Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Coleman Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

The Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler is built to keep ice frozen for up to five days in 90 degree F weather essential for your next picnic or camping trip. The Coleman Xtreme Cooler features a rustproof, leak resistant channel drain for no-tilt easy draining when your ice does melt. Other great attributes of the Coleman Xtreme 50 Quart Wheeled Cooler include the capacity for 84 cans (party time!), a hinged lid with beverage holders (great for portability and outdoor activities) and large, durable wheels for easy transportation. Ideal for fishing, camping and boating trips, it keeps your food and beverages cool for many hours. Featuring eco-friendly thermozone insulation, the Coleman cooler can retain ice up to 5 days. Its retractable telescoping handle not only helps you to carry it conveniently, but also hold stacked coolers in place.
Average Customer Rating:
3.922 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(282 Reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
73
3 stars
20
2 stars
13
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation80%223 out of 280reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
73
3 stars
20
2 stars
13
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Doesn't keep ice

05/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Coleman 84 can / 50 quart wheeled Xtreme 5 cooler 2 weeks ago as a replacement for an old Rubbermaid cooler I have had for years. Half my ice melted overnight in the new Coleman cooler while the cooler was in my kitchen, in my air conditioned house, and everything in the cooler had been previously refrigerated. I gave it the benefit of the doubt and thought maybe I had left the lid slightly ajar. Well, that wasn't the case. The cooler DOES NOT hold cold (well to be fair, it holds cold . . . Cold water). I put more ice in it and all that ice was melted over night in 65 degree weather! It was completely water. What a let down!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

DO NOT BUY....YOU WILL BE SORRY

08/07/2011
By ,
N.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two just before a trip to the mountains, replacing decent coolers that I already had...but, I was convinced that with the 5 day "holding" ice advertisement I thought I was in great shape...kept them in the shade...but in their defense it is August...took 20-30 pound of Ice between the two coolers each day...I was in the Smokey Mountains of N.C. I feel strongly enough with this opinion I have written Coleman...which I believe is or should be a trusted, I read reviews and rarely if ever have a negative response, I would prefer a middle of the road response...this cooler is thumbs down....unless everyone else got a different cooler as in production date I do not know ....but, I will be very guarded on any Coleman purchase until I learn better...if the advertisement on the cooler said fair to decent cooler...I would not taken the time to have written this...but, this says keeps ice for 5 days....maybe dry ice covered with a blanket....K
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

ok if using in cooler weather

10/27/2010
By ,
NEWARK,DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a four day camping trip, and I put things in it frozen and put 2 bags of ice in it also, by the 3rd day the food was still verrrryyyy cold but not frozen, and my ice was 1/4 melted and this was in 56-70 degree days and 36-45 at night. I can't imagine this keeping things cool for 5 days in 90 degree weather like it claims. I bought this because of owning an extreme coleman cooler in the past. But I guess anymore nothing is made like it was in the past. things are made cheap. however i do like the size and the wheels and the pull handle. But I do wish the handles on the side were hinged handles and not these plastic things on the cooler that are more like grip areas. I would and wouldn't recommend this. hot weather no, but cool weather worked for what I needed it to. Thought it would have done better because of the coleman name and it being an extreme.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tijuana, B.C.
Thanks
Posted 06/06/2013
Your comment was very helpful to me, I like the fact that you confirmed that the COOLER kept your food verrrryyyy cold for like three days. Althought it was not at 90F weather however, it did keep your items cooled as advertised. So that´s great news to me again thanks I will go out and get one for my family. Psssst Nice if it could keep food frozen...huh?.
0points
Customer Avatar
Chicago
Posted 07/10/2012
NOTHING stays frozen in a cooler, you need a refrigerator for that.
+6points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Good cooler, but doesn't do what it says!

09/14/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this cooler to use in my tractor trailer. Being an Over the Road driver, I was compelled to purchase this cooler based on the "Keeps Ice for Five Days in 90 degrees" claim. Well, after using it my first week, I have come to the conclusion that this cooler, in fact, does NOT keep ice for 5 days! As a matter of fact, I filled two plastic cereal containers with water, froze them, and put them in the cooler with some other freezer packs, expecting to make it through the week on those! In normal weather only reaching the mid 70's in daytime and down to 50's and 60's at night here in the northeast, the ice was melted within a day and a half! And I keep my air conditioner in the truck on at all times, so the air was alot cooler than outside! It is a nice cooler, just doesn't do what it says! I am very dissapointed with it in that regard!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Awful.

