Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Control various electronic gadgets with the RCA OARC05G Remote. It can be used to control TVs, DVD/VCRs, Audio, CBL/SAT/DTCs and AUX. The 5-Device Universal Remote has digital sub channel capability. The Digital Learning Remote also features advanced direct access keys for easy navigation. This Learning TV Remote also features PIP keys, swap keys and format keys. This remote is powered by 2 x AA batteries. This universal remote includes instructional DVD for simple to follow set up instructions. The sleek design of this universal remote is handy and the shape of it perfectly fits in your palm. The buttons of this RCA OARC05G Remote are ergonomically designed and placed in a manner that makes it easier to use. Some of the buttons are colored to denote its function.
Average Customer Rating:
3.704 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation67%18 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Decent Choice for the Money

06/25/2011
By ,
Southwest Missouri Farmland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This would have been rated a five, due to its ease of programming, except that there are several key functions of each component (DVD, Satellite) that you cannot program onto the universal -- such as skipping back a scene, or choosing to see subtitles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 2 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Works in a pinch

03/31/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this remote to replace a lost remote for a Sony VCR/DVD combo player. I got it to control the unit, even to program two special keys (to switch from VCR to DVD). However, when I tried to program the SUBTITLE function, which I use pretty often with DVDs, I did not succeed. Also, the skip forward or back keys do not work for DVD. You have to use the fast forward and rewind buttons... it's better than not having a remote but not perfect.
P.s. A bonus is that volume control, as well as power buttons push through for TV as well as VCR/DVD combo, i.e. you can control all units with one button push.
{I understand that I could theoretically control five units with this remote, but I don't need that. I purchased this particular model online because it was well priced.}
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 3 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

RCA 5 Device Learning Universal Remote

05/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this remote is the bomb.it worked with an old tv that has to be at least 10 years old.as well as the new one i have.the learning device on the remote is quick.anyone can use this remote .just read the codes and how to work it.it worked on my dvd player as well as direct t.v.anyway this remote replaced 3 remotes in my bedroom .im thinking about getting another one for the living room
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 4 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Learning + programmed = versatile

03/03/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought I'd need to program all functions for use with a Roku set top box, but only one feature needed to be put in manually.
My TV, DirecTV box, and DVR were all preprogrammed in the remote.
This is really a bargain for all of the capabilities it has.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 5 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Exceeds Expectations

12/25/2010
By ,
Muskogee, ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Learn feature is outstanding in this all-in-one remote. Great features at a very good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 6 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Deceptive description

04/07/2011
By ,
Fremont, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
THe remote is titled "RCA 5 device learning..." However, this remote is "all for one" brand. I bought it specifically for the RCA name because my RCA tv will only work with RCA remotes. This remote worked for everything EXCEPT for the RCA tv. IT would have been the best remote for me, if it worked.
I would recommend this remote for all non-RCA products, but if you own a newer (2009+) RCA tv then DO NOT BUY this product as it will not work with your tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Review 7 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Can't beat it

07/25/2011
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price and all it can do you can't beat it. Tried three other devcies and not one could do the job. Saw this one and read the reviews and they were right on. It found and took all the devices that i gave it. It out did two remotes that cost three time as much. I just ordered another one for my bedroom. GREAT remote
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote
09/05/2012
By ,
Mandan, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally found a remote that works with my RCA and the only reason it did is because it "learns" the code from your original remote. Definitely a good buy for me.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Review 9 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Performed well as replacement

08/23/2011
By ,
Columbus, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a used DVD/VCR with no remote. The RCA performed well as a replacement remote for the DVD/VCR and ties together most of my system, reducing the total number of remotes required to command my system. I have not been able to use this remote to replace my set-top box remote, however, and I still require a second remote to change channels. Maybe I just haven't figured it out, but it's not intuitive. It's worth the small investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

04/10/2011
By ,
Subic, Philippines
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Remote does not have accurate codes for JVC VCR.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Very good.

04/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good for the price.
working very well with my LG LCD TV.
Great for manual encoding fuction.
It means that you can assign a button from other remote controller.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 12 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Great features at an excellent price!

10/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice learning and macro feature. Works with Comcast Cisco DVR. Menu seek keys are spongie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 13 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

All in One Learning Universal Remote

09/09/2012
By ,
palm city, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I got this, I said to myself, "this is what they should be selling in the store"! This remote was more affordable, and yet, does everything all of my remotes did put together. Another plus is that it is not over crowded with numerous buttons. The perfect gift for someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Fantastic Learning Remote

04/06/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little remote is outstanding. It can be programmed to handle up to 5 devices and better still, it's a learning remote. If you have special keys on your original remote that this one lacks, you can choose a "blank" key on the new remote and teach the remote to perform the function your old remote could do. I programmed this remote to handle my tv, dvd AND ROKU device! This remote works with an old Toshiba tv set #at least 14 years old# we keep in the basement with no problems. Once I found the code for the tv #included with the booklet that comes with the remote#, the tv was up and running in a snap. If you're looking for a great remote that can handle all your devices and give you only one remote to deal with, this is the one! I highly recommend it #even if your tv is older!#
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Easy to program Learns any command from remote

08/09/2013
By ,
Sun City, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for a remote that had a learning capability and was simple to operate and program. This one works as well as any I have used.
I have a high end components. Pre programming is not available for most of my components.
Positives: Easy to program, simple learning function works well, though it took several tries to make the code stick. Simple logical keyboard.
Negatives: Not comfortable to hold, keys are too small, hard to press for large hands. I have 4 devices programed, hard to remember which keys do what function. Keys color coded but not illuminated. Most keys feel the same in low light.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 16 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

A mixed blessing.

10/24/2012
By ,
South Orange, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is difficult to program in "learning" mode. The actual procedure is not what is written in the instructions, and allows only one button to be programmed at a time.
Once programmed, the remote works OK.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

Limited DirecTV Functions - Keys Finally Broke

09/29/2013
By ,
NE Corridor
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Once programmed, this remote only supported some of my DirecTV functions.
After about two years, the keys started to break - no longer function. Had to buy another replacement remote. Never had a remote have keys fail like this. Poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

does not work for all directv

01/19/2012
By ,
ocala, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought the remote under the assumption it work for directv, but it does not work for all, depending on the unit and the age of it you may have to buy a different model of the remote. not a "universal" remote at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 19 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

wasn't what I expected.

09/21/2013
By ,
Rialto, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Operating instructions on cd, since I don't use a computer was unable to use. Returned without opening, did find one that worked in stock at Rialto Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for RCA 5-Device Learning Universal Remote

a very good remote for the price

01/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Important buttons should have easier locations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next