Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lodge Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Lodge Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

The heavy duty Lodge Cast Iron Sportsman's Grill is an excellent choice for any outdoor event. This Cast Iron Grill comes conveniently pre-seasoned with vegetable oil, so it is ready to use right out of the box. The rugged Lodge Iron Grill is resistant to weathering, making it a terrific choice for cooking during picnics and tailgating. The large cooktop offers plenty of room to cook for an individual or group. A draft door regulates the surface heating temperature of the cooking grate, helping ensure your food cooks evenly. Coals are accessible behind the flip-down door for easy tending while cooking. The Lodge Iron Grill has two adjustable heights for perfect cooking, whether you place the Cast Iron Grill on the back of a pickup truck or the ground. A wire bail handle allows for easy transport of the Lodge Cast Iron Sportsman's Grill, making it an excellent choice for almost anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%123 out of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 62 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Be prepared for falling food !!!

04/09/2012
By ,
Makanda Illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It should have been designed to where the draft door will not slide off (create moveable or adjustable stops at each end. The coal door should have been hinged so it doesn't fall off accidentally.
Most importantly the food grate should have a lip around the edge so food (like dogs and brats) do not roll off. Lastly a tool needs to be provided to remove the coal grate for easy cleaning underneath. It is extremely difficult to remove without tipping the grill itself. The product is very well constructed but poorly designed. Obviously not by a person who grills often. I would only recommend this to my friends if an improved version were created and would not buy it again unless it was improved.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oregon
unequivocally, the BEST hibachi for regular use
Posted 05/14/2013
I prefer cooking on a hibachi-like charcoal cooker when cooking premium steaks or fish. So I spent, literally, years looking for the one that did the best and most consistent job. There are those who mention that hot dogs may roll off, and they probably will. But I didn't purchase this for cooking hot dogs.
After searching until I was in my mid-40s, I found this model. The cast iron grill, alone, sets it apart. The heat control and ease of use are quite acceptable. There are no substantial downsides, with perhaps the worst being that after use the hibachi must cool down before you can easily move it, and so, after 20+ years, my original has finally rusted out because after stuffing myself on the food I cooked on this device, I often forgot to move it in out of the rain.
I just purchased its replacement, with no second thoughts.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Great outdoor additional!!!

07/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Absolutely useful, practical and durable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

It's a tank.

01/08/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Impressions: It's built like the old indoor cast iron stoves that were used to both heat the house and cook on. Only this little guy is portable and obviously for outdoor use. As an avid griller and BBQer I have seen and used many smokers and grills. For the money you will not find a finer, better built grill on the market. Although the size of the grill is quite small, it's quality is top notch. This thing will probably spend more time on Earth than me.
Cost: Before buying the grill I researched many of the smaller grills on the market. They range from $20-$150. However, the quality of the grills, even the $70-$150 models is sub-par when compared to this little guy. If you buy it from walmart.com or A.....com it will cost half the price you'd pay if you buy directly from the company. It's not a short term piece of equipment like some of the lower priced "name branded" models.
Design/Cons (sort of): One of the most unique things about the grill is the design/construction. It's only about 7-9 pieces total, counting the screws/bolts, but it all fits together perfectly. If I had to find any weak point with the grill, I would say the handle and balance of the grill could be a little better for transporting. At 30lbs it's a heavy little sucker and it tends to tip forward when you pick it up by the handle. As you move forward with grill the front gate will swing open. It doesn't fall off, but it makes it a little awkward for transporting. In fact it's not really a big deal, because you can just pull the door off and place it in the grill. Which might pose a problem when the grill is hot if you don't have gloves. However, I've never faced this issue and always just carry the grill with the door attached.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Excellent Purchase

06/10/2013
By ,
Owego, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No doubt, This is a great product, but the icing on the cake is Walmart ships it free saving $28.00 compared to Amazon or dealing directly with the the manufacturer! How does Walmart do this?
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Great Grill

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your looking for a cast iron grill then you must already know that they can rust easily but they last forever. Knowing about rust issue I called Lodge and they told me to spray paint the whole grill (not the top cooking grill) with black outdoor grill paint to eliminate rust issue. I sprayed 4 coats of paint on the grill. Even though Lodge Seasons the top cooking area I still noticed a slight shade of rust in very small spots after the grill sat outside a while so I cleaned the top with vege oil then put more on and baked the top in my oven for an hour. Then I did that two more times. All is well now but it is recommended to season the top once in a while especially after a summer of use. So all that I have said is normal for a cast iron grill, thats why I gave it a 5 star if you like cast iron and cooking on charcoal. If the cast iron issue bothers you then go for the tin grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

THIS IS BY FAR A GREAT PRODUCT AND WILL LAST

08/25/2013
By ,
ORANGEBURG
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I READ THE REVIEWS FROM OTHER SITES AND WAS IMPRESSED. I ORDERED ON A THURSDAY AFTERNOON AND IT ARRIVED ON SATURDAY MORNING . FOR REASON OUT OF MY CONTROL
I WAS NOT ABLE TO USE IT FOR 10 DAYS. BUT WHEN I DID, IT COOKED THE BEST STEAKS THAT I HAVE COOKED IN YEARS. THE CAST IRON GRATE WAS EVENLY HEATED COMPARED TO THE WIRE RACK ON MOST GRILLS. I CAN HARDLY WAIT TO TRY DIFFERENT WAYS OF COOKING DIFFERENT ITEMS. I WISH I HAD BOUGHT ONE OF THESE YEARS AGO.
THIS WAS JUST OVER $60 WITH FREE SHIPPING WHEN I PURCHASED IT.
YOU CAN FIND IT AT OTHER SITES FROM $89 TO $129. OR MORE
I HAVE OF LOTS LODGE CAST IRON PRODUCTS AND I AM MORE THAN JUST SATISFIED WITH EACH AND EVERY ONE.
COOKING WITH CAST IRON GIVES THE BEST FLAVOR BECAUSE OF THE EVEN HEAT TRANSFERRED TO THE FOOD WHERE AS THESE SO CALLED WIRE RACKS THE FOOD OFTEN STICKS . I SHOULD HAVE REALIZED SOONER THAT A CAST IRON COOKER WOULD DO THE SAME LIVE AS OTHER CAST IRON UTENSILS THAT I OWN LIVE AND LEARN . IF YOU DECIDE TO BUY ONE OF THESE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. ENOUGH SAID
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Great quality Hibachi

