Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Remington Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Remington's Frizz Therapy Straightener provides all day anti-frizz protection, even in humidity. So much better than a standard hair flat iron, no wonder this revolutionary hair straightener received the Good Housekeeping VIP Award Winner for this frizz-fighting innovation!
Average Customer Rating:
4.685 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation96%169 out of 176reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 139 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

LOVE!

02/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this straightener is amazing! i have wavy hair, so its really easy to curl and straighten, but usually it will poof out when its humid or windy. well i used it today, despite the windy weather, and its still bone straight. it even calmed down my dead ends! totally recomment this to anyone looking for something that compares to a Chi at half the cost!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Really Great!

05/03/2011
By ,
Miami,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just graduated from college and i used it to straighten on the big day. i straighten all of my hair--which is short length and thin--and i flipped the ends. well this straightener is fantastic! throughout the whole day it was straight and from wearing the cap for 4 hours i got "hat hair" but once i brushed it it was gone! definite buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Confusing at first but worth it

07/14/2011
By ,
Salt Lake City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first it was hard to even figure out to open the dang box :( but once i opened it up and used it, it works perfectly. Leaves my hair smooth all day even with my hair being really curly and hard to manage. Ive used all types of flat iron from revlon to remington to babyliss pro tt...returned babyliss pro because i didnt like how it handled my hair. Most flat irons i have had once i straighten my hair my hair would curl up and start to go wavy. Where i live has high humidity. I would recommend this product because its so easy to manage and its lightweight...although i dont mind the color and i havent figure out how to lock in the heat settings it works fine for me...
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron
02/17/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product overall, but my wife says the control buttons on handle sometimes get in the way when using the device.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Great Straightener

06/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great straightener--especially for the price! I've only had it for a few weeks, but love it so far!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron
01/10/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my teenage granddaughter and she loves it. Said it's the best one she has used.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Terrible for everyday use!!!

01/11/2013
By ,
knoxville, tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware!! If you have normal hair and just straighten it to get the frizz out this is not the straightner for you! After a week of use this straightner fried my hair!!! I had to make hair appt and have all my hair cut off! It should not heat up to 470...That is way to HOT!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

My favorite!!!

02/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this flat iron. It is amazing for the price. I had the older version for 5 years and it still worked just fine, I figured I should update and I'm glad I did. I like this one even more than the other. I have tried all types of flat irons, from inexpensive to super expensive and this one works just as well, if not better, than ones that cost twice or three times as much. I have medium thickness, curly hair and I only have to set it to 340 degrees and it works awesome. I would highly recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Honest, Superior Quality!

02/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this flat iron! It does what it says: controls frizz and keeps it away for how ever long you have your hair straight. I used to own a CHI flat iron until it shorted out, and I was about to get another one until I came across all the positive reviews for this one. I cannot think of one negative thing about this flat iron. My favorite thing about it has to be the price. I can say from experience that it works even better than most flat irons that are 3x the price. The only thing I would advise for anyone who gets this flat iron is to make sure to still put a heat serum (preferably with silicon) to protect your hair from heat damage, even though Remington says that the infused oils in the plates condition and protect the hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Amazing

02/08/2011
By ,
Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost never write product reviews but this straightener deserves one. It is AMAZING. Literally life changing. With other products I used to walk out into the humidity (after straightening my hair and using product) and my hair would look like curly and frizzy within a minute or two. No longer!
It's so nice knowing that despite the weather my hair will look exactly how I want it to- sleek and shiny- all day no matter what the weather is like. Even the tropical Hawaiian weather is no match for this product. Even if this product only lasts a year I would happily rebuy it again and again. Only very minor gripe is the dial that opens and locks the plates is sometimes hard to turn... maybe the ridge isn't high enough?
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Fantastic Straighteners for this climate

06/29/2011
By ,
Wales, UK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought these online whilst on vacation in Florida for a month as my British salon (GHD) ones couldn't get to decent let alone high temperature so my hair was not straightening properly, they arrived really quickly & were absolutely fantastic, matching the quality of my GHDs when used at home. They worked exactly as stated, heated really quickly & kept my hair straight & soft despite the high temperatures outdoors whilst in Orlando & then staying at the beach in Naples. I have thick frizzy hair & these would make it soft & straight in a matter of minutes keeping it like it until washed again. I will be bringing these with me next time, no more worries about my hair looking & feeling good whilst on vacation again !!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Product does what it's supposed to!

