Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

The Virgin Mobile MIFI 2200 Wireless Router is a very neat option to access high-speed 3G Internet while you are on the go. This broadband device can be easily set up as a wireless Wi-Fi hotspot, and you can connect up to five devices including your laptop, desktop, or portable game consoles that are compatible with Wi-Fi. With this device, browsing the Internet and accessing your official mails is easy, especially when you are travelling. This Virgin Mobile broadband device features single touch connectivity and is extremely easy to operate. It also helps you connect from a distance of 30 to 40 feet. This device gives you up to 4 hours of usage time with 40 hours standby. It also offers optimum security with its password protection feature. With VPN capability, auto detection, and a host of other connectivity options, this Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go helps you keep in touch with your office and friends while you are traveling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.753 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation73%117 out of 160reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Unbelievable!

05/20/2011
By ,
Bklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started out with the Virgin Ovation MC760 and for some reason (maybe too much interference, walls, etc.) I could not get beyond 1 bar on the Sprint EVDO-A and the device kept switching to the roaming bad network (XRTT)?. I bought this the next day and placed it next to a window at least 30 feet from me- 4 bars on the EVDO-A network-WOW! I'm running an advanced OS on an old computer (I had to override my computer for the os to install) and even though my system now runs sluggish- the internet is comparable to a cable connection. I will be downgrading my OS back to the original and the internet should be running super fast. I am amazed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 82 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device
05/30/2011
By ,
hobe sound fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I carry this with me whenever I go out of the house. Works with all my phones and computers.
I now do not worry about having to use open wi-fi when I am out. I make skype calls with it from the car.
A little tricky to set up and get going, but if you think of it like a home router, you will get it.
Also, wish the battery would last a wee bit longer.
Overall Im real glad I bought the mi-fi.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 83 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Price is right, coverage is just OK

06/03/2011
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price for this is OK, but the value comes in the Data Plans from Virgin. if you need unlimited, go with Verizon 4G. Price is the same for that & unlimited here (in mid 2011). No brainer. But if don't need that much data usage, VM is a great deal. I use this for work on my commute (Greenbush MBCR). The signal is pretty reliable. It dropped on this router occasionally with my previous model. I've had this one a week or so & it might be doing a bit better. Speeds are not lightning, but meet my needs.
It runs very hot during heavy use. Don't plan on keeping it in your pocket. It'll shut itself off. Size is good. Easy to carry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 84 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

MIFI

06/05/2011
By ,
Reno
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product hoping to give me Internet access when I am traveling. I bought it from Wal-Mart.com. When delivered to the store, it was a phone not the MIFI. I took it to Wal_mart and they exchanged it for the MIFI that I ordered.
The MIFI worked for 10 days and then failed. I took it back to Wal_Mart and they exchanged it for a new one. I have not been able to get the new one to work at all. I plan to return it for a refund tomorrow. I have spent entirely too much time on this product, trying to make it work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 85 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

I'm very glad I have this

06/12/2011
By ,
Honolulu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw a review on a tech website and then looked into it myself. The fact that I get double the data if I bought from Walmart, sealed the deal The product was not available at my Walmart so I purchased on line. To my surprise and delight, my device arrived in just a couple of days! Far faster than I was expecting. I was bummed at having to pay for postage. Apparently in Hawaii they don't ship on-line purchases to a Walmart store (which would have been free).
Setting up the device was easy but did not proceed as advertised. I had to call tech support. The website given in the instructions didn't resolve but once the tech-guy directed me to 192.168.1.1, it went smoothly. That url is "home" to whatever your router is so it's really only useful when you're using the device to access the internet.
I'm not certain how auto-recharge of the data plan works. I have reason to believe it replenishes your allotment every 30 days since there is a 30-day lifespan on purchased bytes BUT I do not think it replenishes within the 30 days if you run out early (so you're on your own to re-up if you run out in the middle of something important).
MiFi has proven itself to me on several important occasions. I'm very happy to have it when I'm not near a free wifi node. I like this one for the no-contract and the Walmart double-the-data-deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 86 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

The device is excelent. The service stinks

06/13/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use MI-FI in my truck traveling all over the states. It did not work in Canada.
When I am in area with good signal it beats the speed of my DSL service at home. Than driving I-80 for 1500 miles in Nebraska and Wyoming I never found a spot where I could connect. It was starting in couple of truck stops, but never would log in strongly enough to open my email. Than in the middle of desert in Utah I have perfect service and can surf the net at 70 mph (the truck speed).
The main problem I have with it is, that it doesn't clearly indicate the connection strength. What I have on computer is the connection indicator between computer and the modem, what is always excellent. The green light on the side of modem indicate presence of the service, but having it on doesn't mean I can connect. Constant try and error brings only frustration.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 87 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Okay, if all you need is email.

