Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

RCA RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Streamline your devices with the RCA Universal Remote Control. Its one control for your TVs, satellite, cable or digital converter boxes, DVD players or VCRs. It features a built-in flashlight as well as backlit keypad, so you dont have to turn up the lights to use it. This 3-Device Universal Remote does auto, brand, or manual code searches to make setting your devices easy. Youll like its sleek black design, too. Requires 2x AA batteries, not included. Less is definitely more with this universal remote.
Average Customer Rating:
4.132 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation82%31 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Does not work!

02/16/2012
By ,
Leesville, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Universal Remote does not work on my cable and it controls the volume on the TV only and not on my surround sound DVD player. Trying to make it work but after a couple of weeks I am about ready to return the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Frustrating....

12/31/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't do a lot of reviews but this remote frustrates me so much I wanted to vent about it. First of all, the remote control itself actually works fine, when your not having to reprogram it. The problem is the battery hatch design on the back is horrible. The batteries don't fit snugly against each other like in most remotes, there is a sizable gap in between them and they are constantly popping lose from the connecters. Whose remote doesn't occasionally get dropped or fall off the sofa onto the floor? Guess what, the batteries are going to pop lose in this thing more times than not. I have even tried wedging a squished up piece of a paper towel and various other things in between them to keep this from happening, to no avail. Because of this I have to reprogram this thing at least a couple times a week. The good news, I've had to do it so much I've actually memorized the code. Just make sure you don't throw away the code list until yours is committed to memory.....but I would just buy another remote control if I were you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Good Remote

09/23/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, it is a really good remote. And very easy to set up without programming codes if you don't want to, has another way to do it. Two small things that need improvement: 1. The light feature is only for the channel, volume and arrow area. I think it would be greatly improved if it was for the other areas except for those listed above b/c by the time you get to know the remote, you know where the above listed areas are at without using the light and for the other areas you need the light. 2. Remote does not have subtitle selection for DVD player. I am a big user of the subtitle especially if I am watching a moving in low volume or heavy accents. Any ways, really small complaints, I would still buy the remote because I really like that the remote can be used on Digital Box. I watch most of my TV on computer, so I do not have a cable, only digital box. I recommend purchasing, good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

works perfect with my dvd and tv

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i luv this remote:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

AGRAVATING!!!!

12/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THE BATTERIES CAME OUT OF THE REMOTE EVERY 5 MINS EVEN WITH THE CASE OVER THEBATTERIES SO I BROKE IT IN HALF REMOTE
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

inexpensive and good remote

07/29/2014
By ,
los angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
did everything I needed and at very low cost
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

You can do better

07/20/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The batteries will not stay in, so you are constantly having to reprogram the remote. Within just the first week, I had to reprogram it four times. I actually had to switch back to the original remote that came with our Sony television because this remote suddenly stopped working the TV, even after programming and reprogramming it for over an hour. So we are now back to two remotes, which defeated the purpose of buying the universal remote in the first place. Spend the extra couple of bucks and get something that won't make you want to smash it into bits.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Great Remote

06/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to replace my RCA TV remote so I figured this would be a good replacement. It works very well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Good choice for older sets

03/05/2014
By ,
Irvine,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality build. Supports many models. LED light feature only lights the center controls, not the number keys. Good documentation. Large remote with easy to read labels. Well laid out. Light weight, easy to handle. If your set is covered you're golden, otherwise it's trial and error with the programming codes. My older, 12" Panasonic TV/Radio/VCR combo required programming two of the three device buttons. Not bad though, I just switch to TV to use the Sleep button and DVD to control everything else. Have to enter 04 to get channel 4 etc. My set doesn't support 3 digit channels so not sure how remote would respond. Includes a dash key in the number pad for digital broadcast channels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Didn't work for us

03/20/2011
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spent a lot of time going through the steps but the remote did not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Mr

10/14/2011
By ,
SENECA SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
works fine, eats batteries, would not purchase again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Good value and meets expectations

05/02/2011
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently I received a TV without a remote. I figure I would give this remote a try, I was surprised how easy it was to install this remote and once it was setup to the TV how well if functions and is a true winner.
Would I ever buy this remote again?
Yes I would without hesitation.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Best Remote Control I ever bought.

01/27/2014
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My TV remote control the input apps stops functioning, and when I tried to get a replacement from the TV maker, they charge a $40. for it (a TV remote only, not even an Universal Remote Control).
Then I tried Walmart, of course, and the very first one in the list is the one I got. And even though the remote is an RCA brand, it works perfect with my TV, which is not and RCA.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Did whaT I expected A remote to do.

02/15/2011
By ,
Crystal, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best remote I have ever owned. Very easy to program even had the code to operate my Xbox 360 when I want to use it to watch a movie. Other remotes had problem with that. the codes on most other remotes for the original xbox not the 360 one thing that would be helpful but not a big thing is if it had thumbs up and thumbs down buttons for when I operate the TIVO. Otherwise this is the easiest remote I have ever owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

GREAT FOR DIGITAL CONVERTER BOX

06/18/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When the Magnavox digital converter remote comes up missing, this is the answer. Not all remotes can program for the converter boxes, this does. One remote for TV and digital converter box in one.
There is A toll free customer help line to call for assistance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

You just cant beat it!

05/28/2011
By ,
Palm Coast, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Talk about easy...i might have been able to program this with my hands tied behind my back, except for the fact I needed them. You just can't beat this remote for ease of programing to the price. I really good remote. I changed all 3 rooms with TV's in them to use this remote I liked it so well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Never worked

04/08/2014
By ,
wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never worked properly and loses the code often......
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Good product and not expensive

03/12/2011
By ,
Gig HArbor, Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With the change over in televisions, many need to get a "universal remote control" for their televisons. These can range in price from 8.00 up to 100.00. I spent only approximatly 10.50 (product, tax and shipping) and it works great! Why pay 100.00 when you can pay 10.50?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

Easy

02/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no electronic skill but was still able to program this remote. The directions were straight forward and easy to follow. You do not need the original remote which was perfect since I had lost both. In less than 20 minutes my tv and dvd player were programed. Great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 3-Device Universal Remote Control w/ Green Backlit Keypad

worth it

01/26/2011
By ,
Bellingham wa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the product meets all my expectations, i do have to say the top and bottom are very similar so it is easy to change the channel when you are just trying to turn up the volume. over all the remote does everything i want and even more than i knew i wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next