Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Element Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Element Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Catch the game in full HD on the Element 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Its full HD picture shows you all the details you've been missing, and its 16:9 aspect ratio makes it perfect for watching widescreen movies and TV shows. Plus, three HDMI inputs help you get the most out of your HD-capable components. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Element 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.113 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(247 Reviews) 197
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
71
3 stars
12
2 stars
12
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation83%204 out of 247reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
71
3 stars
12
2 stars
12
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Great product for the money.

03/16/2011
By ,
Houston, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very hesitant on purchasing an Element brand HDTV bc I never owned one but the product had good reviews.
Pros: Picture Quality, Value/Price, Sound
Cons: Non-swivel stand, Blue Source Input Box Lingering around on screen, No Energy Star Saver setting.
I have had the TV for over a week and the picture and sound quality are as good as a LG 42" I have used before. Only issues I have found with this TV is the when changing the source/input it will leave a 4x6 or so blue box saying HDMI 3 or the input you selected on the screen for about a minute. Not really an issue but an inconvenience. You have to exit out of it to get it off the screen. Another problem I have noticed is on PS3 if I select a game or DVD to play, it shows a blue screen saying no signal for about a couple of seconds.
It doesn't have an energy star/saver option but you can adjust the user setting for video, colors and audio to run cooler, etc... Very happy with this HDTV.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

99% Love It

12/28/2010
By ,
League City, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PROS:
1)the tv came in about 4 days earlier then I expected it to.
2) The tv looked much bigger then all the 42 inch tvs in the store.
3) I was able to connect my xbox, dvd player, and wii without changing cords in the back :)
4)pretty good quality for the buck..It won't be perfect but it looks awesome for me
5) the stand was easy to put together
Cons:
1) I wanted to mount this tv to the walmart entertainment center in the picture which is mount ready...The directions to the entertainment center stated the tv you buy should include screws for the back of the tv from the manufacter and the tv did not. I tried to think whose responsibility it was to include it and thinking about it..it would be element tv. All flat screen ranges on the type of screw the manufactor inputs in the tv which therefore they should provide. I have it on the stand right know which looks good but eventually I have to find out what type of screw the element will take in the back to mount. It is probably cheap but I now have to look around and find out.
2) It is ture like the other comments that when using the tv functions you will have to use the element remote and not the cable one. I have comcast and it does not read the element. Not a big problem. I just have to keep the tv one handy like old school.
Overall I feel 99.0% happy with my Element. I feel people who are bothered about the specifications of the tv will probably want a higher quality but I still feel like I am having a theatrical experience. I read over 100 of these and other reviews and I am very happy of my choice. I hope you find the right product for you. : )
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 3 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Great TV!

12/27/2010
By ,
Kaysville, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TV is really nice. Lost the picture after a few days of watching. Probably from shipping. Going to return and get the same one again and see how that one turns out. Great on all connections and abilities. I love how the tv turns on and off automatically when I turn on and off my computer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Affordable product

11/13/2010
By ,
Kansas city, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ALL IS GOOD WITH THE TV BUT WHEN TRYING TO
GET CODE FOR REMOTE CONTROL TO WORK... YOU WILL HAVE TO CALL OR LOOK ON LINE IF YOU HAVE DIRECT TV SERVICE, ITS NOT LISTED IN THE GROUP OF TV BRANDS..WE ALSO GOT THE STAND FROM WALMART BUT IT WAS TO LOW ..SHOULD BE 40INCHES OR HIGHER TO
APPRECIATE TV LOOK
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Excellant TV!!!

12/04/2010
By ,
Port Orange, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after moving into a new house. I originally ordered a VIZIO but it was backordered and I wanted a bigger TV for the new house right away. There was a special on this Element, and I am sooo happy I bought it! It has an excellant, clear picture and using the new surround sound system, we have our own theater right in our living room! Love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Great Value, Great look, mediocre quality picture

08/17/2010
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a bit skeptical about this product due to its incredibly low price, and in some senses you do get what you pay for here. However, overall I have been very satisfied. The tv design is very attractive and I was impressed out of the box with how 'nice' the tv appeared. However, it is difficult (so far impossible for me) to program universal remotes to work with this product. Also, the picture can be a little pixelated in HD. Overall, incredible value, you can't beat the bang-for-the-buck factor here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 7 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

nice big tv..great price...great quality

08/24/2010
By ,
Arlington, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chose this tv for the size and price. Using it for a good size living room in an apt. Thought it might be too small..but its perfect. Good picture...great sound...love it! Dont pay more for a name brand when this has all you want and need :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Review 8 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

A good buy.....so far

10/15/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took about 20 hrs. playing time for some reason to get optimal picture quality just like the direct tv installer of my hd satellite dish said it would. My 24", 5 mo. old Element now serves as my pc monitor. Both have been flawless providing terrific entry level hdtv and cmtv performance. Installation even for a 33 lb. tv was a breeze. There is no swivel or tilt feature my smaller one posseses however. The bargain price is attained I believe with the 60hz rather than the vastly overated 120hz feature most 40" and larger tv's come with. The sound is the only negative but doesn't matter as I own a home entertainment system I couldn't live w/o. The question still looms though on this off brand; "Will the performance last for many years?" Only time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 9 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

nice value/ bad support

11/30/2010
By ,
utica, new york
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a good flat screen 1080p for the price. The picture
re-adjusting constantly as channels are flipped is a nuisance. There is some distortion on HD football broadcasts sometimes, but I think this is Time Warner, not the T.V. Bad note- the remote, power cord & screws to attach base were missing out of the box, took Element over 2 weeks to get them to us. Had to upgrade firmware in T.V. to get universal remote to work. Lousy customer support!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 10 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Decent quality for affordable price

