Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for ProForm ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ProForm ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Get an incredible workout right at the comfort your home with the ProForm 290 SPX Spinner Bike. This cycle is built for the ultimate cardio exercise. Whether you're a weekend warrior or a first-time fitness buyer, the SPX Spinner exercise bike is for you. This cycle trainer is will meet the requirements of different users of all fitness levels a challenging, fat-burning cardiovascular workout in as little time as possible. With an adjustable seat and nonslip handlebars, this spinner exercise bike lets you get the right position to carry out your workout effortlessly. It also features pedals with toe cages that helps keep your feet in place during your rigorous exercise sessions. This indoor exercise bike comes with transport wheels that let you move it from one room to another conveniently. For an improved workout, The 290 SPXs chain drive system offers you a smooth, quiet, and comfortable ride.
Average Customer Rating:
4.18 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation90%54 out of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Good Ride

12/19/2012
By ,
Young agile, nc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very sturdy, easy to put together, the base was bent when shipped, my husband easily hammered it out. Had some problems or discomfort with adjusting the bike for myself. I was comparing it to the ride at the gym and once I stop doing that I enjoyed my ride. Definitely worked up a good sweat. Worth the price. Just don't expect it to meet your expectation of a gym quality bike. I had to purchase a padded seat...ouch! Next I plan to replace the handle bars not enough cushion, other than that great bike, I'm happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

I dont like the bike seat cushion

03/23/2012
By ,
new jersey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't like the bike seat cushion its too hard for my butt to sit , especially when i am more than 30 minutes..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Well worth the price for a spin bike

11/15/2010
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am an avid rider, and was a former certified cycle instructor. If you are a beginning rider or casual rider at home, this is a great spin bike for the value. If you plan to ride more then 30-45mins. and more the 4 times a week, I would invest in a higher grade commerical bike, but otherwise this bike will meet your needs. It has nice tension control, steady balance, and little comfort features like a water bottle holder and cages. NOTE: No clips for this bike, if that is what you want you need different pedals. The seat is a standard road bike seat, some people might want to replace or add a gel cover if you aren't use to a hard seat.
I read one review that said the person fell off the bike backwards and it tipped over, I don't see how that is possible unless you assembled the stand backwards (the wheels to move the bike go in the front), all the weight is on the front, you would have to work hard to tip it over backwards.
Great bike for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+86points
Review 4 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Great Spinner for Price.

11/22/2010
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I are very pleased with our purchase. We have been pricing these kinds of Spin Bikes for about 4 or 5 years and couldn't justify spending over $800 for one. He used his bike trainer and was happy with that for a while but then he wanted to try looking again for a spin bike. We came across this one on Wal Mart and decided to try it, the price was right for us. It arrived in less than a week and was very easy to put together and set up. Doesn't take up a lot of space either. It's quiet compared to his bike trainer. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles that some bikes do but to us that just ramps up the cost. Pro Form is a good name in exercise equipment, we have several pieces of this brand in our exercise room. I would recommend this product to anyone wanting a basic spin bike to work out with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 5 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Cheapest bike does not mean worst one out there!

09/21/2010
By ,
Sunny Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried spin bikes that costed twice as much as this one and I was even more impressed by this one. The ride is very solid while the others were less stable during heavier pedaling. The price of this bike was the clincher. Why pay more for something else that isn't built any better than this one? Another thing, it is also quieter than other bikes I have tried. Great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Review 6 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Great spin bike.

03/31/2012
By ,
East Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried a Nautilus U514 and could not stand up and pedal without my knees hitting the handle bars and returned it. I did not want to just 'sit' and pedal. I get a great cardio workout with this bike alternating between sitting and standing. Just crank down the resistance and stand up on the petals and your heart rate will climb quickly. I use a chest belt and monitor watch to check my heart rate. The bike is very smooth and quiet. I would recommend taking the chain guard off and cleaning off the goopy grease from the chain and using a good lubricating oil. Also the front axle was loose when I unpacked the bike and I had to align it and retighten the chain. The bike was not packed as well as it could of been as the styrofoam and packing was demolished but luckily no damage. The bike is easily adjustible for my 6' 1" frame and it is very stable for my 185 lbs. It feels like it wil last for many years. Oh, and I have no problems with the seat. It is more comfortable than my mountain bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Great bike

