Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Innova Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Innova Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

The Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner helps troubleshoot anti-lock braking systems (ABS). It diagnoses ABS codes on most 1996 and newer vehicles. This auto diagnostic code scanner features a backlit screen that indicates all the vital data pertaining to your vehicle. Scrolling of menus is made easy with the help of a single-button feature. You can retrieve both the Original Equipment Manufacturer codes (OEM) and other Data Transmission Components (DTC's) on this Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional CanOBD2 diagnostic code scanner. Record your engine conditions when a malfunction is detected with the help of Freeze Frame Data. Both the generic codes and the manufacturer specific codes can be retrieved easily. The Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner also provides SAE enhanced Live Data that views, records and plays back live PCM data streams.
Average Customer Rating:
4.262 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation87%73 out of 84reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions | 118 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Good but not great

02/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far I have had it for about 1 month, and have used it on half a dozen vehicles. On a 2006 pontiac g6 the air bag light was clearly illuminated on the dash, but yet no srs codes were stored. I have a hunch the scan tool was working fine on this one, and it was just the way the pontiac system works. But I also tried to scan a 2004 VW passat for abs light, and a 1998 Oldsmobile bravada with abs light on. Both times the scan tool said "this function is not available with this vehicle" . So far I'm not sure what vehicles it will read abs codes on. I'm not shocked that it won't read European codes (VW) but it should at least read a General Motors code.
Beyond that, it works wonderful at reading/clearing codes, as well as viewing live data. I can see readings from engine coolant temp to check for bad ECT sensors, o2 sensors that are slow to cycle, check timing advance, as well as many other sensors. Makes it much easier to diagnose a vehicle that runs bad, or won't pass emissions, yet does not set a check engine light, and that's the real reason I bought this.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Glad I purchased the 3160 model.

10/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought a Centech 98614 model for $130.00 and was not too impressed. I returned it to the store because it was not capable for online software upgrades, even thought it said it was. After researching a bit decided to go with this 3160 model from Innova. I thought it would come with the serial data cable that others who previously purchased this model received but to my surprise it came with an upgraded usb cable. I was quickly able to connect online and check for software upgrades. I used it on my BMW and it told me that the mixture was too lean and that cylinders 3,5 misfired at idle. That helped me determine that it was an intake leak. Found cracked oil separator hose. Problem fixed, check engine light gone. The centech model does not tell you at what engine setting the fault happened. The Innova model I received says 3160b. I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

OK - just doesn't have features I was hoping for

02/25/2013
By ,
Mesa, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I should have gotten 3140 model to have OBDII and OBDI functionality. I gave up OBDI to get the ABS/SRS diagnostics. I have a 99 Mercedes and was hoping that using Chrysler mode I could pull codes. No such luck. It funcitons as described for OBDII, but really is limited in advanced diagnostics to a few manufacturers. My fault for hoping for more than described. Since other parts of the online description were out of date (for example picture shows serial connection for computer but this version comes with USB connection), I was hoping that the other product updates might include more vehicles. Product description on Walmart on line "OBDII is still evolving , and new codes and definitions will be added as the system matures. Equus' database is constantly being updated to include more Manufacturer specific (P1) code definitions." Maybe in future will perform as I need with an update...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Great Tool, But...

06/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tool. It is easy to use and read. The only drawback is connecting to your computer. If you are like me your computers are newer and they do not have a RS-232 connector. They have several USB ports but no RS-232. So, You will need to buy a cable to convert the connection and install the driver software before you will be able to connect with your PC. Walmart doesn't carry the cables. however, the cables are available online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ill
Posted 10/14/2011
it looked like it had a parallel printer plug to interface with a pc.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Money saver

02/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I told my relavites what I had purchased. And volenteered to check their vehicles, and
the 3160b me gave the code + the definition of the code. It can also give u live data in the vehicle u plug it up to. I even registered on innova.com for repair solutions and that gives u a glossary of more codes + other stuff. The only thing I didn't like is that u have to download the Manual for the newer version. Which is the ones with letter behind it. (3160b)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Excellent price / diag tool for 2001 Impala

01/12/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a scan tool to repair/clear the emission problems on a 2001 Impala. This worked as it was intended to. Perfect for this car as it also supports the 2001 Impala ABS system. Use caution as it will not meet every car's needs. I recommend buying a scan tool that works with a specific car as not all scan tools will work great on every car. If you only want to read the generic emission codes, as all late model cars have, I would look elsewhere as this tool is way too expensive for that. It has many features that you would be paying for and not be using. Good Luck and I hope this helps .......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

pc download of dtc codes and live data streaming

10/28/2013
By ,
stockton,ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
previously owned a equus 3100 with obd II with no problems,needed to upgrade to newer model 3160 with can-capabilities and obd II,plus this model has abs-codes, used this on my 2010 Jeep
and 2007 ford f-150. For the price its a pretty handy tool that gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Software is not compatible with Windows 7

10/21/2013
By ,
Canada
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The device can be used with ease, however; some vehicles on the list are not compatible in the ABS mode. The advertised functions available with this scanner connected to a computer is false in my opinion. I have been attempting to get the PC Link established in Windows 7 with no luck whatsoever for several weeks now. The 800 tech. assistance option is a waste of time as I have been told that the program works in all systems up to Windows 8! Windows 7 lists this program as incompatible even though I attempted to use all previous versions back to XP! Inquires were made to local computer techs and all methods tried and failed. The DTC's that the scanner reads are well documented on screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Excellent tool for the DIYer

