Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Innova Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Innova Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

The Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner helps troubleshoot anti-lock braking systems (ABS). It diagnoses ABS codes on most 1996 and newer vehicles. This auto diagnostic code scanner features a backlit screen that indicates all the vital data pertaining to your vehicle. Scrolling of menus is made easy with the help of a single-button feature. You can retrieve both the Original Equipment Manufacturer codes (OEM) and other Data Transmission Components (DTC's) on this Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional CanOBD2 diagnostic code scanner. Record your engine conditions when a malfunction is detected with the help of Freeze Frame Data. Both the generic codes and the manufacturer specific codes can be retrieved easily. The Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner also provides SAE enhanced Live Data that views, records and plays back live PCM data streams.
Average Customer Rating:
4.295 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation87%68 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
80 Questions | 117 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Great Tool, But...

06/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tool. It is easy to use and read. The only drawback is connecting to your computer. If you are like me your computers are newer and they do not have a RS-232 connector. They have several USB ports but no RS-232. So, You will need to buy a cable to convert the connection and install the driver software before you will be able to connect with your PC. Walmart doesn't carry the cables. however, the cables are available online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ill
Posted 10/14/2011
it looked like it had a parallel printer plug to interface with a pc.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Glad I purchased the 3160 model.

10/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought a Centech 98614 model for $130.00 and was not too impressed. I returned it to the store because it was not capable for online software upgrades, even thought it said it was. After researching a bit decided to go with this 3160 model from Innova. I thought it would come with the serial data cable that others who previously purchased this model received but to my surprise it came with an upgraded usb cable. I was quickly able to connect online and check for software upgrades. I used it on my BMW and it told me that the mixture was too lean and that cylinders 3,5 misfired at idle. That helped me determine that it was an intake leak. Found cracked oil separator hose. Problem fixed, check engine light gone. The centech model does not tell you at what engine setting the fault happened. The Innova model I received says 3160b. I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Equus 3160 Innova

01/09/2011
By ,
Winnipeg, MB
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value. Easy to use. Does Live data. Only does ABS on some North American vehicles. Website support area needs improvement. The application to update the scan tool seems to be incompatible with the 3160. I suspect that the software was not updated to allow firmware upgrade for the 3160 model.
Overall, It does what I want it to do and I'm pleased with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

The tester has many high level features.

06/13/2011
By ,
Bronx, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While it was working I liked it very much, but then while using it on one car, after having owned it for only less than two weeks, the display went dark. Not one to panic, I replaced the batteries twice, removed them to make sure I had the polarity correct. Still a dark display. I bought this scanner to use it and earn a living using it every day. It failed me miserably. I finally walked into an Auto Zone and bought their top of the line scanner. I have been using it every day for three over three months and it still works as advertised. I need gear that works every time. This Equus scanner has many great features, but it didn't live long enough to earn it's money.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Excellent price / diag tool for 2001 Impala

01/12/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a scan tool to repair/clear the emission problems on a 2001 Impala. This worked as it was intended to. Perfect for this car as it also supports the 2001 Impala ABS system. Use caution as it will not meet every car's needs. I recommend buying a scan tool that works with a specific car as not all scan tools will work great on every car. If you only want to read the generic emission codes, as all late model cars have, I would look elsewhere as this tool is way too expensive for that. It has many features that you would be paying for and not be using. Good Luck and I hope this helps .......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Software is not compatible with Windows 7

10/21/2013
By ,
Canada
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The device can be used with ease, however; some vehicles on the list are not compatible in the ABS mode. The advertised functions available with this scanner connected to a computer is false in my opinion. I have been attempting to get the PC Link established in Windows 7 with no luck whatsoever for several weeks now. The 800 tech. assistance option is a waste of time as I have been told that the program works in all systems up to Windows 8! Windows 7 lists this program as incompatible even though I attempted to use all previous versions back to XP! Inquires were made to local computer techs and all methods tried and failed. The DTC's that the scanner reads are well documented on screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Excellent tool for the DIYer

07/13/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model (3160) works very well as a scanner, especially in the Enhanced mode for domestic products. The 100-frame data capture plots it in an easy to read chart for "bench work" on intermittent-failures as well. As a professional, I have a dedicated VERUS scanner, and this unit works well at home as a second scanner for side-work.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

pc download of dtc codes and live data streaming

10/28/2013
By ,
stockton,ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
previously owned a equus 3100 with obd II with no problems,needed to upgrade to newer model 3160 with can-capabilities and obd II,plus this model has abs-codes, used this on my 2010 Jeep
and 2007 ford f-150. For the price its a pretty handy tool that gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner
06/01/2011
By ,
pensacola, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
did not read ERROR on Airbags and break problems.... what a shame. We returned the product
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Hampshire
why did you think it WOULD read air bag codes?!?
Posted 07/19/2011
Innova doesn't advertise the 3160 to read Air bag codes. I heard it was something they might be adding down the road but no where could I find that they advertised that it would do so.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner
06/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the product works well i really like it just that you have to buy the repair portion of it. they will send you what to fix, for $15.00. or the probable cause of the problem. if it had a hand book that would tell you that or point you to the probable problem that would make it easier for the do it yourselfer. and any recalls on your car or truck you must buy also. I have already used on two of my vehicles with no problems at all. not bad
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

