Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Connect, browse Internet, send emails, message instantly, take pictures, share them, make friends, stay close, download apps, be on top, live life on the go! Unveiling the sleek Virgin Mobile BlackBerry Curve 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone, which features the latest BlackBerry applications. With its cutting-edge technology and several innovative features, this Blackberry prepaid cell phone takes communication to a new level altogether. Get yourself guided through your journey with built-in Blackberry Maps. You can download millions of apps from the BlackBerry app world that make everyday life much easier. Powered by a rechargeable li-ion battery, this Virgin Mobile BlackBerry phone lets you enjoy up to 4.5 hours of talk time. Look no further for the name says it all - it is worth, it is efficient, and it is durable, it is BlackBerry.
Average Customer Rating:
4.329 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
33
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation85%134 out of 158reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
33
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent Phone

03/23/2011
By ,
Raleigh, North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The BlackBerry Curve 8530 is perfect for my needs. I ordered the phone through walmart.com and saved $40. In Walmart stores and on Virgin Mobile's website, the phone was $199.
Virgin Mobile's "Beyond Talk Plan", was the push I needed to consider a smartphone. I've been a Virgin Mobile customer for a couple of years.
I'm not tech sauve. I don't talk, text and/or surf the web 24/7. Yet, I have all of those features available when needed.
I chose the BlackBerry over the LG Optimus, and the Samsung Intercept. The BlackBerry's keyboard sealed the deal for me. I type with my thumbs. (Only on the BlackBerry, not a full sized keyboard). The keys are solid and easy to distinguish/manipulate before pressing.
It's the perfect phone for me. I get my emails, texts and calls without any problems. I like the track pad. Sound quality is good.
Battery life seems decent for a phone that does so much. I have a spare battery just in case.
I suggest buying an OtterBox Defender Series case to protect your investment. They retail for $50 new. I purchased mine on eBay for $32 with free shipping. The cases are bulletproof.
If you're reading my review, you're probably shopping for a smartphone. If you want the "latest, greatest" smartphone...the BlackBerry might not be your best choice.
I hope my review was helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+233points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Minneapolis
How is the GPS and Maps?
Posted 12/26/2011
I am using Nokia E73 with Tmobile 4G prepaid, at $50 I get everything unlimited. I am finding the virgin unlimited plan is even cheaper, I want to switch but before doing so wanted to know how good the blackbbery maps in this mobile work? I dont have a GPS and I use the Nokia and it has shows accurate directions (turn by turn) with the Ovi Maps. I don't want to lose this functionality after switching over. Also does the unlimited plan include the blackberry BES and BIS, can I surf the net and read emails too? Please let me know?
0points
Customer Avatar
Colombia
Posted 11/23/2011
Hello I would like to know if these phones are SIM card and if they serve to unlock in Colombia ... thanks
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Finally, a REAL prepaid phone

01/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had many Blackberrys over the years, loved the phones but hated the expensive plans and cancellation fees. None of that with Virgin Mobile. $35 and I can cancel at any time. This phone is awesome, a true smartphone with all the features I want, and the BB push email is something no one else in the industry has. LOVE this phone and plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+220points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Hanceville, Al
Quick question
Posted 07/19/2011
Were you able to use the Blackberry Messanger with this phone and plan?
0points
Customer Avatar
OK
regarding push email
Posted 06/16/2011
an alternative to BIS/BES push is IMAP push email, which is available on pretty much all smart phones.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

The Best

03/16/2011
By ,
LI NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great features! All around great phone! You can multitask. Keys may be a little small but you can still text and type pretty quickly. I don"t think that you can open more than one web page at a time. It would have gotten a 5 out of 5 but the battery life is not that great. I use the phone a lot and have to charge it every night. Virgin Mobile needs to expand there network but for the price of the plans I can live with their service for now. Got it cheaper here at Walmart than what they had it priced on the Virgin Mobile website
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+147points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
são paulo, brazil
unlocked?
Posted 10/30/2011
is it unlocked???
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Contract Killer

