Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

High-top hiking boot Hydroguard waterproofing Padded collar for comfort Fully lined with gusseted tongue Round shoelaces Genuine leather upper with man-made materials Rugged outsole for traction and durability
Average Customer Rating:
4.232 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation86%108 out of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Good out of the box / Excellent after adjustments

06/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got these boots for hiking, hunting and industrial exploring; I chose these because they had a nice tread and were cheaper than the rest. I had concerns about them, particularly because they're Ozark Trail, which isn't known for outstanding quality. I thought carefully, and after examining them, determined that I could make some adjustments that should increase the quality and longetivity. I'm of the opinion that something should be cared for and used until it is completely worn out.
What I found is this:
- These boots need broken in. The first 24-hours wearing them was very uncomfortable around the ankle area. The upper part of the boot is very still, and it will press into your leg, particularly the back. I had to walk in these for two solid days before they loosened up enough that I could grab the edges at the top (opening) of the boot and bend them in and out to loosen the material. You should clock at least ten miles in these, plus a lot of manual bending, before attempting to hike, otherwise you'll be very uncomfortable. Once the material loosened, they felt solid and are comfortable to wear.
- The tread isn't as soft as many cheap shoes, which is nice. They do have a solid grip feeling concrete and rocks, yet aren't so soft that the rubber starts peeling and wears out quickly.
- You need to waterproof them. I know they say they're waterproof, and perhaps they're keep small amounts of moisture out, but you need to take additional steps. Because I don't have a lot to spend, I massaged Dollar Store lotion into the real leather parts for moisture, then massaged petroleum jelly (Vaseline) into the leather parts. Rub it with Vaseline, then give it an hour. The grease will absorb into the leather. Rub it down again, then let it sit. Repeat five or six times. Eventually the Vaseline will build so that the leather resembles that of a baseball mitt. At this point, rub on one more layer and buff it very vigorously using a piece of aluminum foil. The leather will be smooth and shiny, and water will bead off of it. On the man-made material areas, you'll need MANY layers of Vaseline to make it smooth. In excess of 15, I think. It is worth it in the end.
- You need to spray silicone on the tongue, else water will soak through into your socks.
- The boots are very wide in the middle (they don't taper inwards properly) so you need to wear thick cotton socks to make them feel snug. If you want to wear synthetic material socks, you'll perhaps need to purchase these boots at the smallest size you can comfortable wear, else they'll feel loose.
So far I tool these boots urban exploring and hiking. They held up well to both, felt solid on my feet (very uncomfortable at first, better later). After waterproofing with Vaseline, water beads off of them, and I've never had issues with water getting inside.
Overall, for those who can't afford better, I recommend these boots, but be prepared to put in a bit of elbow grease to get your money's worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+55points
Review 2 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Can take the load

09/22/2010
By ,
Springfield, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleased so far with the overall quality and durability of these boots. So far they have stood up to the pressure of a 400+ pound person where many brands of shoes and boots can not. Having disabilities that involve the feet and legs, I find these to be well padded and more comfortable than brands that are much more expensive. I plan to buy a second pair in a larger size for days of greater swelling so I can wear them in all conditions. They are a great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+47points
Review 3 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Nothing like the original Putty II Design(Red)

06/09/2011
By ,
Torrington, CT.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been a avid Putty II owner since this shoe came out at Walmart. I have previously owned 3 pairs of the the "Original" Putty II with the red trim. What an excellent shoe, I work full 9 hour shifts on my feet, I bike, hike and really put the shoes through their paces. I have tried many higher end shoes and these held up the best. On average these shoes lasted me slightly more than a year which I think is excellent based on the abuse I put them through. They usually get replaced when the soles wear out. Now with the bad, these new versions with the yellowish trim are garbage. Walmart has redesigned them totally but still have named them the "Putty II". The reason I say they are garbage is because within the first week the materiel that is against the back of your heel started to tear. This would not start happening until about the 8 month mark with the "Original" Putty II. Overall these newly designed Putty II's have lasted me only a month and a half and need to be replaced. The rubber soles have already worn through exposing some sort of steel reinforcement which I did not notice until it gouged my kitchen floor. I had to actually pull it out of the shoe because it kept slipping out with every step I took. I know I should not expect much for $30.00 but the original was incredible so why would you change it? Walmart please bring back the original Putty II or I promise I will never buy another shoe from you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Great Boot for a Reasonable Price

