Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lodge Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Lodge Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

The heavy duty Lodge Cast Iron Sportsman's Grill is an excellent choice for any outdoor event. This Cast Iron Grill comes conveniently pre-seasoned with vegetable oil, so it is ready to use right out of the box. The rugged Lodge Iron Grill is resistant to weathering, making it a terrific choice for cooking during picnics and tailgating. The large cooktop offers plenty of room to cook for an individual or group. A draft door regulates the surface heating temperature of the cooking grate, helping ensure your food cooks evenly. Coals are accessible behind the flip-down door for easy tending while cooking. The Lodge Iron Grill has two adjustable heights for perfect cooking, whether you place the Cast Iron Grill on the back of a pickup truck or the ground. A wire bail handle allows for easy transport of the Lodge Cast Iron Sportsman's Grill, making it an excellent choice for almost anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
4.734 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%111 out of 113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 57 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Be prepared for falling food !!!

04/09/2012
By ,
Makanda Illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It should have been designed to where the draft door will not slide off (create moveable or adjustable stops at each end. The coal door should have been hinged so it doesn't fall off accidentally.
Most importantly the food grate should have a lip around the edge so food (like dogs and brats) do not roll off. Lastly a tool needs to be provided to remove the coal grate for easy cleaning underneath. It is extremely difficult to remove without tipping the grill itself. The product is very well constructed but poorly designed. Obviously not by a person who grills often. I would only recommend this to my friends if an improved version were created and would not buy it again unless it was improved.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oregon
unequivocally, the BEST hibachi for regular use
Posted 05/14/2013
I prefer cooking on a hibachi-like charcoal cooker when cooking premium steaks or fish. So I spent, literally, years looking for the one that did the best and most consistent job. There are those who mention that hot dogs may roll off, and they probably will. But I didn't purchase this for cooking hot dogs.
After searching until I was in my mid-40s, I found this model. The cast iron grill, alone, sets it apart. The heat control and ease of use are quite acceptable. There are no substantial downsides, with perhaps the worst being that after use the hibachi must cool down before you can easily move it, and so, after 20+ years, my original has finally rusted out because after stuffing myself on the food I cooked on this device, I often forgot to move it in out of the rain.
I just purchased its replacement, with no second thoughts.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Great outdoor additional!!!

07/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Absolutely useful, practical and durable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

It's a tank.

01/08/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Impressions: It's built like the old indoor cast iron stoves that were used to both heat the house and cook on. Only this little guy is portable and obviously for outdoor use. As an avid griller and BBQer I have seen and used many smokers and grills. For the money you will not find a finer, better built grill on the market. Although the size of the grill is quite small, it's quality is top notch. This thing will probably spend more time on Earth than me.
Cost: Before buying the grill I researched many of the smaller grills on the market. They range from $20-$150. However, the quality of the grills, even the $70-$150 models is sub-par when compared to this little guy. If you buy it from walmart.com or A.....com it will cost half the price you'd pay if you buy directly from the company. It's not a short term piece of equipment like some of the lower priced "name branded" models.
Design/Cons (sort of): One of the most unique things about the grill is the design/construction. It's only about 7-9 pieces total, counting the screws/bolts, but it all fits together perfectly. If I had to find any weak point with the grill, I would say the handle and balance of the grill could be a little better for transporting. At 30lbs it's a heavy little sucker and it tends to tip forward when you pick it up by the handle. As you move forward with grill the front gate will swing open. It doesn't fall off, but it makes it a little awkward for transporting. In fact it's not really a big deal, because you can just pull the door off and place it in the grill. Which might pose a problem when the grill is hot if you don't have gloves. However, I've never faced this issue and always just carry the grill with the door attached.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Excellent Purchase

06/10/2013
By ,
Owego, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No doubt, This is a great product, but the icing on the cake is Walmart ships it free saving $28.00 compared to Amazon or dealing directly with the the manufacturer! How does Walmart do this?
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Great Grill

