Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sun Dolphin Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

Sun Dolphin Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

Enjoy your time out on the water with this Sun Dolphin 12' Jon Boat. It is crafted with a rugged UV-stabilized Fortiflex high-density deck and hull to ensure long-lasting performance. This Sun Dolphin Jon boat is lightweight and features built-in motor mounts, rod holders, battery storage locations and an extra storage area. It is easy to row, and it is light enough to be carried to and from the water. The American 12' Jon boat also has a closed cell polystyrene foam flotation for added balance and stability. This item meets the safety standards of the CE and U.S Coast Guard. This Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat can be used for fishing or an enjoyable day out at the lake.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation90%9 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

Some concerns

04/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boat appears to be acceptable and what I expected but I have a concern about not having through seat drains. In the owners manual, the "Deluxe" model has through seat drains but the model I received does not so there is no way to drain the forward and middle sections. Talked to KL Industries and their only suggestions was to use a mooring cover or turn it upside down during the rain. This is really disappointing because of the hassle and cost of a mooring cover or having to keep it drained during a rain storm. Haven't decided what to do but probably would not have bought the boat if I had known about the lack of drains. May just drill drain holes myself or use the old stand by, a blue tarp. Not of the other reviewers mentioned the lack of drains.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

Good boat for entry level boaters

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great boat, good for a beginner boater or just a fisherman who needs a small boat to fish off of. It could use a couple minor improvements though. My biggest complaint is lack of a solid floor. It would be an easy fix to have a reinforced floor that is self bailing on top of that. In addition, there is virtually no storage space. I used a circular saw and a couple of pressure treated boards to make a floor that was stable(but not self draining). Then I added carpet and a console. The console works great for not only storage space but space for gauges, fishfinders, and even a steering wheel. All in all, great boat, nice hull, but just needs some minor improvement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

Good boat for the money

10/11/2010
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this boat and matched it with a 5 hp Briggs 4 stroke. The boat does really well- however- I am a big fella and it does set a little low in the water (but not as low as a metal boat). It is very water tight and for small lakes and rivers it is an excellent choice. I still have a few things I need to do - add a seat for me because after 5 hrs of fishing the bench is so low it makes my back hurt, I also bought the fishhawk fishfinder that is a good accessory if you like to fish. Overall - it is a great boat for the money - I have a new 12 foot boat and motor for less than $1500.00. If you are older or are not very strong - you will need a trailor- at 110 pounds it is a chore to load and unload off of a truck by yourself- if you add a motor (I got the briggs- add another 50-60 pounds) and you got yourself a good workout to get on the water. It is plastic- so I am a little careful about rocks and gravel- apparently holes have to be repaird with a plastic welder. The plastic can be hard to work with- the trolling mount is on the front and there is not a lot of room on the back to add a trolling motor if there is an outboard on- and the way the plastic is rolled in the back- there is not a way to add the trolling motor without adding a brace (which is kinda strange- ussually for a boat like this everything is in the back- motor, etc.- do they expect you to move to the front to operate a trolling motor?- ever try walking in a jon boat?) I have had it on the water several times and it handles well- a little wobly- but it it isn't a full bass boat either. It is safe. It has a double hull with foam in between- you could fill it with water and it would probably still float - hence coast guard approval. You need to understand what you are getting before you buy- if you have never been in a jon boat before- try one out before you pay your money- if you decide they are what you are looking for- I would rate this among the best for the money. I would probably match with a diffirent motor as well. The two strokes are lighter and produce a higher rpm- the briggs is a putt-putt outboard with failry low rpms = lower speeds. And it is heavier than the two strokes of similiar horsepower. You cannot leave a motor on the boat - (unless you are keeping it in the water) another reason to consider weight of the outboard. I hope this helps and I would be happy to talk to anyone if you have questions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+329points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cuse
How is rowing on this?
Posted 06/04/2013
No reviews or pictures show or describe rowing. The description says easy to row. It doesnt display any holders for the ores. If one person is in this thing, will it be easy to row? Its 4 feet wide no? Get my point? Someone that has one, please advise. thanks,
-1point
Customer Avatar
Florida
Boat In Photo
Posted 06/22/2011
Is the boat in the photo what the boat actually looks like?
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

For a budget fishing boat, its a good one.

04/23/2013
By ,
Marietta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good boat but could be better with just a little help. It needs a small storage space with a door. It needs an eye-bolt in the rear for a motor safety chain. You can't just go drilling or cutting on this material. The floor is pretty but there is not a pathway for water to flow towards the rear for bailing.
Other than those items its a winner....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cuse
Hows rowing in this thing? No ore holders?
Posted 06/04/2013
No reviews or pictures show or describe rowing. The description says easy to row. It doesnt display any holders for the ores. If one person is in this thing, will it be easy to row? Its 4 feet wide no? Get my point? Someone that has one, please advise. thanks,
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

exactly what I ordered

06/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its wonderful but too heavy for my husband and me to move; my dream was to have a boat on our creek like when I was kid; I am not a kid anymore so we have to have help getting it in and out of water; not possible to leave for fear of it being taken; I have it and will use when family can go with us; the oars are a challenge for me but only been out in it once.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

Good for taking my son fishing

12/30/2013
By ,
Stafford, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The boat had no packaging so when it arrived, it had a few gashes in the bottom but they didn't go all the way through the material so I didn't go to the trouble of returning it. Also, there seemed to be confusion around the boat on the website. I read a review that indicated it didn't have the holes for oars/oars holders but mine did. I also thought you could seat 3 in the boat but the sticker on the boat says max. 2 people. I haven't measured the boat but wonder if I received the correct boat???? I don't think it's 12 feet. Can't wait to put a motor on it and go for a little cruise up the creek.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

Fine boat for a pond

06/20/2013
By ,
vandalia, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cuse
Did you need to sign when they delivered it?
Posted 06/25/2013
Do you know if they will just drop it off at your doorstep if you are not home? or signature required? thx
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

jon boat

04/16/2014
By ,
Machias, Maine 04654
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
looks good and very stable goes good with 2.3 honda motor
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

arrived in good shape and is as advertised

03/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks dandy, can't wait to try it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Dolphin American 12' Jon Boat

Bravco for excellence costomer service!

01/02/2014
By ,
N/A
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The boat arrived ahead of schedule and in perfect condition. Thanks so much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.