Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

The Virgin Mobile MIFI 2200 Wireless Router is a very neat option to access high-speed 3G Internet while you are on the go. This broadband device can be easily set up as a wireless Wi-Fi hotspot, and you can connect up to five devices including your laptop, desktop, or portable game consoles that are compatible with Wi-Fi. With this device, browsing the Internet and accessing your official mails is easy, especially when you are travelling. This Virgin Mobile broadband device features single touch connectivity and is extremely easy to operate. It also helps you connect from a distance of 30 to 40 feet. This device gives you up to 4 hours of usage time with 40 hours standby. It also offers optimum security with its password protection feature. With VPN capability, auto detection, and a host of other connectivity options, this Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go helps you keep in touch with your office and friends while you are traveling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.753 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation73%117 out of 160reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great internet access alternative

01/11/2012
By ,
East Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The MiFi device works as expected. Setup was a little tedious but once it's up & running it's pretty reliable. Of course browsing speeds are 100% dependent on strength of cell signal to the device, and strength of wifi connectivity between the device and PCs/laptops/tablets. In areas where typical broadband internet services aren't available, this device is definitely the best option as long as you have good cell service where it's being used. This being a Virgin Mobile device, it either connects to Sprint or T-Mobile networks ... can't remember which. And the Virgin Mobile/Walmart Special $20/mo data plan gives twice the allowed data transfers per month than if you purchase the device elsewhere. Note: I set this up for parents in small town Tenn because broadband services aren't available, except for expensive satellite internet services. This device was a bump up from dial-up and a HUGE improvement!! It's NOT as fast as regular cable or DSL internet services, but it's way better than dial-up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Save your money & TIME!!!!

10/28/2011
By ,
Hawthorne, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As I read in one of the other reviews listed here: "Beware of reviews where the user has used the mifi less than a few weeks" This device/service works in spurts. You have a couple of good days in a row and than some bad days. And the bad days are a GIANT headache. I have had the device for about 2 months now and I have to reset the device no less than 10 times a day. Also it gets hot quickly and you have to charge it often, which overheats it too. I have to move from room to room just to get it to work and I live about 10 minutes from Los Angeles Intl Airport, so I am in a great area for reception. I actually had Sprint mobile broadband before switching to Virgin and had GREAT service with no problems, but decided to switch to save a buck. But I now realize its like they say, you pay for what you get and in this case you get trash!! I would not recommend this device or service even if they were offering it for free. Contacting Sprint now to switch back. SAVE YOUR MONEY...NOT WORTH IT!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Salem, Oregon
Sprint = Virgin
Posted 12/16/2011
In terms of the wireless network service and performance, Virgin runs on Sprint's network. If one perceives a difference between Virgin and Sprint in that regard, they are imagining things. Some Virgin hardware is feature crippled and you deal with a separate (and annoyingly "hip") customer service system, but the system moving your bits and bytes around is the same.
Having said that, the Sprint/Virgin network doesn't protect its customers from interruptions during network upgrades. I suspect that this is what some of the reviewers have been dealing with. I too had a 6 month period of extreme dissatisfaction. Things have been much better for the past 7 months of so, now that they've completed whatever upgrade they were doing in my area.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Good product, for what it's worth

08/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product.. I bought this for my iPad and for times when I am away from my primary home-based Wi-Fi network. The price is right and Virgin Mobile's prepaid broadband plans don't break the bank. The only drawback is the fact that Virgin relies on Sprint's data network, which can be spotty in some locations compared to AT&T or Verizon. That being said, if you just need to do some light web surfing or social networking, this product will serve you in good stead.. I don't know if I would recommend it for streaming, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+74points
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Stay away from this company !!

09/19/2010
By ,
San Diego
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The only thing that's worse than the functioning of this broadband wifi router is the service provided by Virgin Mobile.
I am in a fairly large city, with generally good coverage by Sprint (and the other telecoms here) but the speeds of this unit are HORRIBLE. Not only in one or two places in San Diego but I've tried it in various locations and it's always the same. I have used other mobile2go devices like the MiFi 2200 (same equipment) of Verizon and it's ten times faster. With the VirginMobile 2200 I get about 100 to 200 Kbps, which is one tenth to one twentyth of their advertised speed.
But the tech support from this company?? it's even worse. Out of four emails to tech support, I received an answer to only one, and it was useless. My phone call to tech support was also TOTALLY useless and after 45 minutes I gave up & asked for a supervisor, who never did appear.
I think this company and its tech support personnel are WAY over their heads.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Excellent 3G Connection

