Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lodge Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Lodge Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

The Lodge 8 Quart Deep Camp Dutch Oven is great for the avid outdoorsman. This single pot stove helps you cook delicious food when camping or at a picnic. The lodge camp Dutch oven can be placed on hot coals and its metallic body absorbs heat. It then transfers it inside to work as a griddle. The design is carefully done with durable integral legs, which ensures that the lodge camp Dutch oven sits perfectly over the hot coals. This economic method of cooking enhances even heating of food and heat retention for long hours. This traditional oven weighs 20lbs and can be easily transported along with your baggage during camping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%24 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Will last a lifetime, heavyduty.

10/01/2011
By ,
Blue Mound, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought for cub/boy scout campouts and home use. It comes with a small cookbook to get you started. It is already pre-seasoned so you can take it right out of the box and use it. Which is great! However I did lightly grease the inside of mine with cooking oil before I used it the first time just to make sure nothing would stick. It worked great. Nothing stuck. However we did accidently burn something while cooking in it later on. We didn't have our heat regulated right but I just used a scraper and most of it came right out. I waited until it cooled and put water inside the dutch oven to soak the rest and it came right out after just a short while of soaking. I don't think you can hurt these ovens unless you drop it or maybe put cold water in it while it is hot off the coals. It is pretty heavy. I'm glad I didn't get a bigger size because of the weight and also I don't think we would need a bigger size. I bought the 12 inch(8 quart) deep dutch oven and we have a family of four plus give or take a few neighborhood kids at every meal and we have more than plenty of food using this oven. I always rub a little cooking oil all over the oven once it is clean and I am storing it away to keep it nice. It has care instructions with it. Very easy to take care of.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Just as expected

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lid fit tight, casting was perfect, and the seasoning was just right. I would recommend lodge cast iron products to my family and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Happy 4th Of July, 2014

07/01/2014
By ,
Mandan, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't wait to use it this weekend! Luv this size 8 qt. takes care of all our camping outdoor meals! Plus the price was great on sale! Walmart has the best buys for outdoor cast iron cookware. Received a cook book with my order, that was nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Great Price

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were very happy with the price that Walmart gave us.
This Dutch Oven cooking will be a new experience for us - to go along with our camping.
We were not in a hurry to receive the Dutch Oven for it arrived 7 days after the estimated
shipping time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

This is my 3rd dutch oven and the biggest one.

03/22/2014
By ,
East TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd dutch oven and the biggest one. Lodge has never let me down. I will be using this a lot this summer for campfire stew, and baking biscuits. Take care of your cast iron and your grandchildren will be using it, that is how I got started, some of my cast iron is more than 80 years old and made by Lodge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Great

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what I wanted
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Great on-line Value

06/12/2014
By ,
Marshall, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the best quality, American made products at a great on-line price. With the Free shipping, it was a no-brainer. Can't wait for camping tryout.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

LOVE IT!

11/28/2013
By ,
N. ALABAMA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAD IT 2 WEEKS AND ALREADY USED IT 3 TIMES. 2 CAKES AND COWBOY STEW.
ITS BETTER FOR STEWS BUT DOES GREAT ON THE CAKES. THE SHALLOWER OVENS ARE SUPPOSE TO BE FOR BREAD AND CAKES BUT IF YOU USE ENOUGH HOT COALS (ON TOP) IT COOKS JUST AS GOOD IN MY OPINION. I'M LOOKING HARD AT THE L12CO3 AND L14CO3 TO USE FOR BISCUITS, ALTHOUGH THIS ONE WILL COOK THEM. COOKING RIBS AND CHICKEN BBQ TOMORROW NIGHT PER THE INCLUDED RECIPE BOOK. YOU WILL ENJOY IT IF YOU LIKE THE OUT DOORS. I,VE ONLY USED HARDWOOD COALS HAVEN'T USED CHARCOAL. DOES TAKE TIME TO GET COALS BUT WHY SUCH A HURRY.
L.C.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Great for outdoor cooks

06/11/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cast iron cookware turns out the best food ever, from main dish to deserts. The little book that comes with them makes you a perfect cook, and tells you how to care for them. One tip I learned is if you need to reseason put it in your oven and use the clean cycle, it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Good quality, preseasoned and good instructions.

10/26/2012
By ,
Springfield, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best quality Camp Dutch Oven I could find and the price at Walmart could not be beat. We used them for a campout the week they were received and the raves were out of this world! Cooks even, food was done to perfection and easy cleanup and seasoning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

cast iron dutch oven

09/05/2011
By ,
jamaica n.y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for frying and cooking outside. The pot is large and heavy. Has handle for easy transport. Heats well with cover. My husband loves to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Awesome cookin'

07/06/2013
By ,
Somerset, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used the 8 quart and a 6 quart for a week of camping. Did some stacked cooking as well as just using them separately. The food was awesome. Even my finicky 12 year old was impressed with the stew. She want's us to make it that way all the time now.
Clean up was easy, and you don't have to use very many coals for most meals. I think our food bill was a little lower than the last time we went camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Lodge Dutch Oven

10/12/2012
By ,
Layton, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely the cheapest place to purchase the real thing. Walmart rules with their free shipping to the home. Christmas will be very rewarding and affordable this year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Great for camping - plenty of good recipes, too!

05/15/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Lodge dutch oven. We use the smaller 4 quart for small meals and desserts, and the HUGE 8 quart for roasts, stews, chili, etc. Unit comes preseasoned - ready to use out of the box. Easy to clean and care for. Will certainly last a lifetime, possibly two! This is the type of cookware that gets passed from generation to generation. A little expensive compared to others, but well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

if your into camp cooking you got to get this

11/12/2013
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a great oven, already had a 12'' & 14'' reg. Lodge oven, been wanting a deep one, really cool being seasoned ahead of time, cooked a soup the very next day after getting it, American made, you'll never go wrong with it, great price Walmart & shipping !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Good dutch oven

03/05/2013
By ,
AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had to return the first one I ordered thru Amazon due to poor quality, then I ordered same item thru Walmart.com. Box arrived at site-to-store busted up, and the top rim of the dutch oven had similar problems as the first one ordered thru Amazon! The black surface coat is not solid around the top, and brown rust/oxidization can be seen... Over all the dutch oven (despite shipping box) arrived in better condition, and we look forward to years of use with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

trust the name

06/24/2012
By ,
75013
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as ordered. Worked great, no problems. Fast shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven

Great purchase and shipping experience!

09/22/2013
By ,
Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Lodge cast iron is the best of the currently manufactured products. Expect this one to be no different, and am looking forward to occasions on which I will put it to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5