Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

NETGEAR Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Wirelessly connect HDTVs, Blu-ray players, gaming consoles, notebooks, and wireless printers to the Internet with the NETGEAR Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter. This HDTV internet adapter helps you in connecting devices with a network port to your existing home wireless network for convenience. Capable of working with any network-enabled device, this wireless Internet adapter does not require you to buy any device-specific Wi-Fi adapter. The Blu Ray Player Internet adapter gives you the freedom to keep your home entertainment center anywhere and still connect to the Internet. You can power the Internet adapter via USB port that leaves no exposed wire hanging from the TV.
Average Customer Rating:
4.226 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation83%43 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
60 Questions | 83 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Problem Solver

12/18/2010
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I received a blu-ray disk player for my birthday I was happy to learn that I could watch an unlimited number of movies from Netflix, which I subscribe to, with no increase in rates. Not being very computer literate, I went to a nearby electronics store to find out how to do this. They told me I needed a "bridge" of some sort, to receive the signal from my computer. Three rooms & a hallway seperate my computer from my High-Def. TV & Blu-Ray player. They said a WII or Play Station would work. I have neither of these & no desire to purchase one. When I saw this unit in a Walmart ad it was the answer to my problem & very reasonably priced. Installation was so easy even a senior citizen like myself could do it. I have Wi-Fi using a high speed cable modem & NetGear router & they connected with the push of a button on each unit. Movies run flawsly & having the computer turned on is not necessary. I absolutely love this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Easy to set up

02/02/2014
By ,
Winter Haven FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of these before but was refurbished and did not have the netgear GUI after several attempts to get into the adapter to set up new settings after router change I could not remember how to do it and it would not connect like the netgear instruction pointed to. The new one works as it intended and was a breeze to set up following instruction. It is very lightweight and compact hides on top of my DVD player. I use it for my Pioneer receiver to receive internet radio, has good range and streams well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SOUTHERN CA.
A QUESTION, IF YOU WILL BE SO KIND
Posted 04/02/2014
HOW DO YOU ATTACH THIS WIFI ADAPTER TO YOUR NON WIFI RECEIVER?
I WOULD LOVE TO DO THE SAME...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

01/17/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Very easy setup, works as advertised, can be used to convert many various cat5/6 wired network devices to Wireless-N. I use it on my Samsung Bluray player with Netflix and Pandora and it works GREAT! Has no trouble picking up through the wall between my entertainment center and my office where the wireless-N router is located.
Cons: I thought it was a little pricey, but am still glad I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Works Great with MagicJack Plus

02/27/2014
By ,
White Sulphur Springs, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this to try with my MagicJack Plus, and at first I had a little bit of trouble getting it to connect. But, once I read the instructions online in the user's guide.....And gave it some time, I was able to get this little thing working in no time. I currently have my MagicJack Plus connected to it that I use with my printer's fax function, and am having some trouble with it receiving faxes. So, I wouldn't recommend it for that. Anything else, I would recommend that you at least give it a try and see how it works for you.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Using it with Linux 13.04

01/15/2014
By ,
Medford, Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I called Netgear a few days ago because my computer would never connect to my Wireless Router its a Netgear product I tried 2 different wireless adapters they would not connect. A friend had no problem connecting with his Laptop with Windows. He was not using a dongle / Wireless Adapter. I called Netgear and he said it won't work with Linux, the Dongles they are made for Windows only. I am using the Range Extender wnce 2000. Worked fine after setup with manual included. Some people don't put all the stuff included when returning. I went to their site and all the info is there for your printing. Make sure you get the right page for setup there I suggest you printout the info for setup.
By the way, I have NOT tried it with Windows though. I guess you could use a wireless adapter in that case if needed?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter
05/12/2013
By ,
Amarillo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anyone with the need to convert wired ethernet to WiFi, you can't go wrong with this neat little package. I needed to connect my DVR to my home network. Wiring was out of the question due to distance. Luckily I have WiFi, but my DVR only has wired ethernet. Enter the Netgear WiFi adapter. It was very simple to set up as compared to others I have used in the past. Within 5 minutes of opening the package it was installed and working. I also didn't have a power outlet available, but there is a feature on this little device that works flawlessly. It can be powered by an available USB port on my DVR. If you have the need for conversion to wireless, this device is hard to beat, and the price is below other devices in it's category that have less features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter
09/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it has exceeded what I was hoping for. I was not sure if I could even set it up but it was so easy to do that even those that are not what we call computer savvy can do this.
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Home WiFi

03/24/2011
By ,
Jupitet, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for internet TV and net flix if you use a dvd player with netflix and wi fi capabliities! Great for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Does work well !!!

