno,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great great brush! So glad i bought it, compared to the furminator. I havent used a furminator but the pricing was pretty high. this 20 dollar brush is awesome. My husky is shedding like crazy and this awesome little brush works really well. a must buy for shedding
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next