Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for TomTom TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

TomTom TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

The TomTom XXL 550m 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates offers Superior Driving Intelligence with Lifetime Map Updates on a widescreen device. Navigate using the EasyMenu and spoken turn-by-turn instructions including street names, to any address in the US, Canada and Mexico — including more than 7 million preloaded points of interest. With TomTom XXL 550m 5.0" Portable GPS, you'll have access to one million more miles of mapped road than you would using other GPS brands — making TomTom XXL 550m 5.0" Portable GPS the most accurate and dependable in the industry. And, with TomTom, you'll also have two ways to ensure that your maps are always up to date. TomTom's Lifetime Map Updates let you start fresh every few months by downloading our latest full map edition. TomTom Map Share On-Demand Updates let you download verified updates from other drivers in between our full map releases, and as often as you wish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(825 Reviews) 662
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
462
4 stars
244
3 stars
50
2 stars
31
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation88%723 out of 817reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
462
4 stars
244
3 stars
50
2 stars
31
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

GREAT DIRECTIONS

02/11/2012
By ,
Breinigsvill, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this a gift for my daughter who moved out of state. The directions were accurate and with the spoken street names and turns, it was easy for my daughter to drive to another state. The Point Of Interest came in handy for her looking for a gas station or a place to eat along the way. Since she is still new to her surroundings, she still uses this to navigate around. She used it to get to work until becoming comfortable with the route, but then needed it for an alternate route. She loves it and relies on it to get around. It has not let her down. The 5" screen is a plus and easy to see. The 3D map is comfortable to look at and easy to spot areas. I would consider this an entry level GPS, but very accurate and trustworthy. Once the route is set, you don't need to be doing six different things while you're driving. I didn't want my daughter distracted while driving. All she had to do was put the address in and just follow the turn by turn directions. I went with this because it's very much like my XL325 but with the larger screen. The life time maps makes it a plus. My daughter loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 2 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

The TomTom 550m Portable GPS

11/18/2010
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is great for the price I paid of $128. Has lifetime map updates or until tomtom quits receiving updates from the provider they are currently going through or the contract with the map provider ends.... some figure about 5yrs or so with out having to buy any maps updates.Only bad thing I have to say about the transaction is that I paid for the 2-3 days shipping......I didnt receive the product until 7 days after the purchase date..So I would not recommend paying for any fast shipping.....will take about the same time as the free or 98 cent shipping
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+177points
Review 3 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Excellent

11/10/2010
By ,
Circleville, OH.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing paid for itself on our 1st trip. We left Circleville, OH for King of Prussia, PA. and we relied on it the whole time. Closed Rds, no problem, the auto reroute was quick and accurate. The "Favorite" feature is really great and overall I'm very satisfied with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Review 4 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Great GPS

12/08/2010
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best value on the market. I have owned two, one Garmin and one tom tom. The maps become obsolete quickly and an update will cost you $60.00 This model has lifetime free map updates and is so easy to use. I don't travel without it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+295points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
re free updates
Posted 12/19/2011
This unit does not have free lifetime updates. Only one update is for free.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Software warning

12/17/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The GPS itself is great, but one of the selling factors, the lifetime updates, comes with a catch. The software needed to update and customize the TomTom is not compatible with Windows 7 64bit.
Windows 7 has been out for over a year to the public and longer to developers, unacceptable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+433points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
ohio
Tom Tom G.P.S
Posted 04/05/2012
ithis is only two yaers old it worked on the march .27 th 2012,on the march.31 they had a satellites down. on .on the april 2 nd my Gps didn't work .i call they told me it was not my G.P.S IT IS THERE SATALLITES,(three of there tec. and don't worry they will get it fixed no cost) after they cound'nt get it working poor signal they said its my unit and they would give me a 20% off a new one
-4points
Customer Avatar
San Antonio. Texas
NOT TRUE!!
Posted 03/02/2012
This product is fully compatible with Windows 7 64 bit. I successfully registered and dowloaded lifetime map updates using a 64 bit windows 7 computer. Tom Tom Home is one of the most user friendly interface compared to others. Totally love this product.
+16points
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Wrong!
Posted 10/09/2011
I have the TomTom Home software installed on two computers, one with XP 32-bit, and one with Win7 64 bit, and it works fine on both systems. I've had this for over a year now with absolutely no problems.
+27points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Great Product

11/14/2010
By ,
Poulsbo, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this GPS system works well - it tells you when to turn by voice - only one thing I would like to have improved on it should tell you a little earlier. If you watch the screen you will know that you have to turn then it tells you to turn L on easy street.
The Free updates was the reason that pushed me to purchase this model tom tom GPS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+169points
Review 7 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
12/08/2010
By ,
Alexander City Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I placed order on 12/04/2010 and received order on 12/06/2010. the gps worked as described and I am very pleased with it. I searched several competitors before I decided to purchase. I found that walmart had the best price. I would recommed TOMTOM and Walmart to anyone in the market for a gps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+48points
Review 8 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
08/06/2010
By ,
G J Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TOMTOM was very easy to set up and use. I will use it mostly out of town or when I am looking for certian areas in town. It arrived on time and the sucktion cup was damaged, but a call to the manufacture and two days later a new one came. I am happy with the operation overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+57points
Review 9 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

nice gps

09/13/2010
By ,
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this gps other then it doesnt let you pick an options of routs to travel.The screen is really nice and easy to see.Has a loud voice when speaking so you can hear it if people are talking in your car.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Review 10 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Rural Routes - Downloadable and Modifiable +