01/26/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No other Wifi adaptor does the work well of converting Wifi to Ethernet/USB better than this Netgear Universal Wifi...Now you can easily connect your Old electronics to internet without having hard wired internet wiring next to it.....works well specially for non-wifi printers....now keep your printer anywhere and print wireless.....
But this is expensive....with tax $50 or more....Amazon sells a lilttle cheaper....But other cheaper options which I tried are just too hard to setup compared to this Netgear which was very easy to setup.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

It works.

01/18/2014
By ,
West, Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a Netgear wireless router about 5 feet from this adapter. It wouldn't connect by pressing the WPS buttons on both Netgear router and adapter. I had to hook it to my computer so it would find my router. That being said, it works like I wanted it to. I gave 3 stars on value because there are many out there a lot cheaper. If I had a different brand of router I would have tried the cheaper ones. But, this way all are made by the same company. I'm happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Wasn't what I needed

12/09/2012
By ,
Catlett, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this so I could watch Netflix on my family room big screen. Regretfully, it was not what I needed. It didn't say in the product description, that the TV needed to have wifi already. Mine does not. I thought this product produced wifi capability without all the cables/wires.
I think I would recommend this if you DO have a wifi TV that has a bunch of wires and you want to get rid of the wires. But I cannot be sure.
It will be returned to WalMart today. I hope the return goes well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
TV does not need wifi
Posted 09/12/2013
Not sure what happened with yours, but this unit WILL make your tv capable of receiving/sending wifi signals, thus making your TV "wifi". For this to work, you MUST have a home wifi network with internet service already for it to connect to, but that's it. If you don't your TV will still be wifi, but there is nothing for it to connect to. If your home internet is NOT wifi (cables only), then you will need a wireless router to set up your own home wifi network. This unit does not provide the internet for you, it just connects your TV to the wireless network that you should already have at home.
This is what you need: 1. high-speed internet service with modem (DSL or cable internet), 2. wireless router (pulgs in to cable or DSL modem to create an internet-enabled wifi network) and 3. this unit attached to your tv and connected to the established wifi network). If you do have this setup then you might need more technical help to get it working, or maybe you just got a defective unit.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter
06/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product, very easy to set up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter
02/25/2012
By ,
Louisiana, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to use with my Samsung Blu-Ray player. As I use an encrypted wireless network I first had to connect it to my PC's ethernet port, enter my encryption passcode and then checked that it connected to my network. Once that was done I simply plugged it in to my Blu-Ray player and before I could check to see if it was working my player announced that a firmware update was available for downloading! After that completed I activated some other features on my player and sat back to watch streaming BBC News.
An excellent product. Easy to set up of you READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. My only gripe is that the price seems a little high. If it was below $50 I'd probably buy another for my old Amiga computer instead of having to keep moving it between devices.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

THIS PRODUCT CONNECTS YOUR TV TO THE INTERNET

01/17/2014
By ,
UTAH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I DID NEED TO CALL TECHNICAL SUPORT 1 TIME, BUT AFTER THE HELP IT IS AWSOME.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Great product with simple setup

03/28/2011
By ,
Pendleton, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to use with my dishnetwork receiver and it works great. It also was very easy to setup.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

att 2wire modem/router owners dont buy this

01/28/2013
By ,
Huntington IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
wont work with att 2wire router modem. tried to use with a Belkin router would not stay connected I returned for refund at local store
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Plug and Play

07/26/2012
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I did was to take it out of the box, plug it in, press the button on the side, press the button on my Wi-Fi router, and began to wirelessly stream music to my receiver. The only thing that this device lacks is an on/off button. That's a big disadvantage when dealing with electronics.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Does NOT work with AT&T

01/09/2014
By ,
San Diego
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried to hook up with my att verse and had issues. Called tech support and was told I need to pay $199 per year for Net gear to gain access to my router and reconfigure. Universal my butt! Returning today!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Does what it advertises...

01/18/2013
By ,
Anna, Illionois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this to connect a Brother DCP7065DN printer to network. Printer was in a separate room and grew tired of dragging out CAT6 cable. Setup took maybe 5 minutes and works just as stated. If the price was cut in half I would purchase a half a dozen just to have for other components that are wired that do not need a gigabit connection and do away with some line clutter. No problems with it all to date.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter

Good products - works!

08/29/2012
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this adapter online to connect my Brother MFC printer (which has an ethernet connection) wirelessly through my home network. It worked flawlessly out of the box. All I did was connect it to my laptop, made sure it was connected - then connected to my printer and it worked and is still working. The distance is limited, but seems similar to my wifi extender. The distance is at least 30 feet on a straight line. It is refreshing to have something work out of the box!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next