Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stanley Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

Stanley Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

The Stanley 2M Series Spotlight provides handheld light for tasks requiring bright, widespread illumination. Suitable for use in the home, workshop, boat or automobile, this spotlight is fitted with a 12-Volt 3Ah SLA rechargeable battery and a 12-Volt 75-watt halogen bulb. A CEC AC charger and DC charging cord is included with the Stanley 2M Spotlight. Run this spotlight directly from the DC cord saves battery life when an external power supply is available. A rubber bezel protects the lens and bulb, while the pistol grip and trigger switch give the user single-handed control of the Stanley Spotlight.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation67%20 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight
03/22/2012
By ,
Outback Nevada
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The light is VERY BRIGHT. Beam focus is not pinpoint, but OK. The unit is very heavy, but a very good handle enables you to deal with the weight. If you're using the light from a vehicle, where you have an external power source you can plug in to, it is quite a good deal. However, if you want a bright light you can take with you any distance walking, this is not it. The battery time is very short. If you get 10 minutes of useful light, you are lucky.
So it depends what you want the light for.
Vehicle mobile spotting. Great
A take along spot light while walking. Absolutely NO.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

Pretty Good Light but has Limitations

03/07/2014
By ,
Northridge, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this spotlight for 3yrs. It lights up the hill behind my house very well.
Pros:
Nice design that is ergonomical and balanced.
Bright light, illuminates objects up to 100 yards away.
Cons:
Charger is built into the unit adding weight, and you need your own extension cord to charge it.
100 watt halogen bulb is a power hog. Battery won't last too long with continuous use.
Battery generally lasted about 18 months. I bought a new one for $35 (a whole new spotlight is cheaper!), and it lasted the same. Taking it apart to get to the battery is tedious and not really worth it anymore. If the battery was easier to replace and more cost-effective, this would be great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

Not Good

02/23/2011
By ,
Lebanon OR.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Spot light will not recharge after 2 uses. I cannot get the spot light to recharge anymore. I only used it twice, and it will not recharge.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Central Islip N>Y>
Stanley sm2 series spotlight
Posted 04/29/2013
Like some others here I can not recharge this item and do not recommend it to anyone thinking about purchasing one.
0points
Customer Avatar
Chalfont Pa.
Posted 10/28/2012
I have had the same problem. The first time I used it it was VERY useful and then I went to use it agaian after it had been charged for days and the light only lasted 2 minutes. The reason I haven't returned it is because I am horrable with receipts and lost my receipt before i realized the spotlight was a dud
0points
Customer Avatar
Lee's Summit, Mo.
Have had mine for 3 years now.
Posted 04/09/2012
If you got one that will not charge after only 2 uses, why didn't you return it? It has a full warranty from Stanley. Mine I have had for over 3 years now, still charges fully each time after use, and still going strong. I bought the extended warranty offered by Walmart, but didn't have to use it.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight
04/16/2012
By ,
Kingston,TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At the closeout/clearance online price of $10.00 (You have to buy online & pick-up in store to get it for that price) it's a exceptional value. At the $ 30.00 + in store price it's still a decent deal, but you can buy better lights that are MUCH smaller for a few dollars more.
The Spotlight : It's a Very Bright full size spotlight. We have used it 8+ times since my purchase. . 1st time was a roadside rescue (daughter had a flat tire ). The 2nd time we used it while clearing tree's and debris blocking the roadway after a storm .
It did exactly what it was supposed to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

dont waste your time and money....

11/13/2012
By ,
michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
after 3 of these spotlights, i am done. I have bought these spotlights from two different stores and have had the same problem... After a 15 sec use, it dies and will not hold a charge.. Stanley does not make these spotlights, its some place in New york and they told me sorry but there was nothing they would do... Ugh... Walmart / Stanley has really let me down. Also two other people i know have had the same issue... {JUNK}...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

Three years of HARD use

02/16/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was used in saltwater for first year and now two years in commercial truck repair shop....have to
admit it doesn't charge nearly as well now, but have had many people borrow it every day and sure it's been abused plenty.....charged great first two years....great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

Bought a second one.

03/01/2014
By ,
Sacramento California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one about 6 months ago. The light is really bright. We use it to see what the dog is barking at in the dark. Now we have one for a quick reach in the front and back.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

Worked great for a couple years.

07/05/2012
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked great for 1st yr & ok for the 2nd yr. Very bright & some people said it's heavy. It's not light but it's no heavier than any other rechargeable spotlight. The battery is the weak point.
The battery finally died after 2 yrs. I took it apart to replace it, but the battery alone is $40+.
So I bought another, I'll probably do the same 2 yrs from now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

Worst light I have ever owned

01/11/2013
By ,
Hertford, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this to use occasionally for storage unit auctions. Worked great the first two times. Then the light would not stay on and then not come on. Very disappointed after paying that much money for a flashlight.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

Not worth it.

01/15/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery lasts about 45 seconds before it goes dead. Not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

Worst spotlight I have ever purchased

11/23/2012
By ,
phx, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this light to use for camping. The battery needed charging in 15 minutes of use. Do not by this spotlight
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

does not hold a charge very long

05/01/2012
By ,
Lee's Summit, Mo.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We charged this up using the AC charger. It did not last very long at all, maybe a total of
20-30 minutes. This isn't what we expected when we purchased this light.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

fantastic light

05/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very bright and not too heavy to be used comfortably. charge lasts for days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

worth the price

05/10/2012
By ,
Indianapolis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value ... very bright little on the heavy side.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

mixed results

05/08/2013
By ,
orlando, fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
its hard to rate this item. my first spotlight went for over a year with no problems at all. i then purchased a second one as did my coworker.
after purchasing the second flashlight my first one stopped taking a charge it still works with the power cord but will no longer hold a charge or i guess even charge.
the one i purchased before that at this time maybe 3 weeks old then also stopped taking a charge. i emailed stanley about it. as one reviewer said they basically said too bad we don't make it they just use our name, thats very poor since people see the name and think ok stanley is a good company. i emailed that company sure they offered to replace and fix it but i had to ship it to them on my own dime, this is way to heavy to ship without costing i think like 10 bucks and to spend that and hope they fix it not to meniton the time wasted taking care of it and not having it. i went to take it back to walmart but they didn't have any more so i never did.
as i menitoned my coworker had also bought two of these based on my first one. his first one still works just fine after about two years but the second one he bought did the same thing mine did.
the other problem we've had is out of the four we have bought two of the cords no longer work either so with no cord you can't even use them and i can't find replacement cords to use.
ryan
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

great rechargable spot lights

05/13/2012
By ,
Ash Flat, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have purchase 2 of these lights for use on our farm. We really like then. They are nice and bright and really handy. The only problem we have with them is people not plugging them in. But the lights work great. We had looked at them several times before, but when the price was lowered. We had to try them. We love the lights and the great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight
02/03/2013
By ,
Mt. Hermon, La
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great first couple of times it was used. Cannot get it to charge after using it only 4 times. Because of the Stanley name I expected better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

Great lums for the price

02/08/2013
By ,
Manassas, Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it for my need, but the battery gets drained rather fast and only holds about 45 minutes between charges
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight

Great spotlight

04/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light is very bright and recharges fast, It's a little on the heavy side but to be expected since it's a 12v battery. Has AC and DC charger and can be run directly from the DC power source (car). Spotlight goes a long distance, couple hundred feet if not more.
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stanley 2M Series Spotlight
04/09/2012
By ,
Greenacres, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This light is very useful, works great. Kinda heavy. I usually use mine on my boat. I would deff.... recommend this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next