Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Fal T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

T-Fal T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

The T-fal FF122851 Compact Deep Fryer provides ample frying capacity in a convenient, compact size. Its fixed aluminum pot has a capacity of 2.2 lbs of food and 1.6 liters of oil. Use it to fry up tasty appetizers or other foods in just minutes. This black deep fryer has key safety features that include a cool-wall exterior and an automatic lid-opening button. The adjustable thermostat allows you to select just the right temperature for your cooking needs. The temperature-ready light also lets you know when oil has reached the correct frying temperature. This T-fal deep fryer features an easy-viewing window to help ensure you get the crispy, golden-brown results you want. It displays temperature settings in both Fahrenheit and Celsius. This compact deep fryer also has a temperature and time slider for extra convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.089 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation84%47 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

Excellent So Far

04/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Still learning to use it. First used a heavy beer batter which stuck to the basket. Heat settings need experimetation but product is exactly what I expected. Storing the oil in the fryer is very convenient. Cleaning is easy. Price was excellent vs Target and Boscovs. Can't speak to the durability yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

This product is pretty good

12/13/2010
By ,
Atlanta,GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first time ever buying Deep fryer. I used to use deep frying pan for deep fry. Everytime when I made fried chicken, my kitchen smelled chicken hours, but I used this product, and after cooked I didn't smell chicken! (during it's cooking you can smell little, because steam come out from vent. ) I was skeptical about cooking the chicken right, because I had to close a lid, but it came out perfectly! I cooked 2pound chicken at once, some of them stuck together, but cook through to bone and very crunchy. Only downside is you can't wash bowl under running water. Is it sanitaly? I took long time to clean but other than that this product is pretty good. If you follow instraction's time, you can make side dishes or whatever you want to do without check the chicken, you still can eat perfect fried chicken.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

Great Buy

01/28/2011
By ,
Bloomington, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought one of these fryers about 8 yrs. ago and I used it almost every other day. It just gave out on me and I'm going to purchase another one. It is a great bargain! It's a quick and easy way to make french fries, onion rings, egg rolls and etc. With no mess to clean up! I have owned another name brand deep fryer and this one is far superior. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

Great Price GREAT Appliance!

03/14/2011
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This appliance works GREAT!!! We typically fry things for 2 people and the size works great. If you have a bigger family... I would suggest looking into a bigger size fryer... but for us this works great!! The lid comes off for convenience when cleaning and the basket can go in the dishwasher. Awesome product and AWESOME price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

BEST VALUE

01/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The brand is very reliable and the fryer itself is very lightweight. It does not have a timer, which is the only down fall. When you put the oil to the correct level there is plenty of room for hot oil and cold of added food. Better made basket and handle. Overall, for the price a much better value than all others in store and online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

Not much too it

02/23/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you are a past TFAL fryer user and are looking for a new model just go into this with your eyes wide open. This fryer is nothing but a slightly better Fry Daddy. Nothing like past models I have had. And watch the lid. It's removable - it's also a pain to get properly shut because the back pops out and the front does not latch correctly if you don't have it lined up just right. The bottom line is it doesn't cost much and it certainly fries your food. Just don't expect this to measure up to the normally good TFal quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

So far So Good

07/12/2011
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got the fryer a couple weeks ago, have only used it once, so far. We cooked french fries and they were very tasty! The fryer worked just fine, heated up quickly, very easy to operate. Like the fact that the lid comes off for cleaning. My husband, the cook, didn't care for the handle on the fryer basket. Our old fryer (different brand) had a basket with a different type handle. Other than that, if it holds up okay we're very pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

a great buy

12/31/2013
By ,
goose creek, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the basket is perfect size for preapring anything for a small family( 3-4 people) it cleans easily and the preset options make it a click and use .. i love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

Fryer

07/09/2014
By ,
Alabama
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted to be sure to review this item so the other customers will not make the same mistake I made, I have always loved T- Fal products, but the problem I have is the base cannot be removed for you to wash it, I like products that can be washed, I should have looked closer but I will the next time, There are some called the Cool Daddy that does have this feature,
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

A Father's Day Gift

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was and will be an excellent buy! Thank you T Fal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

great deepfryer

12/15/2013
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
is big enough for small family
just miss shut off switch, need always to be unplugged if done using
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

Great Fryer

10/19/2012
By ,
GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Only had for two weeks and used twice. Heats oil quickly and cooks evenly. Attactive looking. Extremely lightweight so I can't imagine it holding up to a durability test for long. Oil seems to splash and drip from rear of top and onto counter. Major disappointment: Oil pan does not come out. You have to pick up and tilt the entire unit to drain oil from it. This also makes cleaning it extremely difficult and being an electrical item it is not submergable in water. So basically you can't clean it. All you can do is wipe it out as best you can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

Deep Fryer

11/15/2010
By ,
Goshen, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product works great, holds a decent amount of food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black
09/19/2011
By ,
New york, Ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gud for the money but smaller in size than expected. I like the see through glass, you can close the lid and supervise what you are cooking, It made it look classy.Great product all together,serves it purpose.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

my husband loves it!

01/02/2011
By ,
stanton,michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
best thing i like about this is the cool to touch exterior,would have like it better if it would have a bigger tub,v a family of 4,so fits just fine.doesnt occupy lots of space in the kitchen.cute little stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

Better than nothing

01/03/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too small for my family, also takes too long to heat up. I am looking for something bigger and more powerful (1700 watts). I used to have the maxi fry from t fal but I guess they discontinued them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black
11/21/2011
By ,
Medford, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect size for 1-3 people and it's easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

Great fryer

12/03/2013
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect fryer for me. Fits nicely into the space I had for it. Also has worked well and produced great fried items. Chart in manual for operations gives time for different items and it is accurate, as is the temp you set. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

Just okay

01/20/2013
By ,
Fredericksburg, Va.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I could not get the basket to function properly. The handle kept seperating from the basket so i had to "rig" it in such a way that the handle stays connected to the basket, but it will not hang onto the fryer. I don't like fixed pots and will not ever buy one again because i think it is harder to clean. A removable bowl and basket just makes sense. The button releasing the lid does not work all the time, i must press down hard onto the lid and then push the button. I will give this away... second thought, no i won't.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for T-fal FF122851 Compact 1.6L Deep Fryer, Black

Very Good; but, not perfect

01/23/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit is a little larger than I thought it would be; but, can still place on cabinet shelf for storage without basket handle sticking out. My only real knock, would be cleaning the unit is not dishwasher simple. Can not remove the oil kettle and pop in dishwasher. Would make this unit perfect in my wife's eyes... that's for sure.
As for cooking it past its first test with flying colors. My wife was able to cook about 9 egg roles in very short order. She cooked 5 in first set and 4 in the next. And, they were all cooked that "just right" golden brown and very tasty.
If you need a smallish fryer and do not need one daily than, in my opinion, this unit would fit your needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next