Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Be informed. Be in touch. Be entertained. The Compaq Presario CQ62-219WM comes preloaded with applications designed to enhance your productivity. One-touch keys let you instantly access email, the web and other functions you use most. Full PC functionality plus a comfortable keyboard and touchpad help you handle everyday tasks in no time. Plus, this Compaq 15.6" laptop PC's classic good looks are a match for any situation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.335 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(221 Reviews) 187
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
56
3 stars
19
2 stars
3
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation90%199 out of 221reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
56
3 stars
19
2 stars
3
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great HP, Compaq Presario Laptop, A Must Have.

07/07/2010
By ,
Ashland, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMD Athon 2.1 is good for running some high end games, with 3Gigs of ddr3 memory. No camera or memory card reader but for the price its worth it.This laptop more than i expected. I would recommend this one if you don't want to pay to much.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

To buy or not to buy...

07/13/2010
By ,
The Interwebs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So if you're in the market for a new PC, the Compaq Presario CQ62 can be the one you're looking for. It comes with really great features for a reasonable price. I bought one about 3 weeks ago, and I just can't seem to put it away :). It comes with Windows 7 Home Premium x64 bit, Intel Celeron Processor, and plenty of USB ports. So far I have been playing games on it, and the display couldn't be better. My favorite game Fallout 3tm, can run on it and get about 30fps compared to my old laptop which gave about 13fps... So if you want a new laptop for school, home, work, or just entertainment, the Compaq Presario is the one for you!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 3 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Value

09/22/2010
By ,
Hawaii
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This laptop is a great value. Too bad Walmart.com no longer offers this laptop alone anymore but now "bundled" with an overpriced case at $60 more than I bought the laptop alone. Great plus was the 6 cell battery included - all other laptops in this price range had smaller batteries, so Compaq gives you 6 hours of battery time instead of 2 1/2. Included was a 30 page setup booklet with instructions which was very helpful - many computers come only with a single page and then you have to read the manual electronically. Maybe I'm old school but I like to be able to mark up a book for future reference. The full Instruction manual was also on the computer so Compaq had everything covered. Nice, bright display - laptops have come a long way
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Review 4 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

amazing savings before black friday!!

11/17/2010
By ,
GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was int he market for a new laptop and also a great price point as well. I came across this little beauty. Had been checking it out it out online off and on for a bit. It was listed for 348. but them the amazing online deals came about for nov 6th and 7th. Feeling this would be a great present to myself, I wanted to jump on it. However, it sold out online before I had the chance. I decided to go into the store and purchase it there. To my surpise the online price was the same as in the store when I got it! 288 instead of 348. I would have gotten two if I had the money. Laptop runs smoothly great picture quality, speakers were especially important as some laptops have horrible ones. There are great without the addition of a portable speaker. Can watch movies and burn music and also organize my photos. Wi-fi works great in my house and I can jump online in a few seonds of booting up. A very happy customer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Spend $50 more and get the CQ62-209wm, FASTER!

12/14/2010
By ,
Lodi, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first purchased this one, I was impressed with the surprising speed of it even with a single core processor, but then the next day after I finished windows updates, thats when it all turned sour, it started running very slow, the screen started flickering, plus I saw a notice saying my virtual memory was low, I had nothing else installed on it except what it already had. I tried a system restore and it didn't change anything, so I took it back and exchanged it, this one did the exact same thing. I was very disapointed, I have always really liked compaqs and hps, but this one was slow as a slug, so I decided to crack open another $50 bucks and order the CQ62-209wm, which has an AMD Dual-Core processor and 3GB or ram, plus the operating system is a full 64 bit, the specs say this one is 64, but thats not true, its only 32. My advise, if your going to do a bit more than just surf the net and check emails, spend at least another $50 bucks and get a dual-core and another gb or ram, it will be well worth it.:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

A Real Bargain For A Fine Computer

06/30/2010
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We replaced a desk top computer with this laptop and were able to use our existing 17 inch flat screen monitor, wireless keyboard and wireless mouse when we are at home and then just take the laptop when we go out of town.
Total setup time was about 30 minutes and then another hour or so to make rescue disks and transfer files using a Cruzer USB 2.0 Flash Drive. The setup and installation was a breeze.
The laptop connected right to our Wi Fi and also wired right to our router ..either way works fine.
Very fast computer and not full of junk software. On set up the on screen directions walk you right through the process.
In my opinion this is a real buy ! We are really happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 7 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

For what you pay, expect more...

