Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Coleman Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

The Coleman Xtreme cooler is built to keep ice for up to five days in 90 degree F weather. To keep contents cool for this extended period, thick Thermozone insulation is used. This eco-friendly Coleman 5-day cooler includes a rustproof, leak resistant channel drain for no-tilt easy draining. Other great attributes of the Coleman Xtreme 120-quart cooler include the capacity for 190 cans, a hinged lid with beverage holders and two way handles for flexible carrying. This Coleman 120-quart cooler is made in the USA and is built for adventures.
Average Customer Rating:
4.155 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(200 Reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
41
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation82%165 out of 200reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 68 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
41
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Excellent Product

05/06/2012
By ,
Georgetown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service and product met all of my expectations. Have been used for charity bike ride at rest stops and meets all needs. Keeps ice for more than 24 hours in warm weather and is sturdy to load and unload for events.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

COLEMAN XTREME IS FOR ME!

05/05/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler did the job and some. I used it for a two day event in Nevada and it kept the ice nice! By the end of the event, I still had some ice! I tested the Xtreme cooler, three days before using it. By placing one 10 lb. bag inside the cooler. The next day, I open it up and just with one small 10 lb. bag, the cooler was nice and cold and gave off a cool mist, (like when you open up your freezer at home). When you need to drain water from the cooler, the spout on the side, is just okay. Other then that, if you plan on bugging out, camping out, or serving out of this cooler. This is the one to get!!! The Xtreme 5, does just that, keeps everything cool for five days! Enjoy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
coeburn Va.
mtnman101
Posted 09/09/2014
I bought 2 of these coolers they were to be green an the total price was 104:00 I got a txt from walmart on my cell that the coolers had arrived, so I drove to wal mart to pick them up an they were BLUE AN THE PRICE WENT FROM 104:00 to 109:00 this online shopping is not for me an to walmart if you see this, im not pleased AT ALL EVEN IF THEY WERE FREE!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

I love this cooler!

08/09/2011
By ,
Livonia, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got back from 14 days in the Porcupine Mountain wilderness in Michigan's U.P. averaging 85 degree days, but 95 in the sun. I bought this cooler online for $50 and picked it up before we left. Since it was going to be our freezer, and have to sit in the van the whole time, I made a box of insulation (1/2" styrafoam w/shiny aluminum) to surround the outside of the cooler and kept it covered with blankets, towels & jackets. I set the cooler on top of 2 layers of insulation and placed a layer on the inside bottom of the cooler. I bought 56 lbs of dry ice ($62), surrounded it with the insulation and put that in the middle of the cooler. We packed all of our pre-made frozen meals (casseroles, lasagna, fried rice, bacon, sausage, yogurt, etc.) on either side and laid 4 frozen gallon jugs (2 per side) on top of the food. On top of that I put 20 lbs of cubed ice ($4). Every other day we would swap out a gallon jug to go in our 36-qt cooler (same insulation set-up) and replace the meals we had eaten and also put cubed ice into our 12-can beverage cooler. On the 7th day, we still had a couple lbs of dry ice, meals were still frozen and we had solid ice in the jugs! I put a 10 lb block of ice ($3) on top of where the dry ice was and again covered everything with 20 lbs of cubed ice ($4). It's been 16 days in all and there's still about 4 lbs of the block ice and about 6 lbs of cubed ice. Our lives camping used to be about planning an ice run every 48 hrs or so. Since the closest town is 17 miles away, this would've cost us almost $100 in gas and ice over the 2 weeks -- and nothing would've stayed frozen after the third day or so risking spoilage. Instead, we drove out for ice once and spent the days truly enjoying our surroundings and each other with no anxiety or time lost over our food safety or prep.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PHX
You built a cooler around the cooler....
Posted 06/06/2012
I appreciate the story but it doesn't really tell me a whole lot about the quality of this product.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

wanted this for a cigar humidor

10/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm sure this is a good cooler for the $. But, I wanted this for a cigar humidor. There is only one photo of this item online where the 150qt cooler has several and shows the inside of the cooler which has the notches for sliding in Spanish cedar shelves. This one didn't so now I must return it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
 
My Product Recommendations
Coleman Marine 150-Quart Cooler
4.5 out of 5(87)
 
 
 
 
 
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Poor craftsmanship

08/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this cooler one time and the lid screws pulled out from the main body of the cooler. Going back to igloo coolers.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Good cooler for the price.

07/10/2012
By ,
Big Island Hawaii
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used this in a 4 day fishing tournament to hold my meals and drinks and weekends for overnight fishing trips.
Overall construction is good but the lid fit loosely in the beginning, now its a tight fit. I did not expect to move it around as it stayed in the back of my truck loaded with ice and food. Handles are strong enough to lift the cooler loaded in and out of my lifted pickup. I had 2 small blocks of ice covered with ice flakes, opening the cooler daily at least twice a day for food or water. The ice lasted 6 days with the drain left partially open.
I wish it had a better drain plug, like the screw in caps instead of the push on cap. I would have liked to get the 150qt Extreme but they were out of stock. It seems the 150qt is pretty popular as it always seems to be out of stock.
Other than that I can't complain, the price was right and it does a good job of keeping things cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Farmer's Market Coolers Extraodinary

06/29/2011
By ,
Harvard, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are well price pointed items that are very effective at keeping our produce fresh while at the markets. They can stand all day in the sun with little ice degradation. A couple things to keep in mind about these are....first, the hinges are not strong. They tend to break off by repeated use or by being caught on things. That said, they are easily bolted on with washers after this and can also be replaced with chain hinges. Not the most attractive thing in the world but it works. Secondly, the bottoms cannot be drug on the pavement without wearing through. Not something most have to worry about with a normal size cooler but when yours weighs in at 175 pounds, dragging becomes an attractive way to move them. Glue/Bolting skid plates on the bottoms makes them both easier to drag as well as truly the ultimate market cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Not what I am used to in a Coleman product

