Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

RCA RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

The RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier is designed to enhance the performance of your antennas in areas that have a low signal. It improves the RF amplification between the receiver and the antenna so that you can get an improved reception. The UHF amplifier features a switchable FM trap to reduce the interference caused by FM frequencies. F-type connectors make it easy to install this TV antenna amplifier. This amplifier will allow your television to pick up more local stations, enabling you to watch news broadcasts or your favorite shows. This amplifier can be used anywhere that has low signal reception and is especially useful for rural or unincorporated areas.
Average Customer Rating:
3.542 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation70%67 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Performs better than expected

07/26/2013
By ,
Kapolei, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used this with my home made DB4 antenna w/ Di-pole and it definitely boosted the signal to the three television sets I have in my townhouse.
I really like the ability to feed this preamp VHF and UHF antenna cables, thus eliminating the need for a seperate signal combiner. The selectable FM trap is also a bonus.
Allowed me to pickup all OTA channels in the 96707 area.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

It works

08/01/2012
By ,
SLC, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a 1 Edge "red" reception area per tvfool.com and 25 miles from the transmission towers. All of the HD channels I wanted were high UHF channels broadcasting in the same direction. This required a single (uni) direction outdoor antenna.
I purchased an Antennas Direct 43XG Uni-Directional UHF Only Antenna because of its high gain. (It's 4 ft long but not as ugly as traditional VHF antennas - there is the 91XG with a bit more gain but a few feet extra in length). I took off the satellite dish, used its mast that was already attached to my roof, as it was already in a good location, and ran a grounding wire down to my electrical outdoor meter mast to which my former telephone and cable boxes were also grounded to. Aimed the antenna towards the towers using the signal strength meter of my Tivo HD to find the strongest direction - literally had to aim within just a couple of degrees. The signal came great (versus nothing at all with any type of indoor antenna) and using about 10 feet of cable. But adding 125 ft of 75 ohm RG6 coaxial cable with a splitter - the db dropped considerably and I barely got signal and with lots of pixelation. Time for a Pre-Amp.
I considered the more popular and twice the cost Pre-Amps, but decided to go with this one. Unfortunately, it does not give you specs for db noise, and no where is it found on the box or instructions. However, it claims ELN (extremely low noise) circuitry and has a UHF db gain of 22. It also has high gain for VHF and allows for dual input along with an FM Trap if needed.
A Pre-amp is simply an outdoor amplifier versus an indoor distribution amplifier. The idea of a pre-amp is to add enough db at the source, to allow this cleaner signal to travel farther. Amps don't increase the actual performance of an antenna as whatever you get in terms of signal with the antenna is what you get. Amps just help compensate for cable runs and splits. Only thing you have to be careful with is sending too much db down the pipe, over-powering your receiver (plenty of sources explaining the science behind the db strength and the amount you need).
A Pre-amp does not require any extra cable or electrical to be run to the mast as you use the supplied power inserter and connect inside the house (prior to any splitter) to feed the electrical current back through the coax to the pre-amp on the mast. In my case the power connection was after 100 ft of cable.
Bottom-line, it worked great. During the marathon of watching the Olympics we rarely had pixelation, but maybe every couple of hours a one second jitter. All-in-all I'm happy with the product. It worked and I now have free beautiful DVRd HD TV using the right antenna, this pre-amp and a TiVo!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Bought Two-They Both Didn't Work!

06/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the first one...installed it easily. It worked for two days. It rained and went out completely. It was sad because it brought in every channel better and was more stable plus brought in a few more that I couldn't get prior. Removed and returned it. Ordered another....it was DOA. Installed it and it made reception worse to where I couldn't get a single channel. I did better with out it. The reason why it made reception worse is because the unit wasn't working at all!!! So if you get one and you mount it and get NO channels...it's because the unit is faulty!! I know this because the first one worked for a couple days well until it rained. These are poorly made as I found out the hard way. It's a shame...it's promising if they would build them a little better because when they work...they work well.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

You may need more then the antenna!

