Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

RCA RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

The RCRN04BR RCA 4-device remote controls TVs, satellite, cable or digital converter boxes, DVD players or VCRs. It has a partially green backlit keypad. The remote has menu and clear keys for quick access to menu/guide mode for individual components. It has navigation clusters for programming methods: brand search, direct entry and automatic/manual code search. The large, translucent rubber keys with multi-color keypad are easy to use. Requires two AA batteries (sold separately).
Average Customer Rating:
3.227 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation64%14 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Won't control new PROSCAN 39" LED HDTV

12/21/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really great looking remote with lots of features and nice sized buttons, but bought it as a second remote for a brand new PROSCAN 39" LED HDTV and it won't program for that. There are proscan codes included, but they don't work!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Exactly What I Wanted

09/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a universal remote that would allow me to access input channels on an old tv (for video games) and this remote was the perfect solution for less than $5.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

inexpensive way to combine remotes

01/16/2011
By ,
Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Controls my Sanyo TV, Cable DVR, and VIZIO Blu-ray...basic functions and some, but not all, advanced functions. The back is curved, so it won't lay flat...you have to hold it to push the buttons, not so good for those with limited hand strength/movement. Easy to program. Cheap price.
Summary: Pros = Cons, does plenty for the cost, will meet the need of the average user.
I'm ok with the functions & price, but need one that lays flat so I can push the buttons.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad
02/29/2012
By ,
atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice remote, especially when watching movies at night i like that it lights up so i can see what the heck im doing. easy to program once you figure out the instructions, but not that big a deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Does OK

03/28/2011
By ,
Forsyth, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had my remote 6 months and haven't replaced the batteries. It controls my LG tv and Dish DVR/Satelite receiver but not my Panasonic Blu ray or Emerson vcr. I bought it in hopes of consolidating four remotes into one. Actually had to buy one more to reduce the number from four to two.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Works well.

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good at controlling devices.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Replaces RCA RC246

08/30/2012
By ,
Vanleer, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace the remote for my RCA L40FHD41 LCD TV (The infamous RC246, uses code 12434) and was pleasantly surprised when I was able to program it for all my AV stuff. ONE REMOTE TO CONTROL THEM ALL!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Awesome Value

04/03/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As soon as I got this, I programmed it into the TV, and it works great...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Poor Backlit key pad

05/03/2014
By ,
Melbourne, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this remote because I always us one in a darkened room. The so called back light only lights up the OK and arrow buttons which no where near affects the other keys. To refer to it as having a "partially backlit keypad" is an embarrassment. It did program my Digital Adapter and Sanyo TV very well however and if someone prefers only that quality I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Don't buy for Streaming Media Player control

10/15/2013
By ,
Davenport, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this remote in-store specifically because it said it could control Digital Streaming Media players like Roku. It even has the codes in the instruction sheets. But alas, none of the codes for any of those streaming players works. Every one I tried for the different makes all flashed the code for 'not a valid code'. It does control the TV, DVD player, and Digital Converter Box just fine though, all buttons work as they should.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

returned

07/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It didn't do what I needed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Easy Set-up

06/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. I hooked up a digital converter box, TV, HD Directv box and DVD player, all worked perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Great Remote for any tv

11/21/2013
By ,
Binghamton NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although my TV is older it still got the job done. it was easy to setup and had an okay value. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Didn't work with my Dish Network receiver

07/15/2013
By ,
Indiana,USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It didn't work with my VIP612 DVR Dish Network receiver.None of the codes for Dish Network worked for me. My original dish network remote quit working, thus this option plus I didn't want to pay $29 for the Dish Network remote at walmart.I was trying to save money being on a tight budget. It did work with my LG led tv but I didn't need a control for my tv. The only positive I can say is it used 2 AAA batteries instead of 4AAA like my old Dish Network remote uses in it. I tried this being one of the other reviews said it worked on their DVR Dish but it sure didn't work for my receiver as stated above.Needless to say,it didn't serve it's purpose for me,so I returned it.It stinks apparently no companies make a inexpensive remote under $20 to work a Dish Network VIP612 DVR receiver.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

works great for my JVC DVD player

07/31/2012
By ,
Austin, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works great for my JVC DVD player, and saved me about 60% (about $15 less than one from JVC) in the cost for a new JVC DVD player remote from JVC (about $26 (including shipping and sales tax) vs. the RCA 4-Device Universal Remote $10.78 ($9.96 + sales tax (no shipping or waiting because the Walmart Supercenter store that I went to had many in stock, since Walmart.com said that the store near me had them in stock. (Aside: I REALLY like shopping on Walmart.com as well as at the Walmart Supercenter stores (the biggest Supercenter stores, NOT the newer smaller Walmart Supercenter stores or the smaller regular non-Supercenter Walmarts. I like the big stores the best.)).
Programming the RCA Universal Remote Control: If you follow the instructions for programming, especially the "Direct Code Entry" method (but the "Auto Code Search" method works too), you shouldn't have any problems programming the RCA Universal remote control. The only thing that the RCA Universal Remote Control would not do that my original JVC DVD Player remote did, was "open" the DVD tray, which is a very minor inconvenience, to have to press the button on the DVD player, instead of pressing a button on the remote do it.
Also, there were 3 codes for the JVC DVD Player, so make sure to try all the codes, because only 1 of the 3 codes gave the most use of the remote, with the other 2 codes for a JVC DVD Player not working all the functions on the RCA Universal Remote Control for my particular model of JVC DVD Player.
I'm very glad that I tried the "RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control" (model: RCRN04GR) from Walmart, instead of calling JVC and ordering a more expensive JVC remote from them and having to wait for it to arrive, and the JVC company remote did NOT have the "backlit keypad" feature, so the RCA remote is easier to use in low light or in the dark.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Not Enough Buttons

04/08/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The remote really seems like it's meant to be a vcr remote. Maybe, you can use as a dvd remote, but the problem I see with it is that a reason you buy a remote control for a vcr is because you want to tape things, and set the clock. The problem with this remote though is that most vcrs require you to have a Set the Timer button, but yet this remote doesn't have that button. One vcr I have even requires me to have a Menu, Program, and Set the Timer Button. I guess the thing is that if you want a Play, Record, Stop, Reverse / Forward type of remote for a vcr, you could buy almost any remote because most of these all in one vcrs / tv / dvd remotes have it, but to me the really important buttons are MENU, PROGRAM, & TIMER SET, but yet I don't see PROGRAM & TIMER SET on this remote, so this product isn't worth much.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Will not fully work Fios DVR Box

09/09/2012
By ,
NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
works great with the tv and changing the channels on the FIOS box but has no buttons for the FIOS DVR or the On Demand and since its not a learning remote you cant program other buttons to do the same thing. This is getting returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Remote Control

12/05/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works very well. It replaced a remote that just gave out. The only bad thing about this is periodically a battery comes loose and I have to stick back where it belongs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Poor for audiobots

01/30/2013
By ,
Quakertown
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of junk. Thought it would control home theater. Thought wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Dis-satisfied

02/16/2011
By ,
Carson, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The functions are tantilizing, but the batteries need to be replaced within three days. this item is inpracticle.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next