Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nintendo Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nintendo Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies gives people of all ages, backgrounds and gaming experience levels a remarkable way to combine imaginative game play and social fun. Players begin by creating fully customized heroes to guide on their quest, choosing from different face, hair and even eye color. As they journey forth, characters are further developed and enhanced as they choose from more than 1,000 items and pieces of equipment, change jobs and abilities, and join up with new customizable companions. Using a local wireless connection, up to four players within range of each other can band together at any time to explore mysterious dungeons and tangle with fearsome monsters throughout a spellbinding world of adventure. In addition to a wireless multiplayer mode, Dragon Quest IX includes an interactive Tag Mode that allows players to keep the game active and communicating even while their Nintendo DS system is stored in their pocket, purse or backpack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%25 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

FUN!!!!

01/06/2011
By ,
Derry, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this game for Christmas and I've been playing it every free chance I get.
I love that I could design my character and give her (or him) any name I want. You can chose which weapons you want to equip and as you go through the levels, you can equip different stuff and actually see it on your character!
It's cute and fun! Great for any age!!! I love Akira Toriyama's artwork :D
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 2 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

One of the best RPGs to grace the DS.

08/21/2010
By ,
Ozark, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best (if not the best) RPGs I have ever played on any game console. The graphics are amazing for a DS game, and the music and sound effects are some of the best I've seen. What makes this game stand out over the rest of the Dragon Quest games (or any standard RPG) is there are no more random encounters. You can actually see the monsters. The monsters appear randomly and as long as you can avoid them, you have the option not to fight. This makes going from point A to point B very quick and easy. No more having to fight monsters every 3 or 4 steps like other RPGs. I would highly recommend this game to anyone looking for a long game with a great story.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 3 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

Dragon Quest IX Not your average RPG

07/28/2010
By ,
Georgetown, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dragon Quest IX: Sentinals of the Starry Skies for the Nintendo DS is more expansive than any of the Dragon Quests before it.
You are able to travel where ever you want to and not just on a set path. you may take on various quests (some may have to wait for later in the game though.) When you are able to have an Inn you may be able to use alchemy, check the DQVC, and travel to other Dragon Quest IX Players worlds and party with them. You and said new friends may even be able to be guests in each others inn and trade treasure maps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 4 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

A great title in the series

09/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinels of the Starry Skies is perhaps the best title in the Dragon Quest series to date, and definitely the best available for the DS. As a Dragon Quest fan, I was very pleased, and my only disappointment with the game was to see that there was only one save file.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 5 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

wow

08/17/2010
By ,
blaine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i was blown away i mean u can make your own character well from preset stuff but the graphics are good story is good maybe a little hard at some parts but you can get around them the one thing i don't like like is the ways to get different vocations but that's ok
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

Great video game

08/04/2010
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The game was priced just right, which made the game even more exciting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 7 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)
01/10/2012
By ,
Manteca,CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with my purchase it was delivered 2 days before the date promised.I asked my item to be pick up at the store.I was very pleased with the customer service on the pick up department,even knowing that was a very busy season(Christmas time)I did pick up my item in a couple of minutes.
Very pleased customer
Paulo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 8 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

My 11 year old enjoys the game.

08/15/2013
By ,
North Tonawanda, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son was asking for this game for weeks! I was finally able to get it for him, and go figure, the store was out! I am happy to say that we went to walmart.com and ordered on-line and had it shipped to the store. He is so pleased to finally have the game. He says he likes it, but wishes that the value of items that you buy would be worth more when you sell them. On the game you don't get that much when you sell them back! LOL, I had to explain how things in real life lose value the minute you buy it! Unfortunately this is the reality of real life. Overall he loves the game!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

One of the best

03/06/2011
By ,
Mount Vernon, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dragon Quest IX has a lot better graphics than any of the other Dragon Quest games for the DS. There are at least 100 hours of gameplay for any true RPG fan. Plus with the DQVC feature that is unlocked through gameplay the player can download extra quest for free using the Nintendo WiFi connection. A must have for any fan of Dragon Quest or RPGs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

SO MUCH FUN!

12/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for Christmas from my parents. It is a lot of fun. You can get stuck really easly though. The only thing I dont like is that the game is nothing like what they say it is, but still fun. It is an awesome game even if you dont particularly like adventure games!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

Just what he wanted!

12/27/2010
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this game for my son, age 10 1/2, for Christmas. He said he had heard it was like "Runescape" (an online game) for the DS. He has played it nonstop since he got it, and seems to love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 12 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

Happy Grandson

01/07/2011
By ,
Cleburne, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game was a Christmas present for my grandson and he played it almost all day. He loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 13 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

Interesting, but time consuming game

04/16/2013
By ,
Hamden, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is fun to play, but it take a long time to finish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

Best ds game ever

01/07/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Graphics arent half as bad as any other ds game. The gameplay is amazing for a ds game and is very addicting. i play this just as much as xbox360. I got to lv 33 in the first 3 days. (Not easy) in all, truly the best ds game there is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 15 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

Great game

04/25/2012
By ,
Saint Cloud, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you like RPGs, Adventure games, or just want a good portable quest, Dragon Quest 9 will not disapoint you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

great product

01/01/2011
By ,
connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my son received this for Christmas and he is really enjoying it. I would definitely recommend this video game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 17 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)

Good game

12/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 10yr old seems to enjoy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 18 for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)
01/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Sky
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (DS)
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5