06/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this cooler for the size and Coleman standard of reliability and durability. I was extremely disappointed. First use and the handle broke and cannot repair. Did not hold the ice as it said it would. Had it in the shade during upper 70 low 80 degree daytime weather and 3 bags of ice were water the next day> afternoon. Water was very cold though.
As for the handle breaking, there are no wheels so we had to hand carry without help of one handle. Only items in cooler were the 3 bags of ice, 2 gallons of OJ, 1 gallon milk, 12 pack of cheese, small jar of mayo and one of mustard and a dozen boiled eggs. (planned on purchasing more upon arrival) This is nothing compared to what it should have been able to hold. For a Coleman product was highly disappointed. Do no recommend for durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

AWESOME COOLER!

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will start this by saying I have not tried it yet, and will edit this review when I have... But I just got it in the mail and it is so big! its amazing! we are very excited to try it out!
It looks very well made, and we are atm storing our new camping supplies in it until the big day.
Here is the best part... This ad said I paid 49.00 for a xtreme 5. which by comparison shopping I found to be a great deal. but they sent me an xtreme 6!!! I am guessing someone messed up?! It is supposed to keep ice cold for SIX days! I didnt even know 6 was out. It is nowhere to be found on this site. SO HAPPY!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

huge!!!

04/14/2011
By ,
oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is an awesome cooler, especially if you need the space. do yourself a favor and check the price in the store however. i got it the local walmart for $33.00 cheaper than online. glad i checked because sometimes online is cheaper or more expensive than in the actual store. :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Cool Cooler

10/25/2010
By ,
Palm Coast, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic cooler. I checked around "a lot" with other companies selling this product. The only difference was in color options but Wal-Mart's price was fantastic. It arrived in perfect condition and as this was my first online order with Wal-Mart it certainly will not be my last. Thank you Wal-Mart very very much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

AWESOME FOR THE $$$$

02/21/2012
By ,
Austin. TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these ice chests because I was catering a friends wedding. I had to store 24 whole chickens raw in this ice chest for 2 days before I smoked them. I had 24 whole chickens and 1 10lb bag of ice in the ice chest, and after 48 hours I opened the ice chest and the bag of ice was still frozen solid!!!!
Then, I had to transport all the cooked chicken back into the ice chest ( After it was thoroughly cleaned of course ) and keep the cooked meat overnight and half way through the next day. When I opened the ice chest back up steam and heat bellowed out of the ice chest.
TOP NOTCH!!! I am going to purchase 3 more in the following weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Just What I Needed

11/29/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I filled the cooler with frozen meat and drove from MN to Tampa. When I arrived 36 hours later the contents were still frozen rock-solid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Buyer beware

07/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this cooler a couple weeks ago before a camping trip to replace our old smaller coleman cooler. Boy were we disappointed. First, one of the handles broke off on the trailer driving to camp. Then, while a buddy cradled the underside and I carried it by the other handle into the cabin the 2nd handle broke off. I wouldn't be upset if it was overfilled but it had enough pop cans to fill the bottom layer, about 3lbs of lunch meat and ice in it. I rigged up some handles with rope thinking, "oh well I'll just use rope handles as long as it stays cool, thats fine." we got to camp around 9pm thursday, stayed in an air conditioned cabin, and by 4pm friday the cooler had no ice. Cold water yes, but no ice. The smaller cooler that this was bought to replace, sat in my Jeep in the 100 degree oklahoma sun and it had ice until saturday. I would not recommend this cooler to anybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler
06/28/2011
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We must have got a lemon... The screws that hold on the lid fell out before we got to our camp ground ... then unloading to our camp site. one handle snaped in half. this was our first time to ever use it and we were very dissapointed. (all this with only about 40 drinks and a bag of ice inside well under the max ) so back to the store it goes!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Do not buy!

07/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this cooler before we went on vacation for a week. We used it for the week for our drinks while we were camping. It seemed to keep ice in it fairly good, but when we got home the lid fell off. This is a very poorly made cooler, the screws that hold on the lid are not long enough and they stripped right out! After one week of use this should not have happened. I called the company and they sent me new screws, that did me no good, since the holes were stripped out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

Great cooler for a party!

09/02/2012
By ,
Hagerstown Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this cooler to keep drinks in for a party.. I loaded it up with beer, pop, water, etc. and filled it up with ice. The tag says it will keep things cold for up to 5 days. Now it was pretty hot for the week following the party, and the drinks left over inside the cooler were still cold and refreshing seven days later. This cooler is awesome....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

GREAT COOLER!

08/17/2011
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler was great. It was hard to tell what size we would need by looking online. So, I ordered this one and a 75 quart one as well. We were only going camping for two days, but I knew that if we ever went for more then that, we would need the extra space. I'm not sure as the ice would actually last for a full 5 days, but I think you could stretch it to 4 days no problem. I was very happy with it and glad that we chose to keep this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

great cooler!!

08/16/2011
By ,
NY, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the cooler is HUGE!!! it held everything +... the only thing that would of made this cooler PERFECT is if it had wheels...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Xtreme 120 Quart Cooler

good for cooling

06/01/2013
By ,
Nacogdoches, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought two to carry frozen products from distributor to business. It was about an hour and a half in the cooler. All was still just as frozen as when we picked it up!! and I fit both in the back of the PT Cruiser,,,Real good for cooling. But didn't they say it was easy to carry?? I did have to drag it up to the porch and up the ramp. Something this big (and I am glad it was big) really needs to have at least two wheels on one end. That is the only problem I see on this.
Except that in the store (didn't order on-line) it cost $2.88 more...but still an excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next