Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Digital Multimeter - 10709

Generic Digital Multimeter - 10709

The Digital Multimeter is a five function analog multimeter and battery tester. This product is ideal for automotive home or shop use. It features 16 ranges. Complete operating instructions are included. The Digital Multimeter uses one "AA" battery, which is included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation89%17 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Great buy for a Pro or Beginner.

07/09/2012
By ,
East Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had asked a question about this product that didnt get answered. I had that Q answered when I went to Walmart to buy it. Told me on the packaging what I wanted to know. This meter does all I would ever want one to do. It is by far a better one than I was using, even though it did cost twice as much, the old one never was of this caliber. I had used a small pocket size digital for years and got fed up with the battery usage and the fact that its batts were the little wafer type. This 10709 Etech uses the common "Triple A" , easy to get anywhere and it functions very accurately. On the 2 VDC scale I am able to measure Radiator voltage down to the hundredth of a volt. Very useful along with the temperature probe (either in liquid or against a solid object). It does have the audible signal for continuity tests! Forget trying to buy expensive meters just to do the ordinary, or the high tech either, THIS METER will do most of it very well. For just under 20 bucks, I dont think you can beat it!! I have been in the automobile diagnosis business for more than 50 years and I highly recommend purchasing this 10709 Etech meter for your personal needs or for the pro in a shop!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
york,s.c
multimeter-10709
Posted 06/21/2014
yes im a little confused with it been a analog meter, will this meter be able to detect parasitic draw or drainage,thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Good value for the money

10/20/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a large collection of digital multimeters, ranging from several cheap $3.98 meters from Harbor Freight to several $350 Fluke 87 meters.
These meters have accumulated over a 40 year span as an electronics service tech.
This meter was purchased for show and tell at a club I belong to. I've checked it against my $350 Fluke meters, and it is well within accuracy specifications. I keep it in my tool box for club activities.
Is it as good as a Fluke? No it is not. But that Fluke meter sells for 15 times more than the Etek model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Excellent for the money

06/07/2013
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For working on my car and other odd jobs around the house, this multimeter is perfect. I've been using an analog multimeter from RadioShack for years, but I needed one which gave me digital readout in tenths and hundredths for my low voltage project, and this Etek 10709 fits perfectly. The very low price makes me wonder how accurate it is, but after testing on various batteries, it seems accurate enough. I've not tried the temperature probe yet. The build feels solid, the case is plastic, so it will probably break if dropped on a hard surface. But at this price, who cares? One thing I did discover is the display (which is easy to read) jumps around a lot unless you have a solid contact with what you're measuring. I found using clips helps it be stable. For all the bells and whistles this has, at this price, it's wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
york,s.c
multimeter 10709
Posted 06/21/2014
are all multimeters analog, thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Good Buy

09/04/2012
By ,
Oregonia, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, I know I'm and old cuss who still has to resist the temptation to call gadgets like this a VTVM (for you youngsters, that means Vacuum Tube Volt Meter), but this multimeter has all the functions most will ever use, from home handyman to service tech. An added feature that is pretty useful is the temperature probe, which comes in handy when trying to isolate just which component on a motherboard is overheating and causing your computer to crash. Overall, this thing works well and is worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Excellent Value

12/08/2012
By ,
Northwest Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good multimeter priced appropriately. I use this for general electronics work and I'm pleased with the accuracy. I doubt that the professionals out there would be satisfied with it, but then it's clearly at a consumer price point.
One thing to note - I accidently tested something I shouldn't have and blew the fuse. I was happy to see that the fuse is easily replaceable. On some "value" meters, the fuse is soldered directly to the board.
If I had it to do over, I'd buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Decent entry level meter

