Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tracfone TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Tracfone TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

The TracFone LG 500G P4 DM PDA comes pre-loaded with amazing features. The LCD color display enables easy interface and navigation. The built-in VGA camera gives you pictures of high resolution photo ops with optimum clarity. You can send both text and picture messages with the flip mobile phone. The Bluetooth wireless technology enables you to transfer data and music files in minutes. You can save up to 1000 numbers and names, providing tons of storage capacity in the phonebook. It also features an unlimited double minute offer which lets you maximize your purchasing power. This LG QWERTY keyboard phone also includes voicemail and call waiting options.
Average Customer Rating:
4.159 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation83%52 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

excelent value

10/24/2010
By ,
Long Island NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value..trackphone double min. great quality product.very pleased in all respects. What would we do without WalMart
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

It works!

12/14/2010
By ,
Bowie, ML
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Couldn't believe that this $20 phone actually offered me more than just talking and texting. I know it is a bit more expensive than the cheapest tracfones out there. But I thought that was because it looked so much better then the other tracfone cellphone options. That's mostly why I chose this phone. The fact that it looked good, and it already came with double minutes for life included with the phone, which makes any of the tracfone plans very cheap.
So the phone has a vga camera, which is alright. My only gripe is that it doesn't have a flash for taking photos at night. The blue tooth works real well to compliment the cameras files. Transferring them to a computer, or someone else's phone never proved to be a problem. The talking, and texting is very good. But saying that it needs mentioning that I used to have a phone that was really really bad at picking up signal, and have conversations with. I suppose I'm just massively relieved that this phone works.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 3 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

Two thumbs up for Tracfone

10/15/2010
By ,
Nationwide, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alas, circumstances change and I just went the other way, back to a contract. I used Tracfone for the past 5 years and was very pleased with the phones, features and services. I travel extensively and it was quite rare to find a place I couldn't use it and that was due to no signal available from any provider (Tracfone piggybacks on other providers). I'm here now to purchase one as a gift that I know will be greatly appreciated.
Depending on where, how and when you buy airtime, your cost to talk should be around 11-13 cents per minute. Texts cost 1/3 of a minute each, in or out bound. Either is an excellent value for low volume users like me. If you're purchasing a phone for a chatty teenage girl or you talk/text like one, you might be better off with a prepaid unlimited plan available from Walmart but through different providers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+82points
Review 4 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

Works great, but read on if you use the alarm...

01/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A number of TracFone LG420G users have discovered a bug that seems to be related to using the Alarm and Calendar Reminder feature of the phone. The one reviewer here who reported 18 hours of battery life probably has encountered this exact bug. On at least SOME LG420G phones, if you set an Alarm and then stop it before it rings to completion (60 seconds), the phone get 'stuck' and the key backlight and screen backlights remain at full brightness all the time, regardless of Power Save settings. At full brightness, the battery is discharged within 24 hours or less, instead of standby times of 10 days or longer. Once this condition is encountered, the phone may also 'hang' when powering it back on, and never get to the main screen. Removing the battery for at least an hour and up to 8 hours restores the phone to 'normal' behavior. Letting the alarm ring through the full cycle (60 seconds) before turning it Off in the Alarm settings seems to prevent the problem. Search for the phrase 'LG 420G on the blink--any suggestions?' in your favorite search engine to find a pretty thorough discussion of the problem in another user forum not affiliated with either TracFone or this store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 5 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

love this phone

11/18/2010
By ,
orlando, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great phone to use with TracFone. i haven't had any issues with reception and you can't beat the price. i have been using TracFone for 12 months now and have been totally happy with the price and quality...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Review 6 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

Outstanding Deal

01/03/2011
By ,
Williamstown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone for occasional use. No Contract - No surprises. Great service even in rural areas. Low cost plans for minutes - which never expire - no long term obligation. Previous Trac-phone still in use no problems after 2 years. Highly Recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 7 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

pre-paid

09/02/2010
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little pre-paid phone. you can take and receive pictures on this phone.
Down side, you can not take the sim-card from another Tracfone and place it in this phone. Tracfone sim cards are not interchangeable when up-grading to different phones. the sim card that comes with a Tracfone stays with that Tracfone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 8 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

Great for a non-cell user

02/26/2011
By ,
Springville, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this trac fone because I do not want
to have to pay for a cell phone monthly when I
very warily use it! Have owned other trac fones
and found them to be what I need. This one
allows me to take pictures!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Review 9 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

Lots of bang 4 the buck

02/23/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought the lg420g Bonus Pack for under $15.00. Came with a rather nice case, a car charger, and the usual wall charger.
Also included Double Minute for life feature all part of the package...I have one issue with this phone, I find it hard to open while driving my car. I bought a blue tooth headset to fix this problem...One glitch is when you use the alarm the display stays on after you turn it off. I've found to turn the phone off and then back on the display will go back to normal standby mode...Good battery life so far. Not a bad phone for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 10 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

Say what you will...

