Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

The Nostalgia Electrics 4-Quart Ice Cream Maker gives you a homemade ice cream experience with modern convenience. Simply fill the ice cream maker's plastic bucket with ice, place the aluminum canister filled with ingredients in the center of the bucket, and the electric motor does the churning for you. Soon, delicious ice cream is ready to serve. This blue ice cream maker makes four quarts of delicious, creamy ice cream per batch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation92%158 out of 172reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 160 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Nostaligia icecream maker

12/14/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this on sale so the price was good otherwise i think it is on expensive side. I cqnnot think of anyone using on daily basis. I bought as fun for the kids. Everythig is plastic so handle gently and with care otherwise if something breaks it will be useless. So for durability can't say as I have used only once and owned for a week that how ling the motor will last. There is on ON/OFF button so just plug and it starts.
Comes with a booklet having some recipes. We used the first, the simplest to ckeck the working and how the icecream would turn out and it was all good. Use the guidelines for ice and salt and setup and have fun. It takes 30-40 minutes of running time and then freeze the icecream for harder consistency. I believe anything could be made. I make mango milk shake and kids love that so next time after crushing the mango with milk I will put the mixture in this and make an icecream.
The motor turns the canister not the dasher, so it produces more sound when the outside canister rubs against ice and salt. If it is the otherway, I think the noise could be reduced. In this icecream making keeping the contents cold is the key so use real cold ice and water mixture to keep the icecream cold while churning. We all liked the icecream and kids loved and gathered to see the whole process. Fill the bucket with ice according to the volume in canister. Have fun and enjoy home made icecream
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Large Ice Cream Maker

04/12/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OHIO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We thought we were buying a large Ice Cream maker from the size pictured of this item. We were surprised to find out it isn't all that large at all, the outside contain is large because of the amount of ice needed to make this item preform well. 6 to 8 bags of ice for each batch! We would ad there is nothing quick about this process, after reading the instructions we are really disappointed about the time required to make a single batch of ice cream.
We will NOT be recommending this product to anyone, & may I ad we will probably not use this product all that often.
We were thinking this would be a cheap easy way to make large batch soft style ice cream around the home for family & friends. However we found out it not only is an expensive endeavor it takes a long time to produce a little more then a quart of ice cream.
Additionally there weren't even recipe's included in with the instruction pages.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Ice cream recipes great too!

12/05/2013
By ,
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this electric ice cream maker to make my own ice cream with real ingredients. I am very happy with my choice of this compact maker. I've had a manual one in the past and found the hand churning a chore after a while.
The Nostalgia Ice Cream Maker works very well, just as described, by following the directions as given and using the recipes included as your starting point.
The ice cream comes out creamy, has a thick consistency right out of the machine and tastes like the best store-bought minus the gum, fillers and E stuff. I do slightly cook the egg base before churning as suggested in the recipe booklet.
I find the directions true and the machine auto stops when done after about 30 minutes. The noise is like that of any mixer. The ice and salt layering is easy to do. I usually add some of both once during the process.
Since it makes a gallon of ice cream and I like to vary flavors, I divide up the soft ice cream into 4 parts after churning to add flavors and mix it up, one with peppermint candies, one chocolate chip, one pecan etc.
To get really hard ice cream, it goes in the freezer for about an hour. It keeps easily a week or more, if not eaten up before then.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

LOVE IT!

11/12/2013
By ,
Northome, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave these to my sister-in-laws for Christmas last year and they loved them so much that I decided to get one for us! LOVE IT! Simple recipes and easy to use. I have ice cream in about 13 minutes :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

LOVE IT!

10/15/2013
By ,
Treasure Coast, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You must get this! It makes the best Vegan Ice cream. I made coconut Pineapple ice cream for my family and I thought it would not have a great consistency...turned out it was marvelous!!
I would definitly recommend you getting it. The only draw back is that it is bulky - the bucket but look at it this way, atleast its a pretty color....
Now I dont have to worry about store bought ice cream and all the stuff they add in it. All you need is Icre cream salt, Ice and electricity...off you go to great tasting ice cream
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Awesome machine. Best ice cream EVER!

05/13/2013
By ,
Cleveland,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my kids. I was considering a higher priced machine until I saw the reviews on this one. And did I ever make the right decision! It is AWESOME! Got here FIVE days earlier than expected and ship to home was ONLY FOUR DOLLARS! I just can't believe what I got for the price. I'm just amazed with it. After using this machine and seeing how good it is if I had to pay twice as much to get this machine, I would. It only took 35 minutes to make one batch! I have NEVER made ice cream before. Our very first batch of ice cream turned out perfect. We used the very first recipe in the booklet that comes with it but it called for chocolate and we wanted vanilla so we substituted and it was SO good! I can honestly say it is the BEST ice cream I have ever had! My mother said the same thing too. Everybody loved it.We had 6 people and 3 of them had 2nds, my son, he had 3 bowls. And that didn't even take half the ice cream. There is still quite a bit left! And the container is designed so that you can use the canister to store your ice cream in. We plan on making a batch every Saturday.I highly recommend this machine! If you get this machine, you WILL NOT be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Good for first-time ice cream makers; fun to have!

