Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

The Virgin Mobile MIFI 2200 Wireless Router is a very neat option to access high-speed 3G Internet while you are on the go. This broadband device can be easily set up as a wireless Wi-Fi hotspot, and you can connect up to five devices including your laptop, desktop, or portable game consoles that are compatible with Wi-Fi. With this device, browsing the Internet and accessing your official mails is easy, especially when you are travelling. This Virgin Mobile broadband device features single touch connectivity and is extremely easy to operate. It also helps you connect from a distance of 30 to 40 feet. This device gives you up to 4 hours of usage time with 40 hours standby. It also offers optimum security with its password protection feature. With VPN capability, auto detection, and a host of other connectivity options, this Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go helps you keep in touch with your office and friends while you are traveling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.753 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation73%117 out of 160reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Works as expected and Virgin's data plan is A+

09/24/2010
By ,
Shoreview, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The wifi router works better than many full size versions and even in my rural area it picks up the Virgin cell signal without an issue.
The only downside is that the 5 client limit can become an issue if you want to use the wifi router as your main router with all the computers/printers/smartphones in some places.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 122 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Unbelievable!

05/20/2011
By ,
Bklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started out with the Virgin Ovation MC760 and for some reason (maybe too much interference, walls, etc.) I could not get beyond 1 bar on the Sprint EVDO-A and the device kept switching to the roaming bad network (XRTT)?. I bought this the next day and placed it next to a window at least 30 feet from me- 4 bars on the EVDO-A network-WOW! I'm running an advanced OS on an old computer (I had to override my computer for the os to install) and even though my system now runs sluggish- the internet is comparable to a cable connection. I will be downgrading my OS back to the original and the internet should be running super fast. I am amazed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 123 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great product

11/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to have the USB MC760 and only got 1 to 2 bars but with the Mifi I am able to position it in my house and get 3 to 4 bars. It is small and compact and great to travel with. This is my only way to get broadband and through Wal-Mart at $20.00 a gb it is a great price for no contract.
Just a FYI don't expect to be doing a lot of video but for the basics it is a great product if you have no other way to get broadband or travel a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 124 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Internet access in the country

02/07/2011
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Broadband2Go device for a friend who lives too far out of town to get cable, and doesn't have a land line to get DSL. It works very well for her purposes. She doesn't stress the connection, using mostly for email and Skype. I started her off with the WalMart special data package ($20), and she's already renewed that (within a week), and plans to go with the unlimited plan for next time. It's great that you can change when you want to, with no penalty.
I also tried the device with two computers at once, and it worked well that way, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 125 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great for the price

12/06/2010
By ,
La Junta, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this for about 3 weeks, so far no problems. Connects fast, easy setup, and you just can't beat the $40 unlimited access. I like it so much I use it as my only internet connection. I get great signal strength in my house so it really gets around the internet quite fast. Would recomend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 126 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Portability!

12/18/2011
By ,
Gulf Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughters and have already owned myself for over a year. If you need to access the internet "on the go", this is the product to buy. You can easily top up whenever you need a hot spot and do not have to pay monthly fees when unnecessary. I use this whenever I visit my dad's house so I can access the internet on my computer or ipod. I also use it in the car when on a long trip to check my email, etc. (don't have a smart phone). Have also used when in a cabin on a family vacation and will connect for 5 devices. Convenient, relatively easy to set up, simple to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 127 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Takes a bit of persistence

12/23/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up wasn't as easy as it should be. It took longer to get running but once I did, it works great. Will get you through when you need to do quick work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 128 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Sweet Mobile Internet Device

01/21/2011
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small, sleek, nice build quality.
Nice plan prices and no pesky contracts or credit checks. Sweet !
This is an excellent solution for getting Internet on the go. Just keep in mind that it is pretty slow. Above dial-up, but way below typical home cable or DSL broadband. Not suitable for video streaming. Ok for audio streaming and general Web browsing and email and the like.
If you realize its limitations up front and can live with them then you will love it. I do !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 129 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device
04/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. Use it everyday and never have a problem with service.Love it.
0points
Review 130 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great Device

11/04/2010
By ,
York, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this device for almost three months and I would recommend it to anyone. I use it as my main internet at home and on the go. I would not advise keeping it in your pocket, although it is certainly small enough to, as it does get a little warm. But I have had nothing but excellent service. I have only had my laptop and Wii hooked up at the same time, but it works great. The price of the broadband, $40 a month was the best feature. I looked at different carriers and the same exact device is offered thru Verizon for $80 a month! If you live in a city you can expect great service. I live in a rural area where not many other carriers have coverage and I still get good service. It connects quickly and is easy to use. They say the battery life is for 4 hours, I have had around 3 1/2 which is pretty good. I am not a tech wizard but the download speed is pretty good although when streaming video, it occasionally pauses to reload. My family and I use it for home, school, online classes, games, You Tube and many other applications. If you are looking for affordable service without any strings attached, you should definately check this out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 131 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

I'm very glad I have this

06/12/2011
By ,
Honolulu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw a review on a tech website and then looked into it myself. The fact that I get double the data if I bought from Walmart, sealed the deal The product was not available at my Walmart so I purchased on line. To my surprise and delight, my device arrived in just a couple of days! Far faster than I was expecting. I was bummed at having to pay for postage. Apparently in Hawaii they don't ship on-line purchases to a Walmart store (which would have been free).
Setting up the device was easy but did not proceed as advertised. I had to call tech support. The website given in the instructions didn't resolve but once the tech-guy directed me to 192.168.1.1, it went smoothly. That url is "home" to whatever your router is so it's really only useful when you're using the device to access the internet.
I'm not certain how auto-recharge of the data plan works. I have reason to believe it replenishes your allotment every 30 days since there is a 30-day lifespan on purchased bytes BUT I do not think it replenishes within the 30 days if you run out early (so you're on your own to re-up if you run out in the middle of something important).
MiFi has proven itself to me on several important occasions. I'm very happy to have it when I'm not near a free wifi node. I like this one for the no-contract and the Walmart double-the-data-deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 132 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