06/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off I will note that reception varies from place to place, different antennas will react different in different spots. And terrain and atmospheric conditions can play a key factor in how good/bad your reception is. So choose your antenna at a place that is easy to return/swap it at. I don't recommend buying the antenna online. And as always outdoors is the best place for an antenna because it is not obstructed by building materials which can reflect and soak signal up.
Having first started with that, my location is sitting 40 miles south-east, and east of Boston and Providence R.I.. I put up a G.E. Attic Mount Antenna just outside my apartment on an old Dish Network satellite mast (Was not being used and cables were already there). In between the antenna and a 4 way splitter is a 25db signal amplifier. I immediately pulled in 34 Digital Stations. Although some were either working, or not working, sometimes pixelated or not strong enough to get a channel lock on. The most frustrating part was when lights were on, or traffic driving by affected my signal drastically.
So after reading up i decided I needed a pre-amplifier to boost the signal the antenna was grabbing. The addition was amazing. No more troubles, just a clean pure HD broadcast that beats cable or satellite in picture quality. I now pick up 43 Digital channels that are perfect in picture quality. Even though their are antennas out there that are probably better, I am way happier with this set up. Lets see how long this unit will last. but make no mistakes, This is by far the best pre-amp on the market. because it didn't cost 60+ dollars.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Will not work if a splitter is in your coax run

04/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The amplifier works great, once I figured out the best way to use it. I was this close to returning it when I first hooked it up because I lost all the stations I was originally getting. But through trial and error, I found out how to use it. I ended up having to move my antenna from the outside into the attic because my coax run was long and there were two splitters in the run between the antenna and the indoor plug part. By getting one 50' coax cable with no splitters, the signal was amplified and now all stations are coming in crystal clear and even a few more stations I was unable to get before. When reading other reviews on this product before I bought it, I did not see anything about not using splitters, so I hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TX
Power-passing splitters
Posted 05/05/2014
You CAN use splitters between the power injector and the preamp... You just need to buy newer splitters, designed for preamps, that specifically say "POWER PASSING" on one port. Then make sure you've got the power injector connected to the correct leg of the splitter.
Of course there's nothing wrong with going directly from the preamp to the power injector, putting the splitter behind the power injector, but some wiring layouts make it very difficult to do so, and a power-passing splitter can be a very useful option.
0points
Customer Avatar
Southern
No Split vs. Multiple TV Sets
Posted 01/02/2014
If you don't split, then how do you run multiple TV Sets?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Works great in the country

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this with a simple "old style" antenna. Once it was hooked up, I got about ten more channels and they are all clear. I live in a fairly heavily wooded area in a valley, so reception was poor to fair at best. Now all channels come in clear and there's more of them. Easy to install, and a very decent price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

it was needed for our antenna

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it works great had one before til lightning got it would recommend to anyone
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Works Good

11/16/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The towers are about 60 miles from my house in plain sight. They seem to use less power during the night and I was losing stations. I got the pre-amp to boost the signal in this situation. I do get all the stations I normally do during the day after I installed the pre-amp, but a few still are coming in fuzzy and unwatchable. Daytime channels 26, without pre-amp at night 18, with pre-amp at night 26. Very happy with how it performs (no ghosting etc.) but probably should have attacked the problem differently by getting a bigger antenna in combination with the pre-amp of course.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier
09/27/2013
By ,
Normal, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one channel about 40 miles away which I could not get in consistently with my outdoor antenna. Signal strength bounced from 20 to 60+. I installed the RCA Preamp and now have a consistently good signal in mid to high 70 range for that channel. Before installing I received 14 channels. Now I am receiving 21. I am very happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

