Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lodge Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Lodge Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

The Lodge Eight-Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven is a handy cooking tool for the avid outdoorsman. This single pot stove helps you cook delicious food when camping or at a picnic. This Dutch oven comes with an instructional cookbook to help you get started. This outdoor dutch oven can be placed on hot coals and its metallic body absorbs heat. It then transfers the heat inside to work as a griddle. The design is carefully crafted with durable integral legs to ensure that it sits well over the hot coals. This economic method of cooking enhances even heating of food and heat retention for long hours. This Dutch oven with lid is flanged so it can also hold hot coals.
Average Customer Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%34 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Just what I needed

10/16/2014
By ,
Central Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a deep 12" Dutch Oven that has a capacity of 8 quarts. Lodge quality, made here in the USA and comes pre-seasoned. As a camp cook for many years, I have come to appreciate the Lodge brand of cast iron cookware. Pre-seasoned means you can start cooking with it pretty much right out of the box, but They recommend you rinse it out first. Instructions are included. The book says you can feed 12 to 16 people with this pot, but from experience, I would say 10 to 12 HUNGRY people would be about right. I just got this particular pot, but it replaces another deep 12" dutch oven that got loaned out and has not returned home yet. I have a group to feed in a week or so that will need to use this pot and if the other one finds its way home in the meantime, I'll have 2 of these pots (I am a camp cook, so I have several different sizes of dutch ovens and they all get used).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Geat Dutch Oven

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and made in USA. I am a great fan of outdoors and when hungery, cooking outdoor comes next. I have tried cooking in my fire pit before but nothing tasted better than cooking in this Dutch Oven. This pot retains heat, and as result it cooks completely delicious meals. I have seen many cheaper Dutch Ovens in stores but I had my eye on Lodge Dutch Oven, since I had been researching on the net for some time. Get one, you will be happy you did.
Walmart was amazing in handling and delivering it timely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

The Perfect Size

10/12/2014
By ,
Medford, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven was the perfect addition to my outdoor cooking gear. It's the exact size I needed for my families favorite outdoor meal, slow cooked beer roast. It's also great for doing whole chicken and making enough stew, chili, soup etc for our family camping trips. I have used other brands of cast iron cookware but nothing beats Lodge for quality. When I found this Dutch Oven at this price I could not believe it.If you can find this Dutch Oven under $80 buy it, you wil not be sorry. Remeber to put cast iron cookware in your Will because it will last for generations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Heavy Dutch Oven!!!

09/15/2014
By ,
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 8 quart dutch oven by Lodge is HEAVY....and well made!!! The lid is very thick and designed to support the hot coals on top for more even cooking. This is a large item.... with "feet" to support the cookware in a open fire pit! Bear in mind that this is for OUTDOOR USE and is NOT intended to be used for stove top OR oven cooking. Use a regular dutch oven if that is your intention. I would HIGHLY recommend this item. Based on the construction, I'm sure that this will last for OVER 100 years....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Solid Cast Iron Dutch Oven

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't used it, but I am very familiar with Lodge products., they are best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

A classic dutch oven

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the dutch oven standard. Walmart offers this US made cast iron work horse at an attractive price. It is excellent in all ways. It's new so how can I rate durability? But the ones like this I have used in the past have lasted many years in my commercial kitchen where they get daily use and abuse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Will last a lifetime, heavyduty.

10/01/2011
By ,
Blue Mound, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought for cub/boy scout campouts and home use. It comes with a small cookbook to get you started. It is already pre-seasoned so you can take it right out of the box and use it. Which is great! However I did lightly grease the inside of mine with cooking oil before I used it the first time just to make sure nothing would stick. It worked great. Nothing stuck. However we did accidently burn something while cooking in it later on. We didn't have our heat regulated right but I just used a scraper and most of it came right out. I waited until it cooled and put water inside the dutch oven to soak the rest and it came right out after just a short while of soaking. I don't think you can hurt these ovens unless you drop it or maybe put cold water in it while it is hot off the coals. It is pretty heavy. I'm glad I didn't get a bigger size because of the weight and also I don't think we would need a bigger size. I bought the 12 inch(8 quart) deep dutch oven and we have a family of four plus give or take a few neighborhood kids at every meal and we have more than plenty of food using this oven. I always rub a little cooking oil all over the oven once it is clean and I am storing it away to keep it nice. It has care instructions with it. Very easy to take care of.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