11/29/2011
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked online at all reviews on other hair straighteners and bought this one based on good reviews. I have curly/frizzy/fine hair that is going gray. The grays are coming in very wiry. I can straighten my hair in minutes and have it stay for days. I have even gotten caught in the rain, which caused little waving on undersides of my hair but didn't turn me into a frizz ball. I live in a very humid climate so I needed one that worked well. It sure does!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Best Flat Iron I've Owned So Far

10/20/2010
By ,
Edwardsville, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have naturally wavy hair that is sometimes difficult to straighten. I usually spend about 20-30 minutes styling it, and then I still have that one strand of hair that will not straighten no matter how hot the iron gets. This product is amazing. I probably spent about 5 minutes total straightening my hair. I decided to try this without using any type of straightening "helper" product and it does a pretty good job at keeping the frizz at bay, leaving my hair smooth and healthy looking. It straightened every inch of my hair, even the areas that I have problems getting completely straight. The only issue I came across was the lock function. The temperature settings are right where you hold the straightener so it's easy to accidentally raise or lower the temperature. The directions say to hold the + (plus button) for three seconds to turn on the lock function to stop you from accidentally changing the temperature, but I actually had to press the - (minus) for three seconds for the lock symbol to appear. I then had to hold the minus button again for three seconds to take it off. I'm not sure if this is a glitch with the iron or if the directions are wrong, but just a heads up for anyone who may have the same problem. Overall, I think the iron is great for the price and exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Very disappointed…after using the older model!

02/04/2014
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used the older model, Remington Frizz Therapy flat iron (model S-9951) for several years and sadly it recently broke in an accident. I was very happy with it - smoothest glide, no smell, added great shine..I'd receive many compliments on how shiny my hair looked {I have a lot of hair} and so, all-in-all it was one of the BEST purchases I've ever made. So, I decided to get the S-8510 thinking it was an upgrade to the older model with just a displacement of the buttons to the side instead of on top of the bar. Well, I am shocked & very disappointed in the newer S-8510 model for the main reason that the plates do not have as they say “the smoothest glide”. Instead of gliding, it scrapes the hair and actually hurts as it gets closer to the ends, especially hurts while doing my bangs. It also somehow weighs the hair down, adds no shine and I felt like my hair is dirty just a day later {I wash my hair once or may be twice a week}. I am shocked & disappointed because having used the older model {S-9951} I had high hopes for other Remington products but obviously, I should have done some more research. I think they’ve short-changed on this newer model {S-8510}. I have to go over my hair several times which ends up taking me more time...not something I want to deal with on a daily basis. I’m now returning this one to Walmart and after much searching, have decided to purchase the older model {S-9951} either on ebay or amazon. Be warned though, the older model is a little more expensive now {$47-$57} since its supply is limited. And please pay attention to the model #'s {obviously the product names can be misleading}.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Best Flat Iron I've Ever Used!

01/10/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this flat iron because my old was leaving my hair feeling dry & after awhile my hair would start to frizz..After using this product I will never have another flat iron..It leaves my hair soft & it does not frizz all day long..The built in conditioners help to keep hair soft & in place..I would highly recommend this flat iron to anyone who has trouble managing their hair.. It heats up very quickly & is easy to use..
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Great for AA hair!

01/16/2014
By ,
Rockford, illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this product five stars because it does a wonderful job. I use it to both straighten and curl. I only wanted body, not curl, so this worked great. Heats up instantly, and left my hair smooth, and soft. I started out at 370 degrees, ended up at 390 and got fantastic results. I am very happy with this purchase! Some thought the product was too long, but it works very good for me.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

LADIES, BUY ONE IMMEDIATELY! :)

10/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been searching for a straightner that would leave my hair soft and shiny for years and been through so many products to get straight hair. I have always had course, dry, wavy hair. I also color it a lot and NOTHING works. I thought I would check out reviews and I was willing to try for something one more time. I'm so glad I did..this product does exactly what it says. My hair is so soft, it feels silky, and the heat settings are digital so you know exactly what temp you are using!! I put mine on 370degrees. ALso, I had a chi and have been through tons of straightners, but this one really does the trick!!! I'll post pics at another time!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Awesome

02/22/2014
By ,
Ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really healthiest product to straight your hair!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

JUNK STRAIGHTENER

05/08/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I BOUGHT ONE OF THESE ABOUT A MONTH AGO AND IT WOULDN'T TURN ON. WELL IT TURNS ON AND THEN RIGHT BACK OFF. I THOUGHT THERE WAS SOMETHING WRONG WITH IT SO I TOOK IT BACK AND GOT ANOTHER ONE. GUESS WHAT IT WORKED THE FIRST TIME THEN BACK TO THE SAME OLD STUFF. I MESS WITH THIS THING FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES EVERY MORNING TRYING TO GET IT TO STAY ON. ALSO IT DOES NOT HELP WITH THE FRIZZ AT ALL. IF ITS HUMID OUT ITS FRIZZY. MY CHEAP 15.00 STRAIGHTENER WORKED JUST AS GOOD AND I DIDNT HAVE TO FIGHT WITH IT. SAVE YOURSELF LOTS OF MONEY AND DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
-15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Remington S8510 Frizz Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Great results... buttons inconvenient

09/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My hair is silky smooth after using this product but the buttons are very inconvenient. If you don't lock in the temp, you will constantly change it while straightening. They should have been put on the side or inside instead. Other than that I really like it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indiana
lock button
Posted 10/26/2011
I saw a video on youtube about this product and according to the video once the iron reaches the temp you want you can press and hold the lower button and all of the buttons will lock so that you don't accidently change it while you straighten... I am still reading and watching reviews on this product to decide if I will purchase it or not but when I read your review I decided to share the info I had came accross earlier with you.... hope this helps you!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
61-80 of 127 total reviews