08/17/2011
By ,
Washington, DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not many rolling luggage-style coolers available, but of those that are out there, this is the most cheaply made. I own the MaxCold, also by Coleman, which is much better made, but not very cold (ironically, there's not much "max" to that "cold"). Igloo makes one too, which is much sturdier than this one and much colder than the MaxCold. As for this one, it is plenty effective as a cooler, but the handle and the wheels are cheaply made. After the first trip out, the axle of the wheel bent on mine, and now when I pull it, it doesn't want to roll straight. Very frustrating for a cooler that cost more just because of the rolling feature. Blah. Ended up buying the Igloo to replace it, and really wished I'd have bought that one first instead. Coleman, why is half of your stuff really great while the other half is junk? Buying your products is always such a gamble, and I'm getting kinda sick of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Good Product, Good Value

12/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this for a holiday party for sodas and beer and as a dry run for camping. It was 75 or so inside where it was stored and it was opened quite a few times. I had a jumbo bag of ice in there and everything stayed nice and cold and got cold quickly. Three days after, there was still ice water inside, though mostly melted -- the top wasn't mindfully closed. 5 days later, the cans and bottles that were still in there were slightly warmer than refrigerator cold and the ice was all water. The lid seems a little stubborn to open but other than that, I love that it rolls and I love that the handles are molded into the body because when you get 50 quarts of anything, you're tempting fate by asking bolt-on plastic handles to help do the hauling.
Bottom line about functionality: most likely, you're going to have to replace ice after 4 days unless the lid is rarely opened. I think it's a good deal for the price, mobility and cool factor.
Do understand that the wheel base takes up a decent amount of room inside. You don't have the whole rectangle to work with as I thought I might. I do wish it were bigger inside without the wonky wheel hub.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Great bargain

06/23/2011
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just needed second cooler for camping. Boys all grown so i wanted something I could fill and manage on my own. Easy to control. Side handles are indented so no worry about falling off. Lid was a little hard to open at first, but then realized I liked that. Lid needs to be secured for ice not to melt. If not, then ice will not last 24 hrs. I love that it drains in the back. Overall, Very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Very nice cooler.

06/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice cooler. You need to make sure the lid is completly closed in order to longest cooling period out of your ice. Also check the drain plug before buying. I found two coolers were the plugs were ripped off.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Awesome cooler

04/27/2011
By ,
Albany, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler is great! Not only does it have a long handle, wheels and cup holders on the top, but it keeps the ice frozen for a really long time! I absolutely love this product and highly recommend it!! It's well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Perfect height for a truck with a bedcover

07/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I drive my Silverado SS when I take the family on trips and I wanted the biggest cooler with wheels, that would fit in the back of my truck that has a fiberglass bed cover. This was the biggest and cheapest wheeled cooler that I found that wasn't too tall to interfere with closing the bed cover. I also have a Bedrug and the max height for clearance is around 17.5". If you have a fullsize truck with a bed cover, then I recommend you to look at this cooler. Also. with it being an Xtreme model, it keeps things cooler longer, which is perfect for a long road trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

COOL COOLER

02/17/2011
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent size and shape, holds ice for a very long time in moderate temps- Have yet to see it in action during a Phoenix, Arizona Summer. Handle is a little shaky, especially if cooler if full of ice cold, bottles of beer, which happens to be the case with mine 99% of the time it's being used! Careful not to put too much pressure on it, as it bends a tad. Overall, very happy with the purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Great Cooler

11/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great cooler. the lid seals very tightly and keeps products cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Not the Greatest

08/11/2011
By ,
Seattle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We left on a road trip Sunday- everything I had in the cooler was previously refrigerated. We had to add ice that evening. It didn't completely melt until Wednesday. We don't have kids- so it wasn't a bunch of kids getting into it. Plus the lid was VERY difficult to open. I read the reviews- and kept seeing that- but figured it was a bunch of pansies. LoL I don't think a small kid could open it and I could barely open it. The handle grips on the front- (to pull open) and the ones on the side are lacking. I know it's a pull along cooler- but there is still some times you need to carry it and there is no real good grip hold. I would not recommend this cooler. Functionality of the cooler itself is ok- but the actual design of it sucks. I wish I would have stayed with an Igloo.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