09/13/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this for 10 days. I've used it every day. I use with an iPod touch and on a macBook laptop. I've tested this on speedtest.net about 20 times. The download speed is consistently around 300-500 kpbs which is about 6-10 times faster than "old school" dial up. This 3G runs on Sprint and I've compared to my wifes 3G iPhone (AT&T) and our speeds are consistently similar. The speed on this miFi is exactly as expected for a 3G network. It's slow, but you wouldn't expect 3G to be especially fast. (note: I have gotten speeds in the 500-1,000 kbps range, but these are not the "norm".) The "ping" time is always about 200 ms on my macBook and 400 ms on my iPod touch.
This will not work well for downloading video. This will not really work well for downloading anything. This will not be your "primary" internet connection. You should buy this if you want to have an internet connection "on the road". I use this every day on my 25 minute bus ride to and from work. I use it for applications that don't require a lot of bandwidth.
This miFi is totally awesome for what it is. It's not cheap, but not too expensive either. This thing combined with a $200 iPod touch is "for all practical purposes" an iPhone without the ability to talk. There's a free app that gives you unlimited text messaging on an iPod touch.
One minor problem. It gets fairly warm/hot. I'm not sure if I'd want to run it in my pocket. I leave it sitting out when I'm using it. I don't think it's good for electronics to get hot, but that's just a guess.
Last random comment. This thing is tiny, it's less than 1/2 the size of my wife's iPhone, so this combined with my iPod touch is still "overall" the same size as an iPhone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+142points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
To the reviewer, SaintPaulMN1977
Posted 08/07/2011
i would like to use this device for exactly what you said, you even mentioned a free app for unlimited texting, which i have and love. =) i would just like to use the app on the go. your review was very helpful to me, though i have one question. which plan did you choose? i dont know if apps that need wifi count as web browsing and i dont know how to judge how much data memory(?) i need. which plan works for you?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Meets expectations

09/18/2010
By ,
Troy, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read a lot of negative reviews about this product and felt obligated to share my experience. It does not have cable or dsl type speed, but for what it is it works really well. I can't get either of the above mentioned internet services and my satellite internet experience was not a positive one. I regularly get download speeds over 1.0 Mbs and upload speeds of 300 to 500kbps. Not exactly lightening fast but with low ping times compared to satellite, it meets my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Internet access in the country

02/07/2011
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Broadband2Go device for a friend who lives too far out of town to get cable, and doesn't have a land line to get DSL. It works very well for her purposes. She doesn't stress the connection, using mostly for email and Skype. I started her off with the WalMart special data package ($20), and she's already renewed that (within a week), and plans to go with the unlimited plan for next time. It's great that you can change when you want to, with no penalty.
I also tried the device with two computers at once, and it worked well that way, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Will pay for itself

01/27/2011
By ,
South Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A resort hotel I travel to frequently (4-5 times a year) charges $13 a day for internet access. I bought this MiFi unit from my local Walmart store. I need more than the $10/100MB for a stay, but the special Walmart $20/1GB is a bargain and more than enough for my needs. I love that it's month-to-month and I can top-up only when I need leave for a trip. I figure I'll save $30 each trip and this unit will pay for itself in about a year. I get good coverage where I'm at. Had a minor problem with sign-up, but that was because I mistyped my MSID into the setup wizard (so it was my fault). Easy unit to use--my laptop easily connects to it. I use this for email, light web surfing (mostly news feeds with very little streaming video) and light gaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Unbelievable!

05/20/2011
By ,
Bklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started out with the Virgin Ovation MC760 and for some reason (maybe too much interference, walls, etc.) I could not get beyond 1 bar on the Sprint EVDO-A and the device kept switching to the roaming bad network (XRTT)?. I bought this the next day and placed it next to a window at least 30 feet from me- 4 bars on the EVDO-A network-WOW! I'm running an advanced OS on an old computer (I had to override my computer for the os to install) and even though my system now runs sluggish- the internet is comparable to a cable connection. I will be downgrading my OS back to the original and the internet should be running super fast. I am amazed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

3g and that's what you get

09/08/2011
By ,
Palmyra, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My choice was between verizon with 4g and virgin mobile 3g. I went for the cheapier option in virgin mobile because lets be honest who wants to pay 50 bucks a month for 2 gb of usage on verizon? If thats the case I'll just go get comcast internet lol...So I get this Mifi 2200 and it's very inconsistent. I have download speeds as slow as 31 kbps and as high as 300 kbps. (tested on testmy.net) When it's running at 31 you will be throwing things around the house because yes, that's slower than dial-up. I'm really thinking of returning the device, because it runs slower more often than it does faster. But I did find one pro to this device. If you own a laptop you still can access the internet when your power goes out. Sad to say, that's the only pro I can find. The short, it runs on sprint 3g so speeds arent going to be great, but when you start going slower than dial-up you wonder why you pay 150 bucks for the thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Virgin MiFi 2200 - Works Great

