Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lodge Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Lodge Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%15 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

A monster sized dutch oven for a miniature price.

12/07/2012
By ,
Goffstown, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using Lodge brand products for several months now and have found them to be supreme quality for a reasonable price. I had bought the 5 qt dutch oven at my local Walmart, and ever since had been wanting the biggest one (without the legs) I could get to cover the spectrum in size. Most places want at least $80-$100. Amazon and Walmart were the only ones to have it for the astounding price of $59, and of the two only Walmart had them in stock online. What was even more amazing is this 22 pound beast only cost me $3.97 in shipping costs (it would have been free if I had it shipped to my local Walmart!) Diameter is 13 1/4", and it stands 4 3/4" tall. These are outside dimensions. Inside it is about 12 3/4" (approx.) at the top tapering smaller to the bottom a bit, and it goes about 4 1/2" tall from inside bottom to lip. The lid, I believe, will fit the Lodge 13 1/4" cast iron skillet (also on my "to-get" list.) So there is yet more utility out of this than just the dutch oven part itself. It has the bail handle (the only option available in the 9 quart "non camp" dutch oven line.
As with any Lodge product it comes "pre-seasoned", but what they always fail to really clarify is that to get it into a "non stick" phase it needs more seasoning. The thing is that cast iron that is not shipped pre seasoned is done in a wax (to keep it from rusting) that must then be removed by the purchaser and then a seasoninregimenne started. The Lodge form of seasoning keeps the pans from rusting in transit, and if need be allows instant use. So, as always, season your cast iron (I give at least 3 good coatings before really starting to use them.) There are tons of ways to season cast iron, so I won't bother with those details.
If you need a spacious dutch oven, this is your pick. If you are looking only to dabble more in a general sense I would suggest splitting the difference between the 9qt and 5qt by getting the 7qt (also available from Walmart). The 5qt will fit a 5-6 pound chicken for roasting, but would be too small to do a good sized batch of dutch oven cinnamon buns, something the 9qt will do no problem. Thus the 7qt should give you the best of both worlds. In my Lodge dutch ovens I have roasted chickens (wonderful!), made soups and have joined the "dutch oven artesian bread" movement (super wonderful!). No matter what size you choose you can't go wrong with one of these black beauties!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

The Lodge 9-Quart Dutch Oven is Wonderful

01/09/2014
By ,
Monterey, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 9-quart bad boy will cook anything from Beef Burgundy to a small turkey at a fraction (about 1/10th) of the price you'd pay for some fancy French enameled pot, and what a great way to cook bread in your oven!
Ya' gotta' love it!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

I love this huge and versatile dutch oven!

06/14/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this 9 quart version with no campfire legs because I wanted a huge heavy duty cast iron dutch oven that I could use indoors or outside on the fire. It is perfect. It weighs a ton and it holds a ton. I have used it on the stove, in the oven, in my wood stove, and over the camp fire. Every time I use it I get compliments. People admire it and ask if it is a family heirloom. It has an old time look to it, and it probably will be an heirloom because it is built to last. It came factory seasoned, but I cleaned it and soaked it in oil anyway. It is very quick to develop a tiny bit of surface rust if you miss any spots with the oil or if it stays wet after washing, which is annoying, but all cast iron is like that and it will get better as it ages and gets more oil baked on. The big handle is comfortable and lets me hang it over the fire. It makes it easier to carry, but it isn't easy to carry as it weighs a ton, especially once it is full of food.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Very nice seasoned oven.

09/11/2012
By ,
Creal Springs, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product arrived at my local store undamaged and timely. Lodge products are always a value and excellent quality. I purchased this one to use as a fish fryer. The cast iron holds heat so you get even cooking. I hated to put it on open flame of my propane cooker as the amber preseasoned surface looks so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Great size and USA made.

02/13/2014
By ,
MILTON, FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice American made product and it will hold plenty of chicken. Made enough for our family of five with left overs. I am glad I own it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

best deal around

08/29/2013
By ,
effingham IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
looked at gatlinburg OUTLET!!!!! they wanted 85 dollars for the same piece. went online and found it for 63 with 21 dollars shipping. The same!!!!! Walmart shipped it to me for 45.18 free freight. Unbelievable,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Great DO!!!!!!

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this 9 qt DO. Hats of to Lodge for another great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

This is a wonderful iron dutch oven

04/07/2014
By ,
Seneca, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used it today and am very pleased with my purchase. I was disappointed that it did not have a 'mini' cookbook/tip book with it. The only improvement I can think of - is to say there should be more room between the handle of the lid (not the bail handle) and the base of the lid. There is not much room for your hand when you have a potholder in your hand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

A great value for a high quality Dutch oven.

07/12/2013
By ,
Flushing, Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a well used vintage Griswold #8 5 qt. Dutch oven online a few days prior for the same amount plus shipping cost as a baked bean pot. After spending weeks looking for a large #12 9 quart, I just could not justify the $300.00 ebay was getting for the vintage ovens. After reading many reviews for the Lodge ovens and comparing prices I decided to pull the trigger and order one from Walmart, and have it delivered for free. Hey I thought if it doesn't pan out, I will return it. "Flash forward, that is not going to happen".
I am beyond pleased by the quality, value, and excellent workmanship of this oven. It is very heavy cast iron (about 12 lbs,) as it should be for proper heat transfer and retention. The lid mates perfectly with the deep smooth inner lip of the pot. The self basting inner lid is a plus, and the pre-seasoned oven baked finish is perfect. This is not a wax finish as some manufacturers provide, but a true oil baked on finish. The large spring handle centered on the heavy wire bale is a pleasant feature for added comfort when the oven is full. Couple all this with the fact that it is made in the USA by a family owned company for nearly 100 years, and you have the perfect package.
Use this beauty on the stovetop, oven, grill, or camping, for the best, easiest, tastiest, healthy, and most durable cooking adventure you will ever experience. My wife and I are in our sixties, and have tried every type of cookware out there, including that stick to it glass Corning Vision Ware back in the early 80's, but have happily added the old cast iron back in the kitchen as of late. We still use our stoneware for some things, but for hearty meals, and an old fashioned tasty breakfast, cast iron cannot be beat. So if your thinking about it, do it, give it the good ole' American try, and you will not be disapointed.
Oh, and the beef stew we cooked as the first meal out of this pot was just like mama used to make.
Be well,
J. Linton
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

This was just what I wanted.

05/27/2014
By ,
AUSTIN,TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is heavy cast iron that is nicely preseasoned.I will only be using this in case there is a power outage.I will use this as a roasting oven and baking-oven.The 9 quart size is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Awsome dutch oven

03/22/2014
By ,
Schoharie, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have made several meals not one bad one yet. I love going from the stovetop to the oven. Great for deep frying for holding the heat. Made cowboy bread and cornbread. It was all gone even the crumbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Cookware at the head of the class

03/24/2014
By ,
PHX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durable, heat-retaining, and non-stick. I truly enjoy using a product that will gladly accept metal utensils and does not slowly leach Teflon into every meal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven
09/24/2012
By ,
Hattiesburg,MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this on Walmart's web site at a reduced price not the size I was looking for but even better than the smaller 5-Qt oven and cheaper too. I bought his to cook on my grill outdoors.
See www.bbqpitboys.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven
03/09/2013
By ,
Exton, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Original promised delivery date was delayed/extended.
Upon receipt/inspection this AM, product was unacceptable. It looked like a factory 2nd or reject.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Lodge 9 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5