Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Your Baby Can Read As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Your Baby Can Read As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

Give your child the gift of a lifetime. With Your Baby Can Read!, you can start teaching your child the basic fundamentals of reading as early as 3 months old. The 4-Level Your Baby Can Read! early learning program is designed for children ages 3 months to 5 years. Build your baby's confidence, self esteem and reading skills with the amazing Your Baby Can Read! program.
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%37 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

Should be "your baby can memorize"

09/17/2010
By ,
detroit, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extremely dissapointed by this product. I didn't really expect that my baby would learn to read from it but I had hoped it would be helpful to my 3 year old who has been learning to read by watching the leapfrog talking words factory movie. But instead of teaching children to read using phonics (the system used by most schools) this simply displays the picture of an object, adds the word on the screen, then takes away the word while saying the word. And this is supposed to teach kids to read? Sure after watching it 5 times a day for 5 years they probably will recognize the words from the movie making it "appear" that they are reading but its not going to help them at all in reading words that aren't in the movie. If you want to hlep your child learn to read save your self some money and buy the LeapFrog movie at about 1/8th of the price. My daughter has learned a lot more from watching the talking words factory and playing with the leap frog fridge phonice and word whammer toys than she could ever learn with these movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+25points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
chicago
Um No!
Posted 05/16/2012
Well, memorizing is how we as people learn period. It's scientifically proven that you learn language and reading by memory, so with that being said the product does it's job. We are still talking about babies who have capacities of babies not adults......
0points
Customer Avatar
MN
Memorize
Posted 12/16/2011
yes this product do not totally reinforce phonics but it does help children to get started
on site words very well it did not take my child 5x a day for 5 years we used the program
just as educational entertainment (it's getting hard to come by on TV anymore# playing
one vid. once a day during rest time, alternating threw all 5 just on week days after about
2 months we desided to try the slide cards. Our son has full on autism and is 2 yrs old we were amazed he knew about 80% of all 5
sets. on the cards that he could not verbally say he acted them out like #touch your toes)
he would touch his toes.... now he did this without us saying the words or showing him the pic first.. weather it's reading or not he is getting the meaning of the words and that is just as important.... we also started using a phonics type program with it and he is doing great.
We also learned from this program how much our son really knew it's hard with autism when your child is pretty much non-verbal the vids. and the cards have sparked his speech in amazing ways....
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

Good value& concept, bad production quality

11/03/2010
By ,
Northern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this product at WalMart after contemplating this purchase from various outlets. I'd read on another site that a parent purchased it from WalMart at half the price as this other site and I quickly researched it and found that WalMart indded had the best value. [Kudos to WalMart!!]
The product itself in good. I have 2 toddlers and a newborn. My toddlers LOVE it. They sing, jump, and dance around. This product is supposed to be for young children, however, and my 5 month old shows no interest whatsoever - doesn't even look at the screen so its just about as good as just playing random talking CDs in the background.
The actual quality of the taping/production is DEFINITELY low budget. I'm not sure what they use all the money on! It's similar to watching a low budget film that stumbled on a good idea- you sometimes find it distracting when you're watching it because the quality of the production is so bad but you struggle to get past that because the concept is a good one.
The word choices and examples are a bit odd at times ("elephant" or "chimpanzee" for a newborn?) and i would love to have them include a small section with more common everyday words that they'll use in everyday speech added to it (I, the, off, on, hot, and, car, truck, etc). Keep the challenging words but add some simple ones that always come up so they can immediately feel like "champs!" I'm a grown person and I NEVER use chimpanzee in a sentence (which is why i just wrote it in THIS one!) [smile]
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+91points
Review 3 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

IT REALLY WORKS!!