09/21/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Virgin MiFi 2200 is small and light weight. It charges with any mini USB cord. It also charges using the included AC adapter. WiFi and internet work when plugged in and charging. Battery lasts about 4.5 hours. Works fine for me. I get about 1MBps downloads. Great for on the road. I often take long bus trips and this has good coverage throughout Texas. I often go to Dallas and Houston from San Antonio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Decent but not ready for prime time.

09/23/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I give it 2 stars our of 5. 4 stars for overall internet connectivity and usability (yes it's not fast for 3G), 0 stars for major problems with standard protocol specific functionality (see below). If your focus is internet, facebook, twitter, etc, then this will probably work. If you actually need coverage for business purposes, you may want to look elsewhere. I would have a hard time recommending this product to anyone who has a serious business need for it.
Very Important Note: I have found that VPN does NOT work if your company uses a Microsoft VPN server. Essentially GRE (Generic Routing Encapsulation) is not supported or enabled by Virgin Mobile. IPSec works fine, though. The unit is buggy as well. Once it goes dormant, the only way to wake it up is to power cycle it and then reconnect to it.
It may run on Sprint's network, but Sprint isn't supporting or enabling this device behind the scenes. Speed is slow. 300Kb down/300Kb up on average with dslreports.com tests. Good for basic surfing, not if you want to stream any video content.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Great Product

09/22/2010
By ,
Waxahachie, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product for somone who wants a alternative to regular internet... I had DSL for years, and after problems with it going in and out. I finally went ahead and bought this product and had it activated with the unlimited plan from Virgin Mobile... At home I average download speeds of
HOME:
Latency: 187ms
Download 1.9MBPS
Upload .5 MBPS
Work:
210MS
1.1MBPS
Upload .6MBPS
Good speeds, I play online games, and download music with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

One Big Headache

08/28/2011
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware of reviews where the user has used the mifi less than a few weeks. If I had written a review in the first few weeks of owning the mifi I would have given it rave reviews. However I have used it for 7 months now and slowly after the first few weeks it has become one big headache. Today I have had to reset the device no less than 10 times, this has become the norm. The first few weeks I was getting up to 1meg download speeds, now I'm lucky to get online more than 5 minutes at a time before having to reset the mifi. This has been an on going problem that has only gotten worse.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Pleasantly surprised

09/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the Virgin Mobile Broadband2go USB stick. I didn't expect much from this product but I purchased it because it might enable to access internet in my area (way out in the country) where only dialup is available.
When I checked the coverage area online it showed my area had excellent data coverage so I installed the device, payed for unlimited and now I am amazed. I am able to play facebook games such as Farmville and Cafe World. The apps low a little bit more slowly than my friends cable connection but not by much. Once I am in the application (such as Farmville) I am usually able to move more quickly between farms/gifts/actions than with cable.
Some things on some websites move a little bit more slowly but again, not by much.
If you want to try this, buy the stick version if you don't need to connect multiple devices....it's less expensive. If you buy the mifi version be warned that connection will slow the more devices you connect. Also, if you buy a top up card and then decide you don't want to keep the device, you cannot get a refund on the card, just on the usb or mifi device itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

MiFi = reasonable cost mobile net access

04/13/2011
By ,
Portage, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The VirginMobile version of MiFi does exactly what it promises: provides mobile internet access at a reasonable cost for up to 5 people at once. I would have rated it 5 stars if it were 4G fast or $5 less per month, but the WalMart version is by far the most economical solution available. I ordered mine online and used Site-to-Store for pickup since the cost was $30 less than in the store itself.
I use it primarily during my daily train commute; secondarily, if I'm out of town or waiting at an airport. Regardless, I can send and receive email, do simple online searches, and download simple attachments.
When the signal strength is good, this works very well indeed. The lower the Sprint signal, the more painfully slow the process becomes. So, if you plan to use this in an area with poor Sprint signal [such as my home!], you will be disappointed.
$20 for 1 GB over 30 days without a contract beats all the other carriers in my area. This deal is ONLY available if you buy from Walmart online or in the store, however.
I don't have a smart phone but I've used MiFi with my iPad 2, iPod & MacBook Pro and all synch up effortlessly. Using it for just a couple of hours per day means I don't need to charge it every night.
Unfortunately, there is no charge indicator on the unit so you can't tell when it will stop working. Since 4 LEDs cost almost nothing, perhaps they will fix this on the next iteration.
For low bandwidth users like myself, this is a very practical solution for those times when you're not on WiFi, and it's less costly than paying $9.95 every time you need to send a critical email message. If you find you don't need it every month, it costs nothing so you can add cash to your account only when you need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Virgin MiFi 2200

