Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

Nostalgia PCM-805 Cotton Candy Maker transforms your favorite hard candies into fluffy, yummy, melt in your mouth cotton candy. If you want to go in for a low calorie or low sugar treat then you can use sugar free candies. Even people with dietary restrictions can enjoy the cotton candy. This sugar free cotton candy maker is very simple and easy to use. Just plug in or turn on and start pouring yummy candies or standard cotton candy sugar into the centre receptacle to spin the colorful and tasty treats. The candy maker makes cotton candy with hard candy, sugar free candy or even standard cotton candy sugar. The cotton candy flows quickly as the unit heats up. The Nostalgia candy maker is made of translucent plastic and can be disassembled easily for cleaning. The Nostalgia PCM-805 Cotton Candy Maker comes with 2 plastic cotton candy cones on a whole, this Nostalgia cotton candy maker is an excellent treat for both adults and children.
Average Customer Rating:
4.23 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation84%73 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 53 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

great product for the price..

07/11/2012
By ,
mathis, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
machine states to only use 1 tbsp, which honestly makes about 1 good size cotton candy.. also purchased the sugar kit as shown in picture, the machine has to get hot before you can use it.. we bought it for my little girl's party, but opened it before to try it out first.. so far so good. the party is this weekend and we will have to make some cotton candy before the party starts..
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

Not for a crowd but, gets the job done!

05/30/2011
By ,
S.E. Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought it on a whim when there were no machines left to rent at the party rentall places in town. It works! It is a little slow. I wouldn't recommend it for a large group, but very nice when you are just needing a small amount. I love that you can use hard candy, instead of sugar. If you get the suger from the party rental place, you have to buy a large carton for about $13 and you'd have to spend a fortune to get multiple flavors. With this machine you can buy a variety bag of hard candies for less than $3 and have a large selection of flavors. My son loved the root beer! I love that you can use sugar-free candy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

I Love It!

12/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great machine because instead of buying the special cotton candy sugar you can use hard candy. Which is great and saves me money. It makes great cotton candy! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

Great for family use

01/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife is a cotton candy junkie and I bought this for her as a present.
First of all, if you expect this to be just like the cotton candy machines you see at the fair, forget it. Those are commercial machines designed to make a lot of candy for large crowds and to make it fast. This is a home machine. It does exactly what it was designed to do and it does it pretty well.
The head is heated by two quartz elements. The manual says it takes five minutes to heat but make that at least five minutes. Give it eight to ten minutes to fully heat up, cut the machine off and put in the candy, cotton candy floss or sugar, turn it back on and you're good to go.
The machine produces a fair amount of floss quickly and then tapers off. If you want bigger cones, cut it off, refill and go again.
A decent size cone can take a few minutes to make but the end product is genuine cotton candy.
Some reviews have said you can't use regular sugar or it will ruin the machine. That's a silly statement. Cotton candy is nothing but spun sugar. Using regular sugar yields a very nice textured and fluffy candy. To add flavor, crush up your favorite hard candy and mix with the sugar. Experiment with the ratios to of sugar to crushed candy to find the flavor you want. My wife likes spearmint. I like cinnamon. The possibilities are pretty much unlimited.
The machine is easy to clean with no more than warm water and a dish rag. The head should be periodically cleaned by soaking it in hot-warm water for 10 or 15 minutes.
I have experience with larger machines and they're great. They also cost at least 4 times what this one sells for. For home use by a family, this is really a nice little unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

My Niece Loves this!

01/05/2011
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my niece, she and her friends have so much fun with it. They can use any hard candy with it so they don't have to buy special products for it. This allows her to come up with all kinds of flavors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

WOW!

