Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Coleman Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

The Coleman Xtreme cooler is built to keep ice for up to five days in 90 degree F weather. To keep contents cool for this extended period, thick Thermozone insulation is used. This eco-friendly Coleman 5-day cooler includes a rustproof, leak resistant channel drain for no-tilt easy draining. Other great attributes of the Coleman Xtreme 120-quart cooler include the capacity for 190 cans, a hinged lid with beverage holders and two way handles for flexible carrying. This Coleman 120-quart cooler is made in the USA and is built for adventures.
Average Customer Rating:
4.443 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation89%117 out of 131reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Good cooler for the price

12/15/2012
By ,
Huntsville, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We use this to hold back up jugs of lemonade for our concession business. Good value and holds two 7 gallon containers. Hard to beat the quality and size of this cooler for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

COLEMAN XTREME IS FOR ME!

05/05/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler did the job and some. I used it for a two day event in Nevada and it kept the ice nice! By the end of the event, I still had some ice! I tested the Xtreme cooler, three days before using it. By placing one 10 lb. bag inside the cooler. The next day, I open it up and just with one small 10 lb. bag, the cooler was nice and cold and gave off a cool mist, (like when you open up your freezer at home). When you need to drain water from the cooler, the spout on the side, is just okay. Other then that, if you plan on bugging out, camping out, or serving out of this cooler. This is the one to get!!! The Xtreme 5, does just that, keeps everything cool for five days! Enjoy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
coeburn Va.
mtnman101
Posted 09/09/2014
I bought 2 of these coolers they were to be green an the total price was 104:00 I got a txt from walmart on my cell that the coolers had arrived, so I drove to wal mart to pick them up an they were BLUE AN THE PRICE WENT FROM 104:00 to 109:00 this online shopping is not for me an to walmart if you see this, im not pleased AT ALL EVEN IF THEY WERE FREE!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

I love this cooler!

08/09/2011
By ,
Livonia, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got back from 14 days in the Porcupine Mountain wilderness in Michigan's U.P. averaging 85 degree days, but 95 in the sun. I bought this cooler online for $50 and picked it up before we left. Since it was going to be our freezer, and have to sit in the van the whole time, I made a box of insulation (1/2" styrafoam w/shiny aluminum) to surround the outside of the cooler and kept it covered with blankets, towels & jackets. I set the cooler on top of 2 layers of insulation and placed a layer on the inside bottom of the cooler. I bought 56 lbs of dry ice ($62), surrounded it with the insulation and put that in the middle of the cooler. We packed all of our pre-made frozen meals (casseroles, lasagna, fried rice, bacon, sausage, yogurt, etc.) on either side and laid 4 frozen gallon jugs (2 per side) on top of the food. On top of that I put 20 lbs of cubed ice ($4). Every other day we would swap out a gallon jug to go in our 36-qt cooler (same insulation set-up) and replace the meals we had eaten and also put cubed ice into our 12-can beverage cooler. On the 7th day, we still had a couple lbs of dry ice, meals were still frozen and we had solid ice in the jugs! I put a 10 lb block of ice ($3) on top of where the dry ice was and again covered everything with 20 lbs of cubed ice ($4). It's been 16 days in all and there's still about 4 lbs of the block ice and about 6 lbs of cubed ice. Our lives camping used to be about planning an ice run every 48 hrs or so. Since the closest town is 17 miles away, this would've cost us almost $100 in gas and ice over the 2 weeks -- and nothing would've stayed frozen after the third day or so risking spoilage. Instead, we drove out for ice once and spent the days truly enjoying our surroundings and each other with no anxiety or time lost over our food safety or prep.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PHX
You built a cooler around the cooler....
Posted 06/06/2012
I appreciate the story but it doesn't really tell me a whole lot about the quality of this product.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Poor craftsmanship

08/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this cooler one time and the lid screws pulled out from the main body of the cooler. Going back to igloo coolers.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

wanted this for a cigar humidor

10/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm sure this is a good cooler for the $. But, I wanted this for a cigar humidor. There is only one photo of this item online where the 150qt cooler has several and shows the inside of the cooler which has the notches for sliding in Spanish cedar shelves. This one didn't so now I must return it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
 
My Product Recommendations
Coleman Marine 150-Quart Cooler
4.5 out of 5(87)
 
 
 
 
 
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Not what I am used to in a Coleman product

06/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this cooler for the size and Coleman standard of reliability and durability. I was extremely disappointed. First use and the handle broke and cannot repair. Did not hold the ice as it said it would. Had it in the shade during upper 70 low 80 degree daytime weather and 3 bags of ice were water the next day> afternoon. Water was very cold though.
As for the handle breaking, there are no wheels so we had to hand carry without help of one handle. Only items in cooler were the 3 bags of ice, 2 gallons of OJ, 1 gallon milk, 12 pack of cheese, small jar of mayo and one of mustard and a dozen boiled eggs. (planned on purchasing more upon arrival) This is nothing compared to what it should have been able to hold. For a Coleman product was highly disappointed. Do no recommend for durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Buyer beware

07/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this cooler a couple weeks ago before a camping trip to replace our old smaller coleman cooler. Boy were we disappointed. First, one of the handles broke off on the trailer driving to camp. Then, while a buddy cradled the underside and I carried it by the other handle into the cabin the 2nd handle broke off. I wouldn't be upset if it was overfilled but it had enough pop cans to fill the bottom layer, about 3lbs of lunch meat and ice in it. I rigged up some handles with rope thinking, "oh well I'll just use rope handles as long as it stays cool, thats fine." we got to camp around 9pm thursday, stayed in an air conditioned cabin, and by 4pm friday the cooler had no ice. Cold water yes, but no ice. The smaller cooler that this was bought to replace, sat in my Jeep in the 100 degree oklahoma sun and it had ice until saturday. I would not recommend this cooler to anybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Good cooler for the price.