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your looking for a cast iron grill then you must already know that they can rust easily but they last forever. Knowing about rust issue I called Lodge and they told me to spray paint the whole grill (not the top cooking grill) with black outdoor grill paint to eliminate rust issue. I sprayed 4 coats of paint on the grill. Even though Lodge Seasons the top cooking area I still noticed a slight shade of rust in very small spots after the grill sat outside a while so I cleaned the top with vege oil then put more on and baked the top in my oven for an hour. Then I did that two more times. All is well now but it is recommended to season the top once in a while especially after a summer of use. So all that I have said is normal for a cast iron grill, thats why I gave it a 5 star if you like cast iron and cooking on charcoal. If the cast iron issue bothers you then go for the tin grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

THIS IS BY FAR A GREAT PRODUCT AND WILL LAST

08/25/2013
By ,
ORANGEBURG
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I READ THE REVIEWS FROM OTHER SITES AND WAS IMPRESSED. I ORDERED ON A THURSDAY AFTERNOON AND IT ARRIVED ON SATURDAY MORNING . FOR REASON OUT OF MY CONTROL
I WAS NOT ABLE TO USE IT FOR 10 DAYS. BUT WHEN I DID, IT COOKED THE BEST STEAKS THAT I HAVE COOKED IN YEARS. THE CAST IRON GRATE WAS EVENLY HEATED COMPARED TO THE WIRE RACK ON MOST GRILLS. I CAN HARDLY WAIT TO TRY DIFFERENT WAYS OF COOKING DIFFERENT ITEMS. I WISH I HAD BOUGHT ONE OF THESE YEARS AGO.
THIS WAS JUST OVER $60 WITH FREE SHIPPING WHEN I PURCHASED IT.
YOU CAN FIND IT AT OTHER SITES FROM $89 TO $129. OR MORE
I HAVE OF LOTS LODGE CAST IRON PRODUCTS AND I AM MORE THAN JUST SATISFIED WITH EACH AND EVERY ONE.
COOKING WITH CAST IRON GIVES THE BEST FLAVOR BECAUSE OF THE EVEN HEAT TRANSFERRED TO THE FOOD WHERE AS THESE SO CALLED WIRE RACKS THE FOOD OFTEN STICKS . I SHOULD HAVE REALIZED SOONER THAT A CAST IRON COOKER WOULD DO THE SAME LIVE AS OTHER CAST IRON UTENSILS THAT I OWN LIVE AND LEARN . IF YOU DECIDE TO BUY ONE OF THESE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. ENOUGH SAID
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Great quality Hibachi

07/13/2012
By ,
WA, STATE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love cast iron because it holds the heat (put mine on concrete pavers for safety)for a long time, it cooks so well, and is heavy duty. I paid $79. Very happy with this Hibachi.
I first checked all the local stores in my area hoping I could just walk in and purchase it and take it home. This was not the case.
I found online that Walmart had the best price and free shipping. It did NOT come within the shipping time frame, and I had to wait longer than expected,(was disappointed for the wait as it was a gift to my husband) but I did get it before the the 4th of July and was happy to have it for the occasion, and have used it daily for summer BBQ. This is a high quality product and will last a lifetime, and you will be able to hand it down to your kids, & grand kids. I Would recommend, in fact a few friends said they want one when they saw us cooking on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Great Little Hibachi Grill

08/15/2013
By ,
Houston, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As with others, this is a great little grill and priced very nicely at Walmart.com It takes me back many years when we had campouts and cookouts. I use mine multiple times a week, burning both wood and charcoal in it. I actually put it in my gas grill so I can use the gas grill lid to keep the heat in and also to help smoke whatever I'm cooking.
Positives, is it is quick to heat and stays hot for a long time. The top grill part is easy to remove and keep clean. I only use 10 or so charcoal pieces to start then I will typically put pin oak to generate any additional coals if needed.
Negative as others have mentioned it is heavy and the handle is not balanced to keep the grill from tipping while carrying. Also the grate that holds the coals seems to already be rusting even though I thought it was suppose to be "seasoned". Maybe a stainless grate for the coals is a better solution.
Overall, I am very pleased with it and would by another one if I had too; though this is built like a tank so I don't think that will happen anytime soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

This grill is grate, I love it.

