Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weston Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Weston Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Recipes involving ground meats are a stroll in the park thanks to the Weston 10 Meat Grinder. It is a versatile kitchen accessory that helps you prepare any food that involves ground meat including ground-beef casseroles, Swedish meatballs and sausages. Ergonomically designed, the balanced crank and durable nylon bearings make it easy to turn the handle. The heavy duty meat grinder can be easily clamped onto any countertop measuring up to 1.5 inches in thickness. Also, the manual meat grinder gives control over the grinding process and lets you choose fine to coarse grinds. Stuffing funnels come in three sizes to suit your needs according to different recipes. The inside of the meat grinder is coated with food-safe tin that protect the meat against contamination due to surface to surface friction. Furthermore, the stainless meat grinder is easy to disassemble and clean. Overall, the Weston 10 meat grinder adds value to your kitchen greatly enhancing your repertoire of recipes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.918 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
26
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation76%83 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 59 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
26
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Works very well

02/07/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to get a meat grinder for a while, and finally bought this one. After following the directions I learned via google, I put the grinder in the freezer for hours before using it. I sliced the meat into strips (don't cube it) and hardened them in the freezer, (don't freeze it, just make it very stiff) Turn the handle until you get the largest opening in the auger, push your product in the gap, and begin grinding. If everything is cold enough you will not have any issues. You will have to tighten the clamp frequently as the nylon shim that protects your counter-top has some 'squish' . As soon as you finish grinding put your product in the fridge, disassemble your grinder, and use hot tap water to rinse out the residual meat. I collected all the residual meat, and it was only enough to make one meatball, so I'd skip the 'put balled up paper towels through to push out leftover meat'. While turning the grinder's handle, you can tighten the front ring (by hand) until everything is smooth, you'll want the blade pressed snugly against the plate, but not so tight it binds up. The coarse plate made for a little concern, but when we made our hamburger patties and cooked them, they held together, and made nice burgers!! I'm very pleased. Just remember, keep everything cold!!!! If you are right handed, you'll want to help steady the grinder with your left. Put a nice thin glove on before your nitrile gloves to help keep from freezing your hand lol. (The first mix I tried was 1.5lb Chuck, .4 Skirt, .2 Bacon...too much bacon, I'd go with just 1oz bacon next time)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

A Worthy Grinder

03/09/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I am happy with the performance of this meat grinder. It does a good job of making ground meat. It would probably do a great job if I used completely fat-free meat.
If you have fat in the meat, you will eventually plug the strainer. With me, this happens after about a pound of meat. Luckily, it is relatively easy to remove the strainer and unclog it.
There is not much support for the grinder. The legs only extend about 2 inches into the table, so it tends to wiggle when you turn the crank after a while. This could be due to the screw clamp on the bottom not wanting to stay tight. An easy fix, when it starts to wiggle, tighten the screw.
If you put the meat in the feed ramp just right, the grinder will guide the meat from the feed ramp into the grinder. If you don't, you will have to use something to push the meat in. There is no plunger included.
These are all relatively minor inconveniences. As I said before, I am happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Good value for the money

10/07/2010
By ,
Ocala, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this twice and it works pretty good. The shipping took 5 business days, that's good. The first time I used it, there was some meat that came out gray because I had the plastic bushing reversed and I had metal to metal contact between the auger and housing. Be prepared to throw out some of the first meat coming through the grinder plate because it will be somewhat dirty. The fit between the auger shaft and the hole in the handle is very poor and should be redesigned. I used 2 washers behind the holding screw to fix that. Snug it up tight with a small shaft like a screwdriver and it will not slip. A square key should have been used rather than this cheap design. I was expecting a plunger would be needed, but did not need it after all. I am hoping there won't be any rust the next time I use it..
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Centralia,WA
A good tip
Posted 04/23/2012
Whenever you buy a kitchen utensil, the directionsw tell you to wash it in warm soay water before the first use. Metal implements are manufactured using oils. There are usually some of those oils remain on the implements, which is why you wash them before first use.
0points
Customer Avatar
Bread
Posted 03/23/2012
If you'd prefer not to ruin expensive meat because "it will be somewhat dirty", you can just run a few slices of bread through the grinder the first time you use it to clean out any manufacturing residue.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

No problems ith grinding fat

05/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those haqving problems with fat clogging the mechanism, you can avoid that by slightly freezing the meat prior to grinding. Yo can also keep the grinder cool by running a few ice cubes through it between loads.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

it does the job

09/03/2010
By ,
Wildwood, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother called me and asked me if i remembered her mothers paminto cheese spread and i remembered the delicious taste and then she gave me the recipe and i thought i want to make this now, but I did not have a hand grinder and mom said you had to make it with the hand grinder only! So i looked around and also looked on line and low and behold Walmart had one and at a very good price in fact it was the lower of all the ones i found. I had it delivered to the Walmart closest to my home and got it before the delivery date. Walmart sent me a text message letting me know it was in and i went down and got it along with the the list of stuff mom gave me and went home and made the spread and it was great. I will also be making deer sausage with it this fall it works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

It snapped in two while attaching it to the table

03/05/2011
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It looks and feels very sturdy, but it snapped in two while we were attaching it to the table.
Our family does not work out, we have no muscles to speak of, yet we broke it in half while trying to screw it to the table, so while it LOOKS good, it's flimsy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Won't stay still