02/07/2011
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased two of these for my wife and I after reviewing exercise bikes on the web. This bike has the look and feel of much more expensive bikes, was easy to assemble, and gives us a great exercise.
So many of the reviewers stated that the seat was uncomfortable, so we went ahead and ordered a wide gel seat. Though we haven't used the stock seat, it looked to be well padded and a quality seat. I think that anyone that hasn't biked in a while, will have a two or three week transition to any seat as we did.
We found some bike videos on the internet that are taped from various bike ride's throughout the country and have enjoyed biking to these videos while enjoying the scenery of places like the pacific coastline, Yellowstone, Blue Ridge Parkway, etc.
We chose Walmart's free shipping to the local store because we knew that if the product didn't meet our standards, we would have been able to take them back to the store for a full refund.
We may add a computer later on that will give us some feedback as for time and distance, but for now we have enjoyed our 30 minute sessions at our own somewhat leisurely pace.
Overall, a great product and I would consider ourselves very satisfied customers in regards to this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 8 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Superior bike

11/22/2010
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One gets a superior workout on this bike. I replaced the original seat with a more comfortable, wider seat. I am on the short side and have made all the adjustments I could make, but I still find the bike is too high for me. I'm 5' 2". I love the bike. I'm so happy I purchased it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 9 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Schwinn Incognito....

01/25/2011
By ,
Milwaukee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
During my Division I College hockey days, I would ride a Schwinn spinning bike very regularly. Being half the price, no sign of any weakness, smooth, quiet, and just as sturdy as a 700 dollar Schwinn spiinning bike....this bike is amazing. Comes with a 90 day warranty and a five year warranty on the frame.
Bike comes assembled except for the handlebars, seat, and two horizontal balancing plates. I assembled it by myself in 10 minutes and rode like a mad man for one hour trying to find something wrong.
The only problem I have is that the handlebars are a little loose now, but that can be remedied with the proper tools.
Not sure if you can beat this quality for the price.
I recommend that you buy some grease and some nail/screw glue if you want to really prepare your bike for the long haul.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Needs changes.

05/05/2011
By ,
Allegany, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bike is great, but needs some changes.
Pro's: This thing is built strong! It is heavy! To say it's well built doesn't do it service. Easy to put together, but it takes two people to handle it. It's solid! WalMarts price is good. It's $400 other places. Controls work as designed, nothing fancy but they are reachable.
Con's: The SEAT is TERRIBLE! Buy a different seat when you buy this bike. The most uncomfortable thing I've ever sat on. The handle bars really don't go high enough. The seat adjustment doesn't go low enough for short people; 5' to 5'-8". Between the two, it's a challenge to get comfortable. The pedals have cages that are pretty much unusable. The pedals rotate with the cage downward and it is very difficult or impossible to get into. This is a barebones bike with no electronics or frills and pricey for what you get. Could use a revamp in design.
All in all a pretty good value. If you want a bike that's easy to move, this takes two people to do it. Very sturdy and functions well. Should last for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Great decision

03/13/2011
By ,
Waterbury, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the bike because jogging was beginning to bother one of my knees. I did a lot of research because I wanted something well constructed without spending too much. I was willing to pass on fancy features.
After 3 months of heavy use I conclude that the ProForm is likely to give me many years of additional use. It rides smoothly with very responsive tension control ( please note that instructions recommend the tension be tight when the bike is not in use ).
Some have commented that the seat is uncomfortable. This is a common complaint with many exercise bikes. I have gotten more used to it and for periods of time I sit up straight in the seat while pedaling to shift weight.
I'm not mechanically inclined, but was able to assemble bike with minimal problems by following the clear instructions. The only time I ran into a problem was when I didn't read instructions carefully about screwing in left pedal.
I paid $300 for the ProForm, which I think is an excellent price for something of this quality. Please note under "specifications" the weight and dimensions of the box if you decide to pick it up at store. You will probably need an SUV or truck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

I really, really want to like this product, but ..

04/14/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really, really wish I could rate this bike higher than a 2 but I just can't bring myself to do so.
First the good.
• The bike was really easy to put together except for the seat. Absolutely no directions on how to mount the seat.
• The bike is very sturdy.
• I really do feel like a get a good workout on the bike. I sweat like crazy, that's for sure.
Now the bad. The very, very bad.
• The seat. I ride a road bike so I'm used to small seats, but the seat that comes with this bike is horribly uncomfortable. I had to invest in a padded, gel seat cover just so I could stay on the bike for longer than 10 minutes or so.
• The noise. OMG. The noise that this bike makes is somewhere in between an angry, 200 lb. bee on steroids and a fog horn that constantly blows. Watching television (or at least trying to listen to it while watching) is impossible. To make it tolerable I have to listen to my iPod at top volume. That pretty much drowns out the noise, but whatever is causing the noise causes the entire bike to vibrate so even if I can only sort of hear the noise (because my iPod is cranked to ear splitting level) I can feel it. Once in a while I can find a sweet spot on the resistance knob and the noise will die down to a loud hum (which would be perfectly acceptable and expected). If I try to change the resistance though, the sweet spot will have more than likely disappeared when I try to find it again. I cannot believe that of all of the people who have posted reviews here, very few of them mention having a noise problem.
I called the toll-free number on the owner's manual about the noise problem and although the representative that I spoke to was very nice, she had absolutely no idea what could be done to fix the problem.
I am still debating whether or not to try to return this bike. I really have no idea how that would be done - it's very heavy (a good thing) and would be impossible to put back it the box for shipping or for hauling back to Walmart. While I do feel like I get a great workout on this bike (like I said before), the negatives are really difficult to over look. I'm very disappointed in my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+29points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
near
I have the same bike.. had the same issue
Posted 07/04/2012
...But I figured out the answer to the loud noise.. you have to adjust the tension throttle to zero tension whenever you begin your workout. It sort of warms up the brakes which causes the tension.. which causes the noise. You can't just start your workout with the tension throttle halfway or 3/4 clockwise... you have to start at zero tension. Gradually increase the tension knob slowly and after about 1-2 mins into the workout you should have no noise. Hope that helped. Great bike for the price... lost 5 lbs in 2 months!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Excellent value

