Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for CNet CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

CNet CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Get better signal reception and faster speed for your wireless network with the CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Dongle. This compact powerful adapter offers you an easy and secure wireless connection to any AP with WPS support. The WMM feature allows packet prioritization on networks using multimedia applications: a feature that greatly improves the quality of VoIP and Wireless-N speed and coverage. Enjoy high speed browsing like never before with a maximum transmission rate of up to 300Mbps (downstream). Once you connect the USB network adapter, users can surf the Internet, access email, stream your favorite movies from Netflix, and play online games. The USB wireless card provides ample coverage across your apartment for an uninterrupted connection. The plug and play wireless adapter is backward compatible with all Wireless-G and B products typically found in homes and businesses.
Average Customer Rating:
4.468 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(139 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation89%124 out of 139reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Great device for the money.

07/18/2011
By ,
Tulsa OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This usb adapter performs just as described in the manufacturer's description. Couldn't be much easier to set up. Install the drivers and software from the packaged cd and plug it in and go. I am currently using it only with a 54g router but it performs well. I purchased this adapter due to the other user reviews and the fact that it is backward compatible with older wireless routers and will work with my future purchase of an "N" router. I recommend using this with a usb extension cable if using for a desktop or fixed device (i.e. not a laptop) so that you can get the adapter into a suitable area to pickup the best signal and signal strength. I have mine attached to a bedroom desktop with a usb extension cable placing it about half way up a wall to get the best signal.
Great product for the money and has not given me any trouble since installation over a month ago. It picks up signals from other access points around the neighborhood my old adapter did not showing it has great ability to catch far signals.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Very Pleased

09/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical when purchasing this item because every other wireless adapters with similar capabilities were far more expensive. I live in an apartment where free wifi is offered, so I was worried it would not reach my apartment. I couldn't be happier. I can stream netflix, download music/software, and browse with ease and speed. Buy this adapter!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Review 3 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Get what you pay for in this case

08/19/2011
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had hoped to take advantage of "N" capabilities on the cheap. The product came and software installation was performed. After a reboot the system recognized the network and gave an excellent signal strength, although no different from my "G" adapter. Speed was the same at 54 mb, so I wondered what the advantage was. Then the system could not recognize my Linsys router. No matter what I did, the efforts were fruitless.
The bare bones startup guide was useless and referred the reader to the website, cnet.com/tw, which doesn't exist. The cnet website has no information on the adapter and has not been reviewed by them.
Hoping against hope, I tried the manual which is an option on the installation screen. No help in troubleshooting other than to try a different USB slot. No indication of the relevance of some fields located on the adapter/network profile was available.
I'm being generous in giving 2 stars only because others have been successful. I'll spend a little more and go for a name brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Get a Wireless N Router
Posted 09/14/2011
The reason you aren't getting Wireless N speed is because you are running a Wireless G router. If you want the Wireless N speed you need to buy a Wireless N Router.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Buy It. Great Price. Easy Installation.

09/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to set up wirelessly a 5 year old Dell desktop running Windows XP 32 Bit. I'm using a Linksys Wireless G Router. The setup was flawless and the adapter was online the first time. Be sure to install the software before plugging the adapter in for the first time and follow the setup instructions precisely. Meter shows a full 54MB speed. Although this adapter is wireless N it easily was backward compatible to my Wireless G. router. Some questioned if it will work for Windows 7. The box states that it does. I ordered this to be delivered to my Walmart store free. I ordered it at night and on the third day it arrived at my local store via Fedex. Easy to track online with Walmart's Fedex tracking. I was looking for a economical way to place my older computer online for the Grandkids without being hardwired. Wireless is the only way to go, for anything. This adapter is priced right, works right, easy to set up and I would recommend it to anyone. Best price on this item anywhere. It works right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Simple to go wireless

12/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to see if my old XP computer could go wireless but without an expensive adapter. I ordered the Cnet adapter for $15. I plugged it into the usb slot and within 5 mintes I followed the 4 directions given and it is now wireless. Easy directions and it doesn't cost alot. Now I can buy a wireless printer and have 3 computers share it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 6 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

mis lead

12/03/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i would recommend this product if your not using windows 7 this product does not support windows 7 dont be fooled i waited all day for this adapter to be shipped to my house was so disappointed when i found out it wasn't compatible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+15points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Documentation States That it Does.
Posted 09/09/2011
I'm using a wireless g router but the documentation on the box state that it works on wireless n.
0points
Customer Avatar
Texas
CWU-906 with Windows 7
Posted 07/21/2011
I am using the Cnet CWU-906 with a Windows 7 - 64 bit laptop and it works great. I checked with Cnet technical support before I bought the product and they told me that it supports Windows 7 - 32 and 64 bit.
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Great Deal

08/06/2010
By ,
Meadowview, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks to the Verizon Rep, I was able to find this product, and not over pay for this item. It was about $10 less on-line, but not available in the store. Walmart associates were very helpful, and very surprised this was available. No technological issues. It works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 8 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

good performance, but....

