Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

This Magnavox DVD player features virtual surround capability for excellent audio when used with your home theater system. A slow motion function keeps you from missing any action. Skip, pause and resume play functions allow you to fully control your DVD. Includes a remote control and features parental lock.
Average Customer Rating:
4.01 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(195 Reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
39
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation81%158 out of 195reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
39
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

Don't waste your time.

07/20/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to replace an old failed APEX unit. This Magnavox player either won’t play DVDs past the Menu or it plays for a few minutes and locks up. After that, the only way I could get the player to respond to any remote control buttons or buttons on the unit itself was to shut off the power and turn it back on. I tried a half a dozen DVDs including a new one, all with the same results. If the DVD will play and plays long enough the picture will lock up. The manufacturer instructions warn the player may produce occasional digitized pictures for a moment?! Even if I could have gotten the player to play DVDs all the way through, why would they think I would except digitized picture conditions right out of the box? Warning me in the instructions justifies their presumption the consumer should accept this problem? I would dare them to post that condition on the outside of the box. I boxed it back up and returned it to the store for a refund. I would compliment Walmart for a hassle free return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 2 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

Great for Kids!

09/09/2010
By ,
Harlingen, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved the value to this product. I bought it for my kids and it has taken MUCH abuse over the years...it still keeps on ticking. We bought it back in 2007 for my daughter, but now her and my 2 year old use it for their movies. Very helpful...we have our TV back and it is very easy for kids to operate. There are not too many buttons for them to get confused over. It is also not too sensitive. It plays scratched DVDs too!!! I would recommend it to anyone. Even if we had to buy another one, we have gotten our use from this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+73points
Review 3 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

Great product, easy to use and very affordable.

02/04/2011
By ,
Bloomington, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted a DVD player that simply played DVDs period and nothing else. This player does this very well and didn't cost me an arm and a leg. It is also very easy to operate and doesn't take up much space. A very good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+54points
Review 4 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black
08/26/2010
By ,
Marcy, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We use these in a bank of DVDs to run our video arcade system. They run 16 hours a day, and 24 hours on weekends, so they see a lot of service. We date each one when placed in the system, and keep track of how long they last. For the value, we have never found any other brand to come close to price and durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+165points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
24354
Wonderful product
Posted 05/22/2012
I used to own a Magnavox DVD Player 4 years ago before I moved to Florida in 2008. I love these DVD Players. They are awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But seriously, all jokes aside, I love these DVD Players! A must have for any DVD fan.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

You don't even get what you pay for!

11/24/2011
By ,
Port Angeles, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't be tempted by the low price tag! I bought this 4 months ago and from the first DVD, it's been a challenge to get through an entire movie without the player getting stuck. It's gotten to the point that I'm constantly waiting for my movie to skip and finally stop and I can't really enjoy my 'me time'. Then comes the routine of; wait a few minutes (sometimes it unsticks itself), press 'Stop' and then 'Play' (which rarely EVER works), 'Fast Forward', and finally go to the DVD's Main Menu...figure out what scene I was on...and go to the NEXT scene...hoping I don't miss out on too much of the movie where the player is having an issue. Again, this happens with 90% of my movies. Should have taken it back, but thought it just didn't like 'previously viewed' movies (which made up a majority of my movies when I first bought the player) but sales have enabled me to get brand new movies and the same happens. SO fed up! Have to spend MORE money on another one! >:{
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 6 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

Wonderful Inexpensive DVD Player

12/25/2010
By ,
Murfreesboro,TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this item, so far I've bought 6, I own 3 myself and the others I gave as gifts. I bought the 1st one 2 years ago and it and the others are playing beautifully. Great value for a low price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Review 7 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

Great Value

04/06/2012
By ,
Ozarks, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice compact DVD player. Great if you don't have a lot of room for a full size or full size slim line player.
It's extremely fast, plays every dvd I've tried (zone 1) even ones that my more expensive player skips and studders on. One thing you'll notice is there is no display on the unit. Not a major for me. It does have an on-screen on if you wish to see it. There's actually 4 different ones available.
If you have an RV / Trailer it's perfect for the kids or if you are very limited on space. It's not much bigger than a medium sized book!
One thing I REALLY like is I can actually stop the movie. Power if off and come back the next day and it will resume right where I stopped! Just hit "stop" one time. So far I've only owned it for a week but I've put in over 10 DVD's (normal ones) and not a single malfunction yet. I'll come back after a few months and post another review.
I'd definitely recommend this player to anyone looking for a normal, in-expensive unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

Great value

11/27/2011
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a cheap but dependable DVD player to use in my travel trailer, which is used mainly on weekends. I saw this player for a little over twenty bucks, and the reviews were mostly positive, so decided to buy one. After five or six weekends of use, the picure started to freeze intermittently. I tried other dvd's-same problem, so I took it back. I considered trying a different brand, but decided not to, figuring what are the odds I get two lemons in a row. The second one has worked flawlessly-I have used it for two summers now. It has some great features-the slow motion has four speeds, and it plays back the small mini-dvd's used in camcorders (DVD-R, and DVD-RW), and it is very user friendly. For the money, this is an excellent player; defnitely not for use with an expensive home theater system, but perfect for bedroom, camper, etc. I highly recommend this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 9 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