04/01/2011
By ,
Moreno Valley, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was more than happy to pay $89 for the product that is advertised for over $200 on t.v. My 2-yr old daughter was already reading a few words after only 2 days! My 8 month old watches the videos for a little bit but loves it and my 2-yr old thinks the flash cards and books are a game and has fun doing them. The only thing missing from this product is the last disc (Your CHILD Can Read) and the accompanying books that go with it. We are doing just fine with the videos and flash cards/books. I am so impressed with the product because it really does what it says it will do. You must be an active participant and be involved but it is truly worth it to see your infant/toddler reading!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 4 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

Good product so far

08/03/2010
By ,
St Petersburg, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would give this product a higher rating but this product didn't include any directions for use so I had to do some additional searching online on how to use the product.
My 16 month old son has been watching these videos for a few weeks now. He asks to watch the videos often & enjoys watching them. As an educator (HS age) I had to check this product out. I don't quite think it's teaching him to "read" but it seems like he's learning word association so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 5 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

It does work!!

11/29/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product for my one year old daughter, who, at the time was not really talking much or recognizing a lot of words (which had me a little concerned!).
However, after watching the first video, she was saying the words, pointing to her nose, saying HI, and singing The Itsy Bitsy Spider, with the hand motions!
Then, video 2 teaches Head, Shoulders, Knees & Toes, as well as If You're Happy & You Know It... and she now sings the words AND does all of the motions. She also repeats all of the words on the TV.
Bottom-line: If your child is not easily distracted and will actually watch the videos, this will MOST CERTAINLY benefit and teach them. There are some questionable and stupid word choices like "FUN", which they try to show by "running", and that's confusing... Also words like chimpanzee, gorilla, and monkey- all in a row, which confuses a kid, and I wouldn't have picked those words.... That said, I do think it is very valuable overall, as you can teach your child the more common words like "cup" and "hot" (and they should already KNOW those!! If they don't, you're not doing YOUR job, sorry!) I will say that I had her watch volume ONE once a day for about 5 to 6 weeks before she caught on. However, she caught on much more quickly with Volumes 2 and 3, and we are already ready for 4.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 6 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

its okay

12/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its perfect it just needs better music and a less boring way of teaching the babies. my child pays attention but gets distracted about half way through. But I know it will pay off in the end.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 7 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

love it

09/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
had it for two weeks and watch a video once a day. my son has already memorized several words.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 8 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

EXCELLENT PRODUCT A+++++++++++++

09/21/2010
By ,
Palm Bay, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your baby can read is excellent! I started my son on it at 10 months old, he can now recognize and read over 50 words, and can recognize and name over 100 pictures and animals, as he is not even 2 years old yet! He loves reading books with me and playing word flash cards more then he likes playing with his toys. Although you may read a review that is disappointed that reading is taught through memorization not phonics, think about this... when you read as an adult, do you sound everything out? The answer is no. You read off of memorization. All the words you are reading you have memorized. Point being, this product works and is very effective. I rate it an A+++ all the way!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

something for learning

12/21/2010
By ,
Orlando Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good way to teach the way to read. As reading is the base to better education I would feel that this is a good way to start at a young age to develop reading slills.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 10 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

favorite learning tool

09/01/2010
By ,
oglesby, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My toddler grandchildren love these videos and the 18 month old's vocabulary is amazing. I started her using it at 6 mos. The slide and learn book and lift the flap books are wonderful. My one year old grandchild wants these videos every time she's at my house. We're still working on word recognition, but they know the objects and songs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

Keeps my baby boy occupied

10/12/2010
By ,
Hackensack, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The minute the CD plays the foot steps of a baby my son starts smiling. He likes watching this and especially the rhymes part. I'm not sure how much of it he really understands but I feel comfortable seeing him watch this CD than to watch the same cartoon from on-demand over and over again.
The best part is the price, though it is 1 CD short than the version thats sold on yourbabycanread website it is still a bargain as you can save more than $100. I'm comfortable with walmart return policy than buying it from other new websites.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

LOVE IT!