04/29/2011
By ,
Philadelphia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sure you can sign a two year agreement with one of the major carriers and get the phone for next to nothing, or you can drop the coin up front and just pay $35.00 a month for a smartphone with all the Blackberry apps. Um, why dear review reader are you still paying $100 plus a month when you sincerely don't have to
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+96points
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Facebook App Not Supported and Other Shortcomings

12/27/2010
By ,
Brighton, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was really excited to get this phone and still enjoy it as it is my first smart phone. But I want people to know some important shortcomings. I can't pinpoint all of these points as being due to Blackberry or Virgin, Mobile but I suspect it is mostly due to Virgin.
First some good points though. The trackpad is awesome. Was concerned about this feature over the traditional trackball you see on Blackberry. Bottom line here is the pad is better. It won't get jammed with gunk, etc.
Some users reported Virgin stripping out the MP3 player; not true. Some users reported Virgin stripping out the ability to use an mp3 as a ring tone; also not true.
The media player is great. I didn't have an mp3 player before, but I don't need one now as I've got it here. There is even three media player buttons on the top to stop, start or skip to the next song, etc. Will support a 32gb micro SD card so you can take quite a bit of data with you.
1). Doesn't support the Blackberry Facebook App. Sure you can still log into Facebook via the web, but that is slower and less convenient than the stand alone app. Luckily I'm not that into Facebook, so I can live with it. The problem is from Virgin Mobile, not Blackberry. This I discovered when I tried to load the app straight from the Facebook site; says "your carrier does not support this feature."
2) Does not support the Yahoo mobile app. This again is not too big of a deal for me. It does have Yahoo instant messaging built it and my Yahoo email is fine through the Blackberry client. This again is due to Virgin, not Blackberry according to Yahoo.
3) Won't get on the web unless there is a WiFi signal. The Virgin Mobile plan I have states it has unlimited web, text and email, but apparently that doesn't mean you can use their network to surf. I'm new to smart phones, but I thought you could still get on web, but it would just be slower without WiFi.
4) Yellow Pages App does not work. This is a drag since you can't use the web when your on the go unless you find a WiFi signal. What saves me here is the google mobile app. I can usually find a phone number, address or map with the Google Mobile App while on the go. Just don't try to click any of the hyperlinks. On that point, the Google Mobile App workds really, really well.
4) Slow browsing. Even through WiFi, it is a VERY slow browser. My wife's iPod cruises along seamlessly on the very same wireless network.
5) Slow desktop app/ desktop interface. When you connect your phone to do anything with the desktop app, allocate some time for this.
6) Battery drain is quick. I know all smart phones get drained quickly, but this device seams to go down quicker. I commonly charge at bed time and usually at least once during the day.
7) Blackberry App World. The phone comes with a previous version of App World. If you go to the Blackberry website, you can get a newer and much better/quicker App World app. This would be fine except the desktop software will replace it with the previous version when you do anything there! To me this one looks like a Blackberry flaw; not Virgin.
All in all, the Virgin Mobile Blackberry is a pretty good deal for a smart phone with a lot of features over any non smart phone. Just be aware it's not going to be everything it should. I'd investigate the Samsung Intercept Android phone for Virgin Mobile instead. This would save you $10 per month as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago
Not True...
Posted 11/04/2011
You can download and use the Blackberry Facebook app with Virgin Mobile.
You also do not need WiFi to connect to the web. You can connect anywhere you can get a 3g signal.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

LOVE IT!!