11/20/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, Nv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was supriesed to recieve the product 5 days ahead of schedule. The device works good once you find the latest drivers from the mfr and have no wireless on your computer, but if you are looking for fast internet speed, go with a broadband device. I was a little disappointed to learn that it dosent matter if you have 802.11g at 150Mbps or 80211.n at 150, 300 or 450Mbps, you are still going to transmit at 54 Mbps unless you are transmitting to another computer with 802.11n and 300mbps, otherwise your stuck at 54mbps for internet speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Review 9 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Great price for N connectivity

09/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The USB adapter installed easily and works well with my D-Link 615. My desktop is approximately 20 feet from router separated by two interior walls-connection rate is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Cheap/Simple/Fast

07/16/2011
By ,
Andover, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wifi died on my wife's PC and based on web feedback the only real fix was a USB wifi device. Looked all over the web and in several stores but they were expensive or poorly made. I saw this and some reviews and opted to go this direction.
Loaded the drivers, inserted the device, found my wireless access point SSID and entered the WEP key, the PC now has wireless again. Wish the form factor was a drop smaller but it's no larger than a USB memory stick and the length probably accounts for the great reception with a DLS Router/Switch 2 floors away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Form factor
Posted 07/21/2011
I agree with your comment about the form factor. My suggestion is to use a flexible USB adapter such as the one described at http://www.walmart.com/ip/Belkin-F3U134VFLEX-Flexible-USB-Adapter/13214943 or http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Go-30501-FlexUSB-Adapter/dp/B0001LS3EI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1311240720&sr=8-1 . You can plug the flexible adapter into the USB port on your computer and plug the Cnet wireless adapter into the flexible adapter. Then you can angle the wireless adapter up instead of out so it doesn't stick out so far.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Cheap, but awkward

10/19/2010
By ,
Urbana, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a very cheap way to get wireless-N connectivity, but its awkward design made it pretty useless to me. My laptop has three USB inputs. One is next to the power cord, the other two are next to each other on the other side. This adapter is very wide, so not only was it unable to fit next to the power cord, but when I put it in one of the other two slots, the body of the adapter blocked the slot next to it.
It's also long and floppy, so it doesn't feel very stable in the USB slot. I'm not sure how well it would stay in if I tried to put my laptop on my lap. Unfortunately I can't test that out because I already returned it.
If your USB slots are stacked instead of side-by-side, and not in a location where this adapter would get in the way of anything, then I'd say it's a good deal. Otherwise, I'd recommend a more compact design.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Good product, great price

08/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installed per instructions. Had connection problems until I figured out that I needed to disable the lan connection on the Network Connections screen that I normally use with an ethernet cable. This was NOT in the instructions or online help. So far it's working great after that problem was resolved. Have not moved my PC to its new location so the range hasn't been checked yet (currently sitting next to WIFI router). Speeds seem ok; using an older Dell with XP.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Good product

06/09/2010
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product. Meets my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

works real well no hasles......

08/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
connects to my wireless router real well with no problems...... i made sure i downloaded the newest drivers before i put in the system.... drivers are realtek. that chipset i like a lot so i know it is going to do me real awesome for connections......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Unbelievable Range, killer price!

09/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My HTPC in my bedroom about 4 rooms and 1 floor away from my main wifi router would barely show 1-2 bar of signal with its internal wifi and give me only about 1-2MBps speed max. I did quiet a bit of research and decided on the alfa series which is suppose to be the best. Only thing it was about $40 which I think was steep. While researching online this one seemed to have good reviews too and was 1/3rd the cost so thought it wont hurt to try it out. After all its walmart, I can always walk in and return it. :-) Well I won't need to do that. This thing is amazing!
Just plugged it in and bam within a couple of minutes (of auto installation of drivers etc) my HTPC showed wifi connection with a full signal and consistently gives about 12-13 MBps (not bad on a 15MBps FIOS connection). I was seeing wifi networks in my neighbourhood that I have never seen before (10 - 12 different ones!!!).
I can finally use my HTPC to stream netflix in HD without any stutter, I can access my movie collection on my NAS and play it in full HD in my bedroom.
Not sure why anyone would pay more for a usb wifi adapter. This IMHO is an amazing device and for the price it is a no-brainer.
Walmart as always ROCKS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter
09/02/2011
By ,
Boston Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very hesitant to buy this as the price was so low and never heard
of the brand, It works excellent, much faster than the belkin i had. Instant
access to internet. LoveIt!! I actually had read the reviews before i bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

handy, small wireless internet USB drive.

07/18/2011
By ,
WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was only 12 or 13 dollars, and only took a few minutes to load onto my computer. I haven't had any problems with it at all. It does stick out a little further than a regular USB
flash drive, but is less than 3 inches.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Works Great!

07/31/2011
By ,
Starke, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I had to do site to store (as my local Walmart only sells expensive electronics) the wireless adapter works great in Ubuntu!!!!!! I would recommend to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

Horrible on older computers.

06/02/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this a few weeks ago, worked fine on my newer windows 7 pc that i just got rid of. Had to switch to my old computer so i plugged this thing in. The computers slow already but this didnt help on the internet. Made my high speed internet seem 10 X slower! Thought it was my computer but as soon as i unplugged it and installed the wireless card i found for the pc the internet speed went right back up. Computer hasnt changed still the same thing! So if your using a new computer this product is great! Dont want to get rid of your old computer just yet? I wouldnt recommend this for a pc with lower than 256 MB of RAM. Haven't tested this on anything higher.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter

well... it works

11/29/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this thing took forever to get installed. i used the drivers on the disk and wasnt happy with the performance. so i downloaded the newest drivers and got even worse performance, so i switched back to the old drivers. im running windows xp, and after alot of testing i opted not to install the adapters internet application and instead use windows' own internet program. i still dont get full download speed, but still better than my old G adapter(slightly), and also better ping times. im only 20ft. max from the router, with one wall. i would prob. try a different adapter if i had to do it over again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next