07/13/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model (3160) works very well as a scanner, especially in the Enhanced mode for domestic products. The 100-frame data capture plots it in an easy to read chart for "bench work" on intermittent-failures as well. As a professional, I have a dedicated VERUS scanner, and this unit works well at home as a second scanner for side-work.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Equus 3160 Innova

01/09/2011
By ,
Winnipeg, MB
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value. Easy to use. Does Live data. Only does ABS on some North American vehicles. Website support area needs improvement. The application to update the scan tool seems to be incompatible with the 3160. I suspect that the software was not updated to allow firmware upgrade for the 3160 model.
Overall, It does what I want it to do and I'm pleased with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

The tester has many high level features.

06/13/2011
By ,
Bronx, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While it was working I liked it very much, but then while using it on one car, after having owned it for only less than two weeks, the display went dark. Not one to panic, I replaced the batteries twice, removed them to make sure I had the polarity correct. Still a dark display. I bought this scanner to use it and earn a living using it every day. It failed me miserably. I finally walked into an Auto Zone and bought their top of the line scanner. I have been using it every day for three over three months and it still works as advertised. I need gear that works every time. This Equus scanner has many great features, but it didn't live long enough to earn it's money.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

nice unit easy to use

01/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
make sure you receive all items listed from manual to cd
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

If you want a great reader keep looking.

08/29/2012
By ,
Wysox, Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Have a terrible misfire in my jeep the 3160 is telling me nothing, will not read my 2002 Dodge Ram ABS problem. Their web page is very basic with pay for anything extra for a report. I would not call this a great diagnostic tool value. Can't print out any reading unless I do a print screen.
My opinion is Equis said lets make a tool that to troubleshoot a problem they will have to pay extra.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Works well on 2000 Volvo S70

07/15/2014
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally purchased a different unit which worked on CAN based cars, but would not work on my 2000 S70 Volvo (although its' write-up said it functioned on ALL cars 96-present).
The INNOVA 3160 works as advertised. Does not pull ABS or SRS codes - didn't expect that to work on Volvo cars. Very easy to use.
A little pricey, but paid for itself in this one use.
Wal-Mart had the best price and free delivery was faster than originally quoted.
One thing I would change - the connecting cord could be longer. I may look into purchasing an extension cable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Innova 3160

12/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price at Walmart.com.One of the best car code readers in the market.Fast delivery.Very satisfied
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

excellent code reader

03/31/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, this is not your run of the mill reader. It goes well beyond the basics, and it's easy to use. It pulled two codes out of my Ranger and the CEL wasn't even on. Walmart's price is fantastic, comparatively, and I doubt you'll find it for any less. The only reason(s) that I gave it a four-star rating is (1): You can always improve a design, so you have to leave a little room for them to do that. And (2): It doesn't have an on/off switch. Yeah, I know it doesn't need one since it turns on and shuts off automatically, but it makes me feel better having a switch.
Anyway, I highly recommend this reader. I've only had it for two weeks, but it has functioned perfectly for me so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

A great tool for any home tool wrencher

12/28/2013
By ,
Alberta Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received in very good time . Was very happy that it was a 3160d which seems to be newest model. Easy software upgrade and seems like a good support site . Only used on one vehicle so far but caught the codes I assumed might be there . Very nice to have a text readout rather than a number code that needs you to have a book to look up problem . Much better price than in Canada.
Great tool for those that use power tuners so that you make sure everything is ok prior to tuning for performance, towing or other modes of operation other than stock vehicle computer setup. Would be a 5 but for the fact that you have to print a manual (about 90+ pages -24 double sided booklet form )yourself to get full usefulness of this tool
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

screen size

04/03/2013
By ,
lapeer , mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did like how this code reader operates .The screen size could be a little bigger. Also did not like only 1 month of on line service. then have to pay $10.00 a month. it should be free for at least a year. for as much as I paid for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner

Great for DIYers like me...

05/24/2013
By ,
Minot, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this unit today (3160b) 5/24/2013; 3pm, though the picture doesn't say it's USB capable but it actually has a mini-USB port on it..I tested it on my 98 Oldsmobile cutlass and it gave me an ABS DTC. I'll work on my car this weekend so I can see if the Innova 3160b lives up to its promise :). Great tool and nice blue background interface, well enough to see the codes in the dark. Better check on the Innova website first before you finalize your purchase, check on your vehicle type and year, just to be sure your moneys worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/31/2013
Kwiksilber,
Thank you for your review and use of our product. I'm happy to hear that you are satisfied with the tool. I'm glad to see that the item was able to give you more than you expected. If you have any questions please feel free to contact our technical support at (800)544-4124. We're available Monday through Saturday from 6am - 6pm Pacific Time.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Equus 3160 Innova ABS + Professional Diagnostic Code Scanner
06/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the product works well i really like it just that you have to buy the repair portion of it. they will send you what to fix, for $15.00. or the probable cause of the problem. if it had a hand book that would tell you that or point you to the probable problem that would make it easier for the do it yourselfer. and any recalls on your car or truck you must buy also. I have already used on two of my vehicles with no problems at all. not bad
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next