11/22/2010
By ,
Toronto, ON
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buying a snazzy mobile phone for $20 and adding time as required is the good side of globalization. This phone created no NA jobs but makes life a lot easier and less expensive. At least talk is cheap in the new economy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Review 11 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

Nice cheap phone

09/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My contract was up and I was done with phone companies stealing my money so I went with Tracfone. I needed blutooth and a camera so I didn't mind paying $50 to buy the phone. With no start up or termination fee I felt competent that my investment with the LG 420G was sound. It is reliable and it has nice features plus I got double minutes for life!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Review 12 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

Only an OK phone

08/28/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've owned a tracfone for 8 years and of the 3 units I've had, this is the only disappointment. I only use a cell phone for emergency use or when I'm well away from home or work and I depend on them to hold a standby charge for several days. This phone only stays charged for about a day on standby and then needs recharging. Tracfone actually advertises an unrealistic 23 days of standby so they are way off. I've returned the first LG420 due to freeze ups but it had the same battery life as the one I have now so I know it's probably not the battery.
This phone also seems to struggle to get service in my house which my previous two phones did not. I have to be in exactly the right spot and sit there to get service with this one. Both the LG420 I returned and the one I have now had the same level of service. I had anywhere from 3 to 4 bars on my previous phone.
I simply cannot recommend this phone due to the above since I know it won't have service in the odd places I go like National Parks that are pretty remote if I don't have service in my own house. Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 13 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life
09/06/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice looking phone for tracfone other than that there is not to much to say about this phone its pretty basic.
There are 2 things I do not like about this phone the 1st is the ringtones and w/e no big deal the 2nd is the battery and it is pretty bad. I get about 14 - 15 hours off a full charge and that is minimal to no usage. just the phone being on
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Review 14 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

TracFone LG 420

02/01/2011
By ,
Cape May NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't use a cell phone much, so I don't need a monthly plan. I like the camera accessory and the phone is very easy to use. The double minutes for life program is great and will give me a phone for just a few dollars a month!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Review 15 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

Its a Great Deal

10/13/2011
By ,
Barstow, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture of it doesn't show how shiny black and attractive this is which is surprisingly durable. I'm hard on mobile phones and expect a lot because I know how they should operate and as a senior on a fixed income that can't have landline and cellular all the time like it should be, I want performance and high quality. It has a beautiful screen resolution and works like a far more expensive unit; the cameras great (I am highly picky) and after initially charging for about 14 hours it holds the juice very well. Longer than the specs said. It has many options for personal preferences, like larger very bright fonts, pleasant default ringtones and message alerts, fast connection (I'm rural) many more. I get daily heavy usage and rarely drop a call plus the double minutes probably work out to $30 every 50 days and I receive daily bank texts so its worthwhile.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life
01/31/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a VERY GOOD phone for the money. It was a hassle when I bought because the sim card was unuseable in my area but after I got a new card I love the phone!!!Plenty of minutes for such a cheap price!!! I work as a plasterer and it actually works even when it gets a little dusty -if i get it wet all i need to do it dry the battery and it works good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 17 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

It's nice BUT

11/10/2010
By ,
Harvard, Il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yeah for $20 I got this phone expecting no more than a talk , and texter. And that's fine, cause all I really need it for is talking and texting.
It came with a very ordinary camera. Which suffices if all you want to do is take happy snappies of your friends, or even worse, your pets (!?) The blue tooth is the one feature to me that really stood out as eing the best thing of the phone - it never gave hassles, and file transfer between phone and desk top is easy. That worked well for my affinity for mp3's and playing tunes.
If it wasn't for the fact that the battery was so bad, I might even still be using the phone as a source of music. But once using the blue tooth, and playing music, I could rest assured that I'd have to charge the phone again that same day. I did ask around about this, and was informed that maybe it's the screen that stays lit. And that the only was to get around this, was to switch the phone off, and then on again. This is one hassle that alienates me greatly.
Other than the extra features, the basics are pretty ordinary too. Although I've never dropped a call, the call quality I've had has left a lot to be desired. Textin though, is good. There is no lag from the time of pushing the button, and the buttons themselves are well spaced and big.
I know my little sister is going to be very pleased with this gift phone, as it is a step up from what she curently has. But for me, there are a lot more, much better tracfones out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

Great phone/great price/great company

02/22/2011
By ,
Smithfield Twp, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The phone takes great pictures, is easy to use,and is backed by Tracfone, a wonderful company. I purchased this as a replacement, because my dog decided the old phone looked like a chew toy. The employees at Tracfone were really helpful in transferring my number, restoring my service time and minutes, and not laughing at me because the dog ate my phone. Not only would I purchase this product again, but I'm sticking with Tracfone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

good holiday gift idea

11/11/2010
By ,
ft lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already bought 2 Tracfones for my mom and grandma. I have been worried a couple times and unable to reach them. They have not been interested in purchasing a cell phone, but I know they are going to like the Tracfone. It is cheap, reliable and they dont have to worry about paying another bill every month!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for TracFone LG 420 Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes for Life

Tracfone Upgraded phone

11/03/2010
By ,
DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone gave me the options I need for hands-free communications. The access to the web and camera are nice features, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next