Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

The Virgin Mobile MIFI 2200 Wireless Router is a very neat option to access high-speed 3G Internet while you are on the go. This broadband device can be easily set up as a wireless Wi-Fi hotspot, and you can connect up to five devices including your laptop, desktop, or portable game consoles that are compatible with Wi-Fi. With this device, browsing the Internet and accessing your official mails is easy, especially when you are travelling. This Virgin Mobile broadband device features single touch connectivity and is extremely easy to operate. It also helps you connect from a distance of 30 to 40 feet. This device gives you up to 4 hours of usage time with 40 hours standby. It also offers optimum security with its password protection feature. With VPN capability, auto detection, and a host of other connectivity options, this Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go helps you keep in touch with your office and friends while you are traveling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.753 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation73%117 out of 160reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Glitches

10/26/2011
By ,
Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a WONDERFUL product-when it`s working:)We purchased our first one in Janurary and did have it replaced by June-but the key there-they shipped it overnight and also credited us for downtime.I can`t speak highly enough for thier tech support!!!!They will work with you until the problem is solved.We purchased another for our daughter and son-in-law as a Christmas gift-we tried hooking it up tonight-they`re again overnighting another one-but will not charge any $ until it`s up and running.If we were in business-it probably wouldn`t be our solution-as of the downtime-we are retied and nothing pressing-so-it works great for us-we live 6 months in Il. and 6 months in Az.love the covnienance just load it up and take it with.Huge cudos!!!!!!Would I reccommend it-absolutly
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 122 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

This product did exactly what I had hoped for.

08/16/2011
By ,
Fort Worth,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are expecting to download huge files, music or movies, zoku, or games, this is not your product. If you are like me, who only wanted to be able to check e-mail, ck the news, and be able to do it at anytime (even while moving down the road), this is your product. It needs to be re-booted on occasions, but that I can live with given the mobility this product offers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 123 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

A Real Asset to our Business!

08/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use our MiFi for credit card transactions at farmers markets and fairs. We are using it in urban areas so no problem with 3G connectivity. Great device for our needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 124 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

finally something better than dial-up for rural

09/16/2010
By ,
Blue Ridge Mountains
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the MiFi because I have suffered through with dial-up at home in a rural mountain location where we will never have high-speed internet except from the cable company. I refuse to deal with arrogant cable companies (satellite only!) and have been unwilling to pay the prices charged for high-speed internet, until now, that is. The unlimited $40 per month is still almost 3x what I've been paying for dial-up; but the Virgin MiFi makes it worth it.
It works like a charm, served us well on a recent vacation for both the laptop and iPod touch. Connection time is quick. My only complaints relate to battery and power; the battery time so far has never been as much as 3 hours and the only recharge available cuts the connection and requires a wall plug - neither of which is mobile-friendly. But for most people who would choose this product, I don't think that limitation would be an issue like it is for me who uses this as the primary internet connection at home.
Virgin's customer service leaves much to be desired - set-up messages telling us to call them resulted in reps who told us they were having issues and to call back in 4 hours. 3 hours later they were closed and their hours are srtictly Pacific time Monday thru Friday. Thank goodness we know enough that we didn't really need their help and limped through until the set-up was completed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 125 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great portable wifi device

12/02/2010
By ,
North Carolina (I-40 from RDU to Morganton)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The initial sign-up procedure took some time, as the connection was very unstable. After signup though, everything has worked great. I use it with an Android tablet (Archos 70) while on the road, and Windows 7 laptop and an Ubuntu desktop computer when hanging out in the mountains.
Primary limitation is no Skype connection, not even for Skype chat (Skype will not connect, period).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 126 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Will pay for itself

01/27/2011
By ,
South Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A resort hotel I travel to frequently (4-5 times a year) charges $13 a day for internet access. I bought this MiFi unit from my local Walmart store. I need more than the $10/100MB for a stay, but the special Walmart $20/1GB is a bargain and more than enough for my needs. I love that it's month-to-month and I can top-up only when I need leave for a trip. I figure I'll save $30 each trip and this unit will pay for itself in about a year. I get good coverage where I'm at. Had a minor problem with sign-up, but that was because I mistyped my MSID into the setup wizard (so it was my fault). Easy unit to use--my laptop easily connects to it. I use this for email, light web surfing (mostly news feeds with very little streaming video) and light gaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Review 127 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Works as expected and Virgin's data plan is A+

09/24/2010
By ,
Shoreview, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The wifi router works better than many full size versions and even in my rural area it picks up the Virgin cell signal without an issue.
The only downside is that the 5 client limit can become an issue if you want to use the wifi router as your main router with all the computers/printers/smartphones in some places.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 128 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

MIFI 2200

01/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product, needed to call to setup. But working well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 129 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

The best investment on Virgin Mobile

11/09/2011
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item online and have not had any problems at all. Virgin Mobile is the best investment if you are looking for wireless internet. Buy this product, trust me you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone
4.3 out of 5(158)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 130 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Better than Dileup

01/08/2012
By ,
Muskogee, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hotspot works well, I've only used it one weekend when we were out camping in the rv. I had two PC's runing at the same time & the speed never slowed down on either of them. It is like a cell phone , some times you get good Reception & other times it will not work in the location your at. I tried it a two different camp grounds , the first one, it did'nt work & the other one , it did great. My sister has the same device & it works well for her. She lives in a location that don't have high speed internet & she says it's much better than dileup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 131 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Sweet Mobile Internet Device

