Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nintendo Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Nintendo Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

The Midnight Blue Nintendo DSi XL Console is a high-powered handheld video game system with an extra-large, wide screen and a full-sized, easy-to-hold stylus. Great for gaming comfortably on the go, the Nintendo DSi (Midnight Blue) is backlit so you can easily keep track of the action in all lighting conditions. Pushing the boundaries of signature Nintendo touch-screen gaming, the Nintendo DSi XL Console comes with three pre-installed games and two applications, so you can use it right out of the box. Snap photos with the built-in camera, edit and send them to friends, play back your music with Nintendo DSi Sound, or browse the Internet with the Nintendo DSi Browser. No longer just a gaming system, the Midnight Blue Nintendo DSi XL Console is a fun and multi-purposed device to keep on hand.
Average Customer Rating:
4.792 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(289 Reviews) 204
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
42
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation99%286 out of 289reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 171 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
42
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

I Luv My New Nintendo DSi XL

08/23/2012
By ,
Monticello, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first Nintendo DSi XL came from walmart in middletown for $204.00 I got the red one that day and ever since I got it I just couldn't put in down I bought four games from game stop in middletown and I just played with it every single day I loved it and was glad to have it. My red Nintendo broke because it got water in it so my uncle bought me a new one I wanted the metallic rose pink Nintendo dsi xl but they didn't have any so I got the midnight blue witch is a nice color. Online the pictures don't really do it justice when you get the game it's beautiful in person the color just shines. I love my new game and i'm glide I got it again I will get it again and again when ever it breaks because it's fun better and great to play with. I would diffidently recommend to everybody. !!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

More than a handheld video game console

06/20/2011
By ,
Southern Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children love their new Dsi XL 's They spend a lot of time making little cartoon videos using the flipnote feature, adding audio and even tweaking the audio. Then they send it to each other and tweak it more. I love the ability to buy one game cartridge and they both can play via the Download/host feature (only on select games). They even enjoy chatting to each other from their separate bedrooms. The graphics are really pretty good too. Maybe not as good as an Ipod Touch, but it works great for them. They also love taking pictures and changing them, morphing them, and finally sending them to each other. As a parent I like the fact that I can disable the internet, so I don't have to worry about inappropriate stuff. It was money well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Great Improvement Over Regular-Screen DS

10/08/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros:
-Larger screen makes games so much easier to see..I can play without my glasses
-Adjustable screen brightness helps eliminate glare and eye strain
-Blue color is much more pleasing in person than online.
-Larger screen makes the overall experience so much more enjoyable
-I have no problem with holding the larger size or the weight..can't really feel a difference in this one and regular DS I have been using.
-Great price of $99 at Walmart..which is $30 cheaper than Amazon
Cons:
I seriously cannot think of one. I only hope is it as durable..we have had regular DSs for years, and they took so much abuse and still worked perfectly. We dropped them many times, and although hinges got damaged, unit held together and play was not affected. Not many items are made this well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Entertaining Product

03/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this DSI XL for my 10 yr. old and he loves it. It has a bigger screen than the other models and the camera is a great feature. We currently own 3 and will buy another for my niece.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+224points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Excellent Product

07/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just a fabulous gaming system. We have owned several different ones- including the WII. We have four children and I personally felt the WII was a collosal waste of money- this game is so much more user friendly. The kids love it and can play it independently - and never want to put it down. All of the games we have purchased have been wonderful as well- not yet found a dud- which was not the case with the WII. I highly recommend. Well worth the money- I recommend the XL and the accessory package as well. By the way touch screen is also amazing! My kids are 11, 6, 4, and 2 - something for all of them!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Excellent!

11/12/2013
By ,
Bakersfield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all I am an old guy with almost every system. I have 3ds, 3ds xl, ds lite, game boy micro....etc (list way too long). Since I am older my hearing and vision are definitely deteriorating. I was excited to get my 3ds xl but immediately disappointed at at sound quality and low volume (couldn't hear anything). Nintendo had to use thinner inferior speakers to get the upper screen thinner. I purchased the Dsi xl because of the excellent game library, LOUD CLEAR SOUND, and big bright screens. Excellent system for old fogys like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue
10/15/2013
By ,
syracuse,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this for my 4 yr old grandson,he loves it, and figured it out by himself. very pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Love it

10/29/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an original DS and cannot get over all the better features this one has. A camera, internet access and built in games. That the screen is bigger is an added bonus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

very good for kids and teens

07/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this device deffinatly meet my expectations and the internet is good i realy like it, and the cameras are very good i love the fact that u can send and edit photos! deffinitly recomended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Awesome!!