2 gallons of brother's recipe beans, bacon, onion,

10/13/2014
By ,
Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All was eaten. Seasoning was good but did season again after I returned home from camping trip. Gifting 8 qt Lodge Camp Dutch Oven to my oldest son!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Very robust

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well-made American made product. Nice and heavy, as typical of the Lodge line. Good heat distribution, and good fitting heavy lid. I wouldn't be without it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Great oven

09/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second lodge oven they work great. Got the second one for the whole family camping trip would run out of food so needed 2. Can't wait to use it .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

LOVE IT!

11/28/2013
By ,
N. ALABAMA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAD IT 2 WEEKS AND ALREADY USED IT 3 TIMES. 2 CAKES AND COWBOY STEW.
ITS BETTER FOR STEWS BUT DOES GREAT ON THE CAKES. THE SHALLOWER OVENS ARE SUPPOSE TO BE FOR BREAD AND CAKES BUT IF YOU USE ENOUGH HOT COALS (ON TOP) IT COOKS JUST AS GOOD IN MY OPINION. I'M LOOKING HARD AT THE L12CO3 AND L14CO3 TO USE FOR BISCUITS, ALTHOUGH THIS ONE WILL COOK THEM. COOKING RIBS AND CHICKEN BBQ TOMORROW NIGHT PER THE INCLUDED RECIPE BOOK. YOU WILL ENJOY IT IF YOU LIKE THE OUT DOORS. I,VE ONLY USED HARDWOOD COALS HAVEN'T USED CHARCOAL. DOES TAKE TIME TO GET COALS BUT WHY SUCH A HURRY.
L.C.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Great for outdoor cooks

06/11/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cast iron cookware turns out the best food ever, from main dish to deserts. The little book that comes with them makes you a perfect cook, and tells you how to care for them. One tip I learned is if you need to reseason put it in your oven and use the clean cycle, it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

This is my 3rd dutch oven and the biggest one.

03/22/2014
By ,
East TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd dutch oven and the biggest one. Lodge has never let me down. I will be using this a lot this summer for campfire stew, and baking biscuits. Take care of your cast iron and your grandchildren will be using it, that is how I got started, some of my cast iron is more than 80 years old and made by Lodge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Good American made product

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a good pre-seasoned oven this is the one for you. I just got it and have already used it. Like all of Lodge products, it is high quality. I already have two ovens but needed/wanted a larger one. Buy this one, you won't be disappointed, no comparison between this one and those foreign made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Good quality, preseasoned and good instructions.

10/26/2012
By ,
Springfield, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best quality Camp Dutch Oven I could find and the price at Walmart could not be beat. We used them for a campout the week they were received and the raves were out of this world! Cooks even, food was done to perfection and easy cleanup and seasoning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Just as expected

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lid fit tight, casting was perfect, and the seasoning was just right. I would recommend lodge cast iron products to my family and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

cast iron dutch oven

09/05/2011
By ,
jamaica n.y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for frying and cooking outside. The pot is large and heavy. Has handle for easy transport. Heats well with cover. My husband loves to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Lodge Dutch Oven

10/12/2012
By ,
Layton, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely the cheapest place to purchase the real thing. Walmart rules with their free shipping to the home. Christmas will be very rewarding and affordable this year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Awesome cookin'

07/06/2013
By ,
Somerset, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used the 8 quart and a 6 quart for a week of camping. Did some stacked cooking as well as just using them separately. The food was awesome. Even my finicky 12 year old was impressed with the stew. She want's us to make it that way all the time now.
Clean up was easy, and you don't have to use very many coals for most meals. I think our food bill was a little lower than the last time we went camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Happy 4th Of July, 2014

07/01/2014
By ,
Mandan, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't wait to use it this weekend! Luv this size 8 qt. takes care of all our camping outdoor meals! Plus the price was great on sale! Walmart has the best buys for outdoor cast iron cookware. Received a cook book with my order, that was nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next