07/13/2012
By ,
WA, STATE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love cast iron because it holds the heat (put mine on concrete pavers for safety)for a long time, it cooks so well, and is heavy duty. I paid $79. Very happy with this Hibachi.
I first checked all the local stores in my area hoping I could just walk in and purchase it and take it home. This was not the case.
I found online that Walmart had the best price and free shipping. It did NOT come within the shipping time frame, and I had to wait longer than expected,(was disappointed for the wait as it was a gift to my husband) but I did get it before the the 4th of July and was happy to have it for the occasion, and have used it daily for summer BBQ. This is a high quality product and will last a lifetime, and you will be able to hand it down to your kids, & grand kids. I Would recommend, in fact a few friends said they want one when they saw us cooking on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Great Little Hibachi Grill

08/15/2013
By ,
Houston, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As with others, this is a great little grill and priced very nicely at Walmart.com It takes me back many years when we had campouts and cookouts. I use mine multiple times a week, burning both wood and charcoal in it. I actually put it in my gas grill so I can use the gas grill lid to keep the heat in and also to help smoke whatever I'm cooking.
Positives, is it is quick to heat and stays hot for a long time. The top grill part is easy to remove and keep clean. I only use 10 or so charcoal pieces to start then I will typically put pin oak to generate any additional coals if needed.
Negative as others have mentioned it is heavy and the handle is not balanced to keep the grill from tipping while carrying. Also the grate that holds the coals seems to already be rusting even though I thought it was suppose to be "seasoned". Maybe a stainless grate for the coals is a better solution.
Overall, I am very pleased with it and would by another one if I had too; though this is built like a tank so I don't think that will happen anytime soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Another great Lodge product.

09/18/2013
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 pieces fit together quite well and everything is held together with only 2 bolts with lock washes and nuts that hold the bottom to the oval shaped sides. There is a heavy duty steel wire handle, a lower cast iron grill that holds the charcoal above the floor of the grill allowing air circulation and the draft door to create a variable sized opening letting you to control how hot the fire is. The draft door itself just sits on the bottom and slides left and right for everything from a tiny hole to one of about 4" wide and about 1" tall. Finally the top grill is adjustable in distance from the flame but only by turning the griddle upside down. While this achieves the desired effect of making the cooking surface closer to the flame, you also end up with the 4 "legs" that are part of the cast iron top, pointed up.
The product lives up to the claims of being broken in and if you make sure the grill is hot, meats won't stick.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

It's a lodge!

09/20/2014
By ,
mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice, can use the cast iron grill upside down and the hot Coals are closer and if you want to use even less charcoal I stick a brick under the cast iron hot coal rack to raise the hot coals even closer, when it's just me . I watched the "unboxing" video on youtube before I bought.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

great grill & portable

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While it is heavy since it is all cast iron, it was pre-seasoned and ready to use. I like the adjustable air vent in the front. I was surprised that it allowed two steaks as well as several small-link sausages at the same time. Lodge makes a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

perfect all purpose grill!

09/16/2014
By ,
Belleville, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were first introduced to this grill by a friend in VA and had to buy one ourselves. We grilled every night on our camping trip and everything came out delicious. We also purchased a Lodge "Double Play reversible Griddle". We used that in place of the regular grill to cook our bacon and eggs for breakfast, also delicious! I would highly recommend this grill for camping and cooking at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Don't be stingy with the charcoal.. lol

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy, like the clean out door....
The first time I used, I put only 1 layer of coals, needed to make a double layer with the brand that I used,
Loved the convenience, and the ease of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill
07/08/2012
By ,
San Clemente, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for my husband for Father's Day. He says it's totally heavy duty, old-school hibachi!! He loves, loves it, and we take it to the beach, river, backyard and it's awesome. He loves the whole charcoal thing:-)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Great solid-built Grill

09/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This replaced our cheaply made Hibachi and right from the start we can tell it's built to last for life. The grill worked flawlessly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Great use for rv.

09/08/2014
By ,
Forney, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooks great. Easy clean up. Portability great for rv's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Best of them all...

08/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has got to be the very best of the best grills....doesn't take long to get 'her going either...you just tain't tasted grilled steak as good as this on any other grill, and believe me, I've gone through quite a few in my old age....Love it,love it, love it! Thanx....worth every expensive penny!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

This grill is grate, I love it.

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lodge grill works grate, this is my second one we almost wore out the first one witch we have had for about 15 years, I love to grill, Dutch oven a lot during the summer. I would tell anyone wanting to buy this item to do so.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

What a great grill

09/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill is high quality and worked great the first time I used it. It is easy to assemble and carry with the handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lodge Heavy Duty Cast Iron Adjustable Height Sportsman's Grill

Exceeds expectation.

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Husband couldn't wait till Father's Day to try it out. We had the most tender, juiciest barbecue chicken breasts hot off the grill last night.
He loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next