Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Black & Decker Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Experience a new range of cooking with the Black & Decker TRO480BS Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven. It has a large capacity with multi-functional features for your convenience. This large capacity toaster oven has a big broiling rack that offers ample space for four slices of bread at a time. Designed with deep curves, the kitchen countertop toaster oven lets you bake and cook large portions of delicacies for the entire family's consumption. This 4-slice toaster oven features dual position rack slots, so that you can customize the space to suit your cooking needs. The Black & Decker TRO480BS Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven lets you bake, broil, toast, and keep your stuff warm for long enough. The convenient glass door makes it easy to check on the cooking. With a small and compact design, the large capacity toaster oven occupies little counter space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.29 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(152 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
35
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation86%131 out of 152reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 119 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
35
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Disappointed

12/17/2012
By ,
Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I chose this model because it was small enough to fit on my counter. It replaced a GE one that I got at WalMart about 8 years ago that finally threw in the towel. I am so disappointed with this Black & Decker. It looks fine, but feels flimsy. It takes forever to toast something, and the dial for setting the time/shade of toast is big, and therefore difficult to set accurately. If you toast a second slice immediately after a first, it takes twice as long. I have not used the oven/broil functions yet, but I did have to talk my boyfriend into not returning this one - for now.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

functional and looks great

05/21/2011
By ,
Fishkill NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical to order after reading some of the reviews but I must say I would have been sorry if I didn't give it a try.This toaster oven works well, toast very fast and forget about one review saying why 3 knobs-it is so easy to use and the ticking timer not too loud and you just turn last knob off if finished early so you don't hear timer. It looks great with all my new stainless steel appliances and doesn't take much counter space.Worth every penny and I had it delivered in three days!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Nice size and design

11/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked this toaster oven because of it's relatively small size and simple design. The only negative I find is that the three control buttons are a bit cumbersome to use. For example, if you just want to toast a piece of bread, you have to set each of the three buttons on "toast". It is also not easy to get the setting for the darkness of the toast in just the right place. The oven gets quite hot so it will easily burn the bread while toasting. To bake something works better but it is still confusing and redundant to set the controls. If I get used to these controls, I think I will be happy with this toaster oven.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Overall a nice toaster oven at a great price

02/08/2012
By ,
Southern Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this a few weeks now and overall I'm happy with my purchase. Love the look and design of the toaster oven. It matches some of the other brushed steel appliances I have in my kitchen and looks good sitting on my countertop. It has some areas that seem a little "chintzy"), such as the baking rack/pan are not of the best quality and seem very "light" to me but I guess they will work. I tried to broil white turkey breast (ground) burgers last night in it using the grill slots and some of the burger fell through the slots because they are almost too wide. I've cooked chicken nuggets in it and they turned out good. I primarily bought this for quick bakes such as french bread, grilled cheese, chicken nuggets, etc. so that I don't have to turn on my big oven for these things. Overall I like the toaster oven and at the price of $34.88 with free site to store shipping it's a great buy. My biggest pet peeve THE CORD IS WAY TOO SHORT. Super annoying, but I'll get over it and buy a small extension cord for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

great product

01/13/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toaster oven meet all my expectations. I can heat up most of my meals due to its semi-large size when cooking for two. Do not have to heat up the big oven. Am able to preheat and time cooking. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Love this! Looks great, performs well, good value!

07/11/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice appearance and economical design for my limited space. I cook many meals for one, this does an excellent job and saves me heating up my full size oven. There are multiple dials to set but this little bit of extra time is worth it for the quality cooking results. One of the few toaster ovens that had everything I was looking for, temperature control, timer over 20 minutes and fit my counter space. Very affordable. I am extremely happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