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lodge grill works grate, this is my second one we almost wore out the first one witch we have had for about 15 years, I love to grill, Dutch oven a lot during the summer. I would tell anyone wanting to buy this item to do so.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Exceeds expectation.

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Husband couldn't wait till Father's Day to try it out. We had the most tender, juiciest barbecue chicken breasts hot off the grill last night.
He loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Another great Lodge product.

09/18/2013
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 pieces fit together quite well and everything is held together with only 2 bolts with lock washes and nuts that hold the bottom to the oval shaped sides. There is a heavy duty steel wire handle, a lower cast iron grill that holds the charcoal above the floor of the grill allowing air circulation and the draft door to create a variable sized opening letting you to control how hot the fire is. The draft door itself just sits on the bottom and slides left and right for everything from a tiny hole to one of about 4" wide and about 1" tall. Finally the top grill is adjustable in distance from the flame but only by turning the griddle upside down. While this achieves the desired effect of making the cooking surface closer to the flame, you also end up with the 4 "legs" that are part of the cast iron top, pointed up.
The product lives up to the claims of being broken in and if you make sure the grill is hot, meats won't stick.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

great for cooking steaks for two

06/15/2014
By ,
Tampa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is heavy cast iron and very durable . I am totally satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Perfect Grill

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grilling for two on a well made cast-iron cooker can't be beat! The cast iron increases and focuses the heat where you want it. It's perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Best of the best all lodge products

05/27/2014
By ,
Coventry,RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy the charcoal experience,I own many Lodge products and you can never go wrong.From fry pans to dutch ovens.I use the dutch ovens whem camping ,just like the oven at home.P.S. I have it sitting on my Coleman traveler propane grille. It makes a great wind break and stand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Best Small Portable Grill

07/01/2014
By ,
Cosby, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love cast iron cookware. Just happened to see this grill and we needed a new one for camping. We have used it a lot already. Easy to clean. It is heavy. Walmart had the best price of any store I checked. I would recommend this grill if your looking for a small compact grill and like cast iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Sometimes a company creates a perfect product!

04/09/2014
By ,
Bonney Lake, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an exact replacement for the grill we raised our kids with for 15 years. When our youngest got married, we gave it to them, and now 20 years later we wanted to go back to the basics and found that Lodge was still making this perfect grill. The secret to its success is the ability to control the heat, the speed to have hot coals, and durability of the product itself. We've washed in the ocean, rivers, lakes, and everywhere else. Never warps and continues to do its job, no matter the use or abuse. An American legend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill
07/08/2012
By ,
San Clemente, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for my husband for Father's Day. He says it's totally heavy duty, old-school hibachi!! He loves, loves it, and we take it to the beach, river, backyard and it's awesome. He loves the whole charcoal thing:-)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

hibachi

07/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this hibachi I would recommend it a..the only flaw is that when you pick it up its unbalanced..it goes forward some
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

LODGE GRILL

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great grill just what i was looking for good quality . i think i will let the gas grill rest for quite a while. makes chicken great chicken whith no flare up's all food is great on this grill. i would sugest to use royal oak 100% natural wood chunks great flavor. BUY THIS GRILL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Great Grill

04/12/2014
By ,
arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I expected in a cast iron grill. Sturdy, heavy, and easy to maintain/clean. Adjustable draft door for maintaining heat and fuel loading door for adding additional charcoal/wood. Remove when carrying as they do not stay on unit. Can cook three one pound steaks at a time. Nice grill for a couple.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next