RCA pre-amp

06/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great yes would recommend it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

not what I hoped for

05/22/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This device works quite well as a VHF/UHF combiner, but when powered up to use as an amplifier, it actually received FEWER stations than when used as a passive device without power! This may be due to the prevalence of some very strong FM signals in my immediate area - the results may be different in a "quieter" signal environment, but I cannot test that.
I found the in-line power supply to be extremely cheap and poorly constructed - for example it is equipped with a thin, flimsy RG-59 type cable (any coaxial cable carrying UHF frequencies should be the heavier RG-6).
The built-in FM trap is very useful, and works in the passive (unamplified) mode.
It would be helpful if some kind of l.e.d. power indicator were included on the device to confirm that it is indeed receiving power from the line and that the amplifier is on and working.
The mounting holes on the case did not match the u-bolt on my antenna, so I had to use only one hole to mount the device - no biggie, but looks a bit jerry-rigged. Performance on the high end of the UHF spectrum (channels 55 +) is rather lackluster.
A less expensive passive version would be welcome for those like myself who live in a mixed signal environment where amplification often causes more problems than it solves. Unfortunately, this is one of those gizmos that you have to actually try out in real life to see if it provides any benefit, so be prepared to return it if needed.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Greatly improved antenna signal strength

12/31/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have difficulty getting one TV channel through our roof antenna; the other channels are fine. We use a 3-way splitter from the antenna: to TV, to DVD player, and to receiver. Since we cannot go up on the roof to install the pre-amplifier near the antenna (as the instructions say), we installed it between the splitter and where the antenna enters the house. We installed the power inverter so it is protected by the surge protector. This significantly improved signal strength, and we now have no difficulty receiving that one TV channel. We turned the FM filter off, because having it on impaired signal to the FM radio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Free TV

01/28/2013
By ,
Central MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced my "Rabbit Ears" in my living room (which the reception was effected by bad weather) with the RCA ANT751R Outdoor Antenna Optimized for Digital Reception" for $40 and added a RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier for an added $22. P plus coax cables for about $25. I installed the antenna in my attic and now I have great reception in all kinds of weather. My reception went from about 12 stations (plus a few more if I got up and moved the position of the ears) to 30 stations. I was a little nervous about the antenna being fixed but that is not a problem. I live in central MA and receive reception from Boston, Worcester, Providence, RI and Manchester, NH.
Antenna installation was straight forward. The only issue was connecting the Pre-Amplifier. I connected it in reverse. After that minor issue, everything went great.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Junk!

05/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wasn't worth the time and trouble! Buyer beware...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Rural signal blues lifted.

05/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We opted not to go the cable TV or satellite route but signal is very weak in our section of rural OK. Bought a digital antenna and this signal booster and haven't looked back.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Works great--easy to install

12/26/2012
By ,
Corinth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before installing this pre-amp, I used signal boosters at each TV outlet (purchased at Radio Shack). Antenna reception seemed good enough, but recently I started having poor or no reception for some channels at one of my house outlets. I was considering a more expensive signal booster for the TV, but after checking around at antenna websites, the idea of a pre-amp mounted at the antenna sounded like a better alternative.
The pre-amp I first considered cost about $60-$70 (internet order from an outfit selling Channel Master antennas I think). Then I ran across this RCA pre-amp at Wal-Mart for less than $25 and pick it at my local store for free shipping.
The unit was easy to install. I attached it inside at my attic antenna and left the pre-amp power supply in the attic as well. The antenna wire after the pre-amp connects outside to a 3-way splitter where the cable wire used to connect to the house. I get better reception results at all three pre-wired in-house outlets since adding the pre-amp. I still have the signal boosters at each TV, and now have the RCA pre-amp as part of my system as well. With the added benefits of the per-amp, channel reception went from arouind 50 to 80. Previous poor recption problem was corrected, and I hope it continues even during the hot Texas summers when the attic really heats up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