06/17/2011
By ,
Gulfport, MS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This little gizmo is an okay way to get internet if you are able to get service in your area for Virgin Mobile phones. However, there are a lot of problems with it.
The internet is SUPER slow. Today, it took me an hour to load six and a half minutes of a Netflix movie, and my father-in-law can't even get a five minute Youtube video to load more than 30 seconds.
Also, sometimes the internet just cuts out. It says I still have access, but pages will not load.
All, in all, if you just need internet for purposes that don't involve games or video, it's okay, and the password protection is a plus. But for the fifty dollars I have to pay to keep it active every month...it's not really worth it...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 88 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great Little Product

06/23/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This MiFi Hotspot is great! Works on the Sprint network, so it works everywhere Sprint has coverage. The $20/month for 1Gb is a great value package. Why sign a 2 year contract when you can get the same level of access for just $129.00 (the cost of the unit).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 89 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Know What to Expect

07/02/2011
By ,
SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you are planning on doing much downloading or need a good bit of speed from your wireless internet, keep looking. As their website states, once you've used a set amount of data, they limit your speeds. What this looks like is a pretty fast connection for someone who uses their internet a good bit for about a week of decent speed and then 3 weeks of around 256 Kbps. For some this could be fine, but if you play on streaming video or downloading files, you're going to quickly arrive at the slower speed and find yourself waiting and waiting for simple webpages to load.
This device would be awesome for someone who needs wifi portability.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 90 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Good price for what you are getting

07/06/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got it and tried it out and I when I purchased a $40.00 card to use it they said that it now cost $50.00 when on the box it says $40.00. Also they even changed how fast it is too. Now with $50.00 you get unlimited but when you go over 2.5gb they slow you speed to noething so that it is not even usable. It is a great deal for unlimited but be preparied for slow internet when you past 2.5gb.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 91 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Never works right

07/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have to call costumer service several times a month because it just stops working. I can not even talk to someone in the US....they say they can NOT connect me to someone in the US. It worked great for the 1st few months. This thing is slow and worthless but where I live this is the only option I have other than dial up. Don’t waist you money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 92 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Works Surprisingly well

07/13/2011
By ,
Richmond, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical but I was pleasantly surprised when it eventually worked. It doesn't help when you're trying to activate it and there was an outage and you think you're either doing something wrong, or the mifi was a dud. So after the initial hiccup, device got activated after the outage (there's a portion in the online manual they should have screenshots for - the part where you get your MSID and acct number from virginmobileusa.com) and it was smooth sailing from there. It does get hot after a while, and kind of restarts when you plug it in when you're using it, otherwise it works as expected. Tethers 5 devices just fine but I've not really tested it out with heavy usage. The advantage of this is no software to install :) Connection has been pretty good considering our area seems to have a lot of dead zones. Definitely great as a back up internet option. With the $20/1GB walmart special top up - this is a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
(Email Delivery) Virgin Broadband2Go $20 Topup
4.1 out of 5(57)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 93 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Excellent so far!

07/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used this for my mobile phone so far, and it has worked fine. I have not tried it yet out in the countryside, but it has good coverage in urban/suburban settings. It also works with my computer, but I have not done that very much.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 94 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

DO NOT BUY A VIRGIN MOBILE MIFI

07/17/2011
By ,
KNOXVILLE, TENN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THE MIFI CONCEPT IS AN EXCELLENT IDEA. BUT, DONT USE VIRGIN MOBILE. THEY HAVE THE MOST NEXT TO NOTHING TECH SUPPORT THAT YOU WILL EVER EXPERIENCE.
I GOT SO FRUSTRATED WITH THEM, I RETURNED EVERY THING TO WAL MART, NEVER TO DEAL WITH ANYTHING THAT VIRGIN HAD TO OFFER.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
More like NO support
Posted 08/12/2011
I got an automated tech advisor computer thing and went through the steps that I had about 20 times previous and nothing still worked. It went to transfer me to a person and it said the number was disconnected and went to a fast busy.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 95 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Buy the extended warranty

