Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail Camping Lantern

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail Camping Lantern

This Ozark Trail Lantern is an LP (liquefied petroleum) gas single-mantle lantern. This camping lantern includes one silk mantel and has a zinc-control valve with a push-button piezo igniter. Piezo ignition is a system which has a small, spring-loaded hammer. Pressing the button causes the hammer to hit the quartz crystal, thereby producing an electric discharge, igniting the gas. It is constructed with a stainless steel top lid, has a chrome-plated steel carrying/hanging chain and a tempered glass chimney. The single-mantle lantern is easy to carry and is great for camping or just a night under the stars. It also is useful during power outages. This camping lantern is ideal to have in your car as well in case of emergencies. The chrome-plated steel carrying/hanging chain will allow you to hang the lantern in a safe place. Keep this lamp on hand for any occasion where you additional lighting source.
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation64%7 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail Camping Lantern

Ozark Trail Single Mantle Lantern

05/27/2011
By ,
SoCal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Paid $10 online for two of these lanterns, because of their compact size. Initially I was a little underwhelmed by the light output, which is just less than as a 25w light bulb. I've tried experimenting by changing out the mantles to see if there would be any improvement in the output. Coleman #51 mantles shrank too much at initial burning and did not work well at all, producing less light than the original factory mantle. I settled for Century Model 2295 mantles which formed a nice 1" ball shape after burning.
You actually don't get much more light by turning up the gas, just a very warm light. I think this is just a limitation of the design of this lantern. I found that I had to adjust the gas dial quite near the OFF position to find a sweet spot which gave me a whiter glow on the mantle, with an optimal light output at the same time. Turning up the gas just turns the light warmer, but not necessarily any brighter. The "sweet spot" is in a very low output setting on the dial control, which resulted in making this lantern extremely economical to use.
The Piezo starter is very handy, and the lantern lights first time, every time. I would recommend this lantern to compliment a full size lantern, as it's output may be too limited as your only source of light.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
west coast and midwest
differences in light output
Posted 06/11/2012
I have five various gas lanterns and have found that even with the same brand and the same model, there can be a HUGE difference in brightness and light output. I have no idea why this is - maybe a difference in internal filters or piping?? The concept and hardware of gas lanterns is so simple that there isn't much that can go wrong or make a difference, but be aware that you MIGHT have a dud lantern.
I have an Ozark Trail camping lantern and it is very white light bright. It is not as bright as a two mantle lantern, of course, but it is much smaller and easier to transport and store. It surely lights up the whole campsite like daylite and it is more than enough to read/write tie fish-flies, or just about anything else you might want to do around camp at night - besides sleep, of course.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Ozark Trail Camping Lantern

Good Enough for Back Country Camping.

06/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gives a bright glow enough to cook by and to see for a safe distance. Not super bright but consider its size. The mantles take a little patience to put on because the globe is so small. I used Coleman size 51 mantles and they worked well and are durable. The gasflow adjustment knob worked smoothly. Easy to operate. I bought to use for backcountry camping and I enjoyed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 3 for Ozark Trail Camping Lantern
02/25/2011
By ,
baltimore, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best 10 bucks you can spend on emergency lighting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Review 4 for Ozark Trail Camping Lantern

not very bright !

08/28/2010
By ,
antioch ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It gives off about as much light as a 20 watt light bulb.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 5 for Ozark Trail Camping Lantern

great value lantern

04/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We use these lantern in our scout troop. We replaced the coleman 2 burners because the globes were always breaking. These small globes are quite thick and take a beating and don't break. Goodbye coleman.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 6 for Ozark Trail Camping Lantern

Ozark Propane Lantern

09/02/2010
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this little guy! So much easier to take along than the big Coleman one we have! Gives great light for one mantle! Glad we bought it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 7 for Ozark Trail Camping Lantern

not impressed

11/27/2012
By ,
newark nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
yes its a single mantle not a double so i expected half the output of my dbl mantle lanterns.
half would have been impressive. . . .heck 1/3 the light would be ok...but its maybe a 1\4.
2 candles do about the same. the only reason to use propane is for it's power. might as well use a cheap battery job , they are just as bright. oh yeah, the snap down top just pops open if you hang it from the chain. poor product. get something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for Ozark Trail Camping Lantern

Not so good.

05/11/2011
By ,
La Plata, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This a small lamp that sits on a full size fuel bottle. No real saving is weight then.
Also not very bright. It feels like the mantle is not really getting all of the fuel it needs. It's sort of a bright red, rather than blinding white like most gas lanterns.
Also am not sure that the proper mantle is available at Wall-Mart.
Don't buy this, spend a bit more and get a good one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 9 for Ozark Trail Camping Lantern

Decent Small Lantern

01/26/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this lantern for only $10. No product can bit this price. It is claimed to be 300 lumen. I think it is close to, but not that much. It is quite compact and bright, although I expect smaller and brighter. It is very convenient with the clickie ignition. The cartridge it needs is the cheaper type of propane, so save money too. I love this lantern.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Ozark Trail Camping Lantern
12/16/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A very cheap version of the Coleman perfect flow lantern, nowhere near as bright and very flimsy. Must be more $ made on this model then the Coleman. They don't carry the Coleman so I'd advise finding a store that does.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for Ozark Trail Camping Lantern

most awesome lantern i have owned

09/06/2010
By ,
walworth ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love it so much i bought 2 more and got rid of my big name brand lantern that failed me - would buy this lantern again but don't think i will ever need another it is so nice
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points