12/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great system. I love the flipnote application. I like how you can send pictures over pictochat. It's like a mini-laptop, games,internet,nintedo shop. It has it all. I recomend this 100% to anyone. It is actually not as childish as the Nintendo DS lite. I'm in love with it. I fly very often and take it with me on the plane. All four of my children have one that they got for christmas last year. I recently got mine at a nearby Wal-Mart. Nintedo has really stepped up their game. In my opinion this beats PSP and other devices. My children love them so much they beg me to let them take it to church. There is nothing I don't like about this system. Great job Nintendo!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

BETTER THEN THE DS LITE!!!!

04/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to the store a couple days ago and got the dsi xl in midnight blue it is really great the color is defintly for girls and boys it has all the same featurs as the ds lite and then it has more i love the cool games that came pre downloaded i forgot the coad to my wireless internet so havent been able to get on love the bigger screen much easer to draw on pictochat so amazing and great price!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Daughter loves the upgrade

11/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this to upgrade our daughter from the original DS. She loves the size of the XL. She passed her old DS down to her little brother. They can now link together and play games like Mario Brothers as a team. We've enjoyed hearing them giggle and play sitting next to each other.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue
10/15/2013
By ,
Gales ferry, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this has been a hit with my grandson, and it does much more than i expected. It arrived quickly, packaged nicely. thank you from a happy Grandma !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue
08/13/2012
By ,
New Orleans, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purched the Nintendo DSi XL for my grandsons 4th birthday present, he was very excited about the gift, at first I thought he was not old enough to operate it but he showed me differently. My grandson plays with his DSi every day and his favorite game is Mario. I find it has a lot of great features some that he can not operate on his own but with the supervision of an adult he can use most of the features after only showing him how to use it one time he is a very quick learner, I also love the educational games that are installed in the DSI, It is not only a fun product it can also be a great educational product for your little ones. It was a great product for a great bundle price wich also included 2 free games and a case. I am thinking of purchasing another for my self.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Nice Big Screen, great color choices

05/25/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter (7 1/2) loves her new DSI XL. It's bigger than her brother's DSI (points scored for little sister). The color choices were cool. She loves this blue one. $189 was a good package deal, still wonder why $165 for the unit. Definitely a BIG (read not cheap) gift!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Awesome DSI Lite XL

05/26/2011
By ,
Tacoma, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The DSI came and we were amazed at the actual screen size/ It's huge! Very satisfied, it was a great deal and worth every penny we paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
utah
camara?
Posted 07/01/2011
Does this have a camara and internet?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

would buy it again!

12/25/2011
By ,
Columbus Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it mainly to kill time while at my numerous appointments. I hate sitting there doing nothing. Its turned out to be one of the best things Ive bought for entertainment. The screen is plenty big enough for my "older" eyes to see. The buttons are easy to use and the console is comfortable to hold. The only suggestion I would make is to create more games for adults. Theres alot of games for the younger generation but not for us children of the 70's...lol. Overall I would rate this purchase as one that I would do again and again. If you like to play games anywhere, anytime then this is what you want.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

As Expected!

11/11/2013
By ,
Bellingham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter for her birthday which is in December. I opened it to just peek at it but we have a DS lite for my other daughter and it is great. I really like the size of the XL. Also the DSi has a built in camera which the DS lite does not. Good price. I paid the same price for the DS lite a couple of years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Excellent game system

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game system keeps my 15 yr old daughter busy for hrs ans hrs!! She loves it and has no compaints about it!! All the features work great even connecting to wifi is a breeze!! Worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nintendo DSi XL, Midnight Blue

Not Your Mama's Nintendo Gaming System :)

01/26/2013
By ,
Thousand Oaks, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great product! Nintendo never ceases to amaze. Back in the 80's my sister and I had a lot of fun playing Donkey Kong and later Mario Bros. games on our ever-evolving Nintendo gaming systems, but back then we never could have imagined a gaming system that could do so many cool things AND fit in the palm of your hand.
I have a 10-year-old and a 7-year-old and they both exclaim how they LOVE their DS's. I didn't realize all of the features this product had until my nephew had one and started telling my kids about it. The camera and music and art and instant messaging features, just to name a few, are enough to keep my kids entertained day after day, without growing tired or bored with the product. Not to mention the fact that yes, they can also play really cool video games.
All in all, I am a very frugal person, but the Nintendo DSi is well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 205 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next