01/21/2011
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small, sleek, nice build quality.
Nice plan prices and no pesky contracts or credit checks. Sweet !
This is an excellent solution for getting Internet on the go. Just keep in mind that it is pretty slow. Above dial-up, but way below typical home cable or DSL broadband. Not suitable for video streaming. Ok for audio streaming and general Web browsing and email and the like.
If you realize its limitations up front and can live with them then you will love it. I do !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 132 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Exactly What I Needed

05/18/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The setup was quite simple. Also, when you run out of data your device will still connect to Virgin Mobile's website to allow you to re-up.
Apparently Wal-Mart negotiated a special rate plan with Virgin Mobile/Sprint that is only offered to those who purchase this device from Wal-Mart. The special plan is the $20/month for 1GB. You'd be hard pressed to find this type of value in a pre-paid plan.
I didn't want to sign a two-year contract with other providers since the technology/pricing is changing so quickly. One of these days I am sure I will want the 4g after the pricing comes down.
The only negative is the fact that the device does not have a battery indicator.
I use this with my iPod touch and it works well. It's not perfect, but what is?
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 133 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great!

04/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loved this product, i get 1.5 to 2m connections all up and down the east coast. i stream netflix in my car for the kids on long trips. takes a sec to get going but once its up and running no problems. the pay as you go is great, if you don't need it don't pay it and when you do its just a phone call with a credit card and you have 30 days from that day no matter how long its been deactivated.
+1point
Review 134 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Pleasantly surprised

09/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the Virgin Mobile Broadband2go USB stick. I didn't expect much from this product but I purchased it because it might enable to access internet in my area (way out in the country) where only dialup is available.
When I checked the coverage area online it showed my area had excellent data coverage so I installed the device, payed for unlimited and now I am amazed. I am able to play facebook games such as Farmville and Cafe World. The apps low a little bit more slowly than my friends cable connection but not by much. Once I am in the application (such as Farmville) I am usually able to move more quickly between farms/gifts/actions than with cable.
Some things on some websites move a little bit more slowly but again, not by much.
If you want to try this, buy the stick version if you don't need to connect multiple devices....it's less expensive. If you buy the mifi version be warned that connection will slow the more devices you connect. Also, if you buy a top up card and then decide you don't want to keep the device, you cannot get a refund on the card, just on the usb or mifi device itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 135 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

AWESOME

02/15/2012
By ,
seagrove, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know that everyone has their opinions about prepaid, but Ive done both the monthly and the prepaid and so far I love the prepaid. I decided that I would wait a month before I gave my opinion on the Virgin Mobile mifi. I wanted to give it a good test run and make sure that I gave it every opportunity to do the job that it was intended to do. Well, it has done just that. It has impressed me far beyond what I had thought that it would just because of the reviews that I had read prior to the purchase. My family and I purchased the 2200 mifi a month ago exactly and decided that we would take it to Florida with us, so we could entertain the children with our tablets and the oldest could use his ipod touch if need be. It worked like a charm. 12 hours later we were in florida and our family that we stayed with had verizon wireless usb internet. They live so far out that this is the only way they can get internet. It was horrible. So we turned on our mifi and b.i.n.g.o...they had awesome internet. I couldn't believe it. Verizon is suppose to be so great. We use so many devices at the same time. Ive used it on my playstation 3, nintendo wii, netflix through the wii and on 3 tablets, cell phone updates, my desktop that is wifi and our ipods, (both of them). So now I am through. I give two thumbs up, (and would give more if I had more), for now. If this product should change over time I will update my obsevations. Dont give this a second thought...go get it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 136 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great product, too many unhappy reviews online

02/01/2011
By ,
Stockton, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as always walmart.com reliably sent me the mifi. (have used walmart.com several times in the past and never an issue) the mifi was harder to configure than expected...but once that was done, no issues at all. Internet is not incredibly fast, but not incredibly slow either. It is just average speed. Faster than 56k, but slower than most modern age dsl/cable. I took it on a road trip already and it has proven to be incredibly useful in the car and hotel room. Now my gf uses it as her primary source of internet. I think it is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 137 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Internet access in the country

02/07/2011
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Broadband2Go device for a friend who lives too far out of town to get cable, and doesn't have a land line to get DSL. It works very well for her purposes. She doesn't stress the connection, using mostly for email and Skype. I started her off with the WalMart special data package ($20), and she's already renewed that (within a week), and plans to go with the unlimited plan for next time. It's great that you can change when you want to, with no penalty.
I also tried the device with two computers at once, and it worked well that way, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 138 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Portability!

12/18/2011
By ,
Gulf Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughters and have already owned myself for over a year. If you need to access the internet "on the go", this is the product to buy. You can easily top up whenever you need a hot spot and do not have to pay monthly fees when unnecessary. I use this whenever I visit my dad's house so I can access the internet on my computer or ipod. I also use it in the car when on a long trip to check my email, etc. (don't have a smart phone). Have also used when in a cabin on a family vacation and will connect for 5 devices. Convenient, relatively easy to set up, simple to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 139 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Just Amazingly Good

08/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup - Very easy. Quick. Did it while waiting in parking lot for kids from school.
Cost - Very reasonable. No contracts. Option to choose one of three tiers each month.
Reliability - Very good. 90%+ times works with no problems. Like a cell phone, in some areas may not connect.
Usefulness - Excellent. Connect up to 5 devices. Worked great in DC during earthquake and hurricane. So great during emergencies and power/cable outages.
Portability - Great. Size of a credit card.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 140 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Works very well and is quite secure.

02/26/2012
By ,
Thre rivers mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the worst signal in my area and have had some trouble with other devices getting usefull data but now as long as I dont use more than three devices at a time its great but sort of slow when there is five devices on it at once. love it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
121-140 of 147 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  4 5 6 7 8 Next