02/06/2012
By ,
Herriman, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this on a great deal. For $20, you can't beat the value. Ingredients may not always be cheaper than buying ice cream, but when cream, half-and-half, or whole milk are marked down at the grocery store, I pull out this fun toy. The ice cream from the recipe booklet included is very creamy and just tastes more "real" than store-bought ice cream. It is simple to throw together, although it does take a little longer than I thought. For a custard-style recipe, you have to cook it, then chill it, sometimes overnight, then churn it, which also takes a little longer than listed. And I have found that I have to replace some of the ice after it breaks down, or else it never seems to thicken. But once you figure out a few tricks, it is great fun to have. My only real complaint was that the instruction manual did not match what was in the box, like parts and features. But I figured it out--not too hard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Anyone could use it just follow the directions

11/29/2013
By ,
Center ridge,Ark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the freezer worked great the ice cream froze wonderful was easy to use and easy to clean up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Nostalgia, Is RIGHT!!

11/01/2010
By ,
Oak Grove, KY.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recall making ice cream with my momma years ago, using a machine just like this. The features of the machine are pretty simple, the design is easy to use, no real wrong way to make it work. I made a batch just last week, it turned and churned for a while, started worrying the ice cream would never get done, so I added ice and salt and kept on wating, finally the ice and salt ratio made the ice cream harden. It turned out good, it was sort of thick, I froze it and it is nice and hard now. I got a custard recipe from food network and Alton Brown, though I made a few accidental alterations, it came out all wrong, remind me not to use too much cream and half and half. The recipe you use for best result should be one you cook rather than drop and freeze.
The machine is pretty simple, only a couple moving parts, it has a motor that just twists slightly and locks in place, not that it needs to lock tightly it will not move enough to worry about it. The beater and the motor are really high quality, the bucket and canister are great too, one of the best ones I have owned aside from the crank bucket I had when I was 18. I certainly would buy these and give as gifts for the family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+121points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Nostalgia ice cream maker

04/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to try to make some dairy alternative ice creams and have been very pleased with the machine. It takes a bit more ice than I expected though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Nice

04/14/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This does a great job as promised. Just beware ....... homemade ice-cream does take a lot of time and effort, so much so that we're not doing it again anytime soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Awesome Ice Cream Maker!

11/01/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had 2 expensive ice cream makers prior to this one and neither of those produced ice cream. I am so happy with this one...it's easy to use, it's ready in 30 mins and the ice cream is delicious. Best ice cream maker ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Quiet Operation, Efficient Design

09/23/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The motor head's arms have tabs that interlock in the ears on the turquoise tub. Efficient design! I put the freezer in our kitchen sink and plugged it in. It ran quietly. Be sure to layer ice and salt. I used ice that I froze in plastic gallon paint buckets I had cleaned out. Ice-picking the ice in the buckets (I used two for one freezer of sherbet.) worked for me. Use a quarter cup of Morton Ice Cream Salt (in a box at Walmart on the sugar/salt aisle) on top of each quarter fill of ice for even freezing. Be thankful that you are not dealing with an expensive wooden bucket that is heavy and whose wood will shrink so much that soaking it in water is necessary to re-swell the wood so it will hold the brine. The parts of the Nostalgia Electric Ice Cream Freezer are easy to rinse clean and store in the colorful shipping box. Good instructions are included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Easy to use!

12/08/2010
By ,
Tunkhannock, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchase came BEFORE scheduled date(s) :). Very easy instructions & use. Performed exceptionally well...had medium soft set ice cream in a short time...look forward to trying ALL the recipes that were included :). Exceptional value for the price and you get a FULL 1/2 gallon of ice cream for your money, not the ''faux gallon size'' that is now available at the grocery store...gone are those days when you could purchases full pounds, gallons, etc....now everything has been down-sized & you still have to pay full price. You also have the advantage of knowing & being able to pronounce the ingredients of the products you ingest...no additives :).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Very happy

01/25/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchase from Walmart.com was easy and ship to store was convenient. Made the first batch of ice cream as soon as I got it home. Worked as advertised and look forward to trying many new recipes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

DELICIOUS!!!

06/24/2011
By ,
Danville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first time I have EVER made Ice Cream by myself. Usually my Dad or Husband are the ice cream makers. lol My husband's Aunt gave me a custard based (I recommend custard based recipes) Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe and I made it last night and let it sit in the fridge overnight. When I got home from work tonight I took the canister out of the freezer and the mix out of fridg and started it up. It took over an hour; but as stated I am a novice. It was very easy to use and turned out a top notch batch. It is a nice looking machine and isn't at all as noisy as others I have been accustomed to. Why waste $200+ on one of those wooden ice cream tubs when this one does just as good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Absolutely Love it

01/31/2011
By ,
Morgan City, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9 yr old daughter bought this with some of her Christmas money, and she absolutely loves it. The price was very good, and it couldn't be easier to do. Homemade ice cream is soooo much better than any store bought ice cream. My daughter loves knowing she can make any kind of ice cream she feels like eating and looks forward to making up some of her own flavors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Awesome ice cream maker!

01/05/2014
By ,
Redlands
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this and the kit for my friend's kids (7,8 &11) and they love it! They constantly ask if they can make ice cream now. It's a great family project! Makes soft ice cream in about 30 minutes, and the instructions say to freeze overnight. We did that too. Both ways tastes great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

Great, economical freezer

07/17/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We made two freezers the first weekend- Chocolate and Vanilla. The recipes were really good. The book says not to fill the canister more than 2/3 full, but you can go to about 3/4 without overflow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics 4-Qt. Plastic Bucket Ice Cream Maker, Blue

It makes great ice cream.

02/10/2014
By ,
Waldron, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the product. It doesn't take a lot of ice, it's very light to carry. The ice cream is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 132 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next