09/23/2010
By ,
Auburn, Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I guess you get what you pay for. I went for the cheapest and although it grinds okay, the fastener that tightens and attaches the grinder to the edge of a table or a counter will not stay tight even with the protector underneath it. I have not tried it without the plastic protector. While grinding the grinder continually becomes loose so that I have to try and hold it still while trying to feed the meat into the grinder all with one hand. Not very convenient or easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Terrible idea to buy this product

01/13/2011
By ,
Valliant, Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a terrible buy! I thought it was going to be great. The ring that holds the entire thing together is made out of cast iron and is course threaded, it needed to be fine threaded. The threads wore out after only five minutes. I literally had just pulled it out of the box, put it together, and started using it, and it broke. I had even cut the meat up into small chunks so that it wouldn't be to much strain for it, and it still broke. I would not recommend this product to anyone, espicially hunters who want to process game themselves.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

junk

01/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The threads on the face plate are junk, and the plate will not screw on right, and then blows off while you are grinding. wish i would of bought a better one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

good meat grinder

09/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This meat grinder works as expected and I haven't experienced anything coming out that I didn't put in (no black stuff, no flecks, etc.). It feels solid and it's heavy. I use it for chilled and already cooked meats cut into 1-2 inch cubes. The handle has a nice length for me and it turns smoothly, but it will exercise your upper arm slightly depending on how much you're grinding, but that's to be expected since it's a manual grinder. It fits fine on the countertop, but I'd recommend putting a towel or something under it so as not to leave indentations on the countertop. Taking it apart for cleaning was easy and drying was also easy since there's enough space inside for my hand and towel to fit. I store it in an extra large resealable plastic bag to keep all the pieces together and assembling it before use takes less than 5 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Great Value for the hobbiest

05/31/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since retiring last year I have had more time to start a few new hobbies.
I had a hard time deciding whether to buy a hand cranked meat grinder or an electric one.
After determining that I would only be making 10 to 20 lbs of sausage a year I decided to go with a manual meat grinder. My research pointed me to the Weston site and I determined what model I wanted to purchase. After my review I started to price the Weston # 10 model I wanted, using the internet.
Once I found out that Wal Mart was carrying the exact model I had selected my research ended for the following reasons.
1. Great price
2. Met all my requirements (Nice sausage making kit included)
3. Site to Store free Shipping $00.00 Always a nice thing!!
4. The Wal Mart store I use is only 2 miles away.
Just made my first batch of Sausage using a very old family recipe and it turned out exactly how I had envisioned using the Prego Weston # 10 hand meat grinder. The taste was wonderful, just as I had remembered, growing up and eating home made Italian sausage.
You can’t go wrong, Cleans up nicely and it will last a lifetime.
Tom
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

price is good, functions not so good

09/28/2010
By ,
nyc
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got this product and was disappointed. I was grinding chicken with skin for my special homemade ravioli. The skin was getting stuck in the tunnel and all the grinded meat was coming up from the top. It was a mess. The tunnel is too long i think, my mom has one from 1970 and the tunnel is not as long and the whole thing is not as heavy, easy to operate.
Product is very heady and hard to clean. Assembling the product also is not hard but difficult. You need some sort of tool to lock it in place, otherwise it moves on the table.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Old timer

11/11/2010
By ,
DeBary, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is an "old timer". Has been around since I was a little girl and that is a long time ago.
The one my Mother passed on to me was lost over the years, so when it came time to make Hamsalad, I tried with my food processor, but didn't care for the texture. So found one at reliable Walmart, and it's back to old fashion Hamsalad. Thanks, Walmart for saving the day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Prago Weston #10 meat grinder

11/02/2010
By ,
Fort Riley, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great. clogs fast with fat but other than that it is a great little tool to keep around the house. I use it for deer and use the attachment with the bigger holes first then run it through again with the attachment with small holes and it isn't so bad. Great product for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

work great

01/14/2014
By ,
westbloomfield mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it work and performed as well or better then advertised thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder
02/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it does the job. Its not my grandmothers old meat grinder however. I really loved that thing, but oh well things just aren't made the way they were before. It does do a fine grind and a coarse grind, I haven't tried the sausage maker yet probably won't until next fall at the earliest that is if my dear husband manages to finally get any wild game. Only drawback is the clamp for clamping it to a surface. I had get a block of wood and use my husbands c clamp to clamp to my countertop and then I was able to clamp the grinder onto the block of wood because the clamp doesn't open far enough. Other than that, for the money its definately worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Bad. Pretty Bad

12/21/2012
By ,
Long Beach, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It does not work as a meat grinder. It does not work as a sausage stuffer. Was received missing the 10mm grinding plate. This thing should not be sold as a meat grinder. Should be reclassified as rustic relic. and the rust is what happens when you put it in the dish washer for the first time use. Overall rating is the minimum needed to file this review. Should be zero star.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Breaks easy

08/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BEWARE: Do not tighten the mounts too tight!!!
I had mine less than 30 minutes and it broke, it needs to be tightly mounted or else it moves around while grinding, but too tight it snaps the mounting.
So, cannot really rate the performance as it broke during first grinding.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

Great meat grinder

01/22/2014
By ,
Morrill, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for my husband so he could grind up his goose meat from this fall. It arrived on time and in good condition. It's easy to use and to clean. Husband loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Prago Weston #10 Deluxe Meat Grinder

absolutely no-fat grinder

10/04/2010
By ,
Salem, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After several attempts, I returned this meat grinder to Walmart.
Even with very little fat, the fat will get collected on the surface of the cutting plate and stuck it. So you have to take off the plate and get rid of the fat before you can continue.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next