MisLeading Advertising

09/21/2012
By ,
Laurens, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cooler states on label "Keeps ice up to 5 days at temperatures up to 90 degrees"...How can a company do that...everyone should be given their money back and Coleman should be made to give us a cooler that does what they advertise it will do...I think they forgot to put the insulation in this cooler.. I bought 2 one from walmart and one from the coleman outlet store both are suppose to be the same coolers but they were different colors and cost different, one had a top that snapped tighter than the other... I tested both of these at the same time.. they were tested with the same type, style and amount of ice. They remained on my front porch in no sunlight in daytime temps in highs of 77's and nightime temps in lows of 54's during Sep 19-21 in SC....They were only opened when i would check them once or twice a day..... The ice last 2 days and 3hours b4 it was completely melted.. It prob would not have lasted a day in 90 degree weather.. so how can a company advertise this cooler "Keeps ice up to 5 days at temperatures up to 90 degrees".. They must be talking about that dry ice stuff... So dont ruin your meats and foods with this cooler thinking it will last 5 days ...not even 3 in 70/55 degree weather..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

bad product

06/24/2012
By ,
dayton oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i work construction so the idea of a cooler that holds ice for the week was what i wanted
i purchased the cooler on tuesday evening around 10 pm i filled itwith my drinks and a large bag of ice with overnight tempsnot excedding 70 and no one opening it but still by 8 am i was opening it for thefirst time and no ice i called the mfg to find out the deal and was told this is made for walmart and walmart cheapened it up with a non insulated lid and to return it to the store they do not back this product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler
05/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this cooler for a camping trip. I chose it becuse of this line..."The Coleman Xtreme cooler is built to keep ice for up to five days in 90 degree F weather." That is not true. We put ice in it in the morning and by the time we reached our destination it was already half water. We were gone for 3 days with temps in the low 80's and went through 2 bags of ice. Food wasnt all that cold either. Great price for a large cooler, but not worth it. I want a cooler that REALLY keeps the ice for up tp 5 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
akron
pre-chill
Posted 03/21/2013
Did you pre-chill the items before putting them in?
0points
Customer Avatar
Fort Myers, FL
2 bags in 3 days?
Posted 08/31/2012
2 bags of ice in 3 days is pretty good for the size of this cooler.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Awful

07/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was dissappointed after filling this cooler with to the top with ice, most had melted after a day and half. Another draw back is when you extend the handle and begin to pull it, the melted ice water began leaking out the back of the lid because there is no true gasket to prevent the water from leaking out. The lid itself does not seem to be insulated whats so ever which I am sure seems to be a part of why the ice melted so quickly on a 82 degree day. Lastly the drain is in an inconvient spot and is difficult to get your hand into to remove the plug.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

No thank you on this product

06/26/2012
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I will pay better attention to reviews I read before purchasing items in the future. I purchased and returned the Coleman Xtreem 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler. Product faults... It is cheaply made. The pull up handle did not lock in position when extended. It did not hold ice for 24 hours let alone 5 days. No wonder as the lid is not insulated. The handles on the sides are not much of a handle making them difficult to grab and use. The location of the drain plug is difficult to get to. Products positives... The wheels rolled easily. The cup holders on the lid were helpful. Lid closed tightly. Overall the cooler is a cooler and if you are willing to be satisfied with the faults so be it. I thought I would be, but after the ice melted so rapidly and ice cost as much as it does I was not a happy customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Great cooler for soccer tournaments and camping

08/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my inexpensive cooler! We bought this cooler to take along to summer travel soccer games and camping. We were drawn to the wheels and expandable handle on back side, perfect for placing an extra bag or tote on top. The cooler was great!!! The wheels are sturdy and can be used over grass. I liked the placement of the handle which is firmly retractable, not flimsy or loose. The cooler kept ice and food cold longer than any cooler I have had in the past and the water drainage spout is in an ideal location in line with the handle for easy draining. I camped for a weekend and only had to buy one bag of ice. The lid stays on tight. I even dropped the cooler in the garage from it's storage shelf and there was no wear, mark or breakage! I should have gotten two!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Good overall design.

09/18/2012
By ,
Riverton, WY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've taken this thing on two camping trips now, and are pleased with it. It does a great job keeping stuff cold (filled it with ice at the beginning of a 3-day trip, and didn't need to add more ice for the whole trip). The wheels are large enough to roll over dirt and moderate rocks. The plug is well-placed, and it's very easy to drain the cooler simply by opening the plug and tilting it back using the telescoping handle.
That being said, the telescoping handle is the one thing keeping this from being a 5-star rating. It's a little bit on the short side. My wife (who is 5'4") has no trouble using the handle to haul the cooler around, even when it's full of stuff. However, when I try to do it, I end up either stooping over while I walk, or just giving up and picking the thing up and carrying it. And I'm only about average height for a guy (5'9"). So I'd strongly recommend this cooler if you're a little shorter, but if you're my height or above, don't even bother factoring in the telescoping handle when deciding whether or not to purchase it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 209 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next