Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

The Virgin Mobile MIFI 2200 Wireless Router is a very neat option to access high-speed 3G Internet while you are on the go. This broadband device can be easily set up as a wireless Wi-Fi hotspot, and you can connect up to five devices including your laptop, desktop, or portable game consoles that are compatible with Wi-Fi. With this device, browsing the Internet and accessing your official mails is easy, especially when you are travelling. This Virgin Mobile broadband device features single touch connectivity and is extremely easy to operate. It also helps you connect from a distance of 30 to 40 feet. This device gives you up to 4 hours of usage time with 40 hours standby. It also offers optimum security with its password protection feature. With VPN capability, auto detection, and a host of other connectivity options, this Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go helps you keep in touch with your office and friends while you are traveling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.753 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation73%117 out of 160reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

MiFi is very easy to use

01/10/2011
By ,
nyc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used the MiFi in a hotel a and in a moving car and it worked better than I thought it would. Streamed Hulu with it. It does not work great in all places but I can live with that. It is very convenient but do not expect it to replace cable or dsl.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 122 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

GAMER

02/26/2011
By ,
Lindale TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mifi give me fast enoght for wii online. It was slight laging but not that much.I all ways keep it plug in and wii my wii and pc runing at the same time just gave me a little lag. I love it and at $40 a month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 123 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Glitches

10/26/2011
By ,
Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a WONDERFUL product-when it`s working:)We purchased our first one in Janurary and did have it replaced by June-but the key there-they shipped it overnight and also credited us for downtime.I can`t speak highly enough for thier tech support!!!!They will work with you until the problem is solved.We purchased another for our daughter and son-in-law as a Christmas gift-we tried hooking it up tonight-they`re again overnighting another one-but will not charge any $ until it`s up and running.If we were in business-it probably wouldn`t be our solution-as of the downtime-we are retied and nothing pressing-so-it works great for us-we live 6 months in Il. and 6 months in Az.love the covnienance just load it up and take it with.Huge cudos!!!!!!Would I reccommend it-absolutly
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 124 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great product, too many unhappy reviews online

02/01/2011
By ,
Stockton, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as always walmart.com reliably sent me the mifi. (have used walmart.com several times in the past and never an issue) the mifi was harder to configure than expected...but once that was done, no issues at all. Internet is not incredibly fast, but not incredibly slow either. It is just average speed. Faster than 56k, but slower than most modern age dsl/cable. I took it on a road trip already and it has proven to be incredibly useful in the car and hotel room. Now my gf uses it as her primary source of internet. I think it is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 125 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Love it ! Fast and very well priced !

12/04/2010
By ,
Metro Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is great, much better then Verizon's USB prepaid service. It runs on Sprint's network so it's very reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 126 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Wonderful device IF you have GREAT coverage!

02/22/2012
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Virgin Mobile Mifi works out great for me. I live right across the street from a Sprint tower and I get 3.1 MB download and 1.2 Upload on a daily basis (it does also vary on weather....snowy...about 2.2mb down and .5 up...it varies. Anyways, IT DEPENDS ON COVERAGE!!!! Lots of people complain about it because the coverage....I understand that 100%........I've been in places where I have low/no coverage and don't get mad because it doesn't work in ONE spot....it works in THOUSANDS/MILLIONS of spots too!! I use this device specifically for business and home internet (since it's so fast!). I have the $40 plan and have had it since I have purchased the device. The "cap" does slow internet down....but I'm okay with that. I have 5 devices hooked up to it on a daily basis as well. It's mainly always plugged in. I do have the 12 hr battery......boy that is worth every penny! The only time I don't have it plugged in is when I'm on long car trips and I use my iPad as a GPS and let my mifi provide internet for it. :)
If you need a Mifi that works for business or rather simple browsing (unless you live right across from a sprint tower that you can use for gaming on ps3/xbox 360 constantly), I highly recommend getting this device! Using this with JUST an iPod touch works out great as well! I use Skype for 3g calling on it and love it! Thanks Virgin Mobile for giving me a fabulous deal on my extremely fast internet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 127 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Super small, works well

03/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The MiFi connects to my Nook color with no problem, and I've been suprised at how much I can do with 1Gb of data transfer per month. Highly recommended for people who don't want to be in long, expensive contracts with their cellular provider.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 128 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Exactly What I Needed

05/18/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The setup was quite simple. Also, when you run out of data your device will still connect to Virgin Mobile's website to allow you to re-up.
Apparently Wal-Mart negotiated a special rate plan with Virgin Mobile/Sprint that is only offered to those who purchase this device from Wal-Mart. The special plan is the $20/month for 1GB. You'd be hard pressed to find this type of value in a pre-paid plan.
I didn't want to sign a two-year contract with other providers since the technology/pricing is changing so quickly. One of these days I am sure I will want the 4g after the pricing comes down.
The only negative is the fact that the device does not have a battery indicator.
I use this with my iPod touch and it works well. It's not perfect, but what is?
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 129 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

I'm very glad I have this

06/12/2011
By ,
Honolulu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw a review on a tech website and then looked into it myself. The fact that I get double the data if I bought from Walmart, sealed the deal The product was not available at my Walmart so I purchased on line. To my surprise and delight, my device arrived in just a couple of days! Far faster than I was expecting. I was bummed at having to pay for postage. Apparently in Hawaii they don't ship on-line purchases to a Walmart store (which would have been free).
Setting up the device was easy but did not proceed as advertised. I had to call tech support. The website given in the instructions didn't resolve but once the tech-guy directed me to 192.168.1.1, it went smoothly. That url is "home" to whatever your router is so it's really only useful when you're using the device to access the internet.
I'm not certain how auto-recharge of the data plan works. I have reason to believe it replenishes your allotment every 30 days since there is a 30-day lifespan on purchased bytes BUT I do not think it replenishes within the 30 days if you run out early (so you're on your own to re-up if you run out in the middle of something important).
MiFi has proven itself to me on several important occasions. I'm very happy to have it when I'm not near a free wifi node. I like this one for the no-contract and the Walmart double-the-data-deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 130 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great internet source for the money