A lot more than I expected

02/16/2011
By ,
eastern Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was looking for a new toaster oven to replace one that was "toast," I researched almost every brand. I was willing to pay $100 or more for a good, well-designed, quality unit. I doubted that this Black & Decker model could be very good - the price was too low. But the reviews were good and I risked ordering one.
When it arrived and I started to use it, I discovered that it was extremely well designed. It is compact in size, the ergonomics are excellent. It works well. It reminded me of the first toaster oven that I bought in about 1976 which I think was a B&D unit of similar design. I realized that B&D has refined the model over many years, correcting minor problems and irritations. This one works! It cooks well and quickly. It is a pleasure to use. When the door is open you do not have to risk burning your fingers to reach under the door to grasp the handle. The "keep warm" function works extremely well and will keep items just slightly warm or very warm. Toast comes out just the way I like it - but be careful not to set the timer for too long! There is ample room for four slices. It heats up very quickly. I love the way the pan can slide under the grill to catch drippings - works well with steaks and for reheating slices of pizza. The mechanism that pulls the grill out when the door opens is convenient and remarkably simple for its effectivenss. I really like the small size - it takes up very little space on the counter. This is a well-engineered appliance.
The unit appears to be reasonably well-made and I imagine that the toaster oven will last physically for a long time. Our experience with our last three toaster ovens that the electronic controls burned out or quit long before the body, door etc. was worn out. They all were still good looking (and only several years old) but electrically dead.
Don't worry about the low price - this is one of those delightful situations (for the consumer) where the cheapest item is well-designed and a pleasure to usel
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+330points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Doesn't evenly toast top and bottom slice of bread

03/01/2011
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this toaster oven and ditched my toaster because of the added benefit of having a second (albeit quite small) oven. I've used the oven settings several times and have yet to be disappointed. Everything that goes in there comes out perfect...except toast! I've tried moving the rack higher or lower, removing the crumb tray and changing the amount of time but the bottom either comes out burnt or not toasted enough. It's not a huge thing, but it is sorta annoying since I bought this as a replacement to my toaster.
Overall, it's good if you're primary use of it will be the oven feature, otherwise, you'll be settling for burnt or undercooked toast.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Great Value

02/21/2011
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This oven is one of the best values I've ever purchased. We purchased it for the four slice toaster feature which works very well but we were very surprised that the oven bakes better than any other toaster oven we've ever owned. We'll get a lot more use from this product than we had expected. It looks great and works well. A great all around value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

TOASTY

01/08/2011
By ,
Columbia, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It never seems that toasters really toast. This is the toaster!!!! This Black and Decker looks good with the stainless steel finish and cooks better. It doesn't burn your food and evenly toasts both sides of the bread. Great value for $30.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Excellent product for the price.

10/19/2011
By ,
Normal, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having never owned a toaster oven I didn't know what to expect from the device. I had recently been diagnosed with a wheat sensitivity and can no longer use the family oven to cook my meals. So, I researched every T.O. on the market according to performance and price. I must say that this T.O. is excellent and deserves its high rating. I have cooked chicken, meatloaf and GF pizzas. Everything has turned out very well. Before I made the purchase I thought that I might have to upgrade to the convection T.O. if it didn't bake well. There was no need. Don't bother paying $100+ for other ovens.......they all seem to go out after a few years anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Very good oven for the price.

09/17/2012
By ,
Richmond, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually buy more expensive toaster ovens. This time I thought I would try a less expensive one. This oven works every bit as good as my last two more expensive ones. It toasts perfectly--yes, if you do more than just toast, you do have to set all three control knobs but somehow or other I am not yet so old and mentally infirm that this has proven to be too much of a challenge for me. It broils my steaks just the way I like them and bakes perfect baked potatoes and pizzas. This is an excellent choice and I am very pleased that I took a chance on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Excellent small toaster oven

