Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

RCA RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

The RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier is designed to enhance the performance of your antennas in areas that have a low signal. It improves the RF amplification between the receiver and the antenna so that you can get an improved reception. The UHF amplifier features a switchable FM trap to reduce the interference caused by FM frequencies. F-type connectors make it easy to install this TV antenna amplifier. This amplifier will allow your television to pick up more local stations, enabling you to watch news broadcasts or your favorite shows. This amplifier can be used anywhere that has low signal reception and is especially useful for rural or unincorporated areas.
Average Customer Rating:
3.515 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation67%44 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Performs better than expected

07/26/2013
By ,
Kapolei, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used this with my home made DB4 antenna w/ Di-pole and it definitely boosted the signal to the three television sets I have in my townhouse.
I really like the ability to feed this preamp VHF and UHF antenna cables, thus eliminating the need for a seperate signal combiner. The selectable FM trap is also a bonus.
Allowed me to pickup all OTA channels in the 96707 area.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

It works

08/01/2012
By ,
SLC, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a 1 Edge "red" reception area per tvfool.com and 25 miles from the transmission towers. All of the HD channels I wanted were high UHF channels broadcasting in the same direction. This required a single (uni) direction outdoor antenna.
I purchased an Antennas Direct 43XG Uni-Directional UHF Only Antenna because of its high gain. (It's 4 ft long but not as ugly as traditional VHF antennas - there is the 91XG with a bit more gain but a few feet extra in length). I took off the satellite dish, used its mast that was already attached to my roof, as it was already in a good location, and ran a grounding wire down to my electrical outdoor meter mast to which my former telephone and cable boxes were also grounded to. Aimed the antenna towards the towers using the signal strength meter of my Tivo HD to find the strongest direction - literally had to aim within just a couple of degrees. The signal came great (versus nothing at all with any type of indoor antenna) and using about 10 feet of cable. But adding 125 ft of 75 ohm RG6 coaxial cable with a splitter - the db dropped considerably and I barely got signal and with lots of pixelation. Time for a Pre-Amp.
I considered the more popular and twice the cost Pre-Amps, but decided to go with this one. Unfortunately, it does not give you specs for db noise, and no where is it found on the box or instructions. However, it claims ELN (extremely low noise) circuitry and has a UHF db gain of 22. It also has high gain for VHF and allows for dual input along with an FM Trap if needed.
A Pre-amp is simply an outdoor amplifier versus an indoor distribution amplifier. The idea of a pre-amp is to add enough db at the source, to allow this cleaner signal to travel farther. Amps don't increase the actual performance of an antenna as whatever you get in terms of signal with the antenna is what you get. Amps just help compensate for cable runs and splits. Only thing you have to be careful with is sending too much db down the pipe, over-powering your receiver (plenty of sources explaining the science behind the db strength and the amount you need).
A Pre-amp does not require any extra cable or electrical to be run to the mast as you use the supplied power inserter and connect inside the house (prior to any splitter) to feed the electrical current back through the coax to the pre-amp on the mast. In my case the power connection was after 100 ft of cable.
Bottom-line, it worked great. During the marathon of watching the Olympics we rarely had pixelation, but maybe every couple of hours a one second jitter. All-in-all I'm happy with the product. It worked and I now have free beautiful DVRd HD TV using the right antenna, this pre-amp and a TiVo!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Works as described

08/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Instructions and illustrations were incorrect, but check the settings (switches) and connections and it should work as described. Went from 8 good stations (32 total) to 55 stations with good signals. Preamp is near antenna with a 35 foot run to a 4-way splitter to 4 TVs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Good economical option for intermediate pre amp

07/29/2014
By ,
Hartland, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease to understand and set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Worked very well

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I installed 2 RCA pre-amps on different antennas and both increased signal strength.Works even
better with a antenna rotor.Antenna set up is the key to any antenna reception.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Good low price preamp.