11/20/2010
By ,
Y
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is verbally behind his age group by two months and we have had this for about two weeks and even in that two weeks with missing a couple days his vocabulary has grown, his want to talk has increased and he really does enjoy watching it!
I enjoy watching it with him! We have such a fun time. I am currently pregnant and when it shows the word baby he points to my belly its just amazing and I am looking forward to using it for my daughter as well! It is really worth the price to have a learning system that actually works that they will enjoy, Once both my children are school age I plan on getting them the "your child can read" set as well!
We use it twice a day just for the duration of the DVD, we have not even started the cards yet and its still working. Just find your flow with your own child and I am sure it will work for you as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

Love this product!

05/27/2011
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter is 14 months and really can read the words we work on with her using this. She signs too which makes it easy to know it's working. When she sees the word, she will sign it if she can't SAY it yet. I recommend and encourage the use of this product, especially at this great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

more memorizing

11/28/2010
By ,
albany ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
my baby is 2, he does watch the videos, and do the cards, but it's more memorizing for him. however, for the price, it's a total bargain. and it does add words to their vocabulary
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit
09/27/2010
By ,
dallas,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter started watching the video 3 months before her 3rd birthday.She can read all the words on the flash cards when she turned 3 and by 3.5 years old she was reading "Brand New Readers"
books by herself. The earlier you start the better...100% recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
0points
Review 16 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

love IT

10/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ok so if u think ur child has a short attention spand, and its keeping u from buying the "your baby can read" DVDs DONT let that hold u back bc i have three kids,two i baby sit and my own, 4 yr old, 1 yr old, and 5 month old and their all learning things from this DVD!! and neither of them fully pay attention, but if u play it everyday at least twice a day, their GOING to ketch different parts of the DVD!!! i love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Review 17 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit
09/07/2010
By ,
el paso, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is great. it has all the items you will need to get your child involved and to begin reading. my 2 year old loves the flash cards. its only been 3weeks but she loves the comands from the video and has began to reconize some of the words.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

Has done wonders for my Autistic 2yr old Son

12/16/2011
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product does not totally reinforce phonics but it does help children to get started
on site words very well. it did not take my child long to learn the words we used the program
just as educational entertainment it's getting hard to come by on TV anymore playing
one vid. once a day during rest time, alternating threw all 5 just on week days after about
2 months we desided to try the slide cards. Our son has full on autism and is 2 yrs old
we were amazed he knew about 80% of all 5 sets. on the cards that he could not verbally say he acted them out like (touch your toes) he would touch his toes.... now he did this without us saying the words or showing him the pic first.. weather it's reading or not he is getting the meaning of the words and that is just as important.... we really only used this program in a very casual way when he seemed interested in watching the vids. or looking at the cards we did not push him or let him watch them over and over either as Autistic kids will sometimes do. We found Your Baby Can Read to be quite a break threw with our son, ya that A-ha moment with tears!!!! and everything. You parents of Autistic children know what I'm talking about. We also learned from this program how much our son really knew it's hard with autism when your child is pretty much non-verbal. The vids. and the cards have sparked his speech in amazing ways.... Some times I wonder what if we had not tried this program????
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

Best Gift EVER!!!

09/22/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received this as a gift and my girls watch the videos ever night before bed. it took only a few days of 20 minute learning for my girls who are 2 and 4 to learn these word. You aren't supposed to teach the phonics but my girls both know their letters and sounds so i teach it anyways. My 5 year old nephew actually was jealous of my daughter he asked to borrow set 1 which my daughter has excelled at in a week so i decided since his birthday is next month i am buying this for him. Totally recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for As Seen on TV Your Baby Can Read! 4-Level Kit

Wish Walmart had it sooner.

07/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 4 year old, who is starting to spell/sound out words, and thought it might speed the process. The videos are too boring for him though, since he's seen much more interesting programming at the old age of 4. He does like the flip books and slide cards though, and sometimes even requests them at bedtime. I would have bought it for him as a baby, but it was only available through the product site, and cost too much money. If you have a baby or toddler, I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next