Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

You can print from virtually anywhere in your home with the HP Deskjet DJ2050 All-in-One Printer. Save ink and paper by combining content from multiple web pages onto one page with HP Smart Web Printing. It is easy to make prints, scans and copies with clear, straightforward buttons. HP makes printing easy with the HP Deskjet DJ2050 All-in-One Printer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.788 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(283 Reviews) 244
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
58
3 stars
24
2 stars
15
1 star
48
Customer Recommendation73%203 out of 277reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
58
3 stars
24
2 stars
15
1 star
48
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Fine if all you want is a document printer..

11/21/2010
By ,
PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Extremely disappointed. Software did not come with or on the installation disk. Spent an hour on computer with their live tech support trying to download photosmart--wouldn't work. Ended up calling tech support and was told photosmart wasn't even the software that is supposed to come with it and ended up helping me download something called photo creations--garbage. I am an avid scrapbooker and used about every software under the sun, but I found this very un-user friendly. Photos came out grainy. I never had to purchase an actual photo cartridge with any other printer before, but I guess it's another expense in order to have good quality. Printer didn't even come with any kind of manual. So disgusted wtih this. I previously had an inexpensive lexmark that worked miracles, so I know it is possible to get good quality without having to sacrifice a huge expense, but don't get this if you plan on using it for photos. If you do, get the photo cartridge and download picasa photo software--it's free and 10X better!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

A very awful product - INK GUZZLER

05/25/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros- It does print and scan well and is very easy to use. It is nice looking and hp customer service is a good customer service.
Cons- This printer EATS ink for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I have never seen a printer eat ink as much as this one does. The ink costs $14 for black and $20 for color and Im going through it every two weeks. I see in the reviews that other people have had this same issue. I agree 100%. Due to the guzzling of the ink - I have retired this printer as of last night and I have now bought a kodak c310 - black ink is $9.99 and color is $16.99. From the reviews this ink lasts a very very long time. It is $69.99 for the kodak all in one but it is well worth the additional $20. I would NOT reccomend this hp printer unless you want to pay $30 for ink every two weeks. In 3 months I have went through 6 cartridges of each. This is not right.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+171points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BUYER BEWARE!
Posted 12/12/2011
I bought this printer a few months ago and thought it was a great little printer for the price. HOWEVER, as mentioned above, it literally guzzles down the ink. I have to replace a cartridge every few weeks, and I only use it for occasional use in my home.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Excellent, solid, basic all-in-one

01/11/2011
By ,
Ocala, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm writing this review after only 1 day of use so keep that in mind.
Old HP AIO died after 7 years so needed a new one that would do good, basic printing and copying. Did not need a fax. (Didn't use the one I had)
After researching awhile, decided to buy this HP. It was between this and a Canon MP495. Both were the same price. It was a coin flip.
Decided to stay with HP product. (PC is also HP)
Box had 2 ink cartridges inside - nice of HP. Everything was there. Took maybe 25 - 30 minutes to get it up and running. I use Windows 7, 64-bit.
Definitely need the USB cable and you might already have one on hand with an old printer you put out to pasture. Otherwise buy one.
Make sure this HP 2050 is set up as your default printer and remove old printer devices or it won't print from the Internet. Use your Control Panel.
I can print only black & white with a touch of the button on the printer. Saves on the tri-color ink cartridge.
It's a speedy little thing too. I haven't used the scan portion yet but for printing and copying - it is a nice machine and easy to use.
The only negative, if it can be called that, is that the tray extender could be a bit longer to receive the printed material. That did not impact my rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+161points
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Great buy, good machine.