01/19/2011
By ,
Tacoma, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This spinner is attractive, built solid, gets high reviews everywhere and looks like it'll last for years and years, an excellent value for such a low price. Easy to assemble and made-in-the-USA! I'd recommend adding the Cateye Velo for a low cost basic speedometer/odometer device.
Walmart made the ship-to-store delivery option super easy. For a great low impact cardio workout at this price, the ProForm 290 is highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Excellent bike for the price

01/26/2012
By ,
Santa Maria, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been going to spin classes since 2001. I have belonged to 5 different fitness clubs up and down the coast. This bike is as good or better than the bikes I have used in a professionally led class. The people who complain about the seat are just plain silly. I never had a comfortable spin bike seat. It is not meant for sitting on the whole time anyway. Spin bikes are made for cranking up the tension and standing up to pedal part of the time. I have also invested in a gel seat in the past but didn't find that it helped all that much. For people who complain about the noise...REALLY??? Every spin class I've been to has been extremely noisy and is the reason the instructors wear a microphone and blast the music.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 15 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

A GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY

09/07/2010
By ,
PANAMA CITY, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOT THIS BIKE ABOUT TWO WEEKS AGO. ROAD IT ABOUT 8 TIMES SINCE THEN. IT'S BY FAR A GREAT BIKE FOR THE MONEY. NOW IT MAY NOT BE THE SAME QUALITY AS YOUR RIDE AT YOUR GYM. IT WILL GIVE YOU ALL THE WORKOUT YOU CAN STAND. BUY ONE AND SEE.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 16 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Great for the Price

04/06/2011
By ,
Tulare, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought the ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike. I am loving it! It was very easy for me to put together by myself. It is very easy to adjust the seat and handle bars. The brake works great and it is fairly quiet when exercising.
The seat could be a little more comfortable, but then, I have not ridden a bicycle in a very long time, so it will take some getting used to. I did purchased a padded seat cover that helps.
Overall.. This was a great buy and it will last me for a good while : )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 17 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Perfect for the price!

12/30/2010
By ,
Loveland Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ended my membership at my gym and wanted a spin bike that was just the same. This bike is even nicer than my gyms. I did my research and looked for a month. And this bike was by far the best deal. Other sport's store's carried this exact same bike and wanted 300.00 more for it. I've used it and love it. (The seat's a tad hard not to comfortable but that's an easy & cheap fix)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 18 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Great value

01/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before deciding on this product. For the price you really can't beat the quality of this product. Definitely a great piece of equipment.
I purchased this to use at home and also picked up a heart rate monitor to maximize my work outs. Now I can squeeze in a good cardio workout in less time than it takes to drive to the gym while in the comfort of my own home.
I am very satisfied with this product. Assembly was easy and quick. It's an easy machine to operate and a couple of minutes on YouTube will show you how to properly setup the bike. I would definitely buy this product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Awesome Bike

02/22/2011
By ,
Frederick, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the bike online after reading reviews by other people. I was a little apprehensive. I went and picked the bike up and brought it back to my house. I wansn't sure how the assembly of this bike would be but it was fairly simple. There were only a few parts which needed to be put together. Total assembly time took about 20 minutes. I've been using the bike for several weeks now and love it. When I can't get to the gym or its snowing and cold outside this bike gives me the cardio workout I need. I love it and would reccomend this bike to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 20 for ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike

Good Exercise Bike

04/17/2011
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am happy with this bike. It gives a nice ride for the money. You do have to get used to the "weighted" wheel at first if you are not used to a spinning bike. You will either have to use the brake or just slow down slowly. In other words, the pedals do not stop instantly since the weighted wheel has momentum. Two things I would improve: One-the brake is in an awkward place. It gets in the way when I am getting off and on the bike. Two- the seat is really uncomfortable. You will probably want a better one. A good exercise bike for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next