Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

RCA RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

The RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier is designed to enhance the performance of your antennas in areas that have a low signal. It improves the RF amplification between the receiver and the antenna so that you can get an improved reception. The UHF amplifier features a switchable FM trap to reduce the interference caused by FM frequencies. F-type connectors make it easy to install this TV antenna amplifier. This amplifier will allow your television to pick up more local stations, enabling you to watch news broadcasts or your favorite shows. This amplifier can be used anywhere that has low signal reception and is especially useful for rural or unincorporated areas.
Average Customer Rating:
3.561 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation68%28 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Performs better than expected

07/26/2013
By ,
Kapolei, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used this with my home made DB4 antenna w/ Di-pole and it definitely boosted the signal to the three television sets I have in my townhouse.
I really like the ability to feed this preamp VHF and UHF antenna cables, thus eliminating the need for a seperate signal combiner. The selectable FM trap is also a bonus.
Allowed me to pickup all OTA channels in the 96707 area.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

It works

08/01/2012
By ,
SLC, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a 1 Edge "red" reception area per tvfool.com and 25 miles from the transmission towers. All of the HD channels I wanted were high UHF channels broadcasting in the same direction. This required a single (uni) direction outdoor antenna.
I purchased an Antennas Direct 43XG Uni-Directional UHF Only Antenna because of its high gain. (It's 4 ft long but not as ugly as traditional VHF antennas - there is the 91XG with a bit more gain but a few feet extra in length). I took off the satellite dish, used its mast that was already attached to my roof, as it was already in a good location, and ran a grounding wire down to my electrical outdoor meter mast to which my former telephone and cable boxes were also grounded to. Aimed the antenna towards the towers using the signal strength meter of my Tivo HD to find the strongest direction - literally had to aim within just a couple of degrees. The signal came great (versus nothing at all with any type of indoor antenna) and using about 10 feet of cable. But adding 125 ft of 75 ohm RG6 coaxial cable with a splitter - the db dropped considerably and I barely got signal and with lots of pixelation. Time for a Pre-Amp.
I considered the more popular and twice the cost Pre-Amps, but decided to go with this one. Unfortunately, it does not give you specs for db noise, and no where is it found on the box or instructions. However, it claims ELN (extremely low noise) circuitry and has a UHF db gain of 22. It also has high gain for VHF and allows for dual input along with an FM Trap if needed.
A Pre-amp is simply an outdoor amplifier versus an indoor distribution amplifier. The idea of a pre-amp is to add enough db at the source, to allow this cleaner signal to travel farther. Amps don't increase the actual performance of an antenna as whatever you get in terms of signal with the antenna is what you get. Amps just help compensate for cable runs and splits. Only thing you have to be careful with is sending too much db down the pipe, over-powering your receiver (plenty of sources explaining the science behind the db strength and the amount you need).
A Pre-amp does not require any extra cable or electrical to be run to the mast as you use the supplied power inserter and connect inside the house (prior to any splitter) to feed the electrical current back through the coax to the pre-amp on the mast. In my case the power connection was after 100 ft of cable.
Bottom-line, it worked great. During the marathon of watching the Olympics we rarely had pixelation, but maybe every couple of hours a one second jitter. All-in-all I'm happy with the product. It worked and I now have free beautiful DVRd HD TV using the right antenna, this pre-amp and a TiVo!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Will not work if a splitter is in your coax run

04/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The amplifier works great, once I figured out the best way to use it. I was this close to returning it when I first hooked it up because I lost all the stations I was originally getting. But through trial and error, I found out how to use it. I ended up having to move my antenna from the outside into the attic because my coax run was long and there were two splitters in the run between the antenna and the indoor plug part. By getting one 50' coax cable with no splitters, the signal was amplified and now all stations are coming in crystal clear and even a few more stations I was unable to get before. When reading other reviews on this product before I bought it, I did not see anything about not using splitters, so I hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern
No Split vs. Multiple TV Sets
Posted 01/02/2014
If you don't split, then how do you run multiple TV Sets?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Great TV preamp

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This preamp is very similar to a good channelmaster preamplifier and has separate inputs for VHF and UHF, so you can use separate antennas for VHF and UHF.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Was receiving more channels before installing

04/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was getting more channels prior to installing this. I would return it but I mistakenly threw away the box I don't think Walmart accepts returns without the box. Money wasted.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

did not work

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
made reception worse
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Worthless

02/28/2014
By ,
Sanger Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before I hooked it up was getting roughly 45 channels after hook up only 22. Also when I finally gave up and went to unplug the cord it was hotter than heck.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Works great--easy to install