10/30/2010
By ,
Poplar Bluff, Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my husbands 2nd pr of the hiking boots he wears them alot and they hold up really well, for the price they are fantastic!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
New Castle, Pa
Hate them
Posted 09/02/2012
Worst boots I ever wasted money on, lasted a whole three weeks before the sole gave out.
0points
Customer Avatar
Melrose Pk, IL
Per my son - Great Boots!
Posted 09/14/2011
I'm sorry I don't know the answer to your question, but my son walks several miles to work and back all year round. These boots kept his feet warm in the Chicago winter, and non-skid soles for when at work. My son loved them so much that I am ordering him a new pair for xmas today while they have plenty in stock.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots
09/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
my son has worn these boots for about a month, mainly to school. less than 2 weeks after he started wearing them, the sole started splitting and now the metal support bar in the sole is loose and is coming out of the hole. the hole in the bottom of the shoe goes from the heel to the ball of the foot. the other shoe has started splitting it the last week. i will never buy these boots again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Boston, MA
Same issue.
Posted 09/14/2012
I had the exact same issue after about 2 months by the third month the soul completely detached from on of the boots. These things are junk!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

good product

01/02/2011
By ,
Fairfax, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall a well made product. Only the width needs to be adjusted for bigger sizes. If UR foot is is a size 15 it not gonna be 4 inches wide at the front. Love the design and materials though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 7 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots
08/12/2011
By ,
St. George, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have owned these boots for 20 days, and they have been worn for 11 days. They already have a hole in the bottom enough to let water in. We were quite impressed with the boots when we recieved them, they look nice, and are very comfortable. They kept water out until the hole developed in the tread. Very disappointed that they fell apart so quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Fit and Style of boots

08/28/2010
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This my second pair of Ozark boots. The first pair is now religated to being warn for yard work. I have had them for 4 years and they wear well but it was time for a new pair.
I am moving to Juneau Alaska next year and these boots will serve me will during the "summer" months where the temp never goes above 70 degrees. During the winter months, everyone up there wears "Tuff" style rubber boots. I call them "Big Bird" boots, though they are not yellow. They are not much on style, just function. At any rate, the Ozark boots will be perfect for the summer months. I don't do a lot of hiking, but for all around general use, these boots will work fine. The only thing I added is a pair of Dr. Schol's inserts for a bit more comfort. The combination works well for me. I would recommend these boots to anyone these does not want to pay $80 to $125
for the same type boots at the sports stores. They are a great product at a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Best Boot Offered

11/19/2010
By ,
Clearlake, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used 5 different brands of boots that Walmart has offered over the past years. This is the best one by far that I have found at Walmart. It is a great all around boot for hiking, walking or yard work in the rain or in the mud or on a super sunny day. It's so good that I bought two pairs so if Walmart stops carrying it I will have another pair in a year or so waiting for me. The price is a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
upstate NY
Worst boot I have ever owned
Posted 11/18/2011
I purchased these boots tow (2) months ago and the soles have failed, I will never buy another pair.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots
12/27/2010
By ,
cleveland OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for walking in the snow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 11 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Great Boots

07/09/2011
By ,
Medina, Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got these boots for a week at a boy scout camp, where I would experience all sorts of weather conditions. I found that these boots would keep my feet dry even when I was walking through rivers and stepping in puddles. They were awesome. The weather got up in the high 90, and my feet did not get to hot in these boots. Highly recommend them, great value, fit well, and good price. Not damage found so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 12 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Not that good.