08/19/2010
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Honestly I didn't need a high end tv and wanted something of decent quality and affordability and this tv fits that description. Watching sports can be a little blurry with the fast action but it's only 60hz so wasn't expecting the greatest, still looks okay but on HD channels it looks much better. Before I bought this I questioned the contrast ratio being lower than most which is basically the blackest black compared to the whitest white, the higher the better but unless you would have another tv with a higher one right next to it I would never know the difference. Sound is good, has additional hookups for additional equipment. Only thing is I had a tv stand with the bar that holds up the tv instead of having it sitting on the stand and it wouldn't work with that, we ended up having to set it on the stand, could be possible to do and I just couldn't figure it out. Decent quality for the money, would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

NIce tv for the price, you cant beat it

11/23/2010
By ,
Saxe VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture is nice on this tv and it looks good too. It has many features include HD 1080, but it is a little slow. it is has a 60hz picture refresh, 120hz is better but it also cost $200 more. So for the price you can only beat this buy if the tv price drops for black friday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 12 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Great Product

10/25/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never heard of this brand before purchasing this TV, but it turns out to be a great product. I would definitely recommend this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 13 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Wonderful TV

08/18/2010
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are extremely pleased with this HDTV - great picture quality even when we don't have HD going into it. Wonderful sound without need for any additional speakers. I would highly recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 14 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Good Product - Great Price

11/02/2010
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good TV at a great price. The only issues I have is that the picture is not as good as an expensive TV. However, very good for the price. I also don't like how long the pause is when you change channels. (When changing channels, often it is broadcast in a different resolution and it takes a few seconds to catch up.) Makes channel surfing a pain. But so far, overall very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 15 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Great Deal, Great Quality

10/13/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ill start with the flaws:
Gives off a lot of heat.
Connections are awkwardly placed on the back.
Everything else I cannot complain about. I love this TV and I am very glad I chose it over the others.
I use this mainly as a PC monitor and let me say, better than i ever expected. Great picture and text is easy to read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 16 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Great price for a nice TV

11/27/2010
By ,
Indy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this at a great price with super fast free shipping. Ordered it late Friday night and had it by Tue afternoon.
The TV is fine not the best out there but for the money it's perfect. It does have the freeze feature that I love to use for the weather and reading fine print.
It makes a great 42" monitor too.
if you are looking in the low price range for a HDTV this size you will not be disappointed at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 17 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Thrilled!

12/03/2010
By ,
Madison, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't think I can understate how truly happy I am with the product and the on-line purchase process. The 42" (Element) picture is simply phenomenal. It installed very easily with my home theater sound-system, and again, looks fantastic! The only reason I rated the "Sound Quality" 4 rather than 5-stars is because I listen to everything through my Yamaha home theater. The couple/few times I have heard the built-in speakers; they sounded fine... relatively speaking. It's an unfair comparison stacking the televisions built-ins with a Yamaha 5 channel, surround-sound system.
If you're on the fence about this television because you've never heard of Element; don't be. Go ahead and buy it. For my part, I couldn't be happier!
btw... I took advantage of Free-Shipping; warehouse to home. It saved me the huge hassle of getting a very big box from the store to my home. The television was delivered when they said it was going to be delivered, and I tracked it (on-line) from the warehouse to my front door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Element HD LCD TV 42"

11/30/2010
By ,
Plano, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great picture and sound and very good value. The first one arrived with some dead pixels. contacted wal-mart which promptly shipped another unit. since I hadn't heard about this product, I went ahead and purchased a 3 years protection for a total of 4 years just to be on the safe side.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 19 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Element 42" Class LCD

12/25/2010
By ,
Jesup, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a basic tv. Good price, good value, 42 inches and no frills. just enough to get the job done. no bad pixels either. the sound is adequate and the picture takes a little fiddling to get it where you like it(mine came very bright)
While not the cheapest 42 inch screen I could have gotten, I chose this one for the ease of returning in case something went wrong. thankfully this has not happened.
A word of warning the Mfg. calls for m5X20mm mounting screws this did not work on mine I used M5X10mm screws the others stopped before I got them seated, had I continued with the 20mm screws i would have broken something.
Wattage not available from the company but with my killawatt meter measured 207 watts.
all the wires connect on the bottom and face down so some might have a problem with wires pulling out, I did not.
No major problems. Just remember how much you are paying for this $430 (not $630 or $730) and you will be fine
all in all I am happy with my bed room tv..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Element 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, ELDTW422

Not Great

08/20/2010
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this to replace a 32" in bedroom sitting room. The picture is not great. I didn't expect it to be great but it could be better. Fuzzy images during moving scenes, colors are distorted. I have tried all the settings and can't seem to get it to be what it should be. I have another element in our library 32" and that one is good so I thought I would be getting another good TV but am disappointed with this one. Not going to take it back because I will put it in the basement rec room when I find one that is better. I don't recommend this if you are planning to buy it for a main TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
1-20 of 198 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next