07/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had mine 2 weeks and it was a little slower than I expected and had to reboot it many times.
Virgin's tech support was very responsive but in the end had to exchange it as it locked up. Virgin offered to send a new one or I could exchange it in store.
I exchanged it in store and Walmart as usual, for me, they were very professional. I did buy the extended warranty which I almost never do.
The one I received now is MUCH faster. So if you are dissatisfied with the purchase don't hesitate to get Virgin on the phone or exchange it. The 1st one could have been an isolated incident or quality control issue, I don't know. But since I plan to use it a lot I bought the extended warranty just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 96 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Weak signal in my area-could not use device

08/10/2011
By ,
Bergen County, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before purchasing this, I checked the Virgin Mobile website to see if it would work in my town. . . the website indicated it would. Upon trying to install it and having to call customer service, I discovered the signal was not strong enough to even complete the installation! Don't know if the Virgin Mobile device actually works or not since I could not complete the installation to try it. I returned the item and had WiFi installed in my home through my cable company. Just sayin. . . don't believe everything on Virgin's website!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 97 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Second Mobile Broadband Device That Doesn't Work

08/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to use the TMobile broadband device and it would not show a network type or even get to an activation page even though the signal was 4-5 bars. I decided to try this to see if I would have better luck. I have spent over three hours trying to get it to get on the internet to no avail. I was able to put in my account information using and Android tablet since the laptop didn't even get that far. Unfortunately I put in my $20 card number which is down the drain. I have tried a Windows 7 laptop, an Android Tablet, and even my Windows Mobile phone all with the same results. All devices are connecting to the hotspot just fine and there is an IP address, gateway info and everything..it just simply will not connect to the internet. It must have somehow actually been on the internet because my account info was viewable online on a computer that had a network cord rather than wireless. Now I really don't know what to do. I have done a factory reset about 5 times, did ipconfig release/renew, restarted the computers...don't think there is much more I can try. Also, I can't believe how HOT the device was getting with no data going through it, wow. I am frustrated beyond belief at this point!
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 98 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

This product did exactly what I had hoped for.

08/16/2011
By ,
Fort Worth,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are expecting to download huge files, music or movies, zoku, or games, this is not your product. If you are like me, who only wanted to be able to check e-mail, ck the news, and be able to do it at anytime (even while moving down the road), this is your product. It needs to be re-booted on occasions, but that I can live with given the mobility this product offers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 99 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Easy to use, very portable

08/19/2011
By ,
North Texas, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This device is quite simple to set up, if you read the instructions. (If not, good luck!) It's compact and lightweight, and every device I've tried connecting to it does just fine.
There's a bit of an issue trying to connect to corporate VPNs that use Windows 2003 Enterprise Server, but this is fixed in Windows 2008 Server.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 100 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Network is down a lot - no customer service

08/21/2011
By ,
Plano, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When it works it is great. Faster than 3G. Problem is that the network is down A LOT. When it comes back up you have to reprogram the device. There is no customer service except thru a phone number answered in India. I have held on the line for hours. The number is answered with a loud blaring sound and then "Alex" the voice gives you only billing and tech support options. Virgin Mobile did replace mine when it quit working after 2 months, but they could never get the new one to work for me. I finally tinkered with the old one and got it to work. I returned the new one. Now they are after me because they can't find where I returned it. There is no one to talk to about it except "tech support" and you can only get to them after "Alex" makes you walk thru 7 steps and dialing "1" after each step to "reactivate" your MiFi and you hold for a minimum of 1 hour. I have tried calling at all hours and Alex always tells me that they are busier than usual. I saved a little on the montly rate compared to the ATT wireless card but the network is down almost every time I need it on the road. I have been forced to do major networking on the microscopic iPhone screen. Dont waste your money or you will end up also wasting your time. P.S. you may be able to use it on up to 5 devices but more than 2 really slows it down. AND unlimited use is really 5 MG.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
81-100 of 147 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7 8 Next