05/31/2013
By ,
Hutchinson, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first one I purchased had the continuity test tone continuously sounding, even without probes attached. I returned and exchanged it.
The replacement meter meets all my exceptions for this price-point, and exceeds many of them.
Whilst it's obviously not a high-end or professional meter, it is adequate for the average home owner, electronics hobbyist or auto troubleshooting.
As of this writing, the Walmart website incorrectly states "[the multimeter] uses one "AA" battery, which is included." This is incorrect, as the device uses two AAA batteries. Which are included.
The probes are of decent quality with ratings printed on them. The caps are not solidly retained, but are a nice included item. Test probes were somewhat difficult to insert but securely attach. Each probe is insert is fully shrouded for safety, eliminating the risk of accidental contact with them if not fully inserted. Safety.
The meter seems to be of solid construction. Batteries are easily accessible for replacement with one screw. The screw has a threaded metal insert, which I did not expect for a meter of this price point. As it is likely you will have to replace batteries more than a few times in it's life, this will save some pain. Self tapping screws into plain old plastic are fine for situations in which they are rarely, if ever, removed. However, for a battery compartment, this metal insert is a must!
If dropped, the device may suffer from the lack of a distinct protective enclosure or rubberized armor. The outer yellow case does offer some protection, but I would recommend avoiding dropping it, just in case. (like that's going to be possible)
Inclusion of the temperature function and probe is nice, whilst not a necessity or something I would commonly use. My initial testing showed it to be reasonably accurate, although somewhat unstable in the reading. Again, a nice feature for this price point, however.
The non-contact voltage detection is a good feature and functioned as expected. I would not recommend using this meter in lieu of a dedicated voltage probe for safety. They are cheap enough that you should have one if you plan to do much (or any) work on AC wiring. Better to spend a few dollars than to die saving them. Just my opinion.
Another great feature is the large display with backlight. The numbers are clear and distinct and the amber colored backlight is not overbearing, whilst adequately illuminating the display. Onscreen range indicators are small and easy to overlook. As with any manual ranging multimeter, care should always be taken to ensure the proper selection to avoid damage and or injury.
The included carry "case" (bag) is adequate, especially for a sub $20 meter.
I've surely overlooked several things, but that is my initial impression. I would recommend this meter for the price, features and quality. You really cannot ask for more at $20 or less. Compared to the $3-10 junk meters, this is an exceptional device. Compared to the $400 advanced meters, it is still adequate for general use. It's likely that if you need a $400 meter, you would not be considering this one and already know that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Great multimeter

04/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This multimeter is outstanding. It is extremely accurate. If you're on a budget, you cannot go wrong purchasing this. You won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Feature rich but lousy leads

02/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The product is feature rich but one big problem with it is that the test leads don't fit snuggly into the unit and remain loose... How can one make a rekiable measurement with loose connections?!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

cheap and multifunctional

05/08/2014
By ,
Carbondale, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It exceeds my expectation! Wonderful product!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Great

11/20/2013
By ,
Ffanklin, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does just what I was lookinhg for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

continuity buzzer wont go off.

01/12/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got this meter home and put the batteries in, tested a few batteries voltages and did continuity test and it worked fine. Within 20 minutes the continuity buzzer would not go off when switched to continuity tester. Going to return this meter for a new one and see if the problem is solved. Good value for all the functions it has.... only if it works tho.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Digital Multimeter - 10709
09/26/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing functionality per price. Temperature sensor comes as a separate cord that you plug in.
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Great for the Bucks

08/19/2013
By ,
Winnipeg MB
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't used it much, but I do love the no touch volt meter. Over the years I have paid more for less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

I liked It

01/08/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really can't give an honest review of this item because i gave it to someone for a gift. But I can tell you that I wouldn't have minded owning it myself. I almost wanted to buy them something else. From what I saw off it, it seemed pretty well made. And it had a real nice range for measuring ohm. It even had a flashlight built into the end of it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Great digital multimeter for the price

01/17/2013
By ,
Homestead
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually I have several multimeter, I like this because it has too many options added, for example, it includes the temperature measurement, indication of voltage without cables, etc. Thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Digital Multimeter - 10709

Nice product

01/31/2013
By ,
Englewood, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has alot of features and is easy to use. I would recommend this product based on features and price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Digital Multimeter - 10709
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5