07/01/2010
By ,
South Bend, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was looking around for a laptop I expected to have to pay at least $600 for the stuff I wanted it to have. 2.2 or great processor, enough RAM and memory to easily function and a solid video card or graphics capability. This laptop had all those things when I was looking at what it had (prior to actually paying attention to the cost)....well scrolled up saw the extremely ridiculous low price and clicked buy a mere second after.
I've used this thing everyday since I bought it and actually even use it at work with no problem what so ever. Good purchase here folks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+95points
Review 8 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great product for the price.

11/05/2010
By ,
Chowchilla,
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer for my daugher for her college work. I like the computer so much I am buying one for myself. I have looked around and compared prices. Walmart by far has this computer priced the lowest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Review 9 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

wow

07/02/2010
By ,
rexburg, idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well i have had this laptop for about two weeks and i think it is amazing it has great features and it is really fast when it comes to loading or downloading things i really enjoy this laptop if u need one for school or just to use as a basic computer then i would totally get this one(:
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+70points
Review 10 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

AMAZING! Laptop

06/26/2010
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, Im 16, just to let you all know. NOW! ONTO THE REVIEW!
This laptop is what I was expecting and more.
I bought this laptop just a few hours ago so keep that in mind.
But this laptop is top notch. Im actually on it right now!
Runs fast, good amount of storage and ram. Runs youtube videos super fast, runs Facebook.com perfectly. The download speed is great.
I downloaded Skype and it only took about 30 seconds compared to my last computer which took about 5-10 minutes.
Great product, TOTALLY recomend it to anyone out there. 110%
Great job Compaq
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+73points
Review 11 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

The best computer I ever bought

09/14/2010
By ,
Shawano, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical about buying a computer online, I usually go to the stores to buy my purchases but I gave it a try anyway. I got the computer within a couple of days of ordering it. I had everything set up within 30 minutes, and was using the computer online within minutes. I wanted a computer that was faster, more powerful, and a bigger screen than I already had. I have had numerous computers in my life and so far nothing can top with one. I still kept my other laptop for backup, but when I put them side by side, this one is everything I need in a computer, and the other one is still sitting in my computer bag and hasn't been turned on but the one time I compared them. Also the software that comes with this computer is GREAT you get a ton of games to choose from, you also get your Microsoft Productivity software, Internet Movies and Radio, and I just signed up for Skype an Internet VOIP phone. plus there is just to much to list all the EXTRAS you can get with this computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

great computer at a great price

07/24/2010
By ,
Cranston, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a gift for my son. Very surprised at the quality for this price. Have an Acer which is fine but this is much better. Rates right up there with Dell at a much lower price. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 13 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Decent Budget Laptop

07/04/2010
By ,
Hinesville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unlike what another review stated, this laptop does contain a fair amount of bloatware, however that is to be expected from any new laptop purchased. After several hours of uninstalling bloatware, rebooting, upgrading, rebooting, upgrading, rebooting, etc... this laptop was finally ready for use or at least it is ready for me to install the apps I use :)
At first glance the case seems pretty bland and cheap. Upon further inspection, that is verified. I definitely wouldn't be taking this laptop into an environment that requires something rugged. If normal precautions are taken it should stand up fine to everyday use.
The keyboard layout has sufficient space for a touch typist to go blazing along at 100 wpm, however I have been having trouble with mistyping numbers. That is probably because I have become used to a small netbook's keyboard. It does have some application launch buttons along the left side of the keyboard. At this point I haven't noticed a problem with them getting in the way of my typing.
The audio seems to be adequate for what it is. I am not an audiophile so I am unable to determine if the Altec Lansing speakers are worth anything. They should be fine for a little bit of music listening and movie watching, however this laptop is definitely not geared towards home entertainment.
The screen is bright and clear. I am pleased with that. The 15.6" screen size seems to be the sweet spot for portability, big enough to work with multiple apps at once, yet not too big as to make lugging this thing around a pain.
With an Intel Celeron 900 processor and 2 GB of ram, don't expect to be zipping through video editing apps, especially considering it is a single core cpu. Of course if you needed a laptop to do that then you would have spent a lot more money now wouldn't you.
One thing that is a definite plus is the wireless networking card. 802.11n seems to be the standard wireless card installed in most new laptops and anyone would be a fool to not insist on that. The card is backwards compatible with b and g so for those who haven't upgraded their routers yet this will still work for you. (Get on the bandwagon fools!)
I haven't fully tested the battery life yet. Right now I am at two hours. That's while doing part of my uninstalling bloatware, rebooting, and upgrading bit. The battery meter is reading 50% so it appears that battery life is as advertised if not better. This can be made better if I did a little tweaking to the power settings.
For those of you looking for a laptop to put a Linux based operating system on, you are in luck. It appears that all the hardware is supported by at least Ubuntu directly out of the box. I actually debated on installing the latest version of Ubuntu instead of cleaning the bloatware up and I very nearly did. I still may in the future once I've created the re-installation disks. I wonder how much this thing would cost if Windows was left out of the picture?
All things considered this is a decent budget laptop. The only thing that I would tweak is the case construction, but one cannot expect too much for less than $350. I definitely would recommend this for someone who needs to get on the internet, school use, so on and so forth.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+157points
Review 14 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