07/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned several pair of shoes from Walmart. I have worn these shoes about 5 times. The lining inside the heel is already starting to tear. Every other pair of shoes I have gotten from Walmart have done this. Over the years the quality of their shoes has gone down. I would expect to get more use out of a pair of shoes I paid 30 dollars for. I would not recommend these shoes to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingsport, TN
Great Looking but Have No Soul
Posted 08/20/2012
Great looking boots from the top. But my problem with them is that the souls are wearing way too fast. I've worn them for less than three weeks and already there's holes in the left heel exposing the weblike airspace. Not to mention the creaking noise when I walk from that shoe. Not good for a $35 shoe.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Good pair of shoes!

11/06/2010
By ,
Emily, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are the second pair of this brand, my last pair lasted 8+ years with no problems but the lace breaking.
One minor problem is that the clasp is angled in a way that the lace can sometimes slip.
Other than that, it provides excellent ankle support, and are light weight and comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

do not buy!!!!!

07/02/2012
By ,
Reno, Nv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have my boots for one month and they are already falling a part. they are not fully water proof, only water resistant. as well as do not breath. the stitching did not last. neather did the sole. i would not buy this boots ever again!!!!! and do not recommend this to any one for any thing!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Quality at a bargain price

01/18/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the boots to use as winter shoes for the Chicago snow. I am not a fan of boots normally, but these looked stylish & comfortable enough to peak my interest. They are marketed as hiking boots, but I think they are performing quite well as winter boots. The fit is great, and they are quite comfortable as well. Good warmth, and waterproof as I have had no problems walking in them in deep snow. They also have pretty good treads on them when dealing with slippery surfaces. As compared to boots I have purchased in the past, I found them to be a 90% improvement overall when dealing with snow & ice. For the low cost of the boots themselves, I would have to say this was an excellent bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Poor replacement for original `Putty' model

04/20/2011
By ,
Magalia, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The original `Putty' model was the best pair of boots I ever bought. Comfortable, with 3 open metal eyelets on the top that were easy to lace. They were over-the-ankle bone tops, and they fit well, and they breathed well. This version has 2 metal eyelets, one is closed, so its impossible to pull the laces snug and keep them snug without some awkward holding the shoelace to use the top open eyelet. This pair doesn't breath well, and overheated my feet within a few hours on a 70 degree day. The top of the boot is just below the ankle bone, and rubbed me raw in one day, so I had to leave the top eyelet unlaced to stop the rubbing.
WalMart, bring back the original version!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Excellent

11/11/2010
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wore Ozark Putty boots for about 2 years and used them doing hard physical labor. They held up well and had good support for about 18 months. They lost it all at that point but to be fair for $30 I was surprised I got that much out of 'em. I wouldn't try to go real mountain climbing but for day to day of light construction work like I say for $30 you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Falls short on comfort

11/29/2010
By ,
Londonderry, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't see why these are getting high ratings. Bought them because of that. Broke them in for a few days before hitting the trail and you can just tell when a new boot aint gonna make the cut. The biggest problem with these boots is that the uppers are very uncomfortable. Tried tightening the laces. Tried loosening the laces. Tried heavier socks. To no avail. They're okay to the grocery store and back. But their not hiking boots. To Cabelas I will go.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Split Soles

07/26/2012
By ,
Wilm, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Owned these for four months with low usage (mainly yard work on the weekends). The uppers have held up well, but the soles now have big splits and a metal band that run though the bottom of the boot came out of one. With these boots you get what you pay for, low price for low durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 20 for Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

Very Disappointing!

04/12/2012
By ,
Murphy, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got these as a gift for my son who was going to use them while doing pressure cleaning at the Cocoa Beach Pier. We have to return them after one 4 days of use. They are not waterproof and have come apart. They look nice and the fit was good but they don't hold up at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 103 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next