RCA PRE-AMP

12/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BEFORE PURCHASING THIS PRE-AMP I TALKED WITH A TECHNICIAN AT OUR LOCAL CBS STATION FOR SUGGESTIONS. HE STATED THAT OUR LOCATION IS APPROXIMATELY 80 MILES NORTH OF THE BROADCAST TOWERS IN SPRINGFIELD MO.
WE WERE USING A 20 PLUS YEAR OLD RADIO SHACK ANTENNA AND A RADIO SHACK DISTRIBUTION AMP AND MOST OF THE SPRINGFIELD STATIONS WERE PIXILATING BADLY OR THE SIGNAL WAS TOO WEAK TO WATCH. ALSO, IF WE WANT TO WATCH FOX STATIONS WE HAD TO ROTATE THE ANTENNA PROBABLY 30 DEGREES TO THE EAST WHICH MADE THE OTHER STATIONS EVEN WEAKER. THE TECHNICIAN SUGGESTED THAT WE CONSIDER PURCHASING A CHANNEL MASTER ANTENNA AND A WINEGARD PRE-AMP. WE WERE ALSO CONSIDERING A WINEGARD 8200 ANTENNA.
THEN WE FOUND THIS RCA PRE-AMP ON THE WALMART WEBSITE AND READ THE REVIEWS...............OVERALL THE REVIEWS WERE MORE POSITIVE THAN NEGATIVE SO WE THOUGHT IT WAS WORTH A TRY TO SPEND $22.00 TO FIND OUT..........AFTER ALL, IF IT DOESN'T WORK WE CAN TAKE IT BACK.
WE MOUNTED THE PRE-AMP ON THE ANTENNA MAST, THE INLINE AMP IN THE ATTIC AND RAN RG6 COAX THRU A 2WAY SPLITTER. WE THEN POINTED THE ANTENNA TO THE EAST, SOUTHEAST TOWARD THE FOX TOWER AND WERE AMAZED WITH THE RESULTS. WE ARE NOW GETTING.............. NBC CHANNELS 3.1. 3.2, 3.3. CBS CHANNEL 10..... (WHICH WE ARE TOLD IS CONSIDERED A HIGH VHF CHANNEL), PBS CHANNELS 21.1, 21.2, 21.3, INDEPENDENT CHANNEL 27, ABC CHANNELS 33.1. 33.2, 33.3, FOX CHANNELS 49.1, 49.2...................AND ARE ALSO GETTING PBS CHANNELS 6.1, 6.2, 6.3 WHICH ARE BROADCAST FROM APPROXIMATELY 60 MILES TO THE NORTH OF OUR LOCATION. AND THESE ARE ALL COMING IN CRYSTAL CLEAR.
THEN, JUST TO TEST IT WE TURNED THE ANTENNA NORTH TOWARD KANSAS CITY WHICH IS PROBABLY 100-120 MILES AWAY AND WERE GETTING OVER 40 CHANNELS FROM KANSAS CITY AND MOST OF THOSE WERE CLEAR TOO. THEN WE TURNED THE ANTENNA TO THE NORTHEAST AND WERE GETTING STATIONS FROM BOTH COLUMBIA MO AND JEFFERSON CITY MO................................A FEW DAYS LATER WE TRIED KANSAS CITY AGAIN AND ONLY GOT A FEW STATIONS..............GUESS THE WEATHER CONDITIONS WEREN'T SO GOOD THEN.
WE WANTED TO WAIT UNTIL WE HAD OVER 30 DAYS EXPERIENCE BEFORE DOING THIS REVIEW AND ARE WELL PLEASED.
THIS IS A LITTLE RAMBLING BUT TO SUM IT UP, OUR RESULTS WITH THE RCA PRE-AMP HAVE BEEN VERY GOOD..............IT IS LESS THAN HALF THE COST OF THE WINEGARD PRE-AMP AND CERTAINLY LESS EXPENSIVE THAN A NEW ANTENNA. I BELIEVE THE PRE-AMP COST $22.00 OR $23.00 AND SITE TO STORE SHIPPING WAS FREE.....................................................................
HOPE IT WORKS FOR YOU TOO.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Meets all expectations.

10/15/2012
By ,
Ormond Beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When coupled together with a C4 Clearstream antennae, there's no need to pay for cable,
unless you like special channels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Good economical option for intermediate pre amp

07/29/2014
By ,
Hartland, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease to understand and set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

improved reception and worth the small price

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reception now brings in all the four major networks and three ETV channels. Previously no ETV or CBS. I live 30 miles from closest tv tower surrounded by tall pine trees in SC.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next