Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

The Nostalgia Electrics ICMP400BLUE 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker provides a homemade ice cream experience with modern convenience. Simply place the aluminum canister filled with ingredients in the center of the bucket, layer the plastic bucket with ice and salt and the electric motor does the churning for you. Soon, delicious ice cream is ready to serve! This ice cream maker produces up to 4 quarts of ice cream per batch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(287 Reviews) 246
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
194
4 stars
64
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation93%266 out of 287reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 214 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
194
4 stars
64
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Nostaligia icecream maker

12/14/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this on sale so the price was good otherwise i think it is on expensive side. I cqnnot think of anyone using on daily basis. I bought as fun for the kids. Everythig is plastic so handle gently and with care otherwise if something breaks it will be useless. So for durability can't say as I have used only once and owned for a week that how ling the motor will last. There is on ON/OFF button so just plug and it starts.
Comes with a booklet having some recipes. We used the first, the simplest to ckeck the working and how the icecream would turn out and it was all good. Use the guidelines for ice and salt and setup and have fun. It takes 30-40 minutes of running time and then freeze the icecream for harder consistency. I believe anything could be made. I make mango milk shake and kids love that so next time after crushing the mango with milk I will put the mixture in this and make an icecream.
The motor turns the canister not the dasher, so it produces more sound when the outside canister rubs against ice and salt. If it is the otherway, I think the noise could be reduced. In this icecream making keeping the contents cold is the key so use real cold ice and water mixture to keep the icecream cold while churning. We all liked the icecream and kids loved and gathered to see the whole process. Fill the bucket with ice according to the volume in canister. Have fun and enjoy home made icecream
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

great for homemade ice cream

06/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this ice cream maker to make sugar-free ice cream. We have only used it once so far, but the machine worked fine making the ice cream. We had tried the kind of makers that use a frozen bowl instead of ice, but that one didn't work very well. The bowl didn't stay cold enough to freeze the mix. So, we went back to a regular style of machine with ice. The results were just what we were expecting too.
We had also looked at the makers with the wooden buckets. Those were more expensive though for the same size machine. We like the plastic bucket with this one because cleanup was very easy - just rinse the bucket out.
Another nice feature of this machine is the clear top to the canister. It allows the ice cream to be seen while it is mixing so you can have a better idea of when it is done.
The only part we wish would be better is how the motor mounts to the bucket. It fits into two slots on the top of the bucket that can be a bit of a challenge to insert. Otherwise, we really like the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Great Ice Cream Maker

09/02/2014
By ,
Columbus, Oh.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading a few reviews I decided to buy this ice cream maker and am glad I did, becuase it works great. I'd like to address some of the issues the other reviews had.
1) Ice cream comes out like soft serve. I'm. Not sure if people don't read instructions, but it very clearly states that the ice cream will come out that way and will need to be in the freezer for 4 hours afterwards. Even my ice cream cookbook (which is not associated with the ice cream maker) states that all of the recipes need to frozen for at least 4 hours.
2) The ice cream maker is loud. It's a metal cylinder scraping against ice, so it's going to make noise.
Overall, if you read the instructions and use common sense, you shouldn't have any problems with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Good for first-time ice cream makers; fun to have!

02/06/2012
By ,
Herriman, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this on a great deal. For $20, you can't beat the value. Ingredients may not always be cheaper than buying ice cream, but when cream, half-and-half, or whole milk are marked down at the grocery store, I pull out this fun toy. The ice cream from the recipe booklet included is very creamy and just tastes more "real" than store-bought ice cream. It is simple to throw together, although it does take a little longer than I thought. For a custard-style recipe, you have to cook it, then chill it, sometimes overnight, then churn it, which also takes a little longer than listed. And I have found that I have to replace some of the ice after it breaks down, or else it never seems to thicken. But once you figure out a few tricks, it is great fun to have. My only real complaint was that the instruction manual did not match what was in the box, like parts and features. But I figured it out--not too hard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Ice cream recipes great too!

12/05/2013
By ,
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this electric ice cream maker to make my own ice cream with real ingredients. I am very happy with my choice of this compact maker. I've had a manual one in the past and found the hand churning a chore after a while.
The Nostalgia Ice Cream Maker works very well, just as described, by following the directions as given and using the recipes included as your starting point.
The ice cream comes out creamy, has a thick consistency right out of the machine and tastes like the best store-bought minus the gum, fillers and E stuff. I do slightly cook the egg base before churning as suggested in the recipe booklet.
I find the directions true and the machine auto stops when done after about 30 minutes. The noise is like that of any mixer. The ice and salt layering is easy to do. I usually add some of both once during the process.
Since it makes a gallon of ice cream and I like to vary flavors, I divide up the soft ice cream into 4 parts after churning to add flavors and mix it up, one with peppermint candies, one chocolate chip, one pecan etc.
To get really hard ice cream, it goes in the freezer for about an hour. It keeps easily a week or more, if not eaten up before then.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Makes great ice cream!