06/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old Black & Decker toaster oven was dead after 10 years and I tried to find a replacement with similar small footprint. This toaster oven is the final winner after my search at Costco, Target and Walmart. I like everything except two: 1) it takes a lot longer to toast slices of bread comparing to my old one with just a button to push. 2) the hooks that help sliding out metal rack and pan when ribs are done will be in the way when I try to close to door. I have to close the door in 2 stages: first close the door a little bit just to push the pan in then I can close the door completely. Overall it is a nice looking toaster oven.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven
12/21/2012
By ,
Norwich, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was missing a a rubber stopper on the bottom so it wobbled. After contacting Black and Decker Customer Service in hopes they could just send us the missing piece, we had to return it to WalMart. Rather than reordering online, we purchased the same model at Macy's because it was on sale in their store. We got it home, and out of the box to find it was missing TWO rubber stoppers on the bottom. To add to our frustration, we noticed that the door did not have hooks connected to the rack, sliding the rack out when the door is opened. The photos on the box show hooks on the inside of the door, and the one purchased at WalMart.com did have these hooks. Upon further investigation...the more recently manufactured models are missing the hooks. B & D claims to be addressing this, but I am doubtful. It's a beautiful appliance, seems durable, and I have been pleased with Black and Decker in the past. My last B & D toaster oven lasted over 10 years. However, I am very disappointed with this experience. I cannot recommend this particular model because we had missing parts with both purchases from different stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Good for the price but burns food easily

02/13/2012
By ,
GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this because it was the least expensive stainless steel toaster oven I could find. It is good for the price and gets the job done, but I do have two complaints. First, the heat for toasting things is way too hot. I burn things more often than not even setting the timer down very low. Also, the door doesn't open all the way to lay flat on the counter. This makes it a bit challenging to get the tray out from under the rack. Would I spend a little extra money on a different model? Yes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Great toaster oven - No complaints

12/13/2012
By ,
Lansdale, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research and the result lead me to this one. My search consisted of 75% finding a toaster oven with a rack that slides out when the door opens, 15% for having options above / beyond the absolute basics, and 10% appearance (had to be white or silver, unless other color made toaster oven look beyond cool).
This toaster oven passed the tests in all categories. The rack slides out when the door opens with no problems, it has several options for heating (bake, toast, etc), as well as temperature / degree control, and the appearance blends fairly well, since most of our appliances are white and / or silver.
Now, aside the fact that I am very picky and have been labeled OCD, I can truly say I have no complaints about this toaster oven and can say that I'm even pleasantly surprised with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Toasting? Not so much...

01/14/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a basic toaster oven and works fine for heating up leftovers. But not so much for toasting bread. The elements don't get hot enough so it takes longer for the bread to turn brown. Because it takes longer for the bread to turn brown, it completely dries it out and makes the bread hard throughout and not just on the outside of the bread like real toasters.
Would be fine if you have a separate toaster.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Love it!

06/14/2011
By ,
Sherman, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes great toast. Used to bake canned cinnamon rolls on a camping trip. My daughter has used one for years. She loves hers and recommended it to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

Toasts sandwiches well

01/07/2013
By ,
Concord, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toasting well may not be a big deal to many people, but the only thing my wife and I have ever used a toaster oven for is to toast sandwiches. Not every sandwich (for instance, BLTs we just toast the bread in our toaster and then put put them together), but for homemade pimento cheese, cheese toast, & tuna melts, etc. we need a toaster oven that will do a good job. This one does a great job of that and that is all we wanted and the only part of what it will do that we can attest to. If you are going to use it more broadly like most people would you need to read some other reviews. But if you want a toaster oven you can depend on for consistency in the toasting department, I think you'll find what you're looking for with this Black & Decker. We're very happy with it.
We have not had it long enough to be able to speak to durability, so I couldn't grade that feature in the excellent range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 4-Slice Toast-R-Oven Toaster Oven

GREAT DEAL, GREAT TOASTER OVEN

09/01/2013
By ,
New York City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this oven really because I needed a small countertop oven to use during the summer months. This one perfectly fit my very limited countertop space, but even more, it was only half or even 1/3 the price of many of the other countertop ovens I had priced. So I took a chance and bought it. First I should say that this does actually make great toast! But more importantly for me, this little oven turned out to be WAY better than my old Kitchenaid countertop oven that cost close to $200 and burned everything to a crisp. This little Black & Decker has PERFECTLY baked all of the following (using improvised smaller pans to fit the size): Meat loaf, baked fish, Deep dish apple pie, cookies, cornbread, mac & cheese, tuna cassarole and biscuits. I have yet to try a cake tho, but since my cornbread came out perfectly I think cake will also. I think this toaster oven is a GREAT buy, especially considering the price.I would highly recommend it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next