AWESOME

02/15/2012
By ,
seagrove, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know that everyone has their opinions about prepaid, but Ive done both the monthly and the prepaid and so far I love the prepaid. I decided that I would wait a month before I gave my opinion on the Virgin Mobile mifi. I wanted to give it a good test run and make sure that I gave it every opportunity to do the job that it was intended to do. Well, it has done just that. It has impressed me far beyond what I had thought that it would just because of the reviews that I had read prior to the purchase. My family and I purchased the 2200 mifi a month ago exactly and decided that we would take it to Florida with us, so we could entertain the children with our tablets and the oldest could use his ipod touch if need be. It worked like a charm. 12 hours later we were in florida and our family that we stayed with had verizon wireless usb internet. They live so far out that this is the only way they can get internet. It was horrible. So we turned on our mifi and b.i.n.g.o...they had awesome internet. I couldn't believe it. Verizon is suppose to be so great. We use so many devices at the same time. Ive used it on my playstation 3, nintendo wii, netflix through the wii and on 3 tablets, cell phone updates, my desktop that is wifi and our ipods, (both of them). So now I am through. I give two thumbs up, (and would give more if I had more), for now. If this product should change over time I will update my obsevations. Dont give this a second thought...go get it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 133 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Unusual buy on MiFi device

12/09/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with my Virgin Mobile MiFi 2200. Walmart customers are given a special rate on the prepaid broadband, and it can't be matched. Great coverage, easy to use. Great backup for home and useful when traveling. Long term contract not required!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 134 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

works great for me

01/24/2011
By ,
Bristow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to use broadband because I cannot get high speed internet where I live. I had a AT&T broadband card for about 2 years and though it was better than dailup, it wasn't a lot better. This Virgin broadband is much faster here at the house. My father lives 10 miles tothe north and has a Verizon broadband whitch doesn't work well here at all, but works remarkable at his house. My AT&T and Virgin broadband cards worked poorly at his house. So my experience with broadband cards is that if your just out of town the brand makes a big difference on the performance.
Now for the Myfi...at first it was a little confusing to setup but that was because I unknowingly was missing a step or was entering the wrong password. Once I got through the setup ( including pairing my laptop and phones) the thing couldn't be easier to use. Push one button...give it a minute to connect and your ready to go.
No contract (20 for 1g topup from Walmart) and I couldn't be more happy with this product.
Only thing I didn't care for is it's a little pricey at the store so I saved myself $10 buying it online and having it shipped site to store for free.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 135 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device
01/06/2012
By ,
Reidsville,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well even outside city limits. runs slow after heavy use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 136 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

The device is excelent. The service stinks

06/13/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use MI-FI in my truck traveling all over the states. It did not work in Canada.
When I am in area with good signal it beats the speed of my DSL service at home. Than driving I-80 for 1500 miles in Nebraska and Wyoming I never found a spot where I could connect. It was starting in couple of truck stops, but never would log in strongly enough to open my email. Than in the middle of desert in Utah I have perfect service and can surf the net at 70 mph (the truck speed).
The main problem I have with it is, that it doesn't clearly indicate the connection strength. What I have on computer is the connection indicator between computer and the modem, what is always excellent. The green light on the side of modem indicate presence of the service, but having it on doesn't mean I can connect. Constant try and error brings only frustration.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 137 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Does everything I expected

01/25/2011
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the MiFi card to listen to internet radio like Pandora and Slacker radio in the car using my Ipod touch. So far it works excellently. The internet radio sometimes cuts out, but I think this has more to do with buffering and the Ipod than it does with the MiFi card.
The $20 top up card from Walmart seems to be all I need to listen to the internet radio in my car going to work 18 miles each way, each day.also I check emails ,and on occasion log into my office emails and server with my laptop.
The battery does not hold a charge as long as a cell phone for example, but I bought two batteries on Ebay for the unit for 6 bucks each and they are easy to pop in and out. It is not really an issue since you can charge the MiFi in the car if need be.
For the price, and no contract needed benefit, the Mi Fi card is a good deal. The unit does everything I expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 138 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Better than Dileup

01/08/2012
By ,
Muskogee, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hotspot works well, I've only used it one weekend when we were out camping in the rv. I had two PC's runing at the same time & the speed never slowed down on either of them. It is like a cell phone , some times you get good Reception & other times it will not work in the location your at. I tried it a two different camp grounds , the first one, it did'nt work & the other one , it did great. My sister has the same device & it works well for her. She lives in a location that don't have high speed internet & she says it's much better than dileup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 139 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Love it ! Fast and very well priced !

12/04/2010
By ,
Metro Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is great, much better then Verizon's USB prepaid service. It runs on Sprint's network so it's very reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 140 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

MiFi is very easy to use

01/10/2011
By ,
nyc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used the MiFi in a hotel a and in a moving car and it worked better than I thought it would. Streamed Hulu with it. It does not work great in all places but I can live with that. It is very convenient but do not expect it to replace cable or dsl.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
121-140 of 147 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  4 5 6 7 8 Next