LOVE IT! GREAT VALUE!

10/19/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my step daughters birthday. She loved it and I did too. It works fast, it looks sleek and the she loved the windows 7 that it came with. I would definitely reccomend it. I've considered getting another one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 15 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

More than I expected for the money

09/10/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The led display is quite beautiful, especially for a low end laptop. LED displays are not yet common in this price segment. This was a key part of my decision as I was able to compare this machine to the acer and toshiba machines of comparable price.
The single core penryn based celeron 900 is fine for daily office/net use. For those who are turned off by the celeron brand don't let its previous reputation scare you off. It isn't a quad core monster but it is plenty for 95% of what most people will use this machine for. It isn't a neutered cpu, it is simply a single core core2 chip of reasonable clock speed.
Battery life is quite mediocre. It isn't appropriate if you need a lot of time away from an ac socket. Don't expect to get more than a couple of hours and you probably won't be disappointed.
I don't have a problem with the build quality. It probably isn't going to take a lot of abuse but it doesn't seem to be fragile and I don't knock my machines around.
If you want a dual boot setup note that all 4 partitions are taken. You will need to make a backup/restore dvd set first thing and then wipe the restore partition and shrink the windows 7 partition. You should then have a reasonable amount of room for an alternative OS.
The only question I have is whether it will be reliable. I can't answer that yet. HP/compaq systems don't have a stellar reputation for reliability but I held out and got this machine for $325 shipped. Given the quality display and the price I was willing to accept a bit more risk on the reliability front. If one preferred to weight toward reliability I would probably lean more toward a toshiba which was my second choice.
So far I'm quite impressed with what one can get for $300 in a laptop these days. I an very satisfied for the money I spent. Provided I get a few years of trouble free use I will be very happy with the purchase. Since I don't know how reliability will play out I didn't feel I should give it a full 5 stars overall, at this point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 16 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Lowest price laptop out there

08/01/2010
By ,
Crestwood, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good low priced laptop but watch the price, I bought one for $348 then a week later the price was $298 then a week after that the price was $314. I returned mine and bought the same thing for $298. Beware it doesn't have a number pad on the right side of keyboard, this is not important to everybody but I am an accountant and use a seperate number pad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 17 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great

11/17/2010
By ,
Logan, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this little wonder about a month ago. All I can say is, WONDERFUL.
I have used it everyday, and it is more then I expected for the price.My son has a IMac and we can share files. I have not hooked a webcam up yet, but I can see his webcam and hear him, and he can hear me. This little baby has a built in mic. I am more then pleased with it. I have watched DVD's and downloaded some music. And the windows 7 home premium, works just fine. Thanks Wal-mart for bringing the price down on this little Gem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 18 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great value

08/14/2010
By ,
South Lake Tahoe, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best price we could find, free shipping and a Compaq Presario computer - wow! It doesn't get any better! We bought this for our Mom's 90th birthday and it is very user friendly... she is already shopping and sending/receiving e-mail.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 19 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

The bundle pack including laptop bag, printer, usb

11/18/2010
By ,
Seattle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent! My first laptop and I am impressed. Set up was easy. Definitely worth its value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 20 for Compaq Matte Black 15.6" Presario CQ62-219WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 900 Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great for the Price

11/27/2010
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the Compaq that I purchased is the perfect laptop for someone that is using it for oneline use or for uploading pictures, etc... I photograph a LOT of pictures and love editing them. I've found that It's a great PC for simple things because it's user friendly...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 188 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next