12/07/2010
By ,
Setauket, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm absolutely in love with the phone! I love the cheap rate, i love that i always have service and i love the fact that i can cancel at anytime! I also love the fact that you can use the blackberry massager !
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Great phone!
Posted 07/18/2011
I love Virgin Mobile,and this phone is amazing.I can talk,text,email,and surf the web for such a low price each month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Decent Phone - Horrible Cell Provider

09/15/2010
By ,
Atlanta
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Blackberry 8530 is what some call the "baby Blackberry". It's not quite as sturdy or feature rich as the more expensive Blackberries, but still runs the 5.0 operating system with the same basic menu layout that all but the newest models have. You have your standard 5000+ contact list, GPS capability, calendar functions, and note taking abilities that Blackberry users love. A newly revamped app store isn't nearly as elaborate as Apple or Droid, but still offers the basics.
The keyboard is small but easy enough to type on for most with normal sized hands. The screen is very bright and text shows up clearly. Battery life is pretty low, and with moderate use you will only just barely make it through a day - heavy users will want to invest in a $60 extended battery found online. Call quality is dencently clear via the earpiece, though the speakerphone isn't quite as loud as it could be.
The biggest issue with this 8530 isn't the actual phone - it's the provider. Virgin Mobile experiences frequent text and picture message "outages" that can sometimes last for several days at a time, and during these outages their automated customer service system simply tells you to call later and then hangs up on you. While the $35-and-up price for using the Blackberry through them sounds nice, you get what you pay for, and in this case, you're getting extremely poor service through Virgin Mobile.
My ratings are based on this phone when used with Virgin Mobile. The Blackberry 8530 is available however, through most of the other major carriers, so while I'd recommend avoiding Virgin Mobile, I'd say it's a "decent" version of the Blackberry for those on a budget, provided you use it with a real cell carrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+65points
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Regret the purchase

11/24/2010
By ,
Detroit
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I initially purchased this phone at $279, as the plan of $25 per month unlimited data, unlimited text, and several hundred minutes was a great deal to coordinate with a smart phone. At first I loved the phone. It was my first time having the email pushed to the phone and the data access was very convenient. Love the gps option as well. I do fully appreciate being connected and it has helped with the constant work emails. The downside has been the less than stellar reception, which is a phone issue. My daughter has a Virgin Mobile phone, a cheap one that picks up the signal much better. The battery life is depleted with a day of typical use, and I do not use the data all that much. I really don't like the extra $10 I have to pay for the blackberry package either. Wish I would have bought the Rumor or waited for the Droid. The shipping was fast from walmart and the overall online experience stellar.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

07/05/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this blackberry. I previously had an older version of the blackberry phone. When my two year contract ended, I decided to try out a prepaid phone. The price of this prepaid blackberry was more expensive on other websites. I like the customer service provided by Virgin Mobile. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

blackberry

04/20/2011
By ,
elberta ala.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried the rumor and others but i decided to try the blackberry and a friend had one so i wanted to see if it was that good. Guess what its great and would not go back to the others , and the price at walmart is great i bought online .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+24points
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Value, Great Phon..Virgin Service Reps Stink

06/08/2011
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The great thing about Walmart selling this phone is that I saved $50 on the phone purchase. Regardless of whether I bought it from Walmart or Virgin Mobile directly I had to deal with the Virgin service reps to get it activated and the entire lot of them are useless. Lots of empty promises, random dates, and excuses are what they do best!!! It was a joke. Needless to say I did finally get activated but what takes other carriers 24 hours or less to do, Virgin Mobile took a week. That is terrible and whether they meant to or not, they give you the impression that they have no idea at all what they are doing. By the end it was comical, all of the double-talk, stammering while trying to explain why nothing was going right etc. So if you want Virgin Mobile, you can't beat the price and buying the phone at Walmart is very smart but be prepared for a bumpy ride getting the phone up and running.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

A recommended smartphone

03/10/2011
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this smartphone for two weeks and I have to admit that this product goes far beyond my expectations. The batterry life lasts for an entire day, if fully charged (even with heavy use), and the monthly payment (it's not even contract) are as low as $35 everything included (BlackBerry tools, 300 minutes, unlimited data, web, and texting). You can't get that with an iPhone. There are plenty of free helpful apps, which makes the use of the smartphone more convenient. My new motto is:
When you go BlackBerry, you never go back!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

What attracted me was the low monthly service fee!