Lasted 7 months

09/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit died after 7 months. It has a 12 month warranty but Wal-Mart won't take it back after 90 days. I called Magnavox support and wasted 20 minutes. They just gave me another number to call Funai support. Funai are only open Mon. - Fri. 8:30 - 5:30. For the sake of $29, it was easier to just pay the money and replace it.
It's a basic unit but it did the job... until it died. The only reason I bought a cheap brand was because it had to fit in a very small space. It's hard to find these smaller sized units. The only manufacturers still making them are cheap. I've had at least 6 different makes/models of compact DVD players and they last only last 6-14 months. On the other hand, my full size DVD players (that get more use) seem to last forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 10 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

Doesn't play burned DVD's

05/16/2011
By ,
Warr Acres, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would be a great player to play my DVD's on. It turned out I was wrong because I have a lot of burned DVD's, and this player does not play them. Going to return the player tomorrow and get a better one in a few days, hopefully.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tazewell
I Disagree
Posted 11/25/2011
This player plays every burnt dvd or cd I have ever tried in it (and I have 1200+). Plays them all flawlessly. You must keep in mind that the program you use to do your burning plays a huge part in the compatibility department. My advice to others who are seeking to play burnt discs is to give this one a shot, because the price can't be beat, and if it doesn't work, simply return it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

Not for heavy users...

01/15/2011
By ,
GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I watch a LOT of films, at least 2 per night. Generally, a DVD player will last me ~2 years. I picked this cheap one up after my last one died, and it has lasted only 2-3 months. That's it. Data started becoming corrupted (like a satellite signal during a storm) and will no longer successfully play any DVD. Perhaps it's meant for the occasional viewer, but i wouldn't trust it, not to mention the fact that there is no display: while watching something, you have no idea how far along you are in the film, and in the event you eject the film before finishing it, you have no way to know where exactly you stopped, with neither run time nor chapter.
So, if you need something quick and cheap to play the occasional DVD, go for it. Otherwise avoid.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 12 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

does what I was hopping it would

07/15/2010
By ,
Shelley, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Sonny DVD player and it would skip on the smallest scratch. This one will play through anything. I am very pleased. And this cost a whole lot cheaper then a Sonny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 13 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

Good Value

07/31/2010
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product has done very well. It had been dropped (alot) and kept on ticking. The player only failed, because my spouse stepped on it. I have a much more expensive dvd player and it didn't even come close to lasting as long as this one did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 14 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

Cheap and not a great quality

08/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had so many problems with this DVD player. The first I bought just stopped working and wouldn't turn on so I bought a new one and I have had this less than 6 months and it broke on me again. It turns on but won't play DVDs or recognize anything. This player has cost me more on buying one right after the other. I will never buy this product again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 15 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

great service-great value

01/30/2011
By ,
Ladson,SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no frills-just does exactly what I wanted-great basic dvd player-at a steal-and very helpful customer service-I love Waly-World-this was my first online purchase and it met all my expectations for Wal-Mart service and value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black
01/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
Performs beyond expectations
Would purchase again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

I have not had luck

11/29/2010
By ,
Sulphur Springs, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am writing this because I read reviews before I buy online. However, I have read the reviews of this DVD and all seemed to be good, so I got one for me and one for a friend. Mine worked for about 2 weeks and just quit playing DVD's. I talked to my friend and hers was not working right either. So, I packaged mine back up and exchanged it for a new one. I have had the new one about a couple of months now and it has quit working. One day it worked-- the next it doesn't. I have tried different DVD's and still nothing. So, I give up. Going to trash this and buy a Sony or something. Most all DVD players are inexpensive now, so if I were you, I would go ahead and spend just a few dollars more and get a different model/brand. This is just not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 18 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

The warranty says it all!

04/05/2011
By ,
Vermont, Il
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this dvd player for my daughter last Christmas. She tried to use it over the weekend and it wouldn't turn on. I called the 1800number on the dvd player. The guy was kinda helpful, though he had me do everything I had already tried. He then told me I could have it serviced. HaHa in Chicago. I asked "you don't have a replacement warranty?" He said well yes but the warranty is only for 90 days. Hilarious. I wouldn't reccomend this dvd player because they won't stand behind their product for more than 3 months! A dvd player should last for more than a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 19 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

DVD player

04/05/2011
By ,
Lake Havasu City, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price this is a fine machine. People that like to travel in RV'S might find this small and light recorder just what they need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 20 for Magnavox MDV2100/F7 DVD Player, Piano Black

good bargain

03/04/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've had our doubts about buying a cheap dvd but it was a good buy. Works well, easy to use, lightweight and durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
1-20 of 162 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next