01/26/2011
By ,
York, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Paid 139.00/ used with 2 laptop and 2 wifi phones
Works well for me even in my bad reception area, average 1 or 2 bars on my smart phone.
Best thing was dropping Comcast. Also being able to Ebay my router and modem was nice.
MiFi is about 3 credit cards thick and close to those dimensions. Have not used the included battery so its life is not tested. Plugged it in the wall and slid it under the couch. A power cord and nothing else to deal with. Basically works like a cell phone so MiFi location should/could factor into reception in your house or wherever you travel with it. I think they use the Sprint network.
As of 2day Jan 2011, if bought from Walmart they will offer you the chance for $20 a month service with 500 MB limit when you attempt to activate your MiFi online. My understanding is that you CAN NOT upgrade EVER with Virgin or Walmart IF you choose this plan. I went with the $40 a month and 5GB limit** (**5GB limit effective 2/14/2011 per Virgin site)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

AWESOME

02/15/2012
By ,
seagrove, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know that everyone has their opinions about prepaid, but Ive done both the monthly and the prepaid and so far I love the prepaid. I decided that I would wait a month before I gave my opinion on the Virgin Mobile mifi. I wanted to give it a good test run and make sure that I gave it every opportunity to do the job that it was intended to do. Well, it has done just that. It has impressed me far beyond what I had thought that it would just because of the reviews that I had read prior to the purchase. My family and I purchased the 2200 mifi a month ago exactly and decided that we would take it to Florida with us, so we could entertain the children with our tablets and the oldest could use his ipod touch if need be. It worked like a charm. 12 hours later we were in florida and our family that we stayed with had verizon wireless usb internet. They live so far out that this is the only way they can get internet. It was horrible. So we turned on our mifi and b.i.n.g.o...they had awesome internet. I couldn't believe it. Verizon is suppose to be so great. We use so many devices at the same time. Ive used it on my playstation 3, nintendo wii, netflix through the wii and on 3 tablets, cell phone updates, my desktop that is wifi and our ipods, (both of them). So now I am through. I give two thumbs up, (and would give more if I had more), for now. If this product should change over time I will update my obsevations. Dont give this a second thought...go get it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

Works Surprisingly well

07/13/2011
By ,
Richmond, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical but I was pleasantly surprised when it eventually worked. It doesn't help when you're trying to activate it and there was an outage and you think you're either doing something wrong, or the mifi was a dud. So after the initial hiccup, device got activated after the outage (there's a portion in the online manual they should have screenshots for - the part where you get your MSID and acct number from virginmobileusa.com) and it was smooth sailing from there. It does get hot after a while, and kind of restarts when you plug it in when you're using it, otherwise it works as expected. Tethers 5 devices just fine but I've not really tested it out with heavy usage. The advantage of this is no software to install :) Connection has been pretty good considering our area seems to have a lot of dead zones. Definitely great as a back up internet option. With the $20/1GB walmart special top up - this is a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
(Email Delivery) Virgin Broadband2Go $20 Topup
4.1 out of 5(57)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Prepaid Broadband Device

finally something better than dial-up for rural

09/16/2010
By ,
Blue Ridge Mountains
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the MiFi because I have suffered through with dial-up at home in a rural mountain location where we will never have high-speed internet except from the cable company. I refuse to deal with arrogant cable companies (satellite only!) and have been unwilling to pay the prices charged for high-speed internet, until now, that is. The unlimited $40 per month is still almost 3x what I've been paying for dial-up; but the Virgin MiFi makes it worth it.
It works like a charm, served us well on a recent vacation for both the laptop and iPod touch. Connection time is quick. My only complaints relate to battery and power; the battery time so far has never been as much as 3 hours and the only recharge available cuts the connection and requires a wall plug - neither of which is mobile-friendly. But for most people who would choose this product, I don't think that limitation would be an issue like it is for me who uses this as the primary internet connection at home.
Virgin's customer service leaves much to be desired - set-up messages telling us to call them resulted in reps who told us they were having issues and to call back in 4 hours. 3 hours later they were closed and their hours are srtictly Pacific time Monday thru Friday. Thank goodness we know enough that we didn't really need their help and limped through until the set-up was completed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next