12/09/2010
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this up the other day. I was surprised that it didn't come with a USB A to B printer cable, but it's not listed on the box as an included item. Easily fixed with a trip back for a $5 cable.
Some reviews say that this 3-in-1 doesn't scan, or doesn't copy right. Mine copies and scans perfectly in a pleasantly-surprising large range of scan resolutions. The scan software is easy to use and quick. Gives the options to save as a number of different file types, which can be handy.
The copies are great. B&W or color, both seem to do very well. Unremarkable in the fact that, for me at least, it works fast and works well. I'd expect just that, so nothing to rave about there.
Printing is relatively quick and good looking. I'm in the military and do alot of printing of paperwork for leave forms, that kind of stuff. It's doing a great job.
I hadn't expected to be able to find a 3-in-1 for less than $100. I had been up to my local Best Buy, and they didn't have anything under there. I just needed a cheap printer. I found this at my local Wal-Mart and honestly thought it had to be a mislabled price. Bought it, brought it home, fixed the 'no cable' issue, setup was super fast and easy, and haven't had a problem with it. All in all, a great buy that I recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Greater metro area
Great printer and scanner
Posted 06/16/2012
Very easy to use and directions easy to follow; even shows you pictures of steps to print! Scanned documents look great and copies fine, too. Couldn't ask for more for the price!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Exceeded my Expectations!

09/03/2010
By ,
North Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this printer in the store a couple of weeks ago and couldn't wait to take it home and get set up. I'd been without a printer for a few months after the junky Kodak that I had decided that it no longer wanted to work. I wasn't expecting a lot from the HP considering the price, and I was very surprised. I got it home, and though the CD-Rom wouldn't work in my computer for some reason, I was able to go to the HP website, and dowload from there. It works like a charm!! I've already printed SEVERAL times from it, and haven't had a problem. The paper feeds through straight and even each time. And the color and quality is great. You definitely can't go wrong with this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+296points
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Seriously, Can't Really Complain!

11/18/2010
By ,
Northeastern IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this printer to replace my DELL branded printer, a v305, because I was having printing issues with the v305. My only real complaint about the Deskjet 2050 is that with my v305 I had copy, print, and scan settings to choose from. For example, I could chose to daren the or lighten the quality of my print job or scan to certain applications, like Word. Can't do that with the Deskjet 2050. Then again, I paid more for the v305, which means you get what you pay for. Other than that, it's a good little printer. I does what I need it to do and my ink lasts longer. With my v305, I got a 109 page yield. With my Deskjet 2050, I get a 190 page yield with the black ink cartridge and a 165 page yield with the color one. My DELL branded printer was an ink monger and am glad it's gone because I'd no sooner put the ink cartridges in it than turn around and have to go out and buy new cartridges for it. Talk about break the bank.
By the way, I read a review on Amazon UK that said the person wished HP made it clear on the box that the USB cable wasn't included. However, HP does tell you right on the box the USB cable isn't included.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Awesome Printer For The Money

03/10/2011
By ,
Fulton Ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this printer today.Great price and very easy to install.I have never had a problem with HP stuff and this printer does everything that I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Buy this, you'll be going back to return it!

07/24/2012
By ,
Marne, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this printer because I LOVE HP products and it was cost efficient. Unfortunately, HP missed the target with this printer. It is a piece of GARBAGE! First of all, you NEED a USB cord, it DOES NOT come with one and the cheapest one sold at my local Wal-Mart was $15.99. Set up was easy, I got it up and running within a matter of minutes, I scanned 9 photos, tried to scan my 10th and was informed that the HP 2050 scanner was not connected to my computer. WHAT THE WHAT?! I troubleshot every possible issue it could be with my computer, firewalls, etc. to no end! I unistalled and re-installed the printer, I exchanged my USB cord for a new one thinking there was a glitch in the cord...nope! When I researched this product further online, I found out that several people had the same exact issue with this printer. If you buy this, beware, Wal-Mart only allows 15 days for the return of printers. I am taking mine back today and planning on trying out the next model up, a bit more pricey, but hopefully the machine will operate accordingly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

HP Deskjet 2050 AIO Printer is worth the price!