12/26/2012
By ,
Corinth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before installing this pre-amp, I used signal boosters at each TV outlet (purchased at Radio Shack). Antenna reception seemed good enough, but recently I started having poor or no reception for some channels at one of my house outlets. I was considering a more expensive signal booster for the TV, but after checking around at antenna websites, the idea of a pre-amp mounted at the antenna sounded like a better alternative.
The pre-amp I first considered cost about $60-$70 (internet order from an outfit selling Channel Master antennas I think). Then I ran across this RCA pre-amp at Wal-Mart for less than $25 and pick it at my local store for free shipping.
The unit was easy to install. I attached it inside at my attic antenna and left the pre-amp power supply in the attic as well. The antenna wire after the pre-amp connects outside to a 3-way splitter where the cable wire used to connect to the house. I get better reception results at all three pre-wired in-house outlets since adding the pre-amp. I still have the signal boosters at each TV, and now have the RCA pre-amp as part of my system as well. With the added benefits of the per-amp, channel reception went from arouind 50 to 80. Previous poor recption problem was corrected, and I hope it continues even during the hot Texas summers when the attic really heats up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Zero improvement in signal strength.

02/12/2014
By ,
Lancaster, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read all the reviews and decided to give this antenna amplifier a try. I have an attic mounted antenna and wanted to receive a stronger signal from a station 36.3 miles away ("yellow" range per tvfool.com). Amp made absolutely no improvement. Yes, I installed it properly, verified antenna direction and made certain all connections were secure. I will be uninstalling and returning it to Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier
09/27/2013
By ,
Normal, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one channel about 40 miles away which I could not get in consistently with my outdoor antenna. Signal strength bounced from 20 to 60+. I installed the RCA Preamp and now have a consistently good signal in mid to high 70 range for that channel. Before installing I received 14 channels. Now I am receiving 21. I am very happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Didn't work!

03/28/2014
By ,
Bethlehem,PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Didn't seem to make any difference in signal strength at all. Didn't pull in anymore stations than without it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

made my signal worse

03/20/2014
By ,
pottstown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
abc and pbs would get a weak signal from my antenna in the daytime anyways, tried adding this and didn't even get these channels? don't understand why, but took down and got channels back, guess il need a taller mast or stronger ant....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Works Good

11/16/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The towers are about 60 miles from my house in plain sight. They seem to use less power during the night and I was losing stations. I got the pre-amp to boost the signal in this situation. I do get all the stations I normally do during the day after I installed the pre-amp, but a few still are coming in fuzzy and unwatchable. Daytime channels 26, without pre-amp at night 18, with pre-amp at night 26. Very happy with how it performs (no ghosting etc.) but probably should have attacked the problem differently by getting a bigger antenna in combination with the pre-amp of course.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Works better than I expected

03/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This signal amplifier exceeded my expectations! I now get twice as many channels as I did without it, and the channels I did get now come in even better! If you have an over-the-air antenna and are missing or barely receiving some channels, buy this amplifier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Free TV

01/28/2013
By ,
Central MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced my "Rabbit Ears" in my living room (which the reception was effected by bad weather) with the RCA ANT751R Outdoor Antenna Optimized for Digital Reception" for $40 and added a RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier for an added $22. P plus coax cables for about $25. I installed the antenna in my attic and now I have great reception in all kinds of weather. My reception went from about 12 stations (plus a few more if I got up and moved the position of the ears) to 30 stations. I was a little nervous about the antenna being fixed but that is not a problem. I live in central MA and receive reception from Boston, Worcester, Providence, RI and Manchester, NH.
Antenna installation was straight forward. The only issue was connecting the Pre-Amplifier. I connected it in reverse. After that minor issue, everything went great.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Did not help much

03/01/2014
By ,
Hickory, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was trying to pull in one distant station that I had received when the antenna was on a short cable in my living room when I was trying it out. Then put antenna on roof and I could no longer receive that station. Did increase the number of stations but most are repeats of stations already receiving. Instructions gave me a little trouble but have got it working and will not return it as it does help some.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Poor

03/09/2014
By ,
Gulfport,MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It didnt add a single channel,returned
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Greatly improved antenna signal strength

12/31/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have difficulty getting one TV channel through our roof antenna; the other channels are fine. We use a 3-way splitter from the antenna: to TV, to DVD player, and to receiver. Since we cannot go up on the roof to install the pre-amplifier near the antenna (as the instructions say), we installed it between the splitter and where the antenna enters the house. We installed the power inverter so it is protected by the surge protector. This significantly improved signal strength, and we now have no difficulty receiving that one TV channel. We turned the FM filter off, because having it on impaired signal to the FM radio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

02/26/2014
By ,
Johnson City, Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this product. Perhaps it was just my location but I did not get any better reception that I get from a pair of rabbit ears of the sme brand. I would not purchase this for my Mother.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Meets all expectations.

10/15/2012
By ,
Ormond Beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When coupled together with a C4 Clearstream antennae, there's no need to pay for cable,
unless you like special channels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next