07/10/2012
By ,
Big Island Hawaii
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used this in a 4 day fishing tournament to hold my meals and drinks and weekends for overnight fishing trips.
Overall construction is good but the lid fit loosely in the beginning, now its a tight fit. I did not expect to move it around as it stayed in the back of my truck loaded with ice and food. Handles are strong enough to lift the cooler loaded in and out of my lifted pickup. I had 2 small blocks of ice covered with ice flakes, opening the cooler daily at least twice a day for food or water. The ice lasted 6 days with the drain left partially open.
I wish it had a better drain plug, like the screw in caps instead of the push on cap. I would have liked to get the 150qt Extreme but they were out of stock. It seems the 150qt is pretty popular as it always seems to be out of stock.
Other than that I can't complain, the price was right and it does a good job of keeping things cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Do not buy!

07/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this cooler before we went on vacation for a week. We used it for the week for our drinks while we were camping. It seemed to keep ice in it fairly good, but when we got home the lid fell off. This is a very poorly made cooler, the screws that hold on the lid are not long enough and they stripped right out! After one week of use this should not have happened. I called the company and they sent me new screws, that did me no good, since the holes were stripped out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Farmer's Market Coolers Extraodinary

06/29/2011
By ,
Harvard, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are well price pointed items that are very effective at keeping our produce fresh while at the markets. They can stand all day in the sun with little ice degradation. A couple things to keep in mind about these are....first, the hinges are not strong. They tend to break off by repeated use or by being caught on things. That said, they are easily bolted on with washers after this and can also be replaced with chain hinges. Not the most attractive thing in the world but it works. Secondly, the bottoms cannot be drug on the pavement without wearing through. Not something most have to worry about with a normal size cooler but when yours weighs in at 175 pounds, dragging becomes an attractive way to move them. Glue/Bolting skid plates on the bottoms makes them both easier to drag as well as truly the ultimate market cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Great value, far beyond cost

10/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler costs twice as much on other sites and it's as good at holding ice as the high dollar yeti and pelicans. Great cooler and tell nice size
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Large capacity, inexpensive

10/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Large capacity, inexpensive, worked great with dry ice. Used to transport processed frozen elk
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Great cooler for the price!

10/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This 120 qt. Coleman cooler is the best value out there. Only $52 shipped to my door! The only cons are I wish it had a threaded drain plug and a latched lid. Other then that its a great cooler!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Awesome cooler! Best value for a big cooler!

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does actually hold ice for days! Great value! I own 2 of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

huge!!!

04/14/2011
By ,
oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is an awesome cooler, especially if you need the space. do yourself a favor and check the price in the store however. i got it the local walmart for $33.00 cheaper than online. glad i checked because sometimes online is cheaper or more expensive than in the actual store. :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Cool Cooler

10/25/2010
By ,
Palm Coast, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic cooler. I checked around "a lot" with other companies selling this product. The only difference was in color options but Wal-Mart's price was fantastic. It arrived in perfect condition and as this was my first online order with Wal-Mart it certainly will not be my last. Thank you Wal-Mart very very much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

AWESOME FOR THE $$$$

02/21/2012
By ,
Austin. TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these ice chests because I was catering a friends wedding. I had to store 24 whole chickens raw in this ice chest for 2 days before I smoked them. I had 24 whole chickens and 1 10lb bag of ice in the ice chest, and after 48 hours I opened the ice chest and the bag of ice was still frozen solid!!!!
Then, I had to transport all the cooked chicken back into the ice chest ( After it was thoroughly cleaned of course ) and keep the cooked meat overnight and half way through the next day. When I opened the ice chest back up steam and heat bellowed out of the ice chest.
TOP NOTCH!!! I am going to purchase 3 more in the following weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Just What I Needed

11/29/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I filled the cooler with frozen meat and drove from MN to Tampa. When I arrived 36 hours later the contents were still frozen rock-solid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler
06/28/2011
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We must have got a lemon... The screws that hold on the lid fell out before we got to our camp ground ... then unloading to our camp site. one handle snaped in half. this was our first time to ever use it and we were very dissapointed. (all this with only about 40 drinks and a bag of ice inside well under the max ) so back to the store it goes!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Great cooler to keep things cold/frozen

08/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler for a fishing trip. Usually on these fishing trips we catch lots of fish and freeze them. This year was no exception. So instead of using a bunch of small coolers to bring the fish back home on a 12 hour drive I decided to buy a big cooler. This cooler held up on that 12 hour drive and an additional day in my car in August heat. The ice that I put in it didn't even melt one bit! If you are looking for a cooler to keep things cold and or frozen over a long period of time, this one is the one. The price wasn't too bad either! Over all this was a great buy. I will get lots of use out of this cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next