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my mom as a Mother's Day gift and she aboslutely loves it! It's very easy to use and she really enjoys having homemade ice cream again! I will say though that using buttermilk and ice cream salt make a huge difference!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Large Ice Cream Maker

04/12/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OHIO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We thought we were buying a large Ice Cream maker from the size pictured of this item. We were surprised to find out it isn't all that large at all, the outside contain is large because of the amount of ice needed to make this item preform well. 6 to 8 bags of ice for each batch! We would ad there is nothing quick about this process, after reading the instructions we are really disappointed about the time required to make a single batch of ice cream.
We will NOT be recommending this product to anyone, & may I ad we will probably not use this product all that often.
We were thinking this would be a cheap easy way to make large batch soft style ice cream around the home for family & friends. However we found out it not only is an expensive endeavor it takes a long time to produce a little more then a quart of ice cream.
Additionally there weren't even recipe's included in with the instruction pages.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Good consistency

05/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to make homemade ice cream with my family and so far it's really good. We have tried different flavors and no problems at all. This product does the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Pleased

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are hard to find these days. It was a good price and was delivered to our door. We have only used it once. I really liked the way it looked and the way the motor locks on to the tub. It made great ice cream.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Good Machine for the money

06/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have only used it once but worked out great. Took a little over an hour for ice cream to make.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Easy to use!

12/08/2010
By ,
Tunkhannock, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchase came BEFORE scheduled date(s) :). Very easy instructions & use. Performed exceptionally well...had medium soft set ice cream in a short time...look forward to trying ALL the recipes that were included :). Exceptional value for the price and you get a FULL 1/2 gallon of ice cream for your money, not the ''faux gallon size'' that is now available at the grocery store...gone are those days when you could purchases full pounds, gallons, etc....now everything has been down-sized & you still have to pay full price. You also have the advantage of knowing & being able to pronounce the ingredients of the products you ingest...no additives :).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

We love it

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Awesome machine. Best ice cream EVER!

05/13/2013
By ,
Cleveland,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my kids. I was considering a higher priced machine until I saw the reviews on this one. And did I ever make the right decision! It is AWESOME! Got here FIVE days earlier than expected and ship to home was ONLY FOUR DOLLARS! I just can't believe what I got for the price. I'm just amazed with it. After using this machine and seeing how good it is if I had to pay twice as much to get this machine, I would. It only took 35 minutes to make one batch! I have NEVER made ice cream before. Our very first batch of ice cream turned out perfect. We used the very first recipe in the booklet that comes with it but it called for chocolate and we wanted vanilla so we substituted and it was SO good! I can honestly say it is the BEST ice cream I have ever had! My mother said the same thing too. Everybody loved it.We had 6 people and 3 of them had 2nds, my son, he had 3 bowls. And that didn't even take half the ice cream. There is still quite a bit left! And the container is designed so that you can use the canister to store your ice cream in. We plan on making a batch every Saturday.I highly recommend this machine! If you get this machine, you WILL NOT be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Easy to use

07/16/2014
By ,
Warrenton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this twice since getting it 3 weeks ago. I used one of the recipes included for the peanut butter ice cream. It was great. I've had an issue with it not stopping after around 30 minutes like they say, but I'm always right there, so I stop it myself. I thought the issue might be that I didn't use enough ice or salt, so I used more the second time. The ice cream did thicken more that time, but the machine didn't stop itself. To me that's not a huge deal because I make sure I'm right there in case of ice jamming, etc. My kids love the homemade ice cream. Does it save money? Maybe because you are making a gallon. One thing for sure is that you know exactly what's going in it and you always have the option to find other recipes if you want to make it healthier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Quiet Operation, Efficient Design

09/23/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The motor head's arms have tabs that interlock in the ears on the turquoise tub. Efficient design! I put the freezer in our kitchen sink and plugged it in. It ran quietly. Be sure to layer ice and salt. I used ice that I froze in plastic gallon paint buckets I had cleaned out. Ice-picking the ice in the buckets (I used two for one freezer of sherbet.) worked for me. Use a quarter cup of Morton Ice Cream Salt (in a box at Walmart on the sugar/salt aisle) on top of each quarter fill of ice for even freezing. Be thankful that you are not dealing with an expensive wooden bucket that is heavy and whose wood will shrink so much that soaking it in water is necessary to re-swell the wood so it will hold the brine. The parts of the Nostalgia Electric Ice Cream Freezer are easy to rinse clean and store in the colorful shipping box. Good instructions are included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Love making icecream

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We made ice cream the day it was delivered. It worked well and everyone loved the ice cream.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

nostalgia ice cream maker

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
makes great ice cream
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Electric Ice Cream Maker

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 45 year old hand-crank ice cream maker had a hole rust through the canister so I replaced it with this electric one. It is shaped exactly like my old one and works perfect! It is a great value and good quality so far. I am very pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

great!!!

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes great ice cream in a short amount of time! Plus LOVE the 4 qt size!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Blue Bucket Electric Ice Cream Maker, ICMP400BLUE

Homemade Icecream

06/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't beat homemade ! Works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 247 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next