11/30/2010
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't expect any gps to do all to well but I have had some interesting routes. I live in a mountainous area with many less than ideal roads.
The ability to create and install content as well as download content from TomTom and other developers and users is fantastic.
The lifetime maps is a must have and a good deal.
I like the screen size and don't think anything smaller would work for me.
The mounting bracket is compact effective and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Review 11 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
12/11/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my boyfriend last year for Christmas. A year later and it needs to be replaced. It takes forever to start up and does not hold a charge. The screen goes blank sometimes. We got lost in the city because it went out on us while being connected to the car charger. We ended up pulling over and used a good old fashion map. The device is well taken care of. We made sure to purchase a carrying case for it.
When it is working it does a decent job telling you directions. Sometimes it gets a little vague when the interstate splits too much. It tells you to stay left when you really may need to be in the middle lane.
Overall I was happy with this product until it stopped working properly after a year of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Review 12 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

so far all is well

11/03/2010
By ,
Riverview Fla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup, and instructions were clear. Really cool voices too.... So far all is working fine... Happy with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Review 13 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

TomTom 550M

01/01/2011
By ,
Little Rock, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We live in well established suburb of Little Rock AR. Our new TomTom couldn't get us out of our suburb! We also notice that it advises us to turn too early thus making us exit off the freeway one exit too soon. Took it to Philadelphia and it struggled with locations there. Sorry Tom...sending you home by return mail!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 14 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

TOM TOM XXL550M.

12/16/2010
By ,
KNOXVILLE,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I TOOK A WRONG TURN IN NASHVILLE,MISSED RAMP ONTO I-40 EAST,WAS SUDDENLY ONTO SOME BACK ROADS AND THIS LITTLE JEWEL GOT ME BACK ONTO INTERSTATE IN A SHORT TIME. GRAPHICS ARE EXCELLENT AND INSTRUCTIONS WERE VERY QUICK.A REALLY GOOD DEAL WITH THE LIFETIME MAP UPDATES AT NO CHARGE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Review 15 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

outstanding!!!!

11/27/2010
By ,
Shreveport, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used twice on long trips that we had never previously visited and it performed flawlessly thru toll roads, back roads ect., and I promise that we would have been lost without it.
Downloading does take approx 4 hours-but I don't see why that is a issue because it was very simple to perform if you can read!
Great clarity day or night and the 5" screen is worth every penny and more!! Easy to operate without any instructions or manual.
Could not be happier!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Review 16 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Good Value

12/19/2010
By ,
Green Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Tom Tom and I'm very pleased. I bought this one because I was familiar with Tom Tom and wouldn't have to learn a new operating system. It operates somewhat differently than my GO 700 but I really like the 5" screen and the thin design. For the price I paid and with free delivery I felt it was a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Review 17 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

excellent product

09/12/2010
By ,
Rathdrum, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not traveled in almost 40 years and boy have the roads, off/on ramps changed. This product was awesome getting me to where I was going. I wish the booklet explained the works of the product more but I did figure out how it works by pressing all the spots on the screen. Though sometimes it did not take me to the exact address it did get me to within a block of where I was going. Would highly recommend this model because of the large screen which made it easier to see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 18 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

My second Tom Tom

10/20/2012
By ,
Newberg OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My other Tom Tom still works but it's over 5 years old, the screen is getting dim and it would cost me $80 to update the maps. So why not spend a few dollars more for life time maps and a bigger screen! The reason I stuck with Tom Tom is the intuitive interface design. You can learn it quickly and it's easy to show my wife how to use it (and most importantly she understands). Tap Tap and you've got your list of instructions. Tap Tap and you've just entered a new favorite. You can still enter new address by zip code which is how I roll. The best new thing is the way it now shows which lane to be in while on the "motorway" and the warning beep for photo enforcement is a kick. The windshield mount is simple and works easily enough but will pop off easily. That's either a con or pro depending on who you ask, but not a problem. Overall I could not be more pleased.
When I reboot the TomTom it says 'IQR XXL 550M'. I assume that means it will work with the traffic receiver, but I would have to call and make sure. If I do upgrade I will report back here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Great value

12/13/2010
By ,
Stillwater, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an older Tom Tom and just loved it. This one is bigger and has lifetime maps, which is great. It is easy to navigate and the price is very affordable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 20 for TomTom XXL 550M 5.0" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Very pleased with all the functions of this model.

11/25/2010
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace an older gps and was especially interested in the map update feature. I like the programming options. I am a bit disappointed in not being able to get to old programmed route history in an expedient direct manner but I find that the material is retained but you must work your way to the final address.
I'm over burdened with the number of points of interest showing along the route. It is a terrific unit that I've recommended to many friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
1-20 of 518 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next