10/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For my use, I opt'ed for the Walmart special price of $20 month. I like that I don't have to pay but for the months I need it. I understand that if I don't use it for a year, I may loose my account but that won't happen here. Once I had to re-register the device with the help of what seemed to be a US tech person. Could be faster for $50 a month, but not needed by me for the times I would otherwise be without. As a cell phone user 36 years, current user of BB data phone, non3G ipad, net book, mac tower, it meets my expectations. We used it in Orlando where the timeshare only gave one computer a free logon and my wife uses it weekly when visiting the nursing home to stay connected. ... anywhere there's a signal (? T-mobile?) It's already begun to pay for itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 131 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Just what I needed for connecting away from home

09/30/2011
By ,
Waltham,MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never wanted to sign into a monthly contract since I only need to connect away from home occasionally when I'm away for a week or so. This prepaid connection is perfect for me and works very well. I've already recommended it to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 132 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device
09/01/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The device works but the VM service is pathetic. Do your research before buying this device. The braodband2go service is having major problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 133 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Good Product -Works Well

01/01/2012
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this about 3 weeks ago and have only used it sporadically due to holidays, but whenever I used it, it worked well. I only used it for email and general browsing and for this activity, I really can't tell the difference in speed from standard cable broadband. I am really happy with this product right now. I saw the other reviews about the device getting hot, but I didn't notice it getting very hot even after using it for an hour or so. (I kept it out in the open, not in my pocket.) One thing I was pleasantly surprised by is the size of the device. It is really small, smaller than a credit card and I could keep it in my pocket and browse my Ipod while walking. Very nice experience. Only thing I am not happy with is the pouch they gave to carry the device. It is way too small and it is not easy to shove the device into the pouch. However, the saving grace is that once you get it in, you can just keep it in since you can turn it on and off without taking it out. You do have to take it out to charge it. I am sure one day it will get ripped due to the tightness of the fit. Overall, it is doing the job for which I bought it and I am quite happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 134 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

The device is excelent. The service stinks

06/13/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use MI-FI in my truck traveling all over the states. It did not work in Canada.
When I am in area with good signal it beats the speed of my DSL service at home. Than driving I-80 for 1500 miles in Nebraska and Wyoming I never found a spot where I could connect. It was starting in couple of truck stops, but never would log in strongly enough to open my email. Than in the middle of desert in Utah I have perfect service and can surf the net at 70 mph (the truck speed).
The main problem I have with it is, that it doesn't clearly indicate the connection strength. What I have on computer is the connection indicator between computer and the modem, what is always excellent. The green light on the side of modem indicate presence of the service, but having it on doesn't mean I can connect. Constant try and error brings only frustration.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 135 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Just Amazingly Good

08/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup - Very easy. Quick. Did it while waiting in parking lot for kids from school.
Cost - Very reasonable. No contracts. Option to choose one of three tiers each month.
Reliability - Very good. 90%+ times works with no problems. Like a cell phone, in some areas may not connect.
Usefulness - Excellent. Connect up to 5 devices. Worked great in DC during earthquake and hurricane. So great during emergencies and power/cable outages.
Portability - Great. Size of a credit card.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 136 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great product

11/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to have the USB MC760 and only got 1 to 2 bars but with the Mifi I am able to position it in my house and get 3 to 4 bars. It is small and compact and great to travel with. This is my only way to get broadband and through Wal-Mart at $20.00 a gb it is a great price for no contract.
Just a FYI don't expect to be doing a lot of video but for the basics it is a great product if you have no other way to get broadband or travel a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 137 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device
08/05/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The mobile hotspot is good buy. It enables tablet PCs to go online and speeds up web surfing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 138 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Works very well and is quite secure.

02/26/2012
By ,
Thre rivers mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the worst signal in my area and have had some trouble with other devices getting usefull data but now as long as I dont use more than three devices at a time its great but sort of slow when there is five devices on it at once. love it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 139 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Internet in your pocket

01/15/2011
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not the fastest, but fast enough to do everything except stream video or download large files. Streaming music works wonderfully. The price is also right for Virgin Mobile's data plans. Another great plus is that it's prepaid, no contract, can stop or start the service any time. Well worth the money. Easy to set up. Easy to use. One thing that is a bit annoying is almost everyday, I have to go through the setup process if the connection goes out, kind of a reset I guess. Customer Support helped me figure it out the first time, now I know what to do if the internet ever goes out. I wish the battery lasted longer, but you can buy a spare on eBay for under $7 total.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 140 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Internet access in the country

02/07/2011
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Broadband2Go device for a friend who lives too far out of town to get cable, and doesn't have a land line to get DSL. It works very well for her purposes. She doesn't stress the connection, using mostly for email and Skype. I started her off with the WalMart special data package ($20), and she's already renewed that (within a week), and plans to go with the unlimited plan for next time. It's great that you can change when you want to, with no penalty.
I also tried the device with two computers at once, and it worked well that way, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
121-140 of 147 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  4 5 6 7 8 Next