10/31/2010
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this printer on Walmart.com and I only needed another printer to use strickly for my laptop when I do work from home for my second job, and it does a great job for the price, I have not had a problem with it as of yet and the copies and print jobs come out clear, so I would highly reccommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Easy set up and easy to use

11/22/2010
By ,
Bartlesville, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. It was very easy to get it going, and then there were several options online to maximize your value. I am using my printer twice as much as before because the images are so much sharper than our old printer, which was also from HP, but about 12 years old. (R.I.P. - Great printer as well.)
BUY EXTRA INK when you order. We ran out getting stuff done that had been sitting since the older printer got fried in an electrical storm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

DO NOT BUY

03/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product only made it 6 months before it quit feeding paper through correctly. Do not buy. I printed less than 100 pages for my side business.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+27points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
I Agree Do Not Buy!
Posted 06/10/2011
I bought 2 of this exact same product. The 1st one stop feeding paper... and I thought just maybe I may have did something wrong. (Not) I bought another one exact same model. why? because it was one of the cheaper brands and I felt comfortable with HP ... Mistake ! Now the 2nd one wont even power on anymore Im like what? Ive tried everything... Im so nervous about buying another printer I dont know which brand I should go for....
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Ink drainer

12/08/2010
By ,
East TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this to replace an old printer. I homeschool, so I am printing a good bit. Even printing a minimal amount, I can not keep the ink full. It goes through ink like I have never seen. I have been using it for several months and now I am going to have to buy a new printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Simple and cost effective

09/22/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer is great for the cost. It is very simple to use; great for households with less than tech-savvy members. The flatbed scanner and copier is much easier than scanning the paper through. Definitely good stuff from HP.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Eats ink

06/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Easy to install, but eats ink. A laserJet printer is a better option.
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Some wut help full

09/20/2010
By ,
Flintstone, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think it is a very good printer but the only down side is that it doesn't come with a usb cord. You have to purchase that seperatley. I perosnally wish it would include that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

A good buy for the money

05/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I normally buy HP computer products and this printer did not let me down. It is an inexpensive printer that delivers good quality copies. It was easy to set up and is easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

As Usual, I was treated like Royalty, at Wal Mart!

06/11/2012
By ,
Lake Tapps, WA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked for a few weeks for a replacement printer, as my Cannon printer kept jamming up. I read the reviews on the HP 2050, and ordered it. I picked it up the next day. Installed it as the instructions directed, it took @15 minutes. I am extremely satisfied with the HP 2050 all in one printer. It is a basic, easy to use reliable unit, that was inexpensive. Thanks, again Wal Mart! Happy Dayze in Lake Tapps :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

Worst printer I have ever bought period.

09/27/2011
By ,
Cody, Wy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This printer is awful. Can't say enough bad about it. It sucks ink in the worst way. I estimate that we print an average of 1 page a day per month, maybe. Bought a new cartridge and dated it because we thought the previous cartridge might have been old and the ink dried up or something since we had just bought the printer and had barely printed a few pages when it indicated the ink was low. Since new cartridge installed, we have printed 26 pages (black only# and the printer is indicating the black ink is low. We never printed any color pages until now #3 months after purchase) and just now printed 6 pages with color and the printer is indicating that the ink is low. 6 pages for one cartridge-really not impressive. And if the ink problem isn't bad enough, EVERY time we want to print a page we have to go through the "clean print cartridge" process multiple times because of the streaks through the lines of print just to get a legible copy. My experience is not unique, my parent bought the same piece of junk at the same time and they are having the exact same problems. I would not recommend this printer to my worst enemy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer
03/28/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Did not come with the USB cable that is required to use any printer, not sure why that wasn't highlighted to let people know
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

HP Deskjet 2050 All-in-One Printer

10/26/2010
By ,
Vineland, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great printer. It was very easy to setup. The only downside is that I had to pay an extra $15 for a USB cable because it didn't come with one, which it should. And the ink cartridges are reasonably priced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
1-20 of 192 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next