Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

This Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove boasts a 200 Square Inch open-area cooking surface with a black enamel firebox and chrome-plated cooking grid. This propane camp stove has 2 stainless steel 10,000 BTU burners for a total of 20,000 BTU making it a great compliment to any camping trip. This propane camping grill has a black enamel hinged-top lid and firebox. The propane camp stove also features two nylon fiberglass-reinforced control knobs.
Average Customer Rating:
2.28 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation34%17 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Pressure Regulator failed

05/07/2012
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got a few good uses out of this stove. Ours is only a couple years old. However like others have said, the propane flow eventually quit on us. It was like the bottle was empty, but when you put a new bottle on you still had no gas flow. I found that the pressure regulator was the problem. If you break the plastic top off of it, inside is a spring which holds down a metal disk. Flow occurs only when the disk is pushed in. So my guess is that maybe the spring got weaker with age? I actually made a 'field repair' by jamming a small stone over the spring and taped it down. The result was a slightly inconsistent flow, but at least there was flow. When I got home I thought about looking for a new regulator, but after reading these other reviews, I'm planning to just buy a better stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Very cheap, and totally unreliable

07/11/2010
By ,
Salt Lake City, Ut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My brother and his wife invited me to go camping with them. They said they had just bought a camp stove, and that I wouldn't need to bring mine.
Yes, there is such a thing as wanting to save some money if you're on a tight budget, but sometimes you do get what you pay for. This camp stove was a complete JOKE! Just like others had mentioned, it worked fine the first time we used it. After that, it worked very inconsistantly. The burners wouldn't stay lit, and when they would finally light, the flames were inconsistant. One minute the burners would barely hiss and you couldn't even see the flames, the next minute, WHOOSH! All this without making any adjustments to the control knobs. It finally quit working altogether. At first we thought maybe the propane tank was empty. We swapped the tank with a new one, but had the same problem; We couldn't get it to stay lit. So we settled for potato chips and cookies instead of a cooked meal. I'll take my old, trusty Coleman gas camp stove any day over this piece of garbage. I'm glad this was just a simple weekend camping trip, and that we brought snacks along, otherwise we would have been very hungry. My advice is when it comes to camping gear, don't go with the cheapest thing you can find. Spend the extra money and invest in some reliable gear.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Don't Buy!

07/13/2010
By ,
Seattle Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this stove for a camping trip as our sole cooking source.
Took it home, threw out the box and packed it up for our trip.
First time I tried to use the stove it wouldn't light, no matter what I did.
Luckily there wasn't a burn ban and we ended up cooking on an open fire.
Now I'm stuck with a brand new stove that won't light.
Very undependable, piece of garbage. Don't Buy It!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Does NOT work!!!!

07/16/2010
By ,
Eustis, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this stove for our camping trip today to replace the 30+ year old Coleman stove that I had trouble lighting. Upon my wife's suggested I tested the product. I could not get it to light. Followed the instructions to the letter, but still no flame. Decided to try to clean the old Coleman. After cleaning, we have a WORKING 30+ year old Coleman camp stove.
Do not purchase the Ozark Trail 2-Burner Camp Stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

4 years and 25+ camping trips: great stove

06/17/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've been using this stove for about 4 or 5 years now on camping trips from Big Bend National Park all across the Southwest to Mojave Desert, Grand Staircase, Gila National Forest etc. Its a great stove, lights easily with very even flame. Highest setting puts out a LOT of heat.
We own two backpacking stoves: MSR Pocket Rocket, Snow Peak GigaPower plus a Coleman one-burner stove. This Ozark Trail stove is our favorite one because it has two burners, is very stable for cooking, and has the wind shield. Folds up nice and compact with the regulator fitting under the lid.
If we're making coffee we'll use the Pocket Rocket and a Jet Boil because its faster. But for cooking a meal this Ozark Trail kicks butt especially if its windy. I've even taken this on camping/fishing trips and put a large pot of oil over the burners and had a fish fry. Plenty of heat.
The only negative I can think of is that ours is pretty dirty from so much use and abuse. Its been rode hard and put up greasy over the years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

very bad product

07/04/2010
By ,
trapper creek AK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lighted well the first time and never work again! after a exchange for a new one, the same thing happen again! don't buy this stove, you will regret it especially if you depend on it in a remote place like me the first time! I had to build a fire everyday to cook!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Waste of money.

04/03/2011
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i read the reviews and decided to take a chance anyway. Took the family camping this weekend. what a big mistake. I hooked up the propane tank and tuned it on to test before I began to cook dinner. It turned on with no problem. I turned it off to grab the pot and when I returned to turn it on, it wouldn't turn on. I tried turning both knobs, put a different propane tank, disconnected then connected again and nothing. Never turned back on. Pay the extra $20 and get one that works. We ended up cooking the food on the grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Short Term use only!

