Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wagan Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Wagan Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

The Wagan 2017 Solar Power Battery Charger is an easy and maintenance-free way to keep your car battery charged and ready for use whenever you need it. Plug this charger into your car's 12v DC cigarette lighter socket and leave the solar panel on the dashboard or where it can absorb direct light. The solar cells on the panel will use solar energy to charge your battery. Its LED blinks to indicate when it is charging. The solar panel on this charger has high-efficiency mono-crystalline cells embedded in transparent vinyl acetate behind tempered glass, which work efficiently even on cloudy days. The 12v solar powered car battery charger is water resistant, scratchproof. It is an excellent battery maintainer that will keep a battery topped off when the vehicle is not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.419 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation61%19 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Works as advertised

02/13/2011
By ,
Willamette Valley, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger provides a trickle of energy that will keep your car battery topped-off with enough power to start your car -- as long as you drive it every 24-hours. Depending on what type of problem is causing your battery to drain when the engine is off, you will still have to drive your car regularly to fully re-charge the battery.
In my experience, the trouble lights on my dashboard will not turn off, ever. That small amount of energy drain was enough to leave me with a battery too weak to turn the engine over. After a jump-start and a 40-minute drive, I put the Wagan Charger on my dash, parked the car in a position where it would get the maximum amount of sunlight during the day, and plugged the charger into my car's power outlet (the old "cigarette lighter" outlet.)
When I went out to start my car the next day, the Charger's red LED light was blinking, and the car started with no problem. I discovered, however, that I needed to take my car for a spin AT LEAST ONCE EVERY 24-HOURS, or the battery would drain away. I skipped one day of driving, and my battery was stone-cold dead the following day.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Motorcycle charger

02/07/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This charger has a long cord about 8-10 feet. I have a trailer I keep my bike in. The panel can be mounted like a slotted key hole but I sat mine on the roof and ran the wire through the side door and inserted in my power outlet. No more removing seat and battery cover to jump it off during bad riding months. My battery would only "click" the starter and two days later it had enough charge to start. Really surprised me as it is not intended to recharge battery just maintain charge. Overall works great. Great price too. Found similar charger on china import website and was same price. Would like to see optional alligator clips for direct battery applications such as lawn mowers, ATV, autos with switched outlets, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

No blocking diode!

11/03/2013
By ,
Durham, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The solar array doesnt have a blocking diode in it... a 4 cent, IN4007 diode would have kept this from draining everyone's batteries by preventing the electricity from flowing backwards through the system at night/low light when the solar array wasnt forcing power through the system... but they couldnt be bothered to do that. So it kills your battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

solar...

10/27/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
a more of a vehicle/car battery maintainer.
if you have a plan on storing your vehicle/car or will not use it for a longer period, this one is good. it keeps the battery charged and you will never have to worry restarting the engine.
pls note, this will never charge a dead battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Didn't seem to work

08/26/2011
By ,
Clarksville, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this to keep my boat battery charged. Hooked it up for the first time exposed to full sunlight. Came back a week later and my battery was too weak to crank the engine.
I usually unhook the radio wire so the radio clock/preset current won't slowly drain the battery. I figured that the solar charger would be enough to compensate for this small draw without having to disconnect the radio every time, but apparently the charger doesn't have enough output to even keep the time set on the radio. Either that or it is actually draining the battery. Anyway, it's not doing what I bought it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Improved solar cell, misleading light

12/03/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The solar cells are protected from breaking better then the one I just broke. The blinking light only means "charge" as in the panel is getting sun, it shows nothing about whether or not current is going to your battery, (misleading description). I put in my own circuit to indicate when current is actually going to the battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Aguanga, CA
Indicator light!
Posted 01/27/2014
Product write up indicates that the charging light blinks when the battery is charging. Not true. The indicator light blinks when the panel is receiving light so you can't tell if the battery is actually being charged. Not a good feature. I'm taking it back.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Don't Buy It

12/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the led on the charger flashes saying it's working, gets a minimum of 8-10 hours of direct sunlight (I live in San Diego) but I didn't notice ANY difference in the charge of my battery on my seldom used vehicle. I'm returning it...don't buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Exceeds Expectations

12/17/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used to Maintain classic car battery while in storage. Measured 20 volts and 4.5 amps on a sunny day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sacramento
Complete connection
Posted 03/30/2014
This product will not work on a car that has the cigarette lighter connected to the key switch. As my 2001 Honda CR-V is controlled by the ignition switch so the battery will not charge. As it is a open circuit and not as closed circuit. So you must have a cigarette lighter that has voltage to it even with the ignition switch off.
0points
Customer Avatar
hmm
Posted 02/01/2014
Same post as the other charger same output and amps...except that one is for your welder/generator
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Don't waste your time and money

03/14/2012
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product did not work at all. The indicator light flashed for 1 second on first use and then never again. Total disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Maybe a good idea

08/15/2011
By ,
Lincoln, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is something that I would have liked to use, but my car's 12V slot requires a key
in the ignition. Have not used, but will keep.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

did not last the weekend

10/13/2012
By ,
gulf coast,fl.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recieved the charger took it out of the box,, saw that the red LED was flashing and pluged it in to my lighter and left it on the dash.Checked it after a couple of days and the light was not flashing.Took it apart to check for loose or broken wires,and found none.Checked the LED on another charger and it would flash,so it is the charger,not the LED being burnt.For all I know the thing did not last 5 minutes!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger
10/31/2012
By ,
Pleasanton,Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to operate and reasonable cost Perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Matches what is described

09/09/2012
By ,
Canfield, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works well and does what I expected it to
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Not good

02/25/2012
By ,
La Mesa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I plugged the battery charger up in my truck so it could charge the battery.
I let it charge for 1 week. When I tried to start my truck the battery was more
dead than before.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oklahoma City
Posted 08/26/2012
Was the battery already dead?? I don't think this will charge a dead battery..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Working great so far

08/31/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almost a weeks I have this wonderful product and yesterday I have checked my car working wonderful. Great so far. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Maybe I just was unlucky and got a rare lemon.

05/20/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maybe I just got a lemon and the solar panel works fine otherwise. The one I received didn't charge my battery but discharged it within a week or less despite being in a sunny state. I hated to have to send it back and won't go for a replacement even so it would've been the cheapest, easiest and most economic way to keep my battery topped. So I'm back to the wired trickle charger/maintainer which runs from a 120 V outlet for now and maybe I give it another try at some point with the same (if I find out that it worked fine for other customers) or try another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

best buy

07/10/2012
By ,
knowville, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After the panel was bought, I was waiting on a friend for an hour or so, popped the panel into the sun side of my van and listened to the radio, even had a fan going the whole time. Van started up just fine. would be great for tailgating, sporting events and camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger
11/17/2012
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only draw back I have is you can't connect it directely to the battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

So far , so good!

06/11/2013
By ,
Augusta ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this little solar charger to help keep my infrequently used car battery topped up...and it has worked.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger

Drained my battery!

08/25/2012
By ,
Blacksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product drained my battery instead of charging it. So I took it back!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next