08/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Make sure to check the switches for vhf - uhf+vhf combo, and fm trap are set to your needs and you're all ready.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Very good product

08/10/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install and pulled in fringe stations. Digital signal is excellent .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Does a great job for weak signals

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had three channels that were weak. ( one bar out of 5) I added the amplifier at the mast and now I get all channels at 5 bars out of 5.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Will not work if a splitter is in your coax run

04/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The amplifier works great, once I figured out the best way to use it. I was this close to returning it when I first hooked it up because I lost all the stations I was originally getting. But through trial and error, I found out how to use it. I ended up having to move my antenna from the outside into the attic because my coax run was long and there were two splitters in the run between the antenna and the indoor plug part. By getting one 50' coax cable with no splitters, the signal was amplified and now all stations are coming in crystal clear and even a few more stations I was unable to get before. When reading other reviews on this product before I bought it, I did not see anything about not using splitters, so I hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TX
Power-passing splitters
Posted 05/05/2014
You CAN use splitters between the power injector and the preamp... You just need to buy newer splitters, designed for preamps, that specifically say "POWER PASSING" on one port. Then make sure you've got the power injector connected to the correct leg of the splitter.
Of course there's nothing wrong with going directly from the preamp to the power injector, putting the splitter behind the power injector, but some wiring layouts make it very difficult to do so, and a power-passing splitter can be a very useful option.
0points
Customer Avatar
Southern
No Split vs. Multiple TV Sets
Posted 01/02/2014
If you don't split, then how do you run multiple TV Sets?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

absolute junk; don't waste your money on this.

08/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing did not work at all; it is a complete piece of junk. thank goodness it wasn't expensive. it is not even worth taking back; i'm just going to throw it away.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Works well

08/09/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pre-amp boost the signal for all channels. Be sure to check the uhf-vhf switch because the one I received was set to separate instead of combined as the instructions stated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

No Signal improvement

06/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy setup due to where antenna located. Had (3) local station that were hit or miss on signal reception due to weather condition. Hoping the RCA Pre-Amplifer would help but found no improvement in signal quality or strength. I will say it did not seem to make things worst so at least I will not have take-down.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Works great--easy to install

12/26/2012
By ,
Corinth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before installing this pre-amp, I used signal boosters at each TV outlet (purchased at Radio Shack). Antenna reception seemed good enough, but recently I started having poor or no reception for some channels at one of my house outlets. I was considering a more expensive signal booster for the TV, but after checking around at antenna websites, the idea of a pre-amp mounted at the antenna sounded like a better alternative.
The pre-amp I first considered cost about $60-$70 (internet order from an outfit selling Channel Master antennas I think). Then I ran across this RCA pre-amp at Wal-Mart for less than $25 and pick it at my local store for free shipping.
The unit was easy to install. I attached it inside at my attic antenna and left the pre-amp power supply in the attic as well. The antenna wire after the pre-amp connects outside to a 3-way splitter where the cable wire used to connect to the house. I get better reception results at all three pre-wired in-house outlets since adding the pre-amp. I still have the signal boosters at each TV, and now have the RCA pre-amp as part of my system as well. With the added benefits of the per-amp, channel reception went from arouind 50 to 80. Previous poor recption problem was corrected, and I hope it continues even during the hot Texas summers when the attic really heats up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

improved reception and worth the small price

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reception now brings in all the four major networks and three ETV channels. Previously no ETV or CBS. I live 30 miles from closest tv tower surrounded by tall pine trees in SC.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Works real well.

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the results I got with this unit. Before I could only pick up 4 stations on one of the TVs. Now I can pick up 22 stations on all 3 of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

WORKS!!!!

07/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FOR MY ZONE I NEED A LARGE ANTENNA(BLUE,VOILET),USING A YELLOW,GREEN W/ OUT AMP SEVEN CHANNELS, ADDED AMP PICK UP ALL CHANNELS IN MY ZONE. NOT PREFECT, DO TO THE WRONG ANTENNA ,WILL UPGRADE NEXT AND ALSO USING RG59 CABLE NOT RG6 WILL UPGRADE ALSO.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Did not work for me.

07/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Did not work for me. No difference with or without
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

It Works For Me

07/03/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This does the job pulling in a weak signal. But it does have to be installed very close to the antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Got a bad one

06/19/2014
By ,
Lubbock, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The unit arrived in its box, appeared to be well made, came with fairly good instructions and was easily mounted (once I got up on the roof). But it simply did not work; I double checked the instructions, but it killed the signal completely when it was connected properly. I (apparently) got a defective unit. I may try this one again, but I'll have to think about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier

Not robust, better options are available

06/25/2014
By ,
Madison, Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ended up using an inline amplifier, that has nothing to do with minuting to the mast, and I spent $9 more and that was worth spending.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next