10/16/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had the product for about 1-2 years, but only had used in about 10 times (if that) when day 2 of our week long vacataion sent us scrambling to the store for another stove..the Regulator would not work. We take very good care of our equipement to point it still looks brand new and ensuring proper usage and safety, yet it will be sent to the scrap pile. I have tried to find a part..no luck ANYWHERE.. Ultimately will be shopping elsewhere for a new stove, if your gonna sell a product, you should have a place to get replacement parts without hassle I was even willing to pay for it but now...not so much.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Junk

07/06/2010
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had the stove ready to go in the camper for 2 months, never took it out of the box until we went camping last week.
Set it up and used ONE time, after that it would not work, pretty much ruined our camping trip as there was no Wallmart around to exchange it!
DON"T BUY IT!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Worthless garbage

05/05/2012
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I are hardcore campers. We bought this to replace and old camp stove. The price looked really good so we bought it. We used it 4 times on a 3 day trip, and were very disappointed. The burners did light fine, but one kept going out. We would have to relight it multiple times when trying to cook. It was not a wind problem, it just wouldn't stay lit. Second issue we had was that one burner cooks at a different temperature than the other. It was just cheap stuff, and we decided to return it as soon as possible and get a Coleman.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

4 years and works like new

02/14/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had no problems whatsoever with my Ozark Trail burner. It sets up and lights very easily. The flame adjusts just like the one in your house, but this does not self ignite. It folds into a small suitcase shape, holding the propane attachment inside. It's four years old as I've said, and maybe they've changed the design or builder, by the looks of these negative reviews. I don't know. But I've always found Ozark Trail gear to be no frills functional equipment. It's good enough for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

You might get a couple trips out of it; Maybe

06/28/2012
By ,
Las Cruces, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My fiance bought one of these two years ago. The stove worked faily well for her on a couple of camping trips with the Boy Scouts and we used it on a trip last year, about this time.
I'm very careful with my equipment, keep it clean and perform routine maintenance whenever needed. For example, I bought an MSR Dragonfly multi-fuel stove back in 1999 and have used it regularly, all over the country, in all kinds of weather and temperature extremes from triple digit dessert to below zero moutains; no problems.
In February, we were on a trip in Cloudcroft, NM and just couldn't get this stove to stay lit. At first we figured the fuel bottle was empty, so we put a brand new one on. Same problem... Propane can sometime freeze in extreme cold, so I boiled some water with my Dragonfly to defrost the propane inside the bottle. Still no luck. I'm really glad we had my Dragonfly; took a little longer to cook breakfast with only the one burner, but it could have been a total disaster if this was our only stove in cold weather.
As others have reported; the regulator went bad.
Save your money and buy a better quality stove. Coleman makes a good quality propane one which this one is modeled after. If you don't mind handling liquid fuel, their white gas two burner stove is a better option but the propane version is very simple to use.
The Ozark Trails products are fine for one or two uses, but know you will need to replace them after only a couple of uses. They are an inexpensive way to get started, but they will not last.
Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Awful, do not buy!!!

05/29/2012
By ,
E. Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I bought this stove last summer, used it once or twice. Went to use it this weekend and I remembered how much I disliked it. It takes FOREVER to cook something.... It's ridiculous. You would think with all these bad reviews they would fix it or quit carrying it. So, we are now in the market for a new stove... Don't waste your money on this, spend another $20-$30, you will be glad you did....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Regualtor pipes fail quickly.

06/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We used the Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove on one camping trip. Then, we planned to use it for 6 days in Yellowstone. We tested it before we left. By the time we arrived in Yellowstone, the regulator pipe failed. We purchased another Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove without the wind guards at a local camping store. It lasted 5 days. The regulator pipe failed again. The paperwork that came with the stoves said "DO Not return to the store". So, we called Ozark Trail. They weren't any help. Thankfully, we were able to return the 2nd stove to the local camping store, and Walmart refunded my money for the first. I'm glad I had my little electric hot pot to back up my TWO Ozark Trail stoves.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Works with No Problems

09/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am so surprised at all the negative reviews. Maybe only the unhappy purchasers took the time to write reviews?? I have used an Ozark Trail two-burner camp stove for three summers now (camping trips here, day trips there, tailgating somewhere else, and the occasional power outage), and it has ALWAYS worked for me. I bought it to replace a 25 year old Hillary (Sears brand) that had finally started to rust. It does everything a camp stove is supposed to do. I like the way the legs fold up to keep the lid in place when not in use. It is easy to clean. It gives off even heat and the flame is easily adjustable. I loved the price :-) It is not the heavy duty quality of a Coleman, but then it isn't the price of a Coleman either. I do suggest that when hooking it up, be sure the fitting is pushed in to the stove's orafice fully before tightening the coupling, otherwise the propane gas will not flow into the burner. This is not a problem, just a different feel from my old stove.
If I could have only one improvement, I would have preferred a flexible gas line to go from the stove to the propane bottle.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Thin durable

07/06/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is thinner than most other dual burners out there. I like this one because it is thin and has a lot of cooking power. We have fried with this using a heavy pan and had no issues. Only thing missing is a flame starter/clicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove
07/13/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product and works great. No complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Bad Regulator

10/01/2011
By ,
Berlin, VT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used this stove on 3 camping trips without any problems. It worked great. Then on the 4th trip, I tried to light it and found the tank empty. I put on a new tank and it started venting at the connection - the seal had broken inside. So the stove itself works great. The regulator is the problem. I've seen a bunch of other comments about bad regulators on Ozark Trails stoves, so this is probably par for the course. I tried to find a replacement online, but apparently, they don't sell them.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

unreliable product

08/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this product. We purchased this stove last summer for camping. It worked fine. It was kept very clean and repackaged for the next trip. We took it camping this week and the burners would not light. We tried several propane tanks and chekced the gas valve, but it would not work. Thank goodness my friend had an extra stove. I would think carefully before buying this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove

Cheap

10/26/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this home and tested it. No problems out of the box but when I pulled it out a month later to go over my pre-camping checklist, it didn't work. I went and got a Coleman and it works fine. Spend the extra money so you won't be stuck. I've had other products from Ozark Trail and they are fine but the stove is a no go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next