11/26/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like many others, I read the reviews on this product and decided to get it despite some bad reviews. This thing is pretty awesome! I've tried many types of candy in this, some work, others don't. The one's that work very well are really sugary hard candies. Lifesavers work great! Old fashioned rootbeer & apple drops work great too. Jolly ranchers work as well, but they have a scratchy looking texture. Rock candy & dum dums do NOT work. Feel free to experiment.. afterall, its just sugar... if it doesn't spin the candy, then just wash it out and try again later. I do have a few things to say about this item, it's great for a once in awhile use, however, using it ALOT causes candy to burn on the metal plate, this is pretty hard to get off. I soaked mine in oven cleaner and it came right off [however, I did have to soak it for a day or so to make sure the oven cleaner was off it]. Next thing on the list is that I found that the candy didn't spin on the sides for me, but rather a web over the top.. so.. instead of going around the barrel to collect, I just hold my stick ABOVE the metal plate and twist with my wrist. Perfect candy! I also used this for my work, you can make additional cones out of paper or cardstock [both work, but if you're going to use paper, you might need to make the cone a little tighter. My machine only takes 3-4 minutes to heat up, its pretty quiet, although, sometimes if the lid is slightly off centered it rattles. I've had a great time with this machine and I'm very glad I bought it. Oh, one last thing. For those folks having trouble getting candy to spin, here are some tips. CRUSH candies work best, spaced evenly on the heated plate. If you don't want to crush them, you can place two candies opposite of each other. Basically, if the dish isn't balanced when its spinning, you won't get much of a result. Lastly, when you pickup your machine, I would suggest you get one of those big bags of lifesavers with the 24 flavors [or however many they have]. Mix and match flavors! My favorite cotton candy is lifesavers banana! YUM!
Overall, this is a great machine. I feel that many of the bad reviews are from folks who may have only tried 1 type of candy that wasn't sugary, or.. perhaps it was user error [like offsetting the balance of the plate]. I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

Great Product!!!!

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little concerned about buying this product but it works great and using hard candy gives a great flavor to your cotton candy!!! It doesn't make a lot but we added a tables spoon of sugar in with two jolly rancher pieces and it made more and still tasted good.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

Fun Times

01/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The kids have lots of fun making different flavors, well worth the price, it made cotton candy the way you use to get it at theme parks, FRESH.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

No Replacement Parts (Heat Bulb) Available :(

08/28/2012
By ,
Bentonville, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My 6 year old daugther LOVES this machine! However, when the bulbs went out, which is how the unit heats up, I called the customer service number in the owner manual, sat on hold for several minutes, so I filled out the online form on their website. I inquired about getting a replacement bulb because without the bulb, the unit is useless. I was told that a replacement was not available...what? There is nothing else wrong with the machine. We have had it less than a year and that is the only thing wrong with it...no bulb and you can't get replacement parts? Especially one of the main parts to make it work? Other than this hang up which now renders the machine useless, my daughter LOVES this machine. We made cotton candy at least twice a month if not more. However, now she is sad that we will not be able to use it again even though a $1-2 part would make it useable again. I would recommend this machine to anyone! Fun Times and Love the results...But since I can't get a new bulb for this item, there is no way I can give it a 5 star rating based on the feedback that I received from the company customer service.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indiana
Not heating up
Posted 09/29/2013
I'm faced with basically the exact situation. Less than a year, my kid loves it, and the bulb won't heat up. Calling Customer Service tomorrow and have a feeling I'm going to be even more disappointed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805
01/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the most fun great for family entertainment. easy to clean and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

LOVE IT!!

06/06/2011
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews and went with this since it had good reviews. I tried it out and it works great. I like being able to use sugar free candy so it doesn't hype up the kids. So far it has been a blast. Once it heats up you just keep adding candy and keep making it. I like that it has the two plastic cones so you don't have to keep buying them. I need to practice more on how to wind it up on the stick but that is just practice. Some people complained the it made to little. Well it does make a little but come on, you are only using 2 candies. What do you expect. The only negative and that is not negative but it is NO fun to clean up. LOL Too much fun!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

Detailed description of a good product:

11/20/2012
By ,
MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Okay, I've heard that small cotton candy machines never work well but this little model really surprized me! The cotton candy is not as perfect as the professionals, but it's still really good. The directions were short and simple. It did not come with sugar or candy, so we picked up a bag of life savers hard candies, which worked great. Kids need some adult help or supervision, because the cup that you put the sugar or candies into gets hot (obviously, since it has to melt the sugar# and kids may touch it and get burned. We have enjoyed ours, which was a birthday present for my 10 year old son and has worked perfectly every time as long as we:
1. Turn it on for about five minutes to heat up before starting the first batch, as the directions say to do #with the cup empty#
2. Have the sugar ready to put in the cup for the following batches as quickly as possible; if the unit is left to cool for very long between batches it makes the cotton candy come out like easter grass #it needs to be hot before you start a batch#
3. We used life savers and the flavors were really strong. You need hard candies, not chewy ones, unless you have the flossing sugar kit. Two life savers candies, broken or not, only took about a minute to go through the machine and turned out to be ball of cotton candy approximately the size of a large man's fist.
Clean up was really easy. The two plastic pieces that make up the bowl came off easily, as did the cup that the sugar goes into #just wait 'til that part is cool before you handle it) and you can soak them in a sink of warm soapy water. The sugar disolves off without any work or scrubbing, so all you have to do is wait, then rinse. I gave the surface of the machine a wipe with a paper towel and it came clean easily, too. I'm getting more of these for nieces and nefews for Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

Kids love this!!

07/28/2011
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids went together and paid for this. They had a ball for the first couple weeks, eating cotton candy constantly. Which, seeing how one stick is only 1 hard candy, isn't bad. They got it out during a small family gathering, and it held up to the many flavors everyone wanted! (think about how many flavors are in a bag of Dum Dums). All in all, I stil hesitate at the price, but guess it was worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

interesting

12/28/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is not quite what I expected. You use hard candy that creates the cotton candy! It comes with plastic cones that are reuseable, which is good. The candy melts which makes the cotton candy web. You have to put the cones in the machine and swirl the cotton candy around it. So far, so good. It is entertaining to watch the cotton candy being made. We have only made peppermint cotton candy because we had candy canes on hand during Christmas but will get other types of hard candy to make it interesting!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

good machine

09/06/2011
By ,
El Dorado Hills, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this machine and so do my kids. It is best suited for home use and your kids. It doesn't make huge amounts of cotton candy but it's only $40. I've only used Floss Sugar from Smart and Final and it works pretty good. Clean up is not too bad. We pull it out when we have guests and it's always a hit. I like cotton candy and if you do too, then I definitely recommend this product. You don't use it everyday, just like the Sno Cone machine which I totally recommend, too. I really love both these products by Nostalgia and highly recommend them. I have four kids and they love them. They are so good that I'd highly recommend them as gifts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

lots of fun!

10/03/2011
By ,
wadsworth ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my daughters 13th birthday....she squealed when she opened it and went right to making the candy...only took a few "oops", and now she's a pro! (we learned you really DO have to let it warm up!) I had purchased beforehand a large amount of hard candy (the harder, the better!) so her and her friends had hours of making flavor after flavor. highly recommended for lots of fun!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

Good Enough For Me

10/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it and bought some hard candies to make some when I got home and the first time I tried it didn't make the best cotton candy at all.That's when I figured out that I just wasn't good at collecting it properly so after a couple of makes I got a good amount of candy.It doesn't make alot but what do you think this small machine makes?When you make it you have to be very careful because sometimes it's a small amount then sometimes it's more than you've ever got.I would prefer this product.Love it and is easy to clean so you can use it again!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

Makes tasty cotton candy from sugar free candy.

08/05/2011
By ,
Detroit, MI area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Machine looks good and works great. Cotton candy made from sugar free hard candy tastes great. The only drawback I found is that the metal spinner unit that holds the candy is very difficult to remove for cleaning. Other than that it is the perfect at home cotton candy machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

good

12/30/2010
By ,
Hawkinsville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have only used this cotton candy machine a couple time. So far it works very well, doesn't make cotton candy very fast but does the job. Kids really enjoyed it. We haven't used hard candy yet, only cotton candy floss....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics Hard & Sugar-Free Candy Cotton Candy Maker, PCM805

Didn't meet expectations

08/10/2011
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read the reviews on this website then looked up some videos on youtube, I was really excited to get my product and have some fun. I was disappointed with the first use. it's easy to make, and fun to watch but the amount of candy that came out was a big let down. I wasn't expecting large fluffs at all, but there was a minuscule amount. The second use yielded a slightly greater amount. The cotton candy that forms isn't the fluffy, pull apart kind you get at the store or a fair, but rather a hard, stick to your everything kind. I'm keeping it, but I'm a little disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next