OK - just doesn't have features I was hoping for

02/25/2013
By ,
Mesa, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I should have gotten 3140 model to have OBDII and OBDI functionality. I gave up OBDI to get the ABS/SRS diagnostics. I have a 99 Mercedes and was hoping that using Chrysler mode I could pull codes. No such luck. It funcitons as described for OBDII, but really is limited in advanced diagnostics to a few manufacturers. My fault for hoping for more than described. Since other parts of the online description were out of date (for example picture shows serial connection for computer but this version comes with USB connection), I was hoping that the other product updates might include more vehicles. Product description on Walmart on line "OBDII is still evolving , and new codes and definitions will be added as the system matures. Equus' database is constantly being updated to include more Manufacturer specific (P1) code definitions." Maybe in future will perform as I need with an update...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

excellent code reader

03/31/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, this is not your run of the mill reader. It goes well beyond the basics, and it's easy to use. It pulled two codes out of my Ranger and the CEL wasn't even on. Walmart's price is fantastic, comparatively, and I doubt you'll find it for any less. The only reason(s) that I gave it a four-star rating is (1): You can always improve a design, so you have to leave a little room for them to do that. And (2): It doesn't have an on/off switch. Yeah, I know it doesn't need one since it turns on and shuts off automatically, but it makes me feel better having a switch.
Anyway, I highly recommend this reader. I've only had it for two weeks, but it has functioned perfectly for me so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

If you want a great reader keep looking.

08/29/2012
By ,
Wysox, Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Have a terrible misfire in my jeep the 3160 is telling me nothing, will not read my 2002 Dodge Ram ABS problem. Their web page is very basic with pay for anything extra for a report. I would not call this a great diagnostic tool value. Can't print out any reading unless I do a print screen.
My opinion is Equis said lets make a tool that to troubleshoot a problem they will have to pay extra.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Great OBD Scanner

05/09/2011
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like others have said, it only does certain manufacturers ABS, but I was amazed at how simple it was to used. I am the typical male & just fanned thru the manual, hooked up to car, checked the readings, & reset the Engine Light easily. After reading more in the Manual, I'll probably play with it on every car I own just for fun....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

overall very pleased very professional equipment

08/13/2012
By ,
south florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the 3160 is hi quality, company could do better job with the online support. real time feature is perfect. shipping very quick and accurate tracking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Great for DIYers like me...

05/24/2013
By ,
Minot, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this unit today (3160b) 5/24/2013; 3pm, though the picture doesn't say it's USB capable but it actually has a mini-USB port on it..I tested it on my 98 Oldsmobile cutlass and it gave me an ABS DTC. I'll work on my car this weekend so I can see if the Innova 3160b lives up to its promise :). Great tool and nice blue background interface, well enough to see the codes in the dark. Better check on the Innova website first before you finalize your purchase, check on your vehicle type and year, just to be sure your moneys worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/31/2013
Kwiksilber,
Thank you for your review and use of our product. I'm happy to hear that you are satisfied with the tool. I'm glad to see that the item was able to give you more than you expected. If you have any questions please feel free to contact our technical support at (800)544-4124. We're available Monday through Saturday from 6am - 6pm Pacific Time.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner
04/22/2013
By ,
96097
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
spend the money then find out you need to by service to change code into words
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/23/2013
Thank you for your review and use of our product. With the Innova 3160, the definition of the codes should appear right below the code when you scan your vehicle. You can also go to our website, innova.com, and enter the code there. If what you want is the verified fixes then that is when you would need to subscribe to our Repair Solutions. With Repair Solutions you will get a full diagnostic of your vehicle and get all the possible fixes for your problem. All our information on Repair Solutions have been verified by Master Technicians. If you have any questions or need more info about the Innova 3160's full potential, please feel free to give our technical support a call at (800) 544-4124 and we would be more than glad to help you out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Cheaper options out there..

04/09/2013
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit from all the great reviews that were out there. I plugged it into my 2005 Toyota, worked fine or so I thought. Until it locked up on the live data streams. The up and down arrow buttons when pushed would not move the highlighted cursor. I had to exit out of that part of the software then enter in again, then it began to work, until it locked up again. I figured it was my slow ISO-9141 protocol that my car's computer uses. I called tech support from Innova, they blamed the Toyota computer on "being too slow". Their recommendation was to try another car. So I did. A newer car that is the CAN bus (faster protocol). The unit locked up again. Problem is the processor in this handheld scanner cannot handle the data coming in from the car's computer! So to add an insult to that, tried to load the software that comes with the unit and as you guessed, that didn't work either! If I were to actually care I would've gotten mad, all I did was laugh. The company blames (of course) the operating system, but don't worry I'm running windows 7 and it's all up to date. Save yourself the time and don't get this unit. It isn't worth the two hundred that being charged for it. Now sure I might have received a bad unit, I accept that might be the case. But at these prices quality should be much, much higher. Save yourself the time and look elsewhere for cheaper! I did try some other brands but still looking around for a good value scanner. I'm not trying to be negative just trying to tell everyone what happened with my experience. This isn't even against Walmart they did a great job in refunding my money including shipping! Thanks Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

screen size

04/03/2013
By ,
lapeer , mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did like how this code reader operates .The screen size could be a little bigger. Also did not like only 1 month of on line service. then have to pay $10.00 a month. it should be free for at least a year. for as much as I paid for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Equus 3160 Worked flawlessly

01/25/2014
By ,
Sauk City, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great tool to have. Pulls code numbers and gives brief description of where to start testing; such as code xxxxxx "Cylinder number 4 misfire". The live data feature is cool and lets you access system output while the car is running. With all of the technology that goes into automobiles these days I wonder why the automotive engineers just don't have this type of information built into every vehicle so it reads out on your dashboard! Is anyone listening?
Glad I bought it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next