11/04/2010
By ,
Simpsonville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a decent Blackberry...a few things bug me. For instance, the camera doesn't have a flash - that seems ridiculous for a Blackberry & I know other versions of the Curve have a flash. Also, I have found that some apps aren't supported by Virgin. However, what attracted me to this was the low monthly service fee & no contract, so I won't complain too much. I think pay-as-you-go is the way to go with a cell phone these days & even though I won't get a new free cell phone every two years, the money I save in two months on my monthly plan would buy me a new phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone
07/03/2011
By ,
ny, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great smartphone, but virgin mobile customer service to transfer a number is quite an ordeal. but once you finally get your phone activated it is a great device. GPS, MP3, BBM, all included for the one low price. the phone runs smooth, speaker could be a bit stronger but at $99 I can't complain. best bang for your buck in terms of prepaid smartphones
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+18points
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Deal

11/09/2010
By ,
Farrell, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great product. Phone is great, I love it. Service has been flawless so far. Can't ask for anything more - sure beats the contract pricing I just gave up...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone. great price

07/28/2011
By ,
Towson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great phone. camera isn't that great indoors unless there is a lot of light. great outdoors with sunglight. no flash. mms isn't working on my phone. i dont think it does on any of these phones but honestly i don't care because i don't text pics, i just send them to twitter or facebook which is SUPER easy on a blackberry. you can copy and paste. see and use microsoft word and excel documents. push email is AWESOME and the main reason why i turned down the love of my life for the past year-iphone, for a new bb. the 10 dollar data plan is necessary because when you put in the activation numbero nline they automatically know it's a blackberry. maybe you can get away with it by calling them but i don't think so. great phone. worth price! internet is great. sometimes when i use facebook app and want to view my notifications is gets wonky but i dont really care. 9/10 it allows me to view notifications and i get notification delivered to my email anyway. also when status is updated or pic is uploaded from phone is says that beloved "uploaded from blackerry" and has theose five blackberry squares. lol also if you dont want the virgin mobile tag on bottom of phone get black nail polish to cover it, and if you dont want home screen to say virgin mobile then use your own pic as wallpaper, so no one will even know it's virgin mobile. you can get cute cases for 2-7 dollars, depending on if you want plastic or hard, in any color, on Ebay and screen protectors and screen protectors which look like mirrors for like $1.50 from Ebay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Virgin Mobile Blackberry

11/30/2010
By ,
Pace Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this phone for my daughter so she can text. The only issue is that you must sign up under the $35 Virgin Mobile plan if you purchase the Blackberry. For this you get access to Blackberry App world that allows you to download apps for the Blackberry. You will get tired of this after a few weeks and then you are paying $10 a month for it. $35 is still cheap compared to AT&T or Verizon. Daughter is happy with it so that's all that matters. No issues with Virgin Mobile.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent Deal!

04/12/2011
By ,
Newark, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first stab at the whole smart phone world and I must say I am very impressed with both the phone and the excellent customer service from both BlackBerry AND Virgin Mobile. Excellent connection, reasonably fast browsing, way cool BB apps. I am very pleased and feel I have gotten a really good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

12/29/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
4 phones calls to activate service. No better than 3 bars anywhere! Foreign accents so heavy unable to understand. Poor customer service and I will not buy from this company again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone

Be Careful!!!!!!

10/02/2010
By ,
Ossining, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recieved my blackberry 3 days after ordering online, thats great! I had taken a week to activate the phone and numerous phone calls to virgin wireless. It seems the are a group of serial numbers which are not processed into there system if there is a 8815 in the xerial number you may have